Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Close to wedding chapel (discount),1 1/2 blk to beach,North End, unlimited parki

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Space 2,600 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms + sleeping Loft, decks, screened party room, sunset marsh view

This beautiful home is less than 11/2 blocks to the beach and within walking distance to the Village on Tybee where charming boutiques, art galleries and Hucapoos is found. 1 1/2 blocks to Tybee Wedding & Events Chapel The home has marsh views.

This home is also in the perfect location for riding bikes to the light house, playground, library or many of Tybee's delicious restaurants.

The house is on the north end of the island at 104 Byers Street, just off the main road on to the island. The cities newest beach access ramp is a short block down the street. The house has room to park four vehicles on the ground floor under cover and two in the side yard. There is a roomy elevator to get your guests, luggage and groceries from floor to floor. There are two queen size bedrooms, one bedroom with a king sized bed and one bedroom with twin beds. The king size bedroom has a private bath with a shower. There is a washer & dryer on the second floor.

The kitchen is spacious with an eating bar, stainless appliances and granite counters that adjoins the great room. Of course, there is a flat screen TV in the great room along with a huge, round dining table that can seat 8-10..

There are two private screened porches for reading or sunning.

The house has a ping Pong table on the ground floor for those rainy days.

There is a private, bonus paneled loft that overlooks the marsh with a king hidabed for additional sleeping spaces.

This home has all of the bells and whistles and makes for the perfect summer vacation.

Keywords: Tybee Island, House, Great Screened Porches, Close to beach, loft, Sleeps 10, 2 masters,Beautiful Home, pet friendly with pets on RX flea control program.

More Details

Owner
Ed Rutledge
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 19, 2017

About Ed Rutledge

I built this house in 2006 as a residence so there is lots of closet and storage space that you don't usually find in a typical beach house. We live about a block from this house from September thru May. We have two dogs and they travel with us in the summer.

Ed Rutledge purchased this house in 2006

Why Ed Rutledge chose Coastal

Tybee is a very unique place

What makes this house unique

This is a quality house that was built as a year round residence. This is a pet friendly house for dogs on a Rx flea control program.

Map

Nearest Airport
22 Miles
Savannah Hilton Head International
Nearest Barpub
200 Metres
Hucapoos
Nearest Restaurant
200 Metres
Hucapoos
Nearest Beach
200 Metres
North Beach
Car: recommended

Bicycle rental two blocks down on HWY 80. Kyack tours and lesson are available two blocks down HWY 80 walking distance to the Wedding Chapel

The best restraunt on the island is the Sundae Cafe

Amenities

Tybee Island House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2600 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Village ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Elevator
  • Garage ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 2 nd floor living area floor
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , First Floor
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single
    Loft - 2 twin/ single , 2 twin
  • King size beds (1) Master bedroom with it own bath, Queen size Beds (2) one bedroom is a master with its own bath, Twin or Single Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) King hidabed in loft
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Gazebo ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Tennis ...
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
elevator to ground, 2nd and 3rd floors

Reviews

Very Good! 4/5 -
(37 traveler reviews)

37% Complete
35% Complete
16% Complete
8% Complete
2% Complete
Close to wedding chapel (discount),1 1/2 blk to beach,North End, unlimited parki
average rating of 3.9729729 based on 37 reviews
Athens, Ga
4

Great house! Close to wedding chapel so we could walk. Close to shops and Hucapoos! Enjoyed our stay

  • 4 of 5

Lots of space, decks, and convenient to many locations😊

  • Submitted: Apr 30, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thhank you for you Review.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Great Location. Needs some TLC.

  • 3 of 5

The location of this Tybee Island house is great. We had 10 family members and everyone had a comfortable bed to sleep in. The house was clean when we arrived. Unfortunately, there were quite a few maintenance issues - the dishwasher didn't work; the A/C did not work for two days; the grill caught fire because it was so dirty; the ceiling leaked when it rained; the ice maker made a terrible noise every night that woke everyone; there was no smoke detector or fire extinguisher; one of the toilets didn't flush (but we fixed this ourselves with the purchase of a new part from Walmart). The local maintenance contact tried to fix things but, other than the a/c, was unsuccessful. This house could be wonderful with some care and general maintenance. These were all items that were noted in other reviews but we believed them to be fixed based on the owners response. Sadly, that was not the case. This house is for sale and, perhaps, not receiving the attention it needs.

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Unfoutionately we have been away all summer and have been trying to get these items repaired remotely. The disher and ice maker have been repaired according to the house keeper. The Air Conditioner is being repaired or replaced. The smoke detector was removed to replace the batteries and it never got reinstalled. We are sorry for your issues.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Very nice! Close to the beach!

  • 4 of 5

Our family had at great stay! There was plenty of room. The only downside was the dishwasher didn't work.

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Our housekeeper has indicated that the dishwasher has een fixed.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

It was ok for our needs but not great

  • 2 of 5

Since we were only staying the weekend and had no plans to cook, it was just ok. The house was clean, the rooms a nice size, bright and airy. It was close to the wedding chapel which is why we were here. Kitchen was sorely lacking in pots, pans, small juice glasses, extra coffee carafe (to accommodate both regular and decaf). The air conditioner stopped working on the top floor and it became very uncomfortable and we were unable to reach the owner by phone. The check out instructions were to run a load of sheets / towels but there was no laundry detergent. We ran it with water but it made me wonder if our sheets were truly clean when we arrived.

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Talked to the housekeeper who inspected the morning that they left and she said that the AC was working fine but the thermostats were set at 65F. The coil probably froze up at that low setting with the heat and high humidity that they were experiencing. I have advised the housekeeper to post a notice next to the thermostats to set them no lower than 72F There should have been detergent over the washer.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A great house in a great location

  • 5 of 5

We loved the house! The layout was fantastic, just perfect for our group of seven. Mom appreciated the elevator. The open configuration of the kitchen, living room, and dining room allowed us to be engaged with each other for many activities. Once we washed down the screened porch and lit some citronella candles we brought, it became our second-favorite hangout. The owner plans to have the exterior pressure-washed later in the summer when the house is not rented.

The location was ideal for us. We loved being able to walk to the quiet beach at the end of the block each day. The island's other beaches would've been too noisy and crowded for us (near the pier) or too painful for bare feet (broken shells at the north end). We saw dolphins twice in our 5-day stay. It wouldn't be the best for someone who wants to swim in waves, though--very calm water, and there's an oyster bed that you can't see when the tide is in. A sign marks its location.

The shops around the corner offer interesting products, coffee, food, and drinks. The house is on a corner--convenient for arrival and for kayak rentals and dolphin tours nearby--but is insulated well enough to drown out most traffic except emergency vehicles.

Renters should bring hangars. At the end of our stay, we informed the owner that the ice maker was jammed, and he said he would have it fixed. He was very responsive to our messages and seems committed to ensuring a comfortable and enjoyable stay. The A/C had to be repaired during our visit but he followed up to make sure it had been done to our satisfaction.

We had a lovely vacation, due in large part to this wonderful rental house.

  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review and sorry about the ice maker Kim is calling Lowes service but over the 4 th weekend it will be difficullt.We plan on having the house pressure washed as soon as we don't have guests. Please come back to Tybee, Ed and Janet
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

No air conditioner in upstairs and it was 85 degrees inside

  • 2 of 5

The air conditioner did not work on the main floor with the one large bedroom, kitchen and living area. I called the contact number and got no response. I was trying to get ready for my wedding on Saturday and it was 85 degrees upstairs on the 3rd floor. The heat index was in the mid 90's. There was also no screens on the 3rd floor windows. The refrigerator went on and off and ruined some of the food. The second floor was cold but the third flooor was unbearable. It was a nice house and lots of space and would have been a great stay had things worked. The location was good too.

  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very sorry about your situation with the air conditioner being broken. It has been fixed when the next guest moved in. The problem with the delay in getting it fixed was partially due to the regular guy who takes care of our HVAC issues had a heart attack the week before your stay. As a gesture of good will we are offering a three night stay in the next year for the cost of cleaning$200 when the house is available. Let us know if you want to take us us up on the offer. Ed Rutledge
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $175
Damage Deposit $500

Owner prefers payment by personal checks. To reserve the house send a check for half the rent to the Owner Ed Rutledge, P.O. Box 2042, Tybee Island, GA 31328 Between September 1 and May20th. During the Summer May 20 thru September Mail checks and Rental agreement to my bank. Colony Bank.7011 Hodgeson Memorial Drive, Savannah GA 31406. Please Make checks out to Byers Street Properties L.L.C.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.