Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Woods, Water and Sweeping Bay Views from Glassed Front Room

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms + Den, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8-10)

Family friendly, quiet and peaceful. Heavily wooded area directly on the bay with amenities within easy reach. Sugar sand beaches of Pensacola and Gulf Shores a short drive away. All-around view of the bay from spacious living room floor-to-ceiling windows. Air conditioned, electric heat, working fireplace, Dish TV, WiFi, laundry facilities, ample parking. Pirates' Cove with its dolphin cruises, old fashioned hamburgers and live music weekends is around the corner on Intracoastal Waterway. Fishing reef farther out in the bay (constructed of fragments of a Gulf Shores pier destroyed by a hurricane.) by which there is always a boat of someone fishing. Sugar sand beaches of Gulf Shores and Pensacola a short drive away. Fresh fruits and vegetable stands, farmstead cheese factory close by near Elberta. The 24 inch redfish in the photo was caught just offshorre. My son observed that just after a rain the water would be more fresh than usual and sure enough, he caught the fsh just about ten feet offshore.

Sit in the shade of ancient live oaks next to the sea wall. Moon rise is spectacular. (So is the sunrise if you're up that soon.) Still possible to encounter deer on a walk through the woods. Swimming good for children -- my father picked out the lot because of the shallow water and clean, sandy bottom.

One king bedroom, one double bedroom, one den with sleeper sofa, one daybed in center reading room, two day beds on enclosed sleeping porch. Two full bathrooms (one with shower and one with bath tub). Large kitchen with roomy eating facilities.

Keywords: Swim, watch an osprey catch a fish: Directly on wide waterfront with big trees, spacious house with ample space for parking, year round, in Josephine, on the Alabama side of Perdido Bay, laundry facilities, fishing reef out in front. Southwest from Pensacola about a 35 minute drive via Hwy 98, then south on 95. About an hour's drive from Mobile.

Minimum stay two nights. Cleaning fee $65.00. No pets. Bellingrath Gardens near Mobile and the Blue Angels in Pensacola are well known attractions. Separate cottage available on same lot. Listing is 351034.

More Details

Property Manager
Property Manager
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
September 20, 2017

About The Owner

Writer whose children learned to swim here, and enjoyed walking on the sands of Perdido Bay.

The Owner purchased this house in 1956

Why The Owner chose Alabama

This house was built in 1954 and expanded in 1975 by my Father who was and engineer and supervised a large part of the building of the Hoover Dam. My brother-in-law commented, after seeing the house during construction; "your father is building that house like he is spending government money." He was referring to my father's engineer's attention to detail.

My father selected this site because of the soft sand and the warm shallow water which is perfect for small children. In the photos section you can see my three great granddaughters playing about 40 or 50 feet in front of the see wall, and they just over waist-deep at high tide. This is the perfect place for children.

What makes this house unique

Seeing the ospreys and other wildlife, the sound of the waves throughout the house, the quiet, friendly neighborhood, water safe for children to learn to swim, uncrowded boating, fishing right there.

Amenities

Elberta House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets considered ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront ...
  • Water View
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • There is one full bathroom with a large vanity and a 3/4 bathroom. There is also a shower head outside to rinse off after playing in the warm water of Perdido Bay.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • This house comfortably sleeps six to eight people. There are two spacious bedrooms, one with a king size bed and one with a double. There are three day beds in common areas of the house, which guest may position to their comfort. There is a den off of the main living room with a view of the water, which has a pullout sofa bed.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Lawn / Garden
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

3.2/5 -
(5 traveler reviews)

40% Complete
0% Complete
20% Complete
20% Complete
20% Complete
Woods, Water and Sweeping Bay Views from Glassed Front Room
average rating of 3.2 based on 5 reviews
2

Secluded with beautiful views BUT...

  • 2 of 5

We loved getting away from the crowded tourist-y condos we have stayed in before, and the view of the bay from the house and backyard was incredible. (Wish the Adirondack chairs visible in the picture had actually been there, though.) Another positive was the friendly property manager; she was great to speak with.

Unfortunately, having found this property when searching for a handicapped-friendly vacation rental and seeing that it is labeled as wheelchair-accessible, we were extremely disappointed to find steps throughout the house, making it decidedly not handicapped-accessible. For others in similar situations, the toilets aren't just not ADA-approved, they are sit-on-the-ground, been-here-since-the-'60s low. Overall, the house is in dire need of updating and could have used a much more thorough cleaning. Also, we killed spiders and roaches throughout our stay. And having people staying in the cottage next to the driveway was a bit awkward, especially at night with lights on in the kitchen and no window coverings. Expect to drive at least half an hour to Perdido Key and much longer to Pensacola.

This place just wasn't what we were hoping for. We have learned to ask some very specific questions in the future.

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Scottsdale AZ
5

Beautiful, Secluded, and Peaceful

  • 5 of 5

I've been coming to this beautiful home for many years and it's the most relaxing vacation spot I've every visited. You can't beat the view - it's right on the water. Great swimming. The water is perfect for children - calm, shallow and sandy bottom. The sunsets are spectacular! The house is large and the front is almost entirely glass, so you can sit inside and enjoy the beautiful view. There's WiFi and DirecTV to keep you busy at night time. But you may prefer to go fishing instead. It's about 30 minutes by car from the house to Foley, where there are a Walmart, the outlet mall and fast food joints.

Now someone wrote a particularly mean-spirited comment about mold and I can tell you that person must have confused this house with some other property. I was just there (June 2017) and the house is definitely not a 5-star resort, but it's clean and comfortable with some terrific views of Perdido Bay, Ono Island and Pensacola. In fact, I feel rejuvenated and ready to face the world again.

Speaking of Pensacola: You need to visit the Naval Air Museum. It's about an hour's drive from the house. It's a great way spend an afternoon admiring vintage Navy aircraft. And if you plan it just right you can see the Blue Angels practice. Plus, it's free! (they do however accept donations).

I recommend this home to anyone looking for rest and relaxation. If you're into the night-life, bar-hoping, and making new friends at the pool you're going to be disappointed. But, if you want beautiful scenery, a cool breeze in your hair as you watch the dolphins swim by, and to feel human again, this is the place.

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
3

Well equipped good location...in need of updating and a little TLC. View to die for!

  • 3 of 5

Would stay again! Here for Bros surprise 60th just around corner at Point Yacht Club , so was super convenient.

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

This House is a a HEALTH HAZARD because it is FULL of visible MOLD. Couldn't stay &owner new of mold

  • 1 of 5

I couldn't stay in house because it is a HEALTH HAZARD, and should NOT be on market to rent! House has VISIBLE MOLD on BASEBOARDS & SMELLS of MILDEW! I Couldn't stay in home & drove from Pennsylvania without a place to stay! I expect a refund since I bought the CANCELLATION INSURANCE! I will NEVER use this company again!

  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: In the time that I have rented the house I have probably had at the very least several hundred guests. I have never once had a complaint about mold. I keep the place up and stay in it myself when I have a vacation. This person claims that the house was full of mold when she was never fully in the house. She technically shouldn't be eligible to submit a review because she was never in the house. She accuses me of knowing about the mold when she has never met me. I was 1600 miles away in Arizona when all this is happened. She claims that the house is a health hazard. How can you know that when you have never physically been in a house? In this month of July There is a family that is there for their third summer in a row. They were there for 5 weeks in 2015, 5 weeks in 2016, and four weeks this year. Would somebody spend that much vacation time in a house that was a health hazard?
Did you find this review helpful?
0 2
Meridian, Mississippi
5

I knew the moment that I stepped through the door…

  • 5 of 5

that I had found a treasure, the kind that you are not sure you want to write a review about and share with others so that no one else would visit and it could be your own little secret. After a long day and even a longer drive I was really looking forward to a hot shower, a cup of coffee and a good night’s sleep, and even told Ms. Lynn the property manager as she gave me detailed instructions the last five miles in. I was really concerned that a few miles earlier than that I kept seeing the “No Outlet” signs and wondered where I was really headed. I wondered even further when the last half mile turned into a one lane 15 mph drive with old live oaks overhead. As I found the house and pulled into the gravel drive I wondered what was behind the door of this concrete house with all the windows. Lynn even had a pot of coffee waiting for me and that kind of hospitality is a kindness not often found. I woke to squirrels playing in the live oaks, herons and pelicans flying by, dolphins and their little ones swimming by and mullet jumping for their breakfast. The water was plentiful and hot and I made instant friends with a soft buttery leather oversized chair and ottoman. The beds are comfortable, the kitchen well stocked and even a washer, dryer and soap to wash them are available. The water is about 2 foot deep with a sandy bottom for about a hundred yards out ( safe for the little’s) and the neighbors are helpful if you need them but you catch yourself looking from time to time to see if they are even still there. This home is Old Florida lovingly restored and upgraded with all you need and cool tile floors throughout. Bring your dry goods but tear away for a quick trip to Orange Beach for fresh seafood, a number of local farm stands can give you all you need in produce and the Elberta Grocery will hand cut your Rib eyes, T-Bones, Porterhouses and might even have a few Cordon Blue on hand. Also don’t forget a quick trip to Sweet Home Farms for the very best in homemade cheeses and gourmet goodies. Pack your clothes, bring a float and laze away a few days at the Beach House. We want to thank Lynn for her great hospitality (and getting us hooked up to Wi-Fi for those of us who can’t seem to unplug) and even more so to Ms. Barbara and her family for sharing their family home with us all and treating us like we were extended family. We hated to leave and cannot wait to come back soon!

  • Submitted: May 30, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
37 1

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Pensacola International Airport
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Pirates Cove Marina
Nearest Ferry
15 Miles
Gulf Shores/Dauphin Isle.
Nearest Golf
10 Miles
Foley Greens
Nearest Train
45 Miles
Mobile
Nearest Motorway
6 Miles
US 98
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Pirates Cove Marina
Nearest Beach
Perdido Bay In The Front Yard
Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties