Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Downtown convenience in quiet neighborhood for restful stay!

Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 300 sq. ft.
Property type studio
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

Charming South Congress studio with large bathroom-perfect for two

Our spacious, quiet, one bedroom studio is a comfortable home base for tourists and business travelers. We look forward to hosting you in our convenient Austin neighborhood three miles south of downtown. We are 1/2 mile from newly developed The Yard—a collection of breweries, coffee shops, wine tasting rooms, food trailers, and a whiskey still. Walk down and have everything you need in one spot! The Spokesman has excellent coffee and a light breakfast/lunch menu. St Elmo brewery has been rated one of the top new breweries in town, has a tasty food truck Sour Sop, and offers great music including a Thursday night bluegrass set.

A plush queen-size bed and quiet neighborhood make for a wonderful night’s sleep. Our walk-in closet has plenty of storage room and includes a mini-fridge, Keurig coffee maker, and a microwave for your convenience. Coffee and tea are complimentary. Enjoy a cup of coffee in the morning or glass of wine in the evening on your private patio.

We are located 15 minutes (about a $15 rideshare) from the airport. Most of our guests have a car for transportation, but Uber, Lyft, Fasten, Rideaustin all operate here and are reasonably priced rides from the studio to downtown.

The studio offers:

*Google Fibre internet

*TV with cable channels, DVD player

*USB charger for your devices

*30 day full refund/ 14 day 50% refund cancellation policy

*no smoking environment

*ample free street parking

The studio is well-stocked with all the basics: linens, some extra toiletries, a hair dryer, coffee/tea set up, bottled water. We are frequent travelers ourselves and want to make your stay is as comfortable as possible.

More Details

Amenities

South Austin Studio Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • studio
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 300 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 2 ...
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Not suitable for children
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Lake ...
  • Town
Theme:
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • 2 garden chairs
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • roller blading
  • swimming
  • tennis

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(92 traveler reviews)

85% Complete
13% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
1% Complete
Downtown convenience in quiet neighborhood for restful stay!
average rating of 4.826087 based on 92 reviews
5

Relaxing & Cozy Get-Away Close to Everything Austin Has to Offee!

  • 5 of 5

The comfortable and cozy studio had everything my husband and I needed for a relaxing getaway together to restore & renew while soaking up the nearby sites and sounds of Austin! Located outside of the hustle and bustle of downtown Austin, but close enough to it all to get to town in a short 10 minute drive!

The studio was quiet & the bed is SO comfortable- we both had great night sleeps! The big bathtub is perfect for a relaxing soak. The fans and window AC unit are cooling and at the same time drown out an outside noise (which we heard none of!)

Carye and her husband are most accommodating and thought of everything from phone chargers to bubble bath and coffee/Kureig coffee maker!

The studio has everything to make you feel like you're home away from home!

HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!

  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Nicely finished retreat in a great location for exploring Austin.

  • 4 of 5

We stayed for 4 days and to visit friends and family in early February. Carye provided all the info we needed to arrive and get access. She also made sure we had a contact while she was out of town. The Spokesman around the corner was a nice find. Go for the coffee and stay for the vibe. :)

  • Submitted: Feb 11, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you visited the Spokesman--we love their coffee, and their vibe, too! In the same complex there is a great brewery (St Elmo) to try next time--Thursday night bluegrass is nice there. Hope to see you on a return visit to Austin. Thank you, Carye and Dave
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

great place to stay

  • 5 of 5

Clean, comfy, and would stay again.

  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks, Michael. We hope to have you back again! I will pass on the compliment to our wonderful housekeeper. Carye and Dave
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Buyer Beware!!

  • 1 of 5

For the record, I have used various online rental websites numerous times over many years, both in the United States and abroad, and never have I even remotely incurred such an inexcusable and unprofessional experience. Without exception, all my prior experiences have been positive.

I had flown to Austin, TX for a job. The room that I planned to stay at, in no uncertain terms, had been advertised by the owner on Homeaway.com to be in the "downtown area” and an “apartment.”

In reality, the location was a 15 minute drive from downtown (I had no car) and in the center of an industrial park, with nothing close by resembling a downtown area.

This was specifically listed as a “separate apartment.” In reality, it was actually a room off a main house, merely separated by a sheet of drywall.

When I arrived at the given address, there was a dog barking in the main house, which I immediately was concerned of disrupting my sleep.

Fortunately, my Uber driver was very concerned about leaving me at this highly suspect location, so he waited until I made sure this was the correct place.

As I opened the door to the room, I was immediately over taken by a strong, putrid stench of urine. I immediately closed and locked the door and called, texted, and emailed the owner and Homeaway.

I instructed the Uber driver to take me to the downtown area where I was able to get a safe hotel room for my stay. Immediately following, I had to rush to my job and barely arrived in time, extremely stressed and upset by the obvious deception and mischaracterizing of the Homeaway apartment. My well planned cushion of time had been completely consumed by my need to secure alternate lodging and adversely affected my job.

The owner of the “apartment” in question eventually returned my call and told me she wouldn't refund any of my money.

Since I travel quite a bit for my profession, I always read reviews before deciding on lodging. In this instance, the "positive" reviews that were presented on her Homeaway listing as bona fide, to induce customers (like myself) to stay at her location, were decidedly inaccurate. Needless to say, the urine stench had also not been indicated in the listing.

For me, it was an expensive lesson of grossly misplaced trust. Fortunately, Austin has an endless sea of alternative lodging available and from reputable sources.

Caveat Emptor.

  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2018
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This guest emailed to cancel her stay the week of arrival and requested a full refund. I follow Homeaway guidelines on recommended cancellation policy (two weeks for a partial refund). I did offer to attempt to rebook the studio in an attempt at a refund. I am sorry this potential guest felt the need to respond in this way. She did not stay in our studio.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
5

Nice property, everything as described

  • 5 of 5

Very convenient to downtown Austin

  • Submitted: Dec 15, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks, Douglas-glad you enjoyed your stay! Carye and Dave
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Stay

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay here! It was just my husband and I and it worked great for us as we were out most of the day sightseeing and eating our way through Austin. It was very clean, quiet and we loved the location. It was close to downtown and in a quiet and safe neighborhood. Only a $10 UBER ride one-way on a Saturday night to get downtown which was cheaper and easier than parking our car down there.

The bed was comfortable and the bathroom is nice and spacious. We weren't sure about the noise machine, but ended up using it the 2nd night as we found that we don't have songbirds in Colorado like they do in Texas and they like to get up with the sun!

Carye was available and in fact, we didn't need anything from her because she is so organized with the information that we received prior to the stay and then the guidelines that she provided us once we got there. We will return when we come back to Austin. Thank you Carye!

  • Submitted: Nov 6, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks, Jen. Glad you enjoyed the songbirds (when you wanted to!). Hope to see you again on a future visit to Texas. Carye and Dave
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Owner

Carye and Dave
Member since: 2012
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
February 19, 2018

About Carye and Dave

Carey and Dave are well traveled and both work at a large hospital in downtown Austin. Carey is from Texas and has been in Austin since 1988, Dave is from Montana and relocated to Austin to be with Carey (and enjoy mountain biking year round!). If you would like any recommendations for outdoor activities, cycling trails, parks, etc they can help out.

Carye and Dave purchased this studio in 2006

Why Carye and Dave chose South Austin

We chose this property when the house was built because we both love cycling and wanted to be able to ride our bikes to downtown and work--20 minute leisurely ride to Town Lake, 10-15 minutes to S. Congress restaurants, Continental Club, great coffee shops and Mexican food. The neighborhood continues to develop and we now have some great breweries, coffee shops, and music venues within walking distance at The Yard.

What makes this studio unique

We love the location of this home and the low upkeep. Tile floors throughout keep things clean and vaulted ceilings make the area feel larger. The studio gets plenty of light, but has 2' wooden blinds and curtains if you would like to sleep late!

Map

Nearest Airport
7 Miles
Austin Bergstrom International Airport (ATX)
Nearest Barpub
0.4 Miles
The Yard: St Elmo Brewery, Still Austin Whiskey
Nearest Train
5 Miles
Amtrak Station
Nearest Restaurant
0.4 Miles
Spokesman, Food trailers @ The Yard, Hills Cafe
Nearest Beach
180 Miles
Port Aransas and Galveston
Car: recommended

Our home is located in South Central Austin-less than half a mile

off two major highways (I35 and Ben White/290/71) and a direct

drive down scenic S. Congress 3.5 miles to Town Lake and downtown, passing numerous restaurants and music venues along the way. The neighborhood is only six years old and conveniently located to grocery stores, a liquor store, the famous Hill's Cafe is only 1/2 mile down the road!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $29

Check in time is 4:00pm, check out is 11:00 am. Non-smoking property. No pets.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties