Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Siesta Key Cottage - Private pool vintage Florida home!

Bedrooms 3
Space 1,400 sq ft
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 1 - 6 nights


About the property

Cottage, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-6)

Siesta Key offers an affordable St. George Island vacation experience. Enjoy relaxing in the 2nd home to be built on St. George Island. Siesta Key is a true Florida cottage built in the 50's the home offers the comfort that can only be found in a quiet beach cottage.

Siesta Key is a short walk from the sandy beaches of St George Island and a stones throw from the lighthouse and Blue Parrot restaurant. With easy access to the town and the water there is always plenty to do while staying at Siesta Key.

The home has 3 bedrooms- 1 king, 1 queen and a bunk room with 4 twins. In the living room is a sleeper sofa and flat screen TV. Enjoy a warm cup of coffee in the comfortable kitchen or take it on the roof top patio while watching the waves.

In the evening enjoy the deck off the front of the house and grill the catch of the day.

Siesta Key is an affordable vacation option - please contact with any questions.

For the quickest and most accurate quote please contact Jan at Suncoast vacation rental.

Siesta Key is professionally managed by Suncoast located on the island. If you have any questions or concerns they are available.

Please be sure to visit on of our other 2 homes on the island:

Key West House: vrbo 102178

Key Largo: vrbo 472841

More Details

Property Manager
karrie shackleford
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 21, 2018

About karrie shackleford

My family and I take pride in offering affordable beach vacations. Having said that we do not offer heated pools, extravagant furnishings, televisions that span the entirety of a wall. We do offer a safe, comfortable vacation home that will not break your budget and allows for memories to be made on this picturesque island. If you are looking for an over the top expensive home please look elsewhere.

karrie shackleford purchased this cottage in 2012

Why karrie shackleford chose Gulf Beaches

Siesta Key is the second oldest home on the island and it was important to us to keep the old Florida charm while upgrading this home. Siesta Key has undergone some major overhauling over the last several months and we hope that it is as pleasing to our guests as it is to us. I want to thank all that have been patient and understanding while the renovations have taken place.

What makes this cottage unique

affordable vacation home preserving the old Florida charm.


Gulf Beaches Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1400 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only ...
  • ID and paperwork must be signed at time of check in at Suncoast -
  • All occupants must be listed on agreement- exceeding the number allowed will result in expulsion with no refund
  • Furniture and linens must stay on property- fines will incur for damaged or missing items - report spills and breaks
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Ocean View
  • Water View
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2- the back bathroom has its own water heater
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 2 bunk bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 double
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), bunk beds (2) sleeper sofa (1)
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(14 traveler reviews)

57% Complete
35% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
7% Complete
Siesta Key Cottage - Private pool vintage Florida home!
average rating of 4.357143 based on 14 reviews
Roswell, Georgia

Always a pleasure

  • 5 of 5

The house is well situated and a short walk to the water. I love the old cottage feel and the comfortable decor. The kitchen is spacious and fun to cook in. Will certainly return.

  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your patience while the dryer was down! I hope you will visit our house again in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Cute little beach cottage.

  • 5 of 5

We loved our stay here at siesta key. It had an old charm to it which we loved and was within walking distance to just about everything. Very relaxing!!!

  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Abingdon, Virginia

My favorite rental house by far

  • 4 of 5

I should say that, most of the year, I live in a farmhouse built in 1906. I understand the issues with old houses and new technology. This probably isn't the best house for someone who comes to the beach for WIFI or to watch television. It is so charming. I love the pool. I think it would be a great place to bring kids and dog(s). We have neither.

I am happy to have been able to stay in this little house.

I admit that not having television and WIFI was a bit of an issue at night. The management company got into a disagreement with my husband over this. It makes me sad that he and Sarah in customer services couldn't see eye to eye. I was ready to pay for next year right away.

At any rate, your cottage is sweet and charming. I am a cat person and liked the little kitties around the house. You even have some of the same dishes we have at home. :) God bless you and thank you for your care for this sweet little house.

  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: First of all thank you from the bottom of our hearts for your kind words. Older homes come with "charm" and must be appreciated. As for the wifi- I do not know the details but I will extend my apologies for Sarah as well as the provider, it can be spotty at most and we all get a little "human" at the worst moments. Please let me extend my gratitude for your great response via a 15% discount on your next rental. We all suffer growing pains and I hope this will pass. Have a fantastic summer and let me know if you would like to take advantage in the future. K
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Poor rating due to no updates at all and the kitchen lacks sufficient supplies!

  • 1 of 5

We arrived to an old cottage which we realized from the pictures BUT the bathrooms were NEVER undated at all and the showers had no pressure in one and a homemade shower head in the other. The back toilet runs constantly! The seating in the living room was minimal and not comfy, the kitchen was not sufficient for cooking and had scary,old, appliances. The wifi was horrendous and we had to pull wifi from another house! The back porch and top deck were very old and nails were sticking up everywhere. The trees in the backyard need to be cut and a little grass would help. Also, there was so much brush around the outside of the fence that we were bit by all sorts of bugs and flies. The walk to the beach is farther than the pictures reveal but the small pool was nice for the kids. The kingsize bed was comfortable and that was nice since there is so much that needs to be repaired and cleaned in this home. The rugs are slippery throughout the cottage and the furniture seriously needs to be undated. Last, but not least....the wiring and plugs could not possibly pass an inspection. There were soo many plugs in one outlet I was a little concerned to sleep there. Speaking of sleeping, the top bunks were not safe for the kids....there are NO rails on the top bunks to keep kids from rolling off! Please repair this...our family spent alot of money to stay here for a week and the cottage was in poor shape. THanks

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2015
  • Stayed: July 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: FUTURE GUESTS PLEASE READ MY RESPONSE; this is an attempt to receive money back from a full week of vacation: 1) The home is the second oldest home on the island as stated, and also priced well below other homes due to its age. (2) The bathrooms are there for function and by choosing not to do lavish upgrades I am able to keep the price point at a reasonable level. (3) Toilet: a management issue that would have been and easy fix and a welcome call seeing as I am paying for the water. (4) Furniture: more furniture would over crowd the space, couch is 2 years old and there after a day at the beach. (5) Kitchen: this home is my favorite of the 3 I own because the kitchen is so functional and easy to cook in. Unfortunately items tend to walk away while others are staying in the home. I get to visit rarely so I am not always aware what has broken or been removed until my stay. A list would have been welcomed and appreciated (6) Scary appliances: I believe you are mistaken on the age of the appliances, I do the purchasing so I am aware that thy are less then 6 years old. (7) Wifi: you are on an island, reception can get spotty. (8) Nails: sea air causes nails to "pop up" on a regular basis no matter the amount of hammering. (9) Backyard: I put the pool, grill and table in the front. The back is a nice place for the pets to be able to run around but not intended for guests use. (10) Brush outside the fence: I do not own the land outside the fence that is why it is outside the fence. (11) Bugs and flies: I have spoken with Mother Nature and we hope to get that cleared up soon. It is a tropical island so bugs do happen. (12) Walk to beach: the home is a 3rd tier home; renting a home closer to the beach is the only way to attain a shorter walk. (12) Over used plugs: having an older home is not conducive to all of the electronics we use day to day and other guests take liberties with what they chose as important. If you were concerned the management again a good option, that is why I have them. (13) Bunk beds: if the slats were missing that was something the management would have been able to address at time of stay. But after inspection the beds are as shown in the photos, safe. (14) Rugs: floors are slippery and the rugs are there to help with the sand. On the other end of your spiteful review is usually an owner that takes pride In their homes. If you were truly unhappy we would have heard from you at the start of your stay, not after you checked out.
Did you find this review helpful?
16 1

Siesta Key

  • 5 of 5

As soon as we arrived to Siesta Key and took a quick walk around me and my husband both started excitedly saying "This is perfect, is it for sale?!?" It is so cute and quaint. I love all of the decorations so much! The king size bed is sooo comfy, and the whole furniture is adorable and crisp and inviting. The room with the queen bed is not as comfortable but it totally serves it's purpose. The fan doesn't work in the queen room. The room with the bunks is cute too. Good for kids and very small people. The fan in this room is very loud and annoying. The AC unit is awesome! Works very well. We loved the kitchen. The pool is a perfect size for our family. The walk to the beach was not too far, but we drove the car because we have a lot of beach gear. The rooftop deck was awesome in the day and night. The picnic table out front was much enjoyed as well. We did not want to leave!!!

  • Submitted: May 30, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We have just hired a new management company and I will be sure to pass the issues on to them. Ian happy you enjoyed the decor, I take a lot of pride in making the homes comfortable and really enjoy doing so. Please join us again on your next stay and I am sorry for the terrible delay in my response. The management hast he emails directed to them and I just checked for the first time.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Augusta, Ga

Siesta Key Cottage

  • 5 of 5

This is a amazing cozy well maintained rental property. It can easily accommodate a large family or a group of friends. The proximity to the beach is great. It has a great history and the owners were beyond helpful and truly made our stay an experience we will never forget.

  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2014
  • Stayed: September 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I always love to hear from someone that loves this little cottage as much as we do- next time you want to visit please be sure to think of us and you are welcome to stay here anytime
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Birding, fabulous day trips including many state parks.




Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $450
Property Damage Protection $59
registration fee $65 + Tax
Tax Rate 9.0%

Rates are subject to change until confirmed. The check in will be completed at the Suncoast office on the island where an ID will need to be presented and all paperwork completed. 1-800-341-2021

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties