Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Ocean Front Condo Pet Friendly, Grill and WIFI! Million dollar view!

Bedrooms 2
Space 850 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights


About the property

Condo, 2 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

**Oceanfront, Oceanfront, Oceanfront**

If you are looking to relax, you've landed in the right place. You'll love relaxing in this two bedroom two bath condo. After a friend of mine got married at Kure Beach I started visiting Carolina Beach and renting other folks condos. I fell in love with the beach and I've taken all my likes from the other condos and put them into this space. From the granite countertops to replacing the bathroom vanitys and installing all new appliances, you'll love the enjoyment you and your family or friends will be able to enjoy.

The condo has a HUGE balcony facing the ocean with an unobstructed view of the beautiful water. It even slopes downward to ensure no water runs back in the condo. When the waves are right, you'll be able to see surfers and dolphins in the water. During the late summer season the waves were huge and I saw 20-25 surfers a day - makes for a great beach feel. You also have a private walk out to a beautiful sandy beach. It is situated between two life guard stands. This is awesome for two reasons: there will be people on either side of you on the beach, but the space in front of the boardwalk in front of the condo is available and normally free for you to relax in the chairs that are provided. In the storage unit below there are beach chairs and toys for your enjoyment. You can also lock your own personal items in the storage unit too. No lifting everything for the beach up and down the stairs everyday. After you come off of the beach you can shower off in the outdoor shower. There is even a foot shower to make sure you get in all the nooks and cranies!

Inside you will find the condo fully stocked. There are board games and a DVD library, to flat screen tvs in every room, you'll love what this condo has in store for your vacation!

The master bedroom has a comfy queen size bed with ceiling fan and attached private bath and private balcony with peek-a-boo views of the canal. The guest bedroom has a full size bunk bed, which has a twin on top, full size in the middle and a twin trundle underneath...and there is an available twin size fold out bed too!

The kitchen is magnificent with granite countertops and everything you need to cook a home cooked meal. Stainless Steel appliances with flat top range will make you think you are staying in a five star resort. The dining room sits four, but you can pull up the three barstools to add more people. The living room is perfect to watch a movie after the sun goes down. It features a sectional sofa with a chaise lounge, Board Games, DVD library, comfy chair with ottoman and a view to die for!

A ten minute walk will get you to the famous Carolina Beach Boardwalk. Filled with great restaurants, nightlife, beachy stores and the world famous Britt's Doughnuts (a must have, but cash only please) you are in the best part of Carolina Beach. A block behind the condo is the canal. It's an amazing place to walk around with your family, friends and pets. There are also public areas to sit and watch the boats (both big and small) go by. We did this for the Fourth of July Fireworks and it was AMAZING!

On the far North End is the North End Pier which you can see from the condo. There is amazing fishing and the location of the start of Freedom Park, one of the only areas in North Carolina where you can drive on the beach. It's an awesome place to drive out and watch the sunset on the far end of the beach or you can walk down North Carolina Beach Avenue with your dog and go out on the beach and play all day.

At the South End of Carolina Beach is Ft. Fisher, it's an amazing piece of history that is worth seeing during your visit. It is also home to an amazing acquarium.


**Furniture subject to change from the photos.

Thank you for looking and choosing the Pirate Shack I'm so looking forward to a GREAT Summer Season! Arrggh...

Keywords: condo, oceanfront, beach front, lifeguard stand, north end, canal, luxury, pet friendly, dog

More Details

Cliff Webster, Jr.
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english, Some Dutch, and by some I mean like four words.
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
September 21, 2017

About Cliff Webster, Jr.

I am so excited to share with you my experience of buying a home away from home. As a high end apartment manager located in Raleigh, NC, I've always had the pleasure of living on-site. With that thought process in mind, I turned my home purchase towards the beach so that my friends and I could have a place to get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life! Here you'll find our adventures and we hope that you will add your own!

Why Cliff Webster, Jr. chose Southern Coast

A few summers ago, my college roommate got married to his sweetheart. While I was here, the memories of my childhood visits to Carolina Beach started to flow. I had some money saved up and decided that I should look at some real estate. It took me over a year to find the perfect place. I bought a condo and completely turned into my little piece of heaven. From new floors to new doors, I've personally put a lot of sweat equity into making this place mine! That a few good friends, paid with beer and seafood and the Pirate Shack is what you see today. I hope you enjoy it as much as my friends and family do! Growing up vacationing at Carolina Beach every year was always so much fun. I remember looking back we got to go for an ENTIRE week to Carolina Beach. We always stayed at The Parker motel on the North End, but had to stay on the second row without a pool so we could afford the entire week. Every summer we packed up my fathers full size 1970's truck, put the camper on top and headed to Carolina Beach. My dad had affixed a bed on the back and with the small shell camper, my sister and I were in for a ride of a lifetime. We always made signs to put int he back window to tell people where we were going. My favorite was always drawing a clown and making it colorful - oh how our childhood makes us. Never in a million years would I have thought I could afford something at the beach and especially not oceanfront. I'm humbled that I get to dream big and enjoy the memories from days gone by. I hope you and your family will enjoy the memories you make - they truly last a lifetime!

What makes this condo unique

I personally love being able to wake up, open the master bedroom door and see the ocean. There is nothing better than looking into eternity! No matter whether it's cold or hot, I love it here. There is a reason it's call Paradise Island and I fully understand it!

I also enjoy the local flare. From the great restaurants like The Deck House to Granny's Country Kitchen you just can't beat this laid back island.

In the winter, you should check out the Island of Lights. The locals really get into this and it's amazing to see the ocean in the winter with all the lights and Christmas Flare at the Boardwalk!

Guestbook comments from the owner

Cliff -

I didn't get to make an entry in the guest book as we have three kids and getting packed and out the door is difficult. But I did want to let you know on the days the weather cooperated we had a great time with the proximity to the beach and all the toys in the storage unit - my eldest son learned how to boogie board, and the other two built sand castles. On the days where the weather didn't cooperate we enjoyed the use of the games - my husband taught my daughter to play backgammon, and my youngest and I became experts at the Memory Game - and DVDs and having there own bedroom with a DVD TV was the 'best thing ever'. And after the kids were in bed, we really enjoyed the deck.

Unfortunately fireworks were cancelled due to the wet weather that Thursday, but we made the best of it. The ladies at Squigley's became our best friends as we were there 4 nights of the week as we love ice cream in our house. We discovered a great seafood restaurant up towards Wilmington - Fish Bites. Its in a little strip mall and gets packed. We got the last free table and somebody was there to take it as soon as we were done. Great fresh seafood - I would say it is better than Michael's - yup I said it. Also, El Cazador - is good mexican and GIGANTIC margaritas - which is sometimes a necessity with three kids.

We love Carolina Beach. It was a little disappointing to have so many rainy days this trip, but your amenities made it easier. Enjoy the Pirate Shack - you really do have a great place.


Aug 2012
  • 1 of 1


Carolina Beach Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • building
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 850 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible / Check-out: Flexible
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront
  • Water View ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Free Wifi
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 7 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1) This is a fold out bed, that can be moved to any room in the condo. , Bunk Beds (1) Bunk Bed.
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • 4 beach chairs
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Pirate theme - totally different from most beach cottages!


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(60 traveler reviews)

76% Complete
16% Complete
3% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
Ocean Front Condo Pet Friendly, Grill and WIFI! Million dollar view!
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 61 reviews
Oxford, NC

Cozy pirate cove🌊

  • 5 of 5

Perfect get-away! Cliff was very helpful.

  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so glad you had a quick trip away and i loved the photo you sent me - thank you! And thank you for taking great care of my little piece of heaven! Until the next time... :)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Nice condo, thin walls, narrow driveway

  • 4 of 5

The condo itself was very nice. It was roomy and clean. The view to the ocean was beautiful and the private walk to the beach was wonderful. I read a review about the narrow driveway and thought they were being dramatic. They were not. There is a driveway on each side of the condo and both are so narrow all vehicles will struggle. We had a jeep wrangler and a mercury mountaineer and every time we drove it was a struggle getting in and out without damaging our vehicles. The other issue was the walls are paper thin. Worse than any condo or apartment I've ever been in. You will hear everything! Every movement upstairs and in the condo beside. It got annoying. Overall we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hey! I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Oddly enough, when I bought the condo I had a Jeep Wrangler and never had a problem getting in and out of the drive. The larger SUVs I get - you have to go slow - it's beach front living and the land is tight. I've never had an issue with neighbors and I can't ever say I've "heard everything," but I am use to apartment living so maybe I am use to living in a multifamily spot. I do like having people around me too - the people you get to know is pretty amazing. When I was a kid, we stayed at the 300 block and I remember the couple that was our neighbors every summer, the Uprights. They visited CB the same week as us so it was cool to see our beach family. Please come back soon! We would love to have you back at the Pirate Shack!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Lexington, VA

Great location and pet friendly

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our time at this little vacation spot. The location was perfect with a beautiful view of the beach and lots of restaurants near by. The condo was clean and well appointed. The only reason that I didn't give it five stars is that the unit has very thin walls, so we could hear all of our neighbors - above, below, and beside. Next time we'll go for something more private.

  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hey, I hope you enjoyed your vacation and I am glad you chose my spot. I do have another home that is a private residence, The Pirate's Pad or Pirate's Chest. Check them out and come back and enjoy the Pirate flare. Cheers!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Property not clean or ready for our arrival

  • 2 of 5

Good location with great views. However the property was not cleaned or ready prior to our arrival. All the bed sheets and bathroom towels were not washed and found lying dirty on the bathroom floor. Imagine arriving at the property at 6 pm tired after a long trip with two babies in need of sleep and having to put two loads of bed sheets on a very slow washer/ dryer, and having to clean the property for some comfort. At the day of departure the cleaning crew admitted that the condo was not cleaned or prepared for our arrival. The property owner was notified at the end of the trip and has taken no responsibility or provided any explanation for why the property was not ready. When prompted for at least a partial refund for the cleaning fee, our messages have been ignored.

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi and thank you for your review. As we have spoken via email I want to shed a little light on this review for others who read it. I can't make excuses when mistakes are made, we are all human and mistakes happen. What I will say is that I have put together an extremely comprehensive Welcome Package to ensure that issues are minimal, if not non-existent. After you checked out you told me about the cleaning issue. I asked why you didn't tell me at check in and you responded that you didn't have access to VRBO and didn't know how to contact. My phone number is plastered all over everything: vrbo, my website, the front door, the fridge, etc. The Welcome Packet is very clear that if you find the home not to your liking to let me know immediately and we will fix it. The cleaning crew would have brought new linens for your use and spared you the wait of cleaning the old ones. As I apologized and told you I would look into the situation what I found is this: You didn't notify me. The reason is even more alarming. You brought pets with you that you didn't make me aware of. The condo was left a disaster and you didn't pay the pet fees of $150 each. The additional cleaning charges due to your stay cost me money. Given that you were inconvenienced I looked past the additional $170 you owed to me because you were not an honest person. I don't ask a lot of the guest who chose to stay in my little piece of heaven. I personally stayed in enough homes prior to my purchase that were a nightmare (2 cups and 1 plate in a place that slept 6, dirty sheets, not enough cooking items, internet that didn't work) so I have really paid special attention to ensure your comfort. Over the past 8 years I've only encountered two other people who have tried to scam or shame me based on their own lies - at least 99% of the people who utilize my home for their vacation are honest and trustworthy people. I hate that the Pirate Shack wasn't cleaned when you arrived, but I hate even more that you chose to fraud me with your stay by having messy pets in my home. I had the condo deep cleaned after your stay given the condition when you left so it was perfect for the next person and I assure anyone looking at this review that if something is wrong I will do everything in my power to make it right as long as you communicate with me. Thanks! Cliff
Did you find this review helpful?
8 0

wonderful place with great view.

  • 5 of 5

Loved staying here. Chek in process seamless. Comfortable bed and wonderful view. Would easily stay again.

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hey Rick! Thank you for staying at the Pirate Shack. I'm glad you guys enjoyed your time. Come back to Pleasure Island soon. Cheers, Cliff
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Had a good time

  • 4 of 5

Great facility..everything worked properly, the only down side was parking..the driveway to our parking spaces is very very narrow. I have a dodge truck and had to have someone get out in front of me and watch to make sure I wouldn't hit the building.

  • Submitted: May 12, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Walking distance to the beach, old timey boardwalk, North End Pier and several of the shops around the Island. You have to try out Britts Doughnuts (only available during the summer season). I also suggest the drive to the South End of the island to enjoy Historic Fort Fisher, they have some great places to take photos and there is a ferry that will take you over to Southport where boutique shopping abounds.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $100
Additional Guest Fee $5 per person per night
Pet Fee $150
Damage Deposit $300

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties