Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

1st Wave, Oceanfront Seven Bedrooms (4 masters), Pool

Bedrooms 7
Half Baths2
Space 3,800 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights


About the property

Cottage, 7 Bedrooms, 7 Baths, (Sleeps 15)

Be the 1st to catch the sun and surf at 1st WAVE, a luxury home boasting 145' wide ocean frontage that will make you feel like #1! Located on a quiet cul de sac, this tastefully decorated home lends a boutique hotel feel. With larger than average room sizes, this 3700 sq ft home welcomes families right from the start with many delightful amenities.

There is no additional service fee to book this home!

The ground floor is devoted to having fun in the game room with kitchenette, pool table, a large screen home theater system with surround sound, books, games, and movies. There is also a kid-friendly bunk room and full bath nearby, as well as a master bedroom. Step outside to the oceanfront pool area with Tiki bar and your own private beach path to the ocean.

The second floor features an two master suites with private baths, and two other spacious bedrooms that share a half bath and a full hall bath. All bedrooms on this level face the ocean and have access to the generous deck with ample seating.

Up on the top level is a XL master suite with private bath and access to the top deck with hot tub, along with the open and airy great room with a wall of windows framing a 1st class oceanfront view! A flat screen TV, stereo and fireplace invites staying in for the evening while the kids play downstairs. The gourmet kitchen with gas stove, granite countertops and breakfast bar will please the chef in your group and the screened porch enables dining al fresco. Cleanup is a breeze with two sinks and two dishwashers. Your family will be in 7th heaven with a vacation in 1st Wave!

We just purchased the home in 2011 and totally refurnished it. New carpet and paint. All new furniture, All new artwork and accessories. All new outdoor furniture. All new kitchen stock. All new electronics.

Our property is professionally managed, and when you are ready to book a lease will be sent outlining all the terms of your vacation rental. Linens and towels included in all but Value or Off seasons

Keywords: house, home, vacation rental, cottage, beach house,

More Details

Property Manager
David Jasinski
Member since: 2004
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
May 28, 2017

About David Jasinski

Just someone who LOVES Hatteras Island.

David Jasinski purchased this house in 2011

Why David Jasinski chose Hatteras Island

Just loved the private feel this home offers.

What makes this house unique

This house has uniquely wide ocean frontage. As you enjoy the oceanfront views on the balcony the neighboring homes are much further away than you typically find in an oceanfront home. This gives the home a much more private feel than most oceanfront homes.


Waves House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3800 sq. ft.
  • 3 stories
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 15
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Oceanfront
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 16 people
  • 6 Bathrooms
  • 2 Half Baths
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
    Bathroom 5 -
    Bathroom 6 -
    Bathroom 7 - This is shared between queen bedroom and 2 twins bedroom
    Bathroom 8 - This bath is off the great room
  • 7 Bedrooms, Sleeps 15
  • Bedroom 3, Master - 1 king
    Bedroom 2, Master - 1 king
    Bedroom 1, Master - 1 king
    Bedroom 4, Master - 1 king
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen , Shares Jack and Jill bath with bedroom 6, Plus hall bath adj
    Bedroom 6 - 2 twin/ single , Shares Jack and Jill Bath with Bedroom 5 Plus Hall Bath Adj.
    Bedroom 7 - 2 bunk bed , 1 TwinBunk and 1 Pyramid Bunk (Single over Dble). Bath Adj.
  • Four King Masters! Queen Bedroom shares 1/2 bath Jack and Jill Style with bedroom with Two twins. These bedrooms are adjacent to a hall bath too. One of the bunks in the lower level bunkroom is a pyramid bunk which means the lower bunk is a 'double'. The non master bedrooms all have full baths immediately adjacent.
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • VCR
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Private Pool ...
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing


4.5/5 -
(4 traveler reviews)

1st Wave, Oceanfront Seven Bedrooms (4 masters), Pool
average rating of 4.5 based on 4 reviews

The views are amazing!!! But...

  • 3 of 5

As a disclaimer to my review...I am not one to complain about every thing possible and when it comes to view is that vacations should be stress free and should not be inconvenient to me and/or my family. Especially when additional money is paid to have services that are offered, such as a heated pool, as soon as I arrive. With that being said, Surf or Sound management responded very quickly to all requests/issues and the individual who came on site several times was extremely nice.

Now for the actual soon as my family arrived we were excited to go thru the house and check out the views. However, we were greeted by an incredibly strong smell of animal/animal urine on the lower floor, which was communicated to Surf or Sound (but no comment/solution from them). Rather than the initial reaction of "wow" my daughter said "What is that smell?" Not a great way to start a vacation and as a result we did not spend any time on the first floor, which was labeled the "entertainment room"...disappointing. As we journeyed through the house and made our way to the top floor...all I can say is that this location has the best view of any house on the ocean that I have ever stayed at. 5+ star rating when it comes to ocean views...absolutely amazing and the best feature of the house. After a long day of traveling we thought it would be great to hop into the "heated pool" that we paid extra for during our week...the kids were thrilled with the thought of having a pool all to themselves the entire week. However, it was freezing, but figured we would check the temperature the following day. The next day, I checked the pool again and it was still freezing. One of the mgmt individuals came out for another issue and said the water was around 60-65 vs the stated 80 I was promised. To make a long story short, several days and visits passed and I found out that the heater that I paid for was never turned on and was broken. I was refunded the money, but was still extremely disappointed with Surf or Sound mgmt that I was inconvenienced for something that I paid extra for ahead of time, they never checked that this worked prior to my visit and I can't put a price on my kids disappointment since they were expecting a pool all to themselves for the past several weeks.

Overall...views were amazing, but Surf or Sound's management of the property left a bad taste in my mouth...not sure I would recommend a vacation house managed by Surf or Sound Realty.

  • Submitted: May 22, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Washington DC suburb

Top of our list

  • 5 of 5

Surprise!!!! What we experienced was much more than we could have ever anticipated. First of all, because the place was recently completely renovated, it was new and tasteful, it was sparkling clean, and everything needed to really enjoy ourselves both indoors and outdoors was already there. The salt water and the beach were just steps away, and the large pool next to the house allowed us to enjoy the water late into the evening.... think moonlight bathing.....and beverages nearby in the Tiki Bar. We were a large group, four families, and younger ones of all ages. Great sleeping arrangements, and comfortable beds for everybody, four master suites - with plenty of privacy when needed. A well equipped to die for kitchen that kept the women in our party happy and the frequently heard comment ....I need this in my kitchen. We have vacationed in many places, and have had all sorts of 'accommodation' experiences. What this place gives you puts it at the top of our list, a treasure, a rare find, and a place that we'll look forward to coming back to for our next family event.

  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
8 0

1st Wave is number 1!

  • 5 of 5

We've been staying at 1st Wave now for over 3 years...we just keep coming back! We are experience vacationers in the Outer Banks, but this house has some unique features that keeps us coming back. The hot tub is on the upper deck - uncovered - which allows magnificant ocean views over the dunes. At night - we sit back in the hot tub and view the free light show - the stars! The pool is set on the side of the house - which allows for full sun throughout the day, with no late-day shadows. The covered tiki bar is perfect for escaping the sun if it gets too much. 1st Wave also has it's own private pathway to the beach - not publically shared like other houses.

We love this house - it's our 1st choice!

  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0
Potomac, MD

One of the Best Around!

  • 5 of 5

This place exceeded our expectations! Plenty of room for everyone and there were 14 of us. It was well furnished and clean. Everything was in working order. Even with a large group, it was not hard to find a quite place when you needed a break. There were plenty of unobstructed views of the ocean. The house was situated such that you could always find a place in the sun or shade on the decking. We enjoyed the large pool wich was located at the side of the house and the covered bar was a real bonus. We have stayed in several different houses at the outer banks and we enjoyed this one more than the others. This owner pays attention to details and I would not hesitate to rent from them again.

  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
11 0


I am the owner, but this property is professionally managed. When you are ready to book, you will be sent a lease outlining all of the terms and conditions of your rental.


Rates & Availability

Waves House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
In Season
Jun 24 2017 - Jun 30 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
Prime Season
Jul 1 2017 - Jul 7 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
Prime Season
Jul 8 2017 - Jul 14 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
Prime Season
Jul 15 2017 - Aug 11 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
In Season
Aug 12 2017 - Aug 18 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
In Season
Aug 19 2017 - Aug 25 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
Mid Season
Aug 26 2017 - Sep 1 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
Mid Season
Sep 2 2017 - Sep 8 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
Value Fall
Sep 9 2017 - Sep 15 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
Sep 16 2017 - Sep 22 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
Value Fall
Sep 23 2017 - Sep 29 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
Value Fall
Sep 30 2017 - Oct 6 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
Value Fall
Oct 7 2017 - Oct 13 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
Value Fall
Oct 14 2017 - Oct 27 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
Off Season
Oct 28 2017 - Nov 17 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
Nov 18 2017 - Nov 24 2017
7 night minimum stay
Off Season
Nov 25 2017 - Dec 22 2017
7 night minimum stay
Dec 23 2017 - Jan 2 2018
7 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $90 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.75%

Optional damage protection in lieu of security deposit ($600) is $65
Optional travel insurance available at 8% of rental amount.
Optional pool heat $400
All rates are not final until actual lease signed. Lease is thru my peofessional property management company.
There is no additional service fee to book this home

Linens and Towels are included in seasons labeled: "Mid", "In", or "Prime". They are available for an extra charge at other times.
Pool is open late April to Late October, ask for specifics

25% - 50% Deposit required upfront depending on timing. Multiple payment options and plans available.
We accept credit cards with a $39 fee per payment to offset the cost charged.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties