Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

BORN Flat w St Caterina Market View! Great Area in the heart of the city!

Bedrooms 1
Space 592 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 30 nights


About the property

Apartment, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

Charming apartment in the heart of Barcelona with great views of the market and the plaza below, you will feel the vibe of the city as you can walk to the market for breakfast, buy your fresh products and visit all the amazing boutiques, tapas bars, gourmet restaurants galleries & museums around the area.

Wood exposed ceiling beam, wooden floors with big windows, one looking down to the market plaza. The flat is fully equipped; there is a full kitchen with dinning area for 4, living room with a futon sofa that can sleep 2 and one bedroom with a queen bed and closet, everything updated and with our guests in mind.

The Cathedral Plaza is 2 minutes away, Picasso Museum is 3 minutes away & 5 minute walk to Jaume metro station. You will love this location.

Keywords: Views to the beautiful St Caterina Market in great location!

More Details

owner/property manager
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english, spanish, greek, Greek
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
February 24, 2018

About owner/property manager

Architects couple with great love for the city of Barcelona! We love to travel and entaertain home with great food & friends!

owner/property manager purchased this apartment in 2004

Why owner/property manager chose Sant Pere - Santa Caterina i la Ribera

It is the perfect place to be in Bcn, everything is in walking distance and the Market makes the area so special

What makes this apartment unique

The market will become part of your dayly routine, a unique experience!

Guestbook comments from the owner

Fantastic Place! The location is very central to all things sightseeing. We all loved it and would recommend it highly.
Dec 2009
  • 1 of 7


Sant Pere - Santa Caterina i la Ribera Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • building
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 592 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:00 PM / Check-out: 11:30 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown
  • Monument View ...
  • Near The Ocean
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Queen size Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
  • Books
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Balcony
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • sailing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing


4.4/5 -
(5 traveler reviews)

60% Complete
20% Complete
20% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
BORN Flat w St Caterina Market View! Great Area in the heart of the city!
average rating of 4.4 based on 12 reviews
Ottawa, Canada

The property was not up to the North America standard thats for sure

  • 3 of 5

The apartment is dated. The bed not comfortable (IKEA style ). The couch which doubles as a bed was very uncomfortable and you would have to be over 6ft tall to sit in it properly. There was an AC unit in the bedroom but not strong enough to cool the whole apartment. the dishwasher didn't work but that was not really a problem since cooking was really not an option. the 2 little burners and the toaster oven didn't really cut it. The apartment was advertised as being on the second floor, but it was really the 3rd floor as the 1st floor is a business. So there were 42 steps going up and down to reach the apartment, someone with weak knees or an older person would have a hard time navigating on a daily basis. Lastly getting a good nights sleep is a challenge as the walls have no insulation and you can hear everyone talking that passes by, yes even on the 3rd floor. And it looks like Barcelonan's like to stay out late as there was noise until 3 am in the mornings. No noise bylaws in Barcelona that's for sure.

The positive to the place is it's location. Very central in the gothic area, access to everywhere in a short amount of time. The restaurants are everywhere and they serve food all day . No siestas in Barcelona. Easy access to the buses , metro, trains, but you will hardly use them as walking to most anywhere in Barcelona is within 20 minutes of this location.

This apartment would appeal mostly to the younger generation, who are out until 3:00am, do not cook, have no problems with climbing stairs and sleep most anywhere.

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Florham Park NJ USA

Great location! Wonderful rental.

  • 5 of 5

My daughter and I stayed at Hera's Barcelona apartment for five nights in April 2013. The location was amazing with the Santa Caterina market at our front door and the Gothic Quarter behind our building. We felt very safe in the neighborhood. The apartment is centrally located and close to the metro. There are great cafes and restaurants on the block and tons located behind the building.

Amanda was very nice and accommodating. We missed our train from Madrid (who knew daylight savings time is a few weeks later in Spain than in the USA) and Amanda had to wait for us to arrive later than planned.

The apartment is beautiful and has everything you need. The washing machine even becomes a dryer and we did laundry twice. The apartment is on the second floor so there are two flights to walk up but it wasn't a problem.

My only issues was there is no WiFi in the apartment--which I did know about in advance. I still rated the apartment 5 stars even without the WiFi as it is clean, beautifully decorated and centrally located. If I wanted to check the weather or get online I had to bring my iPad to a cafe or to dinner which got very annoying.

  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2013
  • Stayed: March 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Philadelphia, Pennyslvania, USA

Perfect location, everything you need!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at the apartment in mid-September 2011. As soon as we walked in the door, we loved the charming flat. It's updated with beautiful floors and tile, and the location couldn't be better! We walked to the amazing St. Caterina Market and had fresh eggs and cured ham each morning for breakfast, a huge money-saver. Take advantage of having fresh food at your fingertips - you can cook in the kitchen and definitely save some money while still eating great.

If you prefer to venture out to eat, there are tons of great restaurants close by, including easy walking distance to the fun Born area. We also had no trouble getting to the Metro to get up to La Familia Sagrada and other places a bit further away. The apartment has everything you need!!

Just be ready for some serious stairs, which we kind of liked so we would work off all of the food we ate. It does not have WiFi, which wasn't a huge problem for us but may be for some. There are coffee shops nearby where you can access as needed.

  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2011
  • Stayed: September 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
Bunbury Western Australia

Charming and convenient location.

  • 5 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed our five days. The apartment was comfortable and well equipped. On arrival Amanda was a delight to deal with, and as we arrived by bus from the Costa Brava she helped us navigate our way on foot to the apartment from the bus station. The booking process from Australia was very smooth. We loved the area and it was just a short walk to the cathedral square, yet we felt tucked away from all of the tourist madness. There are lots of great places to eat and drink in the area behind the apartment. A very interesting neighbourhood.

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2011
  • Stayed: June 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Portland, Oregon USA

Barcelona apartment

  • 4 of 5

The apartment was very nice. Comfortable and plenty roomy for a family of 4. No complaints about the apartment or location. The only frustration was that Hera's assistant insisted that we provide a 150 euro damage deposit on top of the balance due which was never discussed or listed in the requirements...the money was returned but left us with short on ready cash and just was a bit irritating after a long day of travel that she wouldn't accept that this was not part of the agreement of the rental. She also thought we owed more money than was agreed upon but I was able to convince her otherwise! I would recommend listing the hidden deposit or better, not asking people to pay an additional amount without warning.

Barcelona was wonderful. There was a bit of crime in the area sadly. I saw 2 people robbed in the vicinity and another robbery at the airport when we left. Other passengers actually caught the airport thief (dressed like a traveler!) and held him until police arrived. I wouldn't say the area is dangerous by any means but you have to be aware.

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2011
  • Stayed: July 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Troy, the security deposit is mentioned on the rates page. I am sorry that you missed it. The missunderstanding in the 10E price difference was my fault, we never had any money issue with our guests and we alays refund the security deposit in full during check out, best regards Hera
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0


Nearest Point of Interest
Nearest Point of Interest
Car: not necessary


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $184.59

Please email us with your request!

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties