Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Spacious Oceanfront and Soundfront Home 5BR/ 5.5BA-Gated West End

Sleeps15
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms5
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 5 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 5.5 Baths, (Sleeps 13-15)

Enjoy a fabulous beach vacation at one of the prettiest beaches in the country. The house is spacious with an open floor plan and the property extends from the beach to the back inlet where there is a small boat dock. Watch the sunrise on the sun-deck on your private walkway from the house to the beach, build sandcastles in the beautiful white sand in an exclusive and non-crowded end of the beach, take low tide walks & enjoy the shelling and the coastal wildlife, swim in the waves and fly kites. There is fishing and crabbing, golf and miniature golf and a local marine life museum. You will want to make sure to enjoy a meal in Calabash! You will want to watch the sunset from the screened in porch overlooking the sound--bug free. The views are wonderful from every room in the house (of the beach or intercostal waterway and marsh). There is a great room that is perfect for playing games and working puzzles, with a great bay window and built in window seat for lazy, afternoon naps. You always sleep well at the beach! The Tender Trap is the perfect place to play, relax and enjoy beautiful Ocean Isle Beach. It is a great house and this year only-a great value-as it is priced to rent!

Our 'Tender Trap' has a queen in the master bedroom upstairs and downstairs-each with a view of both the marsh / inter-coastal waterway and beach. Every bedroom in the house has its own private bathroom. Upstairs in one beachfront room is a king. The other bedroom, facing the beach has 2 double beds, and the other the sound, has 3 twin beds. There is a sleeper sofa in the upstairs landing.

The house is 1 of only 30 in the exclusive, gated, far west end of the island--so the beach is all yours!!

The vacation is perfect for all ages and interests. For the young there are tidal pools, kites, sand castles and gentle low tides. For older kids--rafts, kayaks, canoes, bikes, boats and jet skies are available for rent. There is also arcade games at the pier, surf shops, an ice cream parlor, golf and go carts. Bocce ball is a family favorite for all ages. Its a great place to get your summer reading in and some sunning. It can be relaxing and/or a great adventure-you decide.

For your convenience, all rentals are handled through a local, professional rental agency who will handle any questions you may have. Please tell them that you found us on VBRO.

Keywords: Oceanfront, Soundfront, West End of Ocean Isle Beach, Ocean Isle West, Vacation Home, Cottage, Gated Community

More Details

Owner
Kim Smith
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
January 7, 2018

About Kim Smith

The house was designed by the current owners based on a California design. It has been a happy place-- beloved by 3 generations. It is great for family reunions and has been the location of ours since it was built.

Kim Smith purchased this house in 1984

Why Kim Smith chose Ocean Isle Beach

Ocean Isle Beach is one of the best kept secrets on the Atlantic Coast. The family had a condominium there since 1981, and then built a house. There are several beautiful, well designed golf courses in the area. We still haven't played them all! Ocean Isle is roughly half way between Wilmington and Myrtle Beach (approximately 1 hour from each airport), which allows easy access, but not so close as to attract hoards of beach goers. With family living in 3 different states, from Texas to New Jersey, family get-togethers at the beach are always a cherished time for everybody.

What makes this house unique

The house is in a gated area, so the house is safe, and there are relatively few, but generally, friendly, people on the beach, which gives you the beach almost all to your self!!

Amenities

Ocean Isle Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 15
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Oceanfront
  • Waterfront ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
    Bathroom 5 -
    Bathroom 6 -
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 15
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , downstairs master
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 2 double
    Bedroom 5 - 3 twin/ single
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 sleep sofa /futon , upstairs landing
  • King size beds (2), Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (2) in one room, Twin or Single Beds (3)in one bedrooms, Sleeper Sofa (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • marina
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Screened in porch, boat dock, parking for up to 7+ cars

Reviews

4.5/5 -
(4 traveler reviews)

75% Complete
0% Complete
25% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Spacious Oceanfront and Soundfront Home 5BR/ 5.5BA-Gated West End
average rating of 4.5 based on 4 reviews
3

Needs some tender love and care.

  • 3 of 5

This home had plenty of room for our family reunion. The bedrooms were spacious and having our own bathrooms definitely helped. The living area downstairs was great for evening conversations, and relaxing. The upstairs loft was great for the children to have some down time with their electronics that we brought from home and also to have their own space to relax. The home was spacious but definitely needed some updating. While we were there we made sure to keep our flip flops on at all times. There were many up rooted rusted nails on the porches and the walkway to the beach. We were worried for the kids to stub their toes or cut their feet on. We had to call the office about the washing machine that had shreds of plastic in our clothes, but they came and took care of it in a timely manner. They even replaced it with a new washer. The downstairs bathroom handle needed to be replaced as well. Home had lots of dishes, pots and pans, utensils, and other kitchen items. Outdoor shower was used a lot for times that we returned back from the beach. The home is carpeted so there was a lot of mold along the molding and carpet, under the couches, and beds. If the house was updated and taken care of a little bit more we would have gave it a 5 star. It is a great place, with lots of room, just needs a little bit more tender love and care. It is the only home beyond the gate that stands out because it looks much older, and does not have a pool unlike the rest of the neighbors. The dock was used everyday for fishing as well as the sand bar that we walked out to during low tides. We still enjoyed our vacation with our family and made the best of it.

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were sorry you were our last renters of the season and didn't have a better experience! We, and all of our other renters, do think it is a five star property! We were glad you were able to make the best of it. The following addresses some of your complaints: -Our exterior is made of cedar siding (very expensive and low maintenance requiring no paint or stain}. We think it's special. -We always suggest our renters and company wear shoes or flip flops on the walkway to the beach. That is just best practices. The walkway is hot and made of wood. It is repaired every year. -We have opted for no pool because we have the beach! It keeps our rental prices lower for our renters, and we find some renters, like ourselves, prefer no pool. -Our carpet is cleaned in the beginning and middle of each rental season. We have never had any issues with mold and will definitely ensure that continues to be the case. -Along with the new washer, we have a new dryer and remodeled kitchen new for the 2018 season and should have updated pictures in March!! -We continue to think it's a pretty special home and location. Updates are made every year and every effort is made to ensure that our last renter has as good an experience as the first. We are sorry that did not occur this time and will work to make sure it does not happen again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fabo Place to stay!

  • 5 of 5

We loved our stay in this house. It was perfect for all of our families and we had plenty of room. Everything was perfect! Thank you so much!

  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful Post-Wedding Family Stay

  • 5 of 5

We had a great stay ay 105 Ocean Isle. The owner Kim was very responsive when I was looking for a home to book for 12 family members after our daughter's wedding in Raleigh. The management company was helpful and made our arrival and departure a breeze. The home is nothing fancy but is very comfortable and the furnishings accommodated 12 adults nicely. And the fact there is a bathroom for each bedroom plus a main floor powder room was a great plus! As we are a family that likes to cook, the kitchen is well-equipped and had everything we needed and more. The view of the ocean from the back of the house and the intercoastal waterway from the front was amazing. We had a night of rain and enjoyed the covered screened in porch. We would definitely stay in this home again. We only wished we could have stayed longer. Great bang for your buck!

  • Submitted: Jun 9, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Awesome beachfront home

  • 5 of 5

This is a lovely ocean front home that was very clean and felt like home. Was easy to rent through this site. The house is exactly what you see in the pictures. Very spacious and well designed for a large group. Enjoyed staying here very much. I would recommend this house to my friends and family.

  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2016
  • Stayed: September 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Low tide walks allow you to walk around the island and to the back channel

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.