Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Spectacular Mountain Views on a Deep Water Point, Sleeps 32!

Bedrooms 8
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 nights


About the property

House, 8 Bedrooms + Loft + Den, 5.5 Baths, (Sleeps 26-32)

Rent the Jackson family home on north Lake Keowee and enjoy the most relaxing vacation you have ever had. After a day of boating, tubing, sking, jumping off Jumpoff Rock (30 feet high!), sunning and listening to beach music at the waterfall, along with climbing the falls and playing volleyball, relax on our full length deck (partially covered) with your favorite drink and loved ones as the sun sets.

Bring up to 32 of your closest friends and family for an idylic vacation. The ultra large dock and upper party deck will accommodate your entire party while you enjoy watching family and friends as they ski and tube in deep water in front of the dock.

Our 5,000 SF all log and wood home provides you with that cozy mountain cabin that you remember when you attended camp in the N.C. mountains as a child except this has many more amenities and upgrades! The home will sleep 26 in beds, 32 counting the two sleeper couches and one futon. HD flat screen TVs are found on both levels and you can watch your favorite baseball or football team play in the lower level game room while playing pool.

The bedroom over the kitchen (2 queen beds), the bedroom with 6 builtin twin size bunks below the kitchen and the master bedroom all have private baths. The kitchen, dining room, great room, game room and all bedrooms have a view of the lake. One of the two 'Dormer' bedrooms adjoins the 'kids' room (as it so aptly named) as it has a crib and two twin beds and the children cannot access the rest of the home without passing through mom and dad's room. There are two bedrooms on the lower level that have two sets of log bunk beds and sleep 4 each in twin size beds.

For those who want to lay back and relax after a hard day on the lake, we offer you a Pawley's Island Hammock and a teak Swing that will allow you and your honey to harmonize with nature as the day fades away.

As your guests begin unwinding from the long day in the sun and on the lake, mom can begin dinner in the ample sized kitchen that includes a range, oven, a prep island, microwave, refrigerator with a second frig on the lower level and pantry space for your food supplies (some of the owner's nonperishables will be stored in the pantry, as well). Between the bar stools in the kitchen island, bar top stools, the dining room table, and three tables on the deck, all 32 of your guests can be accommodated at one sitting.

Keywords: Lake house, Log home, lake frontage, mountain views.

More Details

Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 2, 2018

About The Owner

The Jacksons are a fun loving family of 6 including Mom (Donna) and Dad (Ken) and four grown children, Jennifer (32), Heather (27), Kenny (26) and Kevin (24), who hail from Asheville, N.C. We all enjoy the outdoors and are avid water and snow skiiers. We also enjoy travel and have traveled as a family to Hawaii, Alaska, Costa Rica, many islands in the Caribean and have climbed Mt. Kilimanjaro in Africa. We have enjoyed ski trips to Colorado, Wyoming, California and Utah to pursue the best powder and snowmobiling!

In recent years our family has grown to include Eric (married to Jennifer), Al (married to Heather) and Courtney (married to Kenny). And, our fifth grandchild is on the way and due in march of 2014!

Ken and Donna continue to live and work full time in Asheville; Ken as a real estate developer and Donna as a nurse. Ken is originally from Ft. Lauderdale, Fla. and Donna from Charlotte, N.C.

The Owner purchased this house in 2001

Why The Owner chose Turtlehead

We built our home in 2001 for the enjoyment of our family and friends and have rented it occasionally over the years. We use the home all year including for Clemson football weekends in the fall and basketball games in the winter. We love the north end of Lake Keowee as it still somewhat underdeveloped and provides a little more opportunity to get away from it all than other lake communities located adjacent to larger cities. We are completely surrounded by the nationally known Cliffs Communities and the Cliifs at Keowee Falls North provides access to our home. Ken, Kenny and Kevin all attended Clemson earning their degrees there and the family simply cannot ever be too far away from Clemson, including Jennifer and Heather who attended App. State and WCU.

What makes this house unique

Our home is uniquely situated on a deep water point that provides opportuities to ski and ski out while family members can lay on our unusually large dock and upper party deck. We have 256 feet of shoreline that keeps the neighbors from being to close. We have room at the dock if you wish to rent a ski boat or pontton boat and have space for a jet ski at one of our float on docks. Several companies rent all types of boats in the area and will deliver to our dock. See Jocassee Outdoor Center or try Lake Jocassee Pontooon Boat Rentals.

Our family and friends enjoy the view off our back deck towards the lake and surrounding mountains as much as anything else we do on a weekend at the lake.

Being an Appalcahian Style log home versus stick built construction makes for a cooler living environment and easier to maintain as there is no drywall to be found any where in the home. Even the interior walls are wood, tongue and groove siding.

A small neighborhood shopping center, Keowee Towne Center, is located 5 minutes from our home on Highway 11 in The Cliffs at Keowee Falls South and is open to the public. It has an 8,000 SF gourmet/organic grocery store with an excellent wine selection plus the best beef and steaks found in the upstate. On those vacation days when you are too lazy to prepare meals, drive over and order breakfast or lunch from their well stocked kitchen. An Ace Hardware store and can also be found in the center.

Gas can be purchased on the lake about 1 mile from our home directly adjacent to the Lake Jocassee dam at the Cliffs at Keowee Vineyards marina. They also have a store that offers a variety of boating supplies and has a limited lunch menu and drinks. We are a 5 minute drive from Scenic Highway 11 and a 35-45 minute drive to Clemson University and the beautiful mountain communities of Highlands, Cashiers and Brevard.


Turtlehead House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 32
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lakefront
  • Mountain View
  • Ski-In ...
  • Ski-Out
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Mobile Phone
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave ...
  • Refrigerator
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
    Bathroom 5 -
  • 8 Bedrooms, Sleeps 32
  • Queen size Beds (1) All bedrooms have queen sized beds except the kids room and bunk bed rooms.., Twin or Single Beds (1) Kids room only., Baby Cribs (1) Located in the kids room., Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Two sleeper couches, one in great room and one in the game room., Bunk Beds (1) Three bedrooms with bunk beds, one with 6 beds and two with 4 beds.
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • VCR
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Shared Hot Tub ...
  • marina
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(13 traveler reviews)

76% Complete
0% Complete
7% Complete
7% Complete
7% Complete
Spectacular Mountain Views on a Deep Water Point, Sleeps 32!
average rating of 4.3076925 based on 13 reviews
Charleston, SC

Horribly dirty with terrible landlord

  • 1 of 5

I hope and pray the you never get stuck renting the horrible house at Lake Keowee.

Before we arrived we received the following email from the owner:

"...we nearly lost our cleaning crew in may. They drive from Greenville and have a max. of 5 hours to clean the house and do the laundry. When we had large groups rent the house, it was taking 8-10 hours to do the laundry, which is 4-5 hours after it took to clean the house. They were even having to take the laundry home and bring it back which they can’t afford to do for the cleaning fee. We are now asking that our renters do a minimum of 3 loads of sheets and towels and leave them folded on the dining room table before leaving on Saturday morning. We have had no complaints so far from renters. In fact, everyone has embraced the request, knowing that it takes very little effort to do so.


There were loads of laundry (towels and sheets) in both the washer and dryer when we arrived.

The house and linens was dirty and soiled, one refrigerator wasn't working, the sheets left for the beds didn't fit and had stains that looked like blood on them, the kitchen cooking utensils were filthy and there were mouse droppings all over the pantry shelves. We caught the mouse in a trap the first night we stayed.

During our stay one of the porch table glass tops burst when we were out in the boat. When we returned to the house and found this broken we let the owner know and he said that he would have to replace both tables as they were 16 yrs old and he could not match them now. Not sure I have ever seen a Lowe's porch table last 16 yrs... could be why it broke without anyone around. He felt it appropriate to keep nearly the entire deposit to replace this tacky table.

We made him aware of broken refrigerator and other problems on the day we arrived. This was his response:

"Thank you...all items duly noted. Most of the times are the reasons why we are going to phase out the rental of the home by the end of 2018.

We won't replace furniture or do any major repairs until then as renters don't respect our home and 7 Years of rentals has left some parts of the home looking like the house is twice as old as it is."

Don't let this landlord fool you like he did us.

I have pictures of all to prove

  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We did have trouble for about 2 months this year with our cleaning crews and were stood up by the crew who had done the cleaning for 6 years and suddenly failed to clean the house about 2 weeks before these renters came in. We had to fire them and strongly considered taking the home off of VRBO (we were simply tired of dealing with the management). The problem was resolved by the time these renters rented the house. I would invite anyone to preview the house if you think that what this renter had to say is the truth. We have had multiple renters since this renter actually rented the house in July (not sure why she waited until October to write a review) and all have been happy with how the house looked. This renter (Shannon H) is mad because she lost most of her security deposit as her children destroyed a glass top table on the back deck that had to be replaced and since it matched a second table on the deck, both had to be replaced. This had to be done on short notice before the next group came in, forcing me to cancel family plans the Saturday Shannon H. and her family checked out. In addition, they left several bags of rotting trash on the front porch that animals had gotten into by the time I arrived and trash was all over the front porch. Note, in my 7 years of renting the house to over 145 renters, we have had 3 bad reviews and with all 3, it was coincidental that we had to withhold part of their security deposit to offset damage. So, please consider the source and reason for a bad review. We are batting 98% with the 142 satisfied renters!
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

Cleaning Needs work.

  • 2 of 5

We have rented this house for 3 years. The view of the home is great, and has enough room for a large group. The only reason why we came back to the house is we could not find a home that would accommodate our large family. Last year we expressed our concern on how the cleaning of the house was not up to par. The owner assured us that it would be taken care of for our next visit.

The home this year was once again not clean. Bugs on the floors, spider webs on the walls, mold on the bathroom floors and walls. The oven did not work properly either. We told the owner last year of our concerns and he assured us that it would be fixed. The oven had to be put on 400 degrees just to heat up. The oven would take 2 times longer to cook anything you wanted to prepare. The owner also had the closets full of their items to where you could not put your own stuff in the closets. Due to all of the issues and lack of cleaning our group has decided to look elsewhere for a home to rent. I would not recommend this home to anyone.

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: The home is thoroughly cleaned after each renter leaves. It's the only complaint we have had regarding cleaning. I am not sure why the comments were made. The oven was repaired in the summer of 2015 but when the problems persisted, we spent $800 on a new 5 burner oven. The oven was brand new when the referenced group rented the home and is in perfect working order. Again, I am not sure why the referenced renter filed the above complaint.
Did you find this review helpful?
9 3

Great Lake house

  • 5 of 5

Accommodations were perfect for our group of 25. Lots of space. 2 full kitchens. Owner was easy to work with. Everything was as described or better.

  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2014
  • Stayed: November 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
6 1

Great place for a large group get together

  • 5 of 5

Recently had the pleasure of spending a week at this property with a large group of family and friends ranging in age from 3 years to late 80's. We had plenty of space for everyone whether socializing in large groups or individuals searching for private space. The dock area was a hit with the younger crowd while the deck area was perfect for the older crowd. Loved the kitchen and cooking on the Viking gas stove. The two and a half refrigerators in the house were a life saver! The small local store had all of the primary items we needed for those quick restocks. I would recommend bringing the majority of food items with you though as it can be a time intensive activity to do all shopping due to the distance to stores. That is a minor inconvenience for such a great location on the lake.

  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2013
  • Stayed: September 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 1

Clemson/Ga Weekend

  • 5 of 5

My family and good friends rented this house for three days over the Labor Day weekend and found the house to be perfect for our needs. As I was beginning to type this review, I read the reviews that were already posted and agree with what was said in all of the posts except the one posted on August 22. The house was clean and the mattresses were as good as new. In fact the owner stopped by the same time we arrived on Friday on his way to Clemson and, in some general discussion, said the house was 12 years old but never lived in full time with mostly weekend use in the summer and fall and full time rentals for only the past 3 summers when he put the house on VRBO, thus the beds have only about 3 years actual use. We don't expect a 12 year old house to look brand new and didn't have any problems with the deck and dock furniture.

The owner was about 80% complete with pressure washing the entire exterior of the home, including the sidewalks, decks, driveway patios, dock, etc. He said when he first noticed that the record rainfall this year had caused all of the exterior surfaces to become slimy on a family trip on the weekend of July 20th and that he was not able to pressure wash until he had a break in rentals which he did after the renters left on Aug. 11. We were appreciative of what he had done but also glad that he decided not use the noisy pressure washer while we were there (also causes water and dirt to spray everywhere while using). We did not find that the walkway to the lake to be steep.

The home is perfect for both families with or without children and has everything that you would want in a lake house rental. The home sits on a point that allows access into and out of the dock for skiing, tubing, etc. Their dock is the largest dock allowed on Keowee. We would not rent a home that was stuck up in a narrow cove and don't have a problem with the waves from boats that pass in the distance (the lake is over a half mile wide at this location). I have rented homes for all of my adult life and I am 43 years old and this home was my favorite hands down.

  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2013
  • Stayed: August 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0
Naples, FL

Nice Views, OK House

  • 3 of 5

This is a great house if you need a lot of sleeping space. It is big and well laid out, but I can't say that it lived up to our expectations or the rave reviews that others have given it. There was a lot of green slime on the deck, the walkway to the dock and the dock itself. Three different people in our party slipped and fell, one of them quite seriously and suffered bruised ribs. Another was our 10 year old special needs nephew. We spent a few hours one morning scrubbing the deck, walkway (fairly steep) and dock to make it less dangerous. For this reason, I would not recommend it for small children or the elderly unless it has been power-washed recently.

The rest of the house is nice, but a little bit tired. The mattresses were all very worn with large indentations were you sleep and most of the bath and beach towels were very worn. The outdoor chairs were very dirty and most of the lounge chairs were broken. There were thee separate plumbing leaks that we discovered while there, one of which was significant and was putting water on their downstairs carpet. We called the owner and left a detailed message the first night we were there, but he didn't bother to call back. We were able to jury rig a solution, but were surprised that the owner didn't care enough about a plumbing leak to return our call or send a plumber out.

The dock area is a great area to hangout with kids and family, but be advised that the dock is located just off of a very busy main channel. Thus there are lots of waves rolling in all the time, which makes it very rocky to sit on as it is a floating dock. We found it was nicer just to float in the water. If you bring your own boat or jet skis as we did, be sure to bring lots of extra dock fenders or your boat/jet skis will get pretty beat up rubbing against the dock as the owner's two boats take up the best protected dock spaces.

The house appears to have been a great family retreat for the Jackson family for a number of years, but based on all the pictures/wedding albums left out, their kids have grown up now and they probably don't use it anywhere near as much as they used to. Thus, it appears the house is used primarily for rentals now and that there is little in the way of upkeep other than a superficial cleaning each week by a maid service.

Having said all of the above, it is great house if you have a lot of people in your party and Lake Keowee is very pretty. The views were spectacular and it was very peaceful.

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2013
  • Stayed: August 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
7 4


Car: recommended

We are very fortunate to be located at the foot of the beautiful N.C. mountains and a short drive to Clemson University and all of its activities and sports.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $225
Tax Rate 7.0%

Nightly rates drop to $450 on Sept. 15 and go back up to $850 on May 15th. Clemson home football game rates are $850/night and holiday rates (Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Years) in the winter are $650/night. Weekly rental rates drop in the off season to $2,650.00. Minimum stay is 2 nights in the off season (Sept. 15- May 15). Renters are required to leave the cleaning fee at the house for the cleaning crew.

We take an advance rent deposit which is dependent on the total rent but we take about 1/3 up front. The balance of the rent is spread in 1-2 additional payments depending on when you sign up and how much the total rent is. The last rent payment is due 2 weeks before your arrival. There is also a $1,200 security deposit that is due 2 weeks before arrival.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.