Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Golf Course House~Silver Lake Sand Dunes, Mi.~Free Golf~5 BR

Sleeps15
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms2
Property type farmhouse
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Farmhouse, 5 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, 12 Guests, Large Deck, in Silver Lake, Mears Mi

This Awesome Family Farm House is fully furnished with 5 Bedrooms, a Large Kitchen, a Huge back deck with a Grill, Bon Fire Area, and Plenty of Parking for All your Toys! It is also equiped with a Washer & Dryer, & Dishwasher.

With your stay you will also receive 4-9 hole rounds of golf at Golden Sands Golf & Bucket Bar for Each Night you stay for FREE!

It is located on the #1st hole of Golden Sands Golf Course, close to the Club House. Set just 2 miles from the Silver Lake Sands Dunes, and close to Pentwater, Ludington, and Muskegon you would be able to visit all of West Michigan without having to repack your bags! You also have tons of private parking for you and your family so bring all the toys with you! Oceana County is definatly Michigan's play ground with the Dunes, Dirt Biking, Hiking, Water, Racing, Fishing, Lighthouses, and SO MUCH MORE!

There is also Silver Lake, Pentwater Lake, and Lake Mi. boating available near by! Boating is unbelievable up here! 2 Lighthouses, miles of private beaches, and even a Sunken Ship you can see from your boat!

Only 20 minutes away is Michigan's Adventure! This awesome theme park full of Water, Coasters, and Fun!

Main Floor

Beds All beds have 1 set of sheets & 1 pillow for each head

Laundry Room: Full sized washer & dryer

Living Room: Full sized couch & 2 chairs, Direct TV satellite with a flat screen (with Tigers & Sports games!)

Dining Room: Round table with four chairs, this space extends from the Living Room

Grandma’s room: Full bed, small room with 1 small closet across from bathroom

Family bedroom: King Bed, couch, dresser, Lots of room for your air mattress or pack & play. Air Conditioning Window Unit

Full Bathroom: Full bathtub with shower, Pull Knob towards you to turn on shower. No bath towels (Please bring your own towels)

Kitchen: Stove, oven, full sized refrigerator, dishwasher, coffee maker, toaster, dishes, glasses, coffee cups, silverware, kitchen towels, dining table with 4 chairs.

Upstairs

Full Bathroom: Full bathtub with shower. No bath towels (Please bring your own)

Master Bedroom: King sized bed, dresser, room for your air mattresses, lots of closet space, window air conditioner

Adjoining Rooms: One Full beds, Three Twins beds, closet space, and a beautiful elevated outdoor deck

Back Yard: Propane grill (bring your own propane), large deck, bon fire pit, picnic table, 1/2 fenced in yard

Bon Fire Wood: $20 If you would like a big box filled with dry firewood a 24 hour notice is required. This is an outside company and price and delivery depends on availability.

Please think of this Cottage as your Grandma's home. If you need something, use something. If you have something leave something. (Like extra laundry soap :) The next closest house is almost a mile away. The Pro Shop & Restaurant is just steps away. There is a very large pond a short walk away. There is a lot of room in the front of the house and side of the house for parking large vehicles. The entire house is surrounded by big Maple trees that keep the house cool in the summer.

There is no central air conditioning, but there is 2 window air conditioning units. In Silver Lake there is usually is a strong breeze coming from Lake Mi. That's because the Silver Lake Area is set 2 miles out into Lake Michigan.! So remember to bring an extra sweatshirt. There is a few window fans in the house to help circulate air when it does get warm. Place these in the windows to bring the cooler night air in.

There is not beach towels, or bath towels supplied. There is kitchen towels. There is a private paved drive for you on the south side of the house. Please use these spaces for your family. Any repairs to vehicles must be on this pavement. The back yard & front yard is the best places for children to play. Please use golf etiquette with noise for the happiness of all guests at Golden Sands. (Revving engines lots & loud music is not good etiquette :)

When golfing & dining, all alcoholic beverages must be purchased at Golden Sands.

Your Free Golf may be used all at once, or spread out during your stay. There is a driving range, practice putting green, as well as the 9 hole golf course. Golf carts are available to be used on the golf course for an additional fee.

Please place all dirty sheets by the washing machine before check out. Clean out refrigerator, place garbage in the garbage bins, run dishwasher for dirty dishes.

Check in time is 3:00pm ​Check out is 11:00am

DIRECTIONS TIPS: We are set 2 miles from Lk. Michigan & Silver Lake Sand Dunes. When entering our address, DO NOT put NORTH wilson rd. It will lead you astray. Please use 2501 Wilson Rd. Mears, Mi. 49436. Silver Lake is usually called Mears on all mailings & GPS.

Golden Sands is ranked #1 on Trip Advisor! Silver Lake Sand Dunes has been nominated 'One of America's Best Little Beach towns' by Travel & Leisure Magazine!

Check out www.thinkdunes.com for lots to do while you are here!

Anyway you Slice it –

Your vacation will be filled with Awesome Memories that will Last a Lifetime!

Thank You for Choosing  Golden Sands Cottage on the Course

Keywords: Family Home, House, Golf Course Views, Silver Lake Sand Dunes area, Children Friendly, large back yard, bon fire pit, large kitchen, lots of parking, Located on Golden Sands Golf Course and Bucket Bar Properties.

More Details

Owner
Alicia Kolenda
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
July 24, 2017

About Alicia Kolenda

My husband and I own and run Golden Sands Golf Course. We used to live in the Golf House until 2008. We have 4 children and dog, Mulligan. When you stay with us you get your very own tour guides for the area! We love to travel all over our county and play! We can tell you which beaches on which days, which courses to play, and which restaurants have the best service! We are excited to help you make your vacation as memorable as possible!

Alicia Kolenda purchased this farmhouse in 1999

Why Alicia Kolenda chose West Central

Silver Lake Sand Dunes is SO Breathtaking! The miles of sand, the fresh water, and the abundent ways to enjoy nature!

What makes this farmhouse unique

Free Golf - Free Golf - Free Golf ;-)

Add in the relaxation of no other houses within almost a 1/2 mile, Tons of wildlife to watch, and a restaurant on demand if you get sick of cooking! Perfect!

You could literaly vacation in Ludington, Pentwater, Silver Lake, AND Muskegon, without having to pack up and move! Play for the day - then come back to the Golf House to stay! SO Convenient!

Amenities

Mears Farmhouse Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • farmhouse
Meals:
  • Catering available
  • Lunch - Booking Possible
  • Dinner - Booking Possible
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 15
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Golf Course Front ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Rural ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • Main Floor Full Bathroom: Full bathtub with shower, Pull Knob towards you to turn on shower, No bath towels (Please bring your own towels) Upstairs Full Bathroom: Full bathtub with shower, No bath towels (Please bring your own)
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 15
  • Beds All beds have 1 set of sheets & 1 pillow for each head (blankets in closets) Main Floor: Grandma’s room: Full bed, small room with 1 small closet across from bathroom Family bedroom: King Bed, couch, dresser, Lots of room for your air mattress or pack & play. Air Conditioning Window Unit Upstairs Master Bedroom: King sized bed, dresser, room for your air mattresses, lots of closet space Adjoining Rooms: One Full beds, Three Twins beds, closet space, and a beautiful elevated outdoor deck
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowmobiling
  • spelunking
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

Golf Course House~Silver Lake Sand Dunes, Mi.~Free Golf~5 BR
average rating of 4.375 based on 8 reviews
5

We were three families with 4 kids. There was non stop activities and the house had all we hoped

  • 5 of 5

Nice house plenty of room for everyone and lots for kids to do

  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wonderful to get to know your family! It was a pleasure & we hope to meet again!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Felt welcome from the start

  • 4 of 5

Great area, great experience

  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Had a great time.

  • 5 of 5

The house was very roomy. We had 3 adults and 6 kids, and there was plenty of room for everyone. The kids loved running around the large backyard and the pond. The beds were comfortable and clean. The restaurant/bar is steps away and had games for everyone to borrow and play. It was a great family vacation and we all had a wonderful time. FYI the cell service is challenging, but it kept the kids off the electronics and made them go outside and play. There is free wifi.

  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was wonderful meeting you & your family!! Glad you had a fun Silver Lake Adventure!! Hope to see you again soon!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Can't wait to come back!

  • 5 of 5

Most people come here for the Dunes (about a mile away) or the multiple golf courses in the area, but for us, it served as home base for our annual disc golf weekend. Eight guys ranging in age from 29-50 and we all had a blast. The house was clean and had everything we needed to survive the weekend without our wives (dishes, cookware, washer/dryer, etc.). Each guy had a comfortable bed to sleep on each night. We had our own driveway for our vehicles that led to the back porch area. The backyard had a deck with a grill, a fire pit and plenty of space to hang out. The house had a balcony that overlooked the property's beautiful ball golf course complete with a pond, driving range, pro shop and Bucket Bar. The Bucket Bar is located just steps from the backyard area of the house and serves some of the best pizza, wings and sandwiches we have ever had (a good thing because its one of the only restaurants in the area). The restaurant was very popular with the locals and had a family atmosphere. The wonderful owners of the property did everything they could make sure our stay was perfect. After taking care of the golf course during the day, they run the Bucket Bar at night. Alicia was so sweet, funny and down to earth, plus she makes a mean long island iced tea. We also had cleaning supplies to wash our dirty clothes thanks to Alicia's concept of treating the house like "Grandma's House" (use what you need and if you brought supplies feel free to leave extras behind for the next group). I really can't say enough good things about our stay here. Some other reviews mentioned cosmetic flaws in the house but you can't compare a hotel room to an entire house built in the 1800s, especially for a fraction of the cost. This isn't a commercially ran property. Its a good family house run by an even better family. We will definitely be returning for future outings!

  • Submitted: May 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Awe!!! Thanks for the spot on review! We try hard, and we love finding new friends!! I can't wait to see you all again!! Glad you enjoyed Flip City Frisbee Golf as well!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Detroit, MI
5

Excellent place! Will rent again!

  • 5 of 5

Worked perfect for our group of seven people. Accurate description and very helpful owners. This place is walking distance from the bar! Highly recommend!

  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Family vacation

  • 1 of 5

Disappointed. Carpet had big stains, grill was disgusting. no working fans. Fuses blew when you plugged toaster and coffee pot in .House had flies in it all the time bad screens or no screens on some windows. Large deck on back of house but side of house was so dirty and covered with spider webs and spiders. Many broken items in home not well maintained musky smell. Many other issues definitely not worth what we paid .

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi! We enjoyed meeting you & your family! We did try and fix and repair all on your list while you were here. I am so sorry again if you weren't happy with your vacation. We are also continually improving our 1888 farm house set in the beautiful country. Hopefully the next guests will be happy with the new fans, our freshly replaced carpeting (installed all new in 2 upstairs bedrooms). We are also set for improvements next spring to replace more of the Windows. We have already replaced 3 rooms of Windows. For the same cost as one hotel room in the area per night, we are happy with our rate for this 5 bedroom farmhouse. With such a small budget, we need to replace big items on a slower scale. I appreciate your feedback, and am happy to show you all of our wonderful improvements on your next visit!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Golf
0.1 Miles
Golden Sands is a Golf Course as well
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
U.S. 31
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Bucket Bar Restaurant has the Best Pizza!!
Nearest Beach
2 Miles
Silver Lake Sand Dunes, & Lake Mi. Beaches
Car: necessary

We are located just 2 miles from downtown Silver Lake with lots of family friendly activities. From Mac Woods Dune rides, to Craigs Cruisers amusements. There is lots of activities to keep you active!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Mears Farmhouse Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer Rates
Jun 23 2017 - Sep 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
$300
$1,750
$6,000
 
 
Fall Rates
Sep 5 2017 - Oct 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$250
$1,200
$4,000
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$300
$1,750
$6,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Once our guests have confirmed their available dates, the $100 deposit & booking fee may be paid in many ways. You can either mail a check, call with a credit card, or go to our website and pay online. www.GoldenSandsGolfCourse.com click the Tee Time & Shop red tab at the top of the page. Look for the Deposits section. Full balance is due upon check in.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties