Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Pescadero Beautiful Beach Front Escape!

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6 adults)

If you like falling asleep to the sound of waves breaking on the shore, you have found the perfect retreat. Captain's Landing is a spacious 3 bedroom 2 bath house, with 2 fireplaces, which sits on over an acre of land with panoramic ocean views from every room. Explore down the private stairs leading to 300 plus yards of sandy beach. Enjoy the Spectacular Sunsets from the wrap around upper and lower decks or stroll along the beach while admiring the tide pools.

Keywords: Beach House, Half Moon Bay, San Francisco, Ano Nuevo State Park

More Details

Owner
Katelyn McManus
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
May 26, 2017

About Katelyn McManus

A Family who loves the beach is now ready to share this great house with new families so that they can make memories.

Katelyn McManus purchased this house in 2008

Why Katelyn McManus chose San Francisco Bay Area

Captain's Landing has been in the family for many years and we have enjoyed the location and the privacy of this wonderful home. Many fond memories with family and friends have been spent here in Pescadero.

What makes this house unique

Captain's Landing overlooks the Pacific Coast with private steps leading down to the sandy beach. Pescadero is centrally located between Santa Cruz and Half Moon Bay. San Francisco being about 1 hour 15 min north. Monterey and Carmel (17 Mile Drive) are approximately 1 hour 30 minutes south. Just south of the house is Ano Neuvo, home to the Sea Elephants and wonderful hikes. Plan to visit historical Pescadero with the famous Duarte's Restaurant, Harley's Goat Farm and wonderful Antiques. Enjoy many areas to hike or pick berries at Swantons farms. A visit at the Pie Ranch for homemade pies is a must. Half Moon Bay is 20 minutes north with wonderful restaurants, shopping, nurseries, wine tasting and home to the famous Pumpkin Festival. Enjoy golf, fine dining or treat yourself to a spa treatment at the Ritz Carlton in Half Moon. Bay. If surf fishing is your thing, don't forget your fishing pole. Our children have always enjoyed kite flying on the beach as well.

Amenities

Pescadero House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (2)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
private beach, wrap around deck with 180 degree views of the ocean, sand toys for the kids, seals, whale watching, tide pools, goat farm, hiking, swimming, beach play, state parks, ano nuevo, half moon bay, santa cruz, pescadero, Duartes, sunset views, private home, romantic getaway, family vacation, girls weekend, reunion,. waves, relaxation, quiet

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(42 traveler reviews)

Pescadero Beautiful Beach Front Escape!
average rating of 4.8333335 based on 42 reviews
5

Fantastic location. Private. Beautiful beach. Comfortable and cozy beach house.

  • 5 of 5

Our family (four adults) had a great weekend enjoying the private beach, exploring the tide pools, shopping at the goat farm, having coffee in Pescadero, and relaxing in the house. We were comfortable and had everything we needed. I hope we have the opportunity to return.

  • Submitted: May 26, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect

  • 5 of 5

This was our second stay at Captains Landing... and it will not be our last ;-)

  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Captains Landing is 2 homes away from home. Incredible setting.

  • 5 of 5

We stayed for a week, my husband, son , daughter-in-law, grandson. We went on a cruise to Alcatraz and down to Monterey Bay Aquarium and cannery row. We had a warm fire on the private beach, of course with S'mores and a perfect sunset.

When in the house we all slept like babies, ate like the rich and snuggled in front of the fireplace. Everything we needed for the whole week was supplied, beach equipment, kitchen items, even bottled water.

Did I forget to mention the view? Windows galore. Didn't even think about work. Too busy ogling the ocean. Thank-you Kaitlyn for a great vacation. See you again soon.

  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Best Family Vacation spot

  • 5 of 5

I stayed at this home with my family - it was a last minute get away. This home is not a "five-star hotel", but it is definitely a five star get away. The beds are very nice, and the bedding scruptious. There were plenty of pillows, blankets and towels. The views are breathtaking. The grounds are beautiful. The steps to the beach are easy to use (might be a little tough for elderly). The beach was a blast - even had a small beach fire in the evening. Although the house seemed a little pricey - once you stay you realize it is worth every dime. We will be returning. The owner was very hands on, available at any time we needed her, very accomodating, kind. Phone service was limited but there is a house phone for emergencies. The town of Pescadero was a short drive, and Santa Cruz and Half Moon Bay were short drives. It was everything we needed for some much needed down time. Thank you!! See ya again soon.

  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
2

Captains Landing owner

  • 2 of 5

The house had a great view. The beach at the house is nice and secluded, but rocks all across the front of the water, so there is no playing in the water there. I was very surprised my deposit check was cashed 27 days earlier than stated in the contract, which could have ended up costing me several hundred dollars in returned check fees. And my cleaning deposit was not returned to me until 30 days after check out date. I feel that if the owners want people to follow the contract when renting the house, that they should follow the rules of the contract also. I was reminded that I would be charged for over usage of the internet, which should be stated in the original advertisement. I would not recommend this property because of the breaking the contract by the owner.

  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello, thanks for the review. I wanted to clear a few things up about our contract and deposit policies. 1. I wanted to clarify about the contract process and how we do them. You rented the house a few months before your date of arrival. When sending out our email with contact it clearly stated full payment with one check and we received 2 checks which was not needed per the contract. So we deposited the second check one month in advance. This was also clarified when you reached out to see what the issue was and was explained again at that time with no repsonse. We only ask for partial payment when you rent the house months in advance. 2. The security deposit was returned late as there was a family emergency/death in the family and was unable to send out checks, this was also explained and communicated to all parties via text and email stating it would be sent out a week late. In our contract it states approximately 2weeks to return deposit and is done on time. 3. Overage fees are a new add on to our welcome email and will be added to our contract as cost of having internet at the house had gone up, you were not charged for any overages as you received your deposit returned in full. If you have any other questions please feel free to reach out!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Beautiful Secluded Beach Spot!

  • 4 of 5

I LOVE the location of this property!!! The location itself deserves 5/5 stars The views from both living/family rooms, decks & master bedroom were magnificent! We were grateful for its private stair rail to the beach. The beach was closed off by large rocks to the left of the property so the kids could play without any interruption or wander off. It was the perfect secluded location we were looking for!!

Other positives: plenty of space for a family of 6, comfortable master bed, plenty of linen, well stocked kitchen, easy 25 minute drive north to Safeway (Half Moon Bay), 5 minute drive to local Pescadero small shops and yummy restaurants.

My reasons for 4/5 stars: (Had I known or inquired beforehand, we could've been better prepared).

*When we first entered the house, it smelled old, like it had been empty for awhile. Fortunately, I had packed a favorite Bath & Body candle. After a few hours or burning and having all the windows open, the smell went away.

*No washer and dryer. That's a little difficult with little ones. I couldn't find a laundromat nearby either.

*The house Mifi had limited data and didn't allow for much streaming of kids' movies. The beach was wonderful all day but in the evening, we would've preferred to stream our own movies and we couldn't. The kids did watch 2 DVDs that the owner provided.

*The first bedroom on the bottom floor had large cobwebs in the top corner. The blanket in the upstairs bedroom was dirty.

*A few windows were missing screens.

It would've been nice to have beach chairs or beach toys. I made the mistake of assuming there would be. Again, had I asked more questions, I would've been better informed and packed accordingly.

Overall, we are grateful for our time here and would probably rent here again!

Cheers!

  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at our beach front property. The views are truly majestic. We take pride in providing a well stocked and comfortable home. As per our VRBO page, it states we do not have a washer and dryer. Our MIFI is limited due to our location on the coast and we do provide a TV (cable) and DVD player for our renters. Beach chairs and toys are available to all renters in the garage which can be accessed by the front door key. Thank you for letting us know about the blanket and we have informed our cleaners regarding this matter. The house can get musty when not rented (nature of the location) and is easily remedy by opening the windows. Some screens intentionally are not on the windows as they get wet and dirty by the ocean, which can obstruct our beautiful views. Our cleaners wash all Windows the morning of the renters arrival. We hope that you will return soon to enjoy this special property!!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
45 Miles
SFO
Nearest Barpub
10 Miles
Duarte's
Nearest Golf
30 Miles
Half Moon Bay
Nearest Restaurant
10 Miles
Durarte's
Nearest Beach
5 Miles
Bean Hallow
Car: recommended

Private beach, ocean views, beach front, quiet, romantic getaway, family vacation, tide pools, seals, beach bonfire, firepit, bbq, wraparound deck, whale watching, tide pools, seals, ano nuevo, parks, beaches, Half Moon Bay, Santa Cruz, golf, hiking, remote, private, local town,

Photos

Rates & Availability

Pescadero House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Memorial Day
May 26 2017 - May 29 2017
3 night minimum stay
$500
 
 
4th of July
Jul 4 2017 - Jul 7 2017
3 night minimum stay
$500
 
 
Labor Day
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
$500
 
 
Columbus
Oct 6 2017 - Oct 9 2017
3 night minimum stay
$500
 
 
Christmas
Dec 22 2017 - Dec 26 2017
3 night minimum stay
$500
 
 
New Years
Dec 29 2017 - Jan 2 2018
3 night minimum stay
$500
 
 
Martin Luther King
Jan 12 2018 - Jan 15 2018
3 night minimum stay
$500
 
 
Presidents Day
Feb 16 2018 - Feb 19 2018
3 night minimum stay
$500
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$300
From
$500
Fri,Sat
$2,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $350
Cleaning Fee $200

Please include your post dated check along with your initial payment, signed contract (all pages need to be initialed) and mailing address.

CHECKS or paypl. 2 night min. Half the rent plus refundable security deposit of $350 and cleaning charge of $200 is due to confirm reservation. The balance (second half of rent) is due 30 days prior to arrival.

ALL HOLIDAYS have 3 night mininum at $500/n. For non holiday weekends $500/n, stay a third night and that night will be $350. Midweek pricing includes *Sun-Thurs* 2night min. at $350/n

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties