Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Byrd's Nest | AVL Area | Cleaning fee already included in rate total!

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedrooms, 2.5 Baths, Sleeps 7

PLEASE NOTE: BYRD'S NEST REQUIRES A 3 NIGHT MIN. STAY.

Perched high on the mountain, nestled amongst the rhododendrons, Byrd's Nest is the perfect vacation getaway. Newly built in 2006, this charming Timberframe home welcomes you. Enjoy sunrise and sunset views, starlit skies from the rock ledge, and the treefrog chorus from the porch rockers. Take time to cook dinner on the outdoor char-coal grill, light a fire in the stone fireplace, or relax in the porch swing, or lounge in the hot tub. The house is 15 minutes from Black Mountain and Montreat and another 15 minutes over to Asheville, Lake Lure, Chimney Rock and the Blue Ridge Parkway. The subdivision roads are gravel for approximately 2 miles. NO 4WD is required unless wintery conditions exist. HOUSE LAYOUT: Main floor: kitchen, living room, half hall bath, master BR with queen and full bath. Upstairs: small den, BR with king and twin, BR with two twins, full hall bath. LINENS INCLUDED for your convenience.

PLEASE NOTE: BYRD'S NEST REQUIRES A 3 NIGHT MIN. STAY.

Byrd's Nest is located in High Rock Acres and fireworks are prohibited.

More Details

Property Manager
Greybeard Rentals
Speaks: english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within a few hours
Calendar last updated:
August 17, 2017

About Greybeard Rentals

We are a property management company that manages over 200 vacation rentals in the Asheville and Black Mountain areas. Each of our North Carolina Vacation Rentals is fully equipped and lovingly furnished by the owner. We’re proud of each vacation home we manage, selecting only those we would be excited to vacation in ourselves.

Guestbook comments from the manager

Our family stayed at Byrd's Nest for a 3 day weekend, and none of us wanted to go back home. The back porch has been expanded which was not shown on the pictures, so this was a nice surprise. Sitting on the porch felt like being in a cloud of trees. Loved the amenities, the pictures really don't do it justice. The campfire ring was also a great place to hang out, it was totally surrounded by rhododendrons. I wasn't sure about this rental house since the dining table looked a bit small, but decided on it anyways when I saw the porch swing & the firepit. The whole family was very happy with this place. And FYI there is a 6 person table outside, plus the inside table expands.
Jun 2009
  • 1 of 2

Amenities

Black Mountain House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • 1 King bed, 1 Queen bed, 3 Twin beds
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(25 traveler reviews)

68% Complete
16% Complete
4% Complete
8% Complete
4% Complete
Byrd's Nest | AVL Area | Cleaning fee already included in rate total!
average rating of 4.36 based on 27 reviews
3

Byrd's Nest

  • 3 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was clean.

I was more than happy with the location.

I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Pretty location. Rough gravel road over a mile long to get to house - don't bring your nice sports car. Not as clean as I would have liked - stains on sheets, for example and bathrooms not spotless. Well equipped, although would be nice to have some younger children's books in twin bedroom - minor detail. Pleasant stay, but not up to my (rather demanding) standards.

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Charlotte, NC
1

Byrd's Nest

  • 1 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was somewhat unhelpful.

The vacation rental was somewhat dirty.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Inside of home was clean and the pre vacation call concierge was nice.; however, the back deck was filthy I had to use the electrical blower. It hadn't been cleaned in some time. The grass had not been mowed in weeks do the horseshoe and tetherball wasn't accessible. The propane tank nozzle was rusted and decayed. When we lit it it caught fire and my friend burned his hand turning it off. I called the office number to inform them the next day but I kept getting phone lines are down message. The furniture on the back deck was all covered filthy and and shoved together so I had to rearrange uncover and dust before use. The inside of the home was immaculate but km very disappointed that the outside wasn't as enjoyable because that was the entire reason I chose this home was for back deck use. Also a suggestion please leave porch lights on when you know a guest is coming. It's pitch black up there and no one should have to arrive in the dark.

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: Greybeard Rentals
Owner's Response: Oh no - I'm very sorry to hear this. Our phones (including voicemail issues) were down for almost a full day around the time of your stay which was a huge inconvenience to all of us -- had we had a chance to receive your call, we would have addressed immediately. This was not an ideal scenario and we regret that circumstances with our phone lines prohibited us from remedying the situation for your stay -- we do strive to address customer concerns to ensure a great vacation and I'm sorry that we didn't have an opportunity to do this. Thank you for your feedback.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Georgetown, KY
5

Great Cabin

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We had a great stay. This was our second year in a row at this cabin. We liked it so much last year that we reserved it as we left. It was a little difficult being there this year as one of the four of us past away from cancer in Oct. after doing this weekend get-a-way together for 25years some sorrow and healing took place, but it was a great place to even do that. Thanks to the owners and the property managers keeping such a great place great!

  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: Greybeard Rentals
Owner's Response: Happy to hear you had a nice stay at Byrd's Nest. And I'm so sorry to hear of your loss since last year. Our deepest sympathies to you.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Richmond, VA
5

Great stay!

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We stayed at Byrd's Nest for a long weekend and had a great time! The kids loved the Foosball table and the swing outside, and we all enjoyed relaxing in the hot tub and hanging out around the outdoor fireplace. The house was clean and comfortable and very comfy for 2 families. Had a great time exploring the town of Black Mountain and Asheville was not far at all. We would definitely return for another visit!

  • Submitted: Dec 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: Greybeard Rentals
Owner's Response: That does sound like a wonderful time. We look forward to next time!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Ponte Vedra, FL
2

Disappointed.

  • 2 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very unhelpful.

The vacation rental was very clean.

I was very unhappy with the location.

I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Overall the house was cute (a bit small for 4 people and two one year olds). The deck was great, but unfortunately the "views" were not at all what we read. To see a mountain, you needed to get on the rock in front of the house, overlooking another home, to get a good view. Yes, you could sort of see half a mountain from the front porch, but that was it. Overall the house was cozy and clean, there was a fire ban in the county, which was half the reason we chose the house with the fire pit, so that was disappointing. Apparently it happens every year, yet not mentioned in the description. The upstairs bedrooms weren't fully enclosed so you could hear everything going on in the house, which made it tough to sleep in or if you had kids, you have to be extra quiet while they sleep. The check-in and out process was beyond annoying. You have to drive 20 min out of the way to pickup keys (they make lock boxes for a reason) and then bring the keys back, along with all your trash from the weekend, with an already packed car, gross. Given we are already paying for a cleaning fee, taking sheets off the bed, emptying the dishwasher and hauling your own trash 20 min down the road in your car is ridiculous. And, they left a tip envelope, why would we tip, when we basically did everything ourselves?

  • Submitted: Nov 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: Greybeard Rentals
Owner's Response: Oh no. I'm really is the first time we've received that feedback about the view. It's on the homes' grounds and many guests rave about it. Yes, it was tough news that we could burn in the fire a necessary precaution with drought conditions and wildfires. Sorry you were unhappy about the check-in and check-out process as well. Thanks for your feedback which I've relayed to our team.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Tallahassee, FL
4

Our home away from home

  • 4 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was very clean.

I was very happy with the location.

I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We have stayed in the cabin every Oct. for almost 10 years. It feels very homey and everything is well organized and labeled. I love the location-very private with a good view and yet closed enough to town and the interstate that you can easily come and go.

  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: Greybeard Rentals
Owner's Response: And such a great home to re-visit year after year. Thanks for being a loyal customer of Greybeard and Byrd's Nest. I'm glad you enjoyed the time again and we'll look forward to the next visit.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Notes

  • Please note that the cleaning fee is already included in this advertised rate.