Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Immaculate Oceanfront Home; Fireplace ,Keurig ,2 MastersBRms,Netflix,Xbox1,WiFi

Sleeps15
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Space 2,500 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

Single Family Home; 3Brms(2 Masters)+Loft, 3.5 Baths, Sleeps11-13, no pets ever

Most of the time the first sentence in an inquiry is, "What a beautiful home!" And it is. You are welcomed in by a clean, open, serene floor plan (no crazy Miami colors), with designer appliances and furnishings. Two story floor to ceiling windows overlook the ocean which walk out to a huge main floor deck and 2 screened in porches.

Recently this oceanfront single family home underwent a complete renovation with exceptional designer details throughout the home it has two private and separate master suites making it perfect for 2 families to share. People who have pet allergies will be comfortable, animals have never been allowed in the home. It has granite surfaces, stainless appliances, a gas fireplace, and new bamboo floors.

It has all the electronic entertainment systems you love including 4 TV/DVD’s, Xbox1 and, surround sound. The house has cable, Wifi and, a NetFlix account giving you access to 1000's of movies on demand. This Premier Neighborhood has a pool, clubhouse, tennis court, and boat launch.

Beach Reclamation Project was completed June 1, 2015! Beach is wide and you can see the beach & ocean from the decks.

The home has direct ocean views and is a beach front property. It has private multiple neighborhood beach access, the closest of which is off the driveway on the left side of the house. It is conveniently located less than 5 miles from each bridge access to Topsail Island.

The pool is about 200 yards from the house, about the length of 1 football field.

Fall & Winter special amenities; switch activated gas fireplace, double garage with direct home entry - great for bringing in groceries on a cold or rainy day, single floor living - master, kitchen, and living room are on the first floor, and a desk area, in case work must be done.

Please email me for a quote! The options on the site are not flexible enough to offer everyone the lowest fees & deposits possible from the automated quote system.

Linens are not included but, I do list a few local companies that can provide them within the body of the 'terms and conditions' contract. That way you can customize them to your specific needs.

More Details

Owner
Jennifer Dolan
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
October 18, 2017

About Jennifer Dolan

Our family loves this island because it is so family friendly. We have owed our personal home on this island since 2005. We are usually around on weekends if you need anything during your stay.

Jennifer Dolan purchased this house in 2010

Why Jennifer Dolan chose North Topsail Beach

We can't wait for your family to get to know this island. Shh... don't tell to many people though, we like it to stay somewhat mysterious.

What makes this house unique

The oceanfront home has great views and is very private. Their is nothing to block the ocean views, particularly from the upper decks (the lower deck is just above dune height), miles of beach and ocean can be seen.

The closest private neighborhood beach access is past the driveway to the left of the house. I always think this is a great safety feature if you happen to have any 'escape artists' in your party.

The neighborhood pool is 5 houses to the right (about 1 football field walk).

Guestbook comments from the owner

Hey Jennifer,

Thanks for opening your home to us. We really enjoyed being there.

My apologies, but I realized I did not start the dishwasher. It has a tablet in it ready to go though.

Take care!

Emilee
Sep 2017
  • 1 of 4

Amenities

Village of Stump Sound House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 15
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed ...
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Village ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage ...
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Master Bathroom 2nd floor - toilet , shower , jetted tub , 2 sinks
    Master Bathroom 3rd floor - toilet , shower , single sink
    Bathroom 3 off loft - toilet , combination tub/shower , single sink
    Bathroom near foyer - toilet , sink
    outside private shower - outdoor shower , hot and cold water
  • 2 master suites
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 15
  • Master Bedroom 1st 2nd floor - 1 queen
    Master Bedroom 2 3rd floor - 1 queen
    Loft - 1 king , not fold out or trundle; platform slides out forming king
    Kids Bedroom - 1 twin/ single , 2 bunk bed , 5 twins total
  • King size bed (1) In the Loft, two twins make a king bed., Queen size Beds (2) Two master suites., a blow-up mattress can be included if sleeping for 13 is specified by the renter, Bunk Beds (2) plus twin, for a total of 5 twin beds.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • jetted tub ...
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Canoe launch, tennis court, clubhouse with restrooms

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(26 traveler reviews)

69% Complete
15% Complete
3% Complete
7% Complete
3% Complete
Immaculate Oceanfront Home; Fireplace ,Keurig ,2 MastersBRms,Netflix,Xbox1,WiFi
average rating of 4.3846154 based on 30 reviews
Hendersonville, NC
5

Great home, great space, wonderful owner.

  • 5 of 5

Plenty of storage space, great upstairs view, and wonderfully stocked kitchen. I did not like that there's not a lock on the stairs going down to the basement, as we have small kids, but we managed easily by "baby-proofing". Jennifer answered any and all questions I had promptly as well, as we had never rented a home from an owner before.

  • Submitted: Feb 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you. One of the things I pride myself on is being responsive. Since this is not a hotel, I am your lifeline for information. I try to act like your concierge. Yes, I understand the door at the top of the stairs issue. It can not have a lock, it is a general safety issue in case of fire or other emergency. I'm glad the guest found a way to baby proof. We parents are inventive. Jennifer Dolan
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Beautiful place nice area would come again!

  • 5 of 5

Peaceful you can hear the ocean love it!

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Awesome vacation spot!

  • 5 of 5

The location and house were awesome. The house is close to everything you may need to stock the house -food, shampoo/soap, paper products, etc. We brought our own towels and linens. The house was very clean and the kitchen was stocked with everything needed to cook. The owners were attentive and fixed the dishwasher problem within 30 minutes. You can't beat the access to the beach and pool! We had a big group of kids who loved the room with multiple bunk beds. Great family vacation place that we hope to return to one day.

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you! I am so glad the guests had a great time. I pride myself on fixing and responding to problems quickly.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

If you like cockroaches, mold, pesticides & a nasty owner--this place is for you!

  • 1 of 5

I brought 3 complaints to the owner throughout the week because she states in her contract that she would NOT give back the security deposit if anyone gives her a bad review. EXCEPT she is still not giving back our damage deposit because I complained about these MAJOR issues to her while she claims it's because we moved a sofa pillow, a cable box and a tiny piece of sucker was found on her stained couch...Not an entire sucker—just a tiny piece (then she had the audacity to question my parenting in a text message because I was concerned about my baby crawling through pesticides but not artificial sugar by letting my daughter have a sucker).

As a responsible owner, I would think she would want to know there was leaking from the upstairs roof that was coming into the living room. She said she knew about the leakage. Due to the leakage from the roof, there was mold growing from behind the outlet and light switches in the dining room/kitchen. The only solution she offered was to leave by 3pm (it was 11AM) at the time in the middle of our vacation. This was not a real solution.

We found several cockroaches, both alive and dead, throughout the house. When I contacted the owner, she stated that she already knew about the infestation and she had sprayed pesticides in the house on the day that we came. The issue I have with this is that we have 2 small children that we take great precaution with around pesticides. She claimed she didn’t tell me because I “didn’t ask”… this is not something I would think I needed to ask. She offered no solutions for this other than pack up and leave if I didn’t like it. I asked for a discount on what we paid and she said that a “refund wouldn’t make you safe”. Money hungry.

This house is nothing like advertised. The furnishings were old and stained. The deck needs replaced as it is falling apart and rusted on the inside of all the screened porches. There was absolutely nothing provided as far as helping a renter get started for the week (hand soap, paper towels, a roll of toilet paper, scissors!). If I knew what we were getting into with both the house and the owner, I would have certainly chosen another place.

Because she is vindictive, she is not returning my damage deposit. She even claims in her official reasoning for not giving back my money is that I had "so many complaints" (3 major issues), but she left out what exactly those complaints are.

Save your $$ and find a nicer place in Topsail!

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I knew this guest was going to be difficult before check-in. I think everyone reading this review will know someone in there own lives that is always dissatisfied and difficult on an extreme scale. Prior to check-in she emailed multiple times with questions and requesting favors, all of which I answered and granted, informing me she 'booked this house so long ago she had no idea where her contract was'. I did offer multiple solutions and responses to all of her complaints during her stay, what she writes are lies, half truths, misrepresentations of my statements or, inaccuracies. In addition, her statements about the damage she did to the home are lies, half-truths, misrepresentations and, inaccuracies. I'm just not going to address the crazy that is written above. The Site doesn't require either party to tell the truth about events. If I respond to each accusation above it will appear like a 'she said- she said' situation. Just know she refused every offer for a solution or information, just ramping up her obvious anger in her texts to me. I quickly realized she was not going to ever be made happy, I offered her a complete refund if she felt unsafe and wanted to vacate. She informed me she wanted a discount and wanted to stay. If all the things were that bad, why would she stay? I explained no amount of discount could make her feel safe and happy at this point. She refused the refund offer also. I state in my contract that I want the opportunity to correct problems because, no matter how perfect we try to make everything we all know, things can crop up. I did promptly offer to address the barrage of daily new complaints. She refused each offer. The guest went though the Site's vetting process to get her deposit returned, they determined she did violate the contract, and I was allowed to keep her deposit to mitigate my damages. I believe she is even more angry now and wrote the tirade you see above. I feel sad for her soul.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Allison Park, PA
2

starting legal proceedings

  • 2 of 5

house is fine and have stayed in +50 vbro locations with no issues - the owner concocted reasons for damage and withheld entire damage amount based her "cleaning thoughts". I would avoid this location if she insists on charging an upfront damage amount.

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The guest ruined the bamboo floor, that isn't a 'housekeeping issue'. I'm sure it was an accident by a child but, there was $3200 worth of damage to the bamboo floor. As near a my housekeeper and I could piece together, a child might have pushed a sand toy in the house along the dining and family room area. The toy wagon likely was heavy with sand and had sand all over the wheels. We think this was how it happened because we found a toy wagon loaded with sand and seized wheels (we imagined the heavily loaded toy with wheels that wouldn't turn being pulled back and forth over the same area) at the bottom of the utility stairs and large amounts of sand in the master bath tub (then an adult found the child, put the toy downstairs, then rinsed the child off in the tub on the same floor). The scratches and pit marks were deep and covering about 500sqft. There is about 1700sqft of bamboo on that floor of the house. The contractor said the whole area would need to be refinished not just the affected area or the finish would not blend, furniture moved and moved back, and it would take 10 days to complete. The contractor also said the guest likely tried to cover up the damage by putting some product like 'NuFinish' on the damaged area. That produced a film on the floor and dirtied the area rugs in the area. The rugs needed to be steam cleaned, a milky colored liquid formed in the machine, I'm guessing the substance they tried to put on the floors, usually the water looks brown and dirty when they are cleaned. I never got any information from this guest as to what actually happened. She did not give us the courtesy of letting us know. Her deposit will not come close to covering the actual damages to the house. This damage left me not sleeping for days, and I'm still not sure how we will pay the total amount to repair the home. Please guests, communicate with the owners prior to and after arrival and checkout. The site has made that communication more difficult in the past year and my problems have definitely gone up also. Things go more smoothly when the communication is great between the guest and the owner. We owners want you to have a great trip and good communication can go a long way toward making that happen.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

The house was clean and very comfortable. Adequately equipped kitchen & an almost private beach!

  • 4 of 5

This was our first vacation home rental and I was quite apprehensive but it all worked out really well! My adult children loved the house and location and it turned out to be a wonderful weekend! We made memories that will stay with us forever. It was a celebration for our son's graduation and it was perfect!

  • Submitted: May 16, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Wilmimgton, NC
Nearest Ferry
40 Miles
Southport
Nearest Golf
10 Miles
Sneeds Ferry
Nearest Motorway
28 Miles
I-40
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Surf City
Nearest Beach
out back
Car: recommended

3 miles to downtown Surf City

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $350
Cleaning Fee $145
More Than 2 Adults Fee $30
Tax Rate 10.0%

The cleaning fee and Multi Adult Fee is due at time of checkout via cash or check to be left on the dining table made out to CHANDA FISKIN.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties