check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Pet-Friendly 1BR/1.5BA Ocean & Pool View Villa!

Bedrooms 1
Half Baths1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Half Baths
Minimum Stay
2 nights

About the property

Condo, 1 Bedroom + Other (See Description), 1.5 Baths, (Sleeps 2-4)

Our renovated (March, 2005), ocean view Harbor Island villa with brand new sleeper sofa and super-comfy queen-sized bed, is located on the 2nd floor with easy access to the elevator (9-steps to the elevator). Harbor Island is less than a mile down the road from Hunting Island. Our condo is adjacent to the pool, so you can watch your children play from the screened-in porch (see pictures).

The master bedroom features a queen-size heavenly bed with pillow top, feather bed, and luxurious sheets. The living room futon converts to a full/double-size bed. All bed linens and towels are provided.

The kitchen is fully equipped with a stove, microwave, toaster, oven, etc. for the chef in your family. Please see additional amenities below.

The unit is situated in Beachhouse Villas, a private, gated community with 24-hour security. A two-minute walk from our unit takes you to the 3-mile private beach (which is never crowded) or to the fitness center in the lower level of the Beach Cabana Club. The club property features a large pool with four tennis courts. A putting green is nearby.

Come share our villa for a respite from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. Shift into a lower gear, bring your binoculars if you're a birdwatcher, relax and enjoy!

***Harbor Island***

Harbor Island, 14 miles east of highly acclaimed Beaufort, SC., and less than 1 mile down the road from Hunting Island, is a protected estuary habitat filled with wildlife and beautiful plant life. It is part of the 350,000-acre ACE Basin National Estuarine Research Reserve (ACE Basin NERR), created and managed by the Marine Resources Division of South Carolina. The private island sits on the edge of the biologically rich Saint Helena's Sound. In this habitat, you will be surrounded by live oaks, slash pines, and cabbage palmettos.

The ACE Basin Refuge lies along the Atlantic Flyway - the 'bird highway in the sky.' Numerous waterfowl, shore birds, neo-tropical songbirds and birds of prey migrate from their nesting grounds to wintering areas throughout eastern North America.

The painted bunting, egrets and herons are in abundance here. Many endangered species such as the peregrine falcon, Canby's dropwort, chaffseed, hawksbill turtle, leatherback turtle, red-cockaded woodpecker, shortnose sturgeon, West Indian manatee, and wood stork live in the ACE Basin. Six, federally-threatened species (i.e. bald eagle, Eastern indigo snake, green turtle, American alligator, loggerhead turtle, and piping plover) have also been observed in the area.

Ocean Wildlife - The ocean is teeming with wildlife - American oysters, blue crabs, fiddler crabs, grass shrimps, hard clams, white shrimps, living sand dollars, horseshoe crabs, and porpoise, according to the National Estuarine Research Reserve.

At certain times of the year, you will share the ocean water with glowing green phosphorescent plankton or loggerhead sea turtles. (Don't forget to Help Save Our Turtles - lights off on the beach at night between May 1 and September 1). A sighting of a leatherback turtle, the largest living turtle species, occurred last year on Hunting Island, the next island over.

Fishing - If you are interested in fishing - the 1120-foot, former Paradise Pier is now part of Hunting Island State Park, the last island boundary in the ACE Basin chain. Fishermen have tried their luck and caught Atlantic croaker, bay anchovy, black drum, largemouth bass, red drum, shortnose sturgeon, Southern flounder, spot, spotted sea trout, striped bass, and striped mullet.

***Nearby Hunting Island***

Local Attractions Hunting Island is home to the historic Hunting Island lighthouse that was in operation until 1933. Originally constructed in 1859 and rebuilt in 1875 after the Civil War, 167 steps and 50 cents will take you to the top for a fabulous view. It is only two miles away from our unit.


Time to go out on the town? Beaufort provides a delightful backdrop. First inhabited by native Americans and then the Spanish in the 1500s, historical areas are every where. Antebellum homes from before the Civil War border the waterfront as do great restaurants and a small park and marina. Beaufort also hosts a thriving artists community and it is only 14 miles away! An hour or so drive will take you to Savannah or Charleston, beautiful southern cities that make great day trips.

Stop at Publix on your way out of Beaufort. It is on the left after you cross Lady's Island bridge over the intercoastal waterway once you go through downtown Beaufort on Route 21. Or, stop at Gay's Seafood (on the right) before you cross the Harbor River Bridge across from the famous (featured in Coastal Living) Shrimp Shack.


We know you will enjoy your stay on Harbor Island. Call Karen at the number provided for more information or check our reservation calendar and send us an email. We work hard at keeping our rental calendar current.

Note: A gate pass for guests is a required purchase by our condominium association. SC taxes and fees do apply, and there is a $75 cleaning fee.

Keywords: Condominium

More Details

Member since: 2004
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
December 6, 2016

About The Owner

Several years ago when I purchased the condo on Harbor Island, I made the decision to make it pet-friendly. Heck, we even provide dog/cat beds, food bowls, and a Polaroid camera to leave pictures behind on our 'pet board'. Some of my friends and business advisors said I was crazy to allow pets because they would ruin the unit. Well, the exact opposite has happened. People that can't imagine going away without their pets and have chosen L206 have been the most pleasant guests I've ever experienced. The cute pictures left behind and the notes about how much their 4-legged friends enjoyed the beach are priceless. Thanks for visiting!

The Owner purchased this condo in 2005

Why The Owner chose Low Country & Resort Islands

Harbor Island is one of the last places on earth where you can roam the beach and not encounter any others - well, maybe several starfish, great shore birds, and dolphins swimming along with you as you're walking. I also love the fact that Harbor Island is a reserve for sea turtles and other endangered species.

What makes this condo unique

L-206 has one of the best ocean views of any condo on Harbor Island. Located a few steps away from the elevator, there's no need to lug heavy bags up and down the steps. If you cook, you'll appreciate the new kitchen appliances and high end pots and pans. The pillow top mattress on the queen size bed is incredibly comfortable and the towels are big and fluffy. Finally, we provide a free annual pass for Hunting Island, saving you the daily entry fee. Enjoy!


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(24 traveler reviews)

Pet-Friendly 1BR/1.5BA Ocean & Pool View Villa!
average rating of 4.5833335 based on 24 reviews

3 Hour drive from home to Paradise

  • 5 of 5

Very nice, cozy place. The view was great from our balcony. We had all the comforts of home, including having our pups with us which is priceless. The Hunting Island pass that was included was a nice perk....thanks for that as we had a really good time climbing to the top of the lighthouse. The location is quiet, peaceful, and very inviting. We would definitely rent there again.

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you and your pups enjoyed your stay in L206 on Harbor Island. Thanks for visiting!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Over-promised and under-performed...

  • 1 of 5

Disappointing pretty much sums it up. Worn, outdated amenities like kitchen equipment and TV's, sloppy housekeeping ("body" hairs on sheets, gritty floors, trash behind bed) plus small size with little room for our stuff. Closets were stuffed full of old supplies, linens and the like with almost no room for hanging clothes. Toilets developed stains within one day indicating no cleaner was used prior to our arrival, just brushed to look clean. Full bath needs lots of work with a sink that had a broke stopper, towel holder that was falling apart and tub needs a serious cleaning. Screen porch furniture (one table and two chairs) are past their working life. One chair is actually a hazard.

When you have pets (our fur-kid vacationed with us) their are very few options to choose from. While a phone call would probably of gotten a return visit from a cleaning person it shouldn't of been an issue in the first place. We made a trip back to Beaufort for a clean mattress pad, sheets and other things so we could suck it up and stay.

On the positive side, the area is beautiful with one of the most unique beaches we've seen. Lots of wildlife to watch, some shells to collect and a very nice area to bike, walk and be outdoors. Pools were in good shape. Hunting Island was a great place to visit and the pass came in handy.

Overall we'd recommend the destination but in no way would we recommend this property to spend your money on.

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm so sorry that you were disappointed in your stay at L206. Although it's too late now, I assure you that every item you mentioned (with the exception of kitchen pots and pans) was fixed on the afternoon after you departed. We've also contacted our cleaning service with your concerns. I really appreciate your feedback, because for over 10 years now, we've never received such a bad review. Now, I know exactly where to focus my efforts, so thank you. I'm particularly challenged between providing top notch kitchenware (e.g., All Clad) and the fact that people put it in the dishwasher, which ruins the finish. I spent several hundred dollars on All Clad last year, and within a couple of months, they looked horrible. They work fine, but the outside is bleached a dull gray from the harsh detergents in the dishwasher. The other option is providing cheap aluminum pots and pans, which I refuse to do for health reasons. The bottom line is that I appreciate your feedback and am doing my best to ensure that all these issues are corrected. Sheila Dunn, Owner
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A nearly perfect place to spend our anniversary getaway

  • 5 of 5

Everything at the condo functioned the way it is supposed to function; which means that we really didn't notice a lot of what was provided. The screened-in balcony was refreshing & the view was outstanding. Having our beloved old dog with us made the stay even more pleasant. This was unlike other beach vacations we have taken--on the Atlantic or Gulf of Mexico--in that we were more fully able to observe nature close-up. The beach is quiet enough that the shells are not something to be collected but are still living beings. It was great to see the protected sea turtle nests & to converse with conservation volunteers. The beach & the condo development were wonderfully quiet & dark at night. Two additions to the experience that deserve recognition were the beach chairs & mats that went along with the condo (more items that we didn't have to worry about packing) & the pass to Hunting Island State Park only a few miles away. Thank you for an amazing experience!

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your kind words about L206 and Harbor Island. I'm so glad you enjoyed your anniversary and appreciated the unspoiled nature and wildlife on Harbor.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very nice property

  • 4 of 5

We loved our time on Harbor Island, and the condo was one of the nicest we have even had. Everything was clean and well kept--comfortable and well equipped. We loved the beach, which is fairly secluded and beautiful. We cooked quite a bit and enjoyed the local markets--taking advantage of the fresh shrimp and vegetables that abound in the area. Thanks for a great experience. We will come again!.

  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're so glad you enjoyed your stay at L206 Harbor Island. Thanks for visiting!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

We just spent a lovely week in this great pet friendly condo! It was very clean, very well supplied with everything you need for a week in a condo & full of special extras. It even had new beach chairs, an umbrella & beach mats. They were very nice and accommodating when we misplaced our key & found it when we returned home. I would highly recommend this condo. We are looking forward to returning. Betty

  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed your stay in L206, Betty. I hope you'll consider us again if you visit Harbor Island. Thanks for your kind words about our amenities!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Ohio First Year Snowbirds

  • 5 of 5

We were very happy with our first experience at Harbor Island. The condo supplied our basic needs and we were quite comfortable. The fact that there is an elevator made it extremely easy for our 12 year old Lab. The view every morning is terrific. My husband and I both put to good use the fitness center and I walked every inch of the island with our two dogs. We especially loved the birds, alligator sightings and turtles. A couple times I spotted dolphins in the early morning. It's a very peaceful atmosphere but close to lots of activity should you have the inclination to leave the island. We plan to return again

Linda and David in Ohio

  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Crabbing, birding


Rates & Availability

St Helena Island Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Winter 2016
Dec 1 2016 - Feb 28 2017
2 night minimum stay
Spring 2017
Mar 1 2017 - Apr 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200
Cleaning fee (one-time) $75
ONE Car pass $21
Tax Rate 10.0%

Please note monthly rates only available during winter season: December - February.

*Car passes are charged as follows:

1 night: $11.55
2 nights: $23.10
3 nights: $34.65
4 nights: $46.20
5 nights: $57.75
6-7 nights: $69.30
8-14 nights: $70
15-21 nights: $73
22-30 nights: $78
31-90 nights: $87
91-364 nights: $105

We accept e-checks or credit cards via VRBO.

Additional Fees: 10% taxes and fees, gate pass, $75 one-time cleaning fee

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


St Helena Island Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Ocean View
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Fitness Room / Equipment
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Dining Area
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Queen size Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • cinemas
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • shelling
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties