Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Sproat Lake Vacation Cottage - 4 person max

Bedrooms 1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 7 nights


About the property


Please note: we have a 7 night minimum stay and a 4 person maximum

Private, south facing lakefront 1 bedroom cottage on one acre of property on beautiful Sproat Lake in Port Alberni.

The cottage sleeps 4 people – with one queen bed, one double pullout and one double convertible futon couch.

Our dock has been renovated and as you can see from the photos, it is our central attraction! Wonderfully large and comfortable, you will be in heaven! Have young children? Easy entry into the warm lake with the built in stairs. Stay cool under the shade sails, or work on your tan on another part of the large dock.

The cottage is situated on a level acreage of property, with 110 ft. of pebble beach. You are about 50 steps from the cottage to the water's edge - dip your feet into the warmest, cleanest lake on Vancouver Island. You will enjoy summer sunshine on the dock from 8 in the morning until 9 at night.

If boating is your thing, bring your power boat and enjoy the skiing, tubing, and wake boarding - the large lake (93,000 hectares) offers so much room for enjoying water sports. Or just cruise around the lake and stop to see the hieroglyphics.

Take advantage of the double kayak, single kayak and canoe provided with your rental, and paddle across the lake to visit Fossli Provincial Park and a beautiful short hike up to a suspension bridge.

You are situated among some of the most spectacular sightseeing destinations in the world: Vancouver Island's west coast, with Tofino, Ucluelet and Pacific Rim National Park just 1.5 hours drive away. Or visit the world famous Cathedral Grove in MacMillan Park - only 1/2 an hour from your home.

At the end of the day, take advantage of the fully stocked kitchen, mix up some margaritas in the blender and cook up a storm on the barbecue provided.

Please note that pets cannot be accommodated at this property - no exceptions. Owners may be vacationing in the house also situated on the same property. No RVs or sleeping trailers are permitted on the property.

Due to the prevalence of allergies, we ask guests to refrain from using perfumes or colognes. Thank you for observing this!

Before making any payments, please contact owner at 250.478.7117 or 250.812.8436 Pacific Time.

Keywords: house, cottage, lakefront, Vancouver island, Port Alberni, Tofino, Ucluelet, British Columbia, lake, Sproat Lake, Sproat, holiday rental, for rent,

More Details

Patty Shepherd
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 14, 2017

About Patty Shepherd

My husband and I bought this property as an investment in 2004, but soon fell in love with it, and abandoned all plans to resell. We spend our yearly vacation at the lake, and as such, have made it as comfortable as our own home. We love the family oriented look and feel, and fit right in with the neighbouring families who live full time on the lake.

Patty Shepherd purchased this cottage in 2004

Why Patty Shepherd chose Sproat Lake

This lake is the secret gem of Vancouver Island. While other lakes are being overdeveloped, and becoming extremely crowed for water sports, Sproat Lake's size makes it fantastic for the water enthusiast. The beautiful country roads and lovely trails across the street make morning walks a must.

What makes this cottage unique

The water is warm and crystal clear. The property is flanked by trees on either side, making your stay private. You are away from the noisy campgrounds, and tucked into a bay that creates a feeling of security. Your neighbours are full time residents that have great respect for the lake and all it has to offer.


Sproat Lake Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lakefront
  • Family
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Cottage Bathroom - toilet , shower
  • 1
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Cottage Bedroom - 1 queen , 1 double
    Cottage Living room - 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Library
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
kayak, canoe, all boating safety equipment. Large orchard in back with fruit trees- perfect for bocce ball. Long gentle sloping driveway.


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(18 traveler reviews)

88% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
Sproat Lake Vacation Cottage - 4 person max
average rating of 4.7777777 based on 18 reviews


  • 5 of 5

There is such a peace and tranquility that sweeps over the lake on a warm summer's morning. That feeling consumes the body and soul as one sits with a cup of tea in hand and looks out at a mirrored reflection of them self. The eyes feast upon a view of the lake second to none. The fabulous dock provides the foundation for all the wonderful day's activities.... swimming, boating, settling in with a good book, building a glorious golden tan and enjoying a cool cocktail on a hot day. House and cottage provide for all your needs and added entertainment options. So much to do, so little time....extended stay a definite year, and year after, and year after. Yes, this is a definite do over :)

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2013
  • Stayed: July 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: What beautiful words! You've captured it perfectly. Please visit us again.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Home away from home.

  • 5 of 5

My friend and I had the pleasure of renting this property while we attended Windsong College from Septemeber to mid-December. It was the best decision we made! Coming home to the peaceful energy of the place after a long day helped keep us grounded and re-charged our batteries!

September was gorgeous and we spent every evening on the dock. Fall brought a change in weather and we eagerly opened the curtains every morning to see what the lake had in store for us! Plus...the resident Beaver usually swam by at around 8:15!

Patti and Keith are great, helpful hosts. Communication was always prompt! The living room, with its huge picture windows and close proximity to the lake was our favorite place in the house. The shower was a close second! We both have a LOT of hair on our heads and that shower-head was the bomb! Amazing!!

We look forward to returning annually and highly recommend this to anyone looking for a great get-away!!

Thanks for entrusting your perfect "home away from home" to is for so long! We'll be back!

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Victoria, BC

Wonderful cabin experience

  • 5 of 5

Clean and comfortable cabin with all the amenities including a barbecue! Comfortable bed, clean kitchen. Dock is gorgeous. You can sit and relax plus the water was really nice - I don't swim in lakes often but this was a nice lake, not too cold and seemed clean! Went for a nice hike on a path in the woods right across the street. Absolutely stunning surroundings. Had the chance to meet the landlord and she was very friendly and very informative and helpful. Great experience. Will definitely book again..

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Patti, thankyou for this lovely review. We do enjoy it when our guests make use of the kayaks and the canoe. We were also happy to know that you had fun with the all the games in the cabin on that one "weather day"! Glad to know that you will be back again next year.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Lake Days

  • 4 of 5

This was my second time staying at the cabin and both times have been absolutely perfect. The owners are incredibly friendly and accommodating. Stayed here with a group of girlfriends and we had such a wonderful quiet and relaxing weekend. Hung out on the dock for breakfast and in the evenings with a glass of wine. The neighbors are also extremely friendly and offered to take us out on a boat ride to the water bombers.

Only wish is that the weather had been a bit nicer so we could have gone out and enjoyed the water a bit more, but even an overcast day at the lake is better than a day away from it! Definitely going back again!

  • Submitted: May 24, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Jessie, we love our repeat visitors! Next time I will personally order up the sun for you!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 2 of 5

While the cottage was clean and tidy, the furniture was very dated. The bed had a new mattress but the living area was dark and the furniture uncomfortable. The BBQ was unusable as it was moldy inside and out and the deck was covered in a winter grime that was unappealing. We preferred not to stay and was refunded less than half of our money. Their new dock was lovely and the cabin may have been appropriate for overflow teens. But is wasn't for us.

  • Submitted: May 18, 2016
  • Stayed: April 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We find it remarkable that a person who has not inquired, booked or paid through VRBO is able to access this site to leave a review. ​That said, of course we were sorry that you didn't find the cottage to your liking. A cottage on the lake will invariably have its quirks, but as you stated, it is absolutely clean, and the photos provided in our website represent exactly what the traveler will see upon arrival. Yes, the patio, because of wind, often has some of the debris from ​the old growth forest in which our cottage is nestled, and unfortunately the timing of your stay was also in high pollen season. Athough the BBQ is part of our summer season rental, we do not guarantee its availability in spring and fortunately our fully equipped kitchen provides ample opportunity to prepare all your meals. ​​It's unfortunate that you didn't get to enjoy the beach and dock and all the boats we provide during your reservation of unseasonably warm temperatures... perfect for lake vacations. ​Having signed an agreement that no refunds are given on the day of check-in, we nevert he less provided a 50% refund in good faith for the guests that "preferred not to stay". ​ We pride ourselves on never having had to apply this cancellation policy in the 12 years we have owned this lovely lake vacation home. And our guest reviews attest to that. ​
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Lantzville, BC, Canada

Lake Holiday

  • 5 of 5

Our get away to the lake was a ton of fun. The kids especially enjoyed the lake, us parents enjoyed spending time relaxing on the dock, watching the children play, go for a quick dip into the lake.

The cabin offers everything you need, including lots of games, movies etc. The children even "learned" how to play the "pool" game!

We would definitely recommend this cabin to our European friends and all our family and friends here on the Island. Hopefully we can come back soon again!

The owners are very helpful and respond to emails right away! Thank you!

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2013
  • Stayed: July 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so happy your family was able to plan this last minute get-away! We love showing off our place to new guests, and really appreciate the wonderful feedback.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Point of Interest
Martin Mars Water Bombers
Nearest Point of Interest

Geocaching sites nearby.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional
This calendar has not been updated in over 2 months and the availability shown may not be accurate.

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $100 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $300
Tax Rate 5.0%

***PLEASE NOTE: our cancellation policy is provided with every quote. IGNORE VRBO'S "OWNER CANCELLATION POLICY" AS WRITTEN BELOW****
Refundable Damage deposit required.
Cleaning fee: $100
Taxes (GST) apply
7 day minimum stay - Saturday to Saturday
Cancellation policy available upon request.
Bookings are subject to taxes.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties