expand arrow-rightsvg-balloonsvg-carsvg-dogsvg-fireplacesvg-flat-screensvg-heatersvg-laundry-washing-machinesvg-snowflakesvg-hot-tubsvg-swimming-poolsvg-wheelchairsvg-wifiarrow-right

Carribean Vista House, on 5.5 acres, mountains view, sunsets , huge gazebo,

Guayama, Guayama, Puerto Rico
  • House2000 sqft
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps9
  • Bathrooms3
  • Half Baths0
  • Minimum Stay2 nights

4 bdrms, 3 full bthrms, 1 kitchen, 1kitchenette, a/c and fans, sleeps 9, gazebo

House with beautiful panoramic view of mountains and the Caribbean Sea, sited on 5.5 acres with a walking trail on the property.This is a 4 bedrooms, 3 full bathrooms airy and spacious home. Very private, quiet and relaxing atmosphere. Enjoy constant sea breeze, mountain and sea view, blue sky, tropical nights with starry sky and city lights. Perfect for relaxing, meditating, and resting. Comfortable back porch with patio furniture and grill. Big gazebo in the back yard. A/C in both largest bedrooms and, ceiling and floor fans throughout the house. Fully furnished home with equipped kitchen. Towels and linens are provided. Property is secured with gate and provides plenty of off street parking. The property is close to gulf courses, the Olympic park, sea food restaurants, beaches, the Town of Guayama, Salinas, the exit to the Thruway and other major cities. Care taker lives close by.


Hector & Marisol Rodriguez

Member Since 2006
Response rate:
Response time:
within a few hours
english, spanish
Calendar last updated:
Mar 07, 2018
About Hector & Marisol Rodriguez

Hector is retired from the National Guard Air Force and the City of NY. Marisol wolrks for NYS.

Why Hector & Marisol Rodriguez chose Pozo Hondo

This is a very private property with a nice huge gazebo for outside living. The sunset is really nice.

What makes this House unique

Our care taker live close by, you can call him for assistant.


    • Air Conditioning
    • Accessible
    • Satellite or Cable
    • Kids Welcome
    • Washer & Dryer
    • Parking
    • TV
    • No Smoking


      • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
      • Bedroom 1
        1 queen, bathroom
      • Bedroom 2
        1 double
      • Bedroom 3
        1 twin/ single, bathroom and kitchenette
      • Bedroom 4
        1 double, 2 twin/ single, bathroom and kitchenette
      • A/c on master, biggest bedroom and bedroom with full size bed The biggest bedroom has a bathroom and a kitchenette with dinning table.


      • 3 Bathrooms
      • Bathroom 1
        toilet, shower, bidet, on first bedroom
      • Bathroom 2
        toilet, combination tub/shower, on the hallway
      • Bathroom 3
        toilet, shower, on biggest bedroom

        Location Type

          • Beach
            Punta Guilarte Beach around 25 min. Pozuelo locals beach around 15 min
          • Mountain
          • Mountain View
          • Ocean View
            View of the Caribbean Sea.
          • Rural


              • Away From It All
              • Family


                  • Guests provide their own meals


                      • Living Room
                      • Activities Guide
                      • Ceiling Fans
                      • Clothes Dryer
                      • Iron & Board
                      • Laundry Soap
                      • Linens Provided
                      • Air Conditioning
                      • Mobile Phone
                      • Parking
                      • Parking Off Street
                      • Security System
                      • Towels Provided
                      • Washing Machine


                          • Blender
                          • Coffee Maker
                          • Cooking Utensils
                          • Dishes & Utensils
                          • Grill
                          • Kitchenette
                          • Microwave
                          • Refrigerator
                          • Stove
                          • Toaster


                              • Dining Area
                              • comfy seating for 6 people


                                  • Books
                                  • Books for Kids
                                  • CD Player
                                  • DVD Player
                                  • Radio
                                  • Satellite / Cable
                                    Has to buy a card at Walmart
                                  • Television
                                  • Toys


                                      • Deck / Patio
                                      • Lanai / Gazebo
                                      • Lawn / Garden
                                      • Outdoor Grill
                                      • Outdoor Grill Gas
                                      • Patio
                                      • Unscreened Porch / Veranda


                                          • Long-term Renters Welcome
                                          • suitable for elderly or infirm
                                          • wheelchair accessible

                                            Pool / Spa

                                              • Communal Pool
                                                At the Olympic Park


                                                  • botanical garden
                                                  • churches
                                                  • cinemas
                                                  • coin laundry
                                                  • library
                                                  • marina
                                                  • museums
                                                  • playground
                                                  • restaurants
                                                  • water parks

                                                    Leisure Activities

                                                      • antiquing
                                                      • bird watching
                                                      • horseback riding
                                                      • paddle boating
                                                      • scenic drives
                                                      • sight seeing
                                                      • walking

                                                        Local Services & Businesses

                                                          • ATM/bank
                                                          • groceries
                                                          • hospital
                                                          • laundromat
                                                          • medical services

                                                            Sports & Adventure Activities

                                                              • mountaineering
                                                              • cycling
                                                              • fishing
                                                              • golf
                                                              • hiking
                                                              • jet skiing
                                                              • mountain climbing
                                                              • equestrian events
                                                              • sailing
                                                              • scuba diving or snorkeling
                                                              • snorkeling
                                                              • sound/bay fishing
                                                              • swimming
                                                              • water skiing


                                                                  • Initial basic toiletry items provided. Have to buy your own.

                                                                    House Rules

                                                                    Check-in: 4:00 PM

                                                                    Check-out: 11:00 AM

                                                                    Cancellation Policy

                                                                    100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date. 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date. You must contact the owner directly to request cancellation.

                                                                    5 Reviews


                                                                    Latest reviews

                                                                    Left much to be desired

                                                                    Caroline A.Pleasant View, Utah

                                                                    Upon our arrival, this home had cockroaches in the kitchen, dirty fridge inside and out, and bugs on the bedding. More attention to detail would make this property a better place. We left after only a few hours. There was also no cell service for us, which made us feel uneasy. We were really hoping this would be a great place, only to be disappointed in the lack of cleanliness.

                                                                    Owner's Response:

                                                                    According to our care taker, he walked through the house with the guest and she did not complaint of anything. He explained, that because it is a country house, there may be some bugs around. The fridge has some rust outside, because of the sea salt in the air, it is hard to prevent rust. Next morning, the guest' daughter called our care taker (although the guest said there was no cell signal) and said they were staying with some relative, and complaint about the bugs. She said that it was okay with the money, as she only stay one overnight. I tried to call her many times to work things out, but she did not respond. Later on, she emailed complaining about the house and was asking for some sort of refund. We had a death in our family and I forgot to answer, but I understand, that according to our policy she is not entitled to a refund, and that she did not respond to my calls when I tried to resolve the situation in the best possibly way.

                                                                    COULD HAVE BEEN BETTER

                                                                    JEANETTE M.New York City

                                                                    People rely on reviews...I have to be very honest. As of the last review Oct 2012, nothing has improved. The photos still need to be updated. There are still two leaks, one above a dining table and one above the bathroom sink...droplets fall on you in both places. I also had to clean the house. There were dead ants and bugs in the kitchen.the cabinets, .the coffee pot, the refrigerator, etc. There is no WiFi, there is satellite TV BUT you have to BUY a card at Walmart to watch even the news! This was not disclosed. The hill up the mountain is VERY steep. The lights went out during a storm, no generator (hence all the candles in the house) the kids were scared. No central A/C...we had to turn off two wall mounted A/C units and ONE PORTABLE ON THE FLOOR UNIT, when we left, turn on when we returned and ready for bed. The shower head in one bathroom was broken, whoever used it had to continually turn on the "make shift valve" then turn off when done. I was overcharged.....The views are BEAUTIFUL 180 degrees but the inside needs a lot of work. There are things exposed that should be out of the house and put away so guests don't see them. There was someone else's soap in my bathroom...I was not going to touch it. Better supervision of hired help and maintenance will make this house a Home Away from Home. I was not lucky. When it rains water comes in around window and door frames, may be normal, but can prevented! I notice now that I am writing this review the rates were lowered! I rent every year, once a year, in Puerto Rico to stay in different areas around the Island. I have stayed in better, well kept, better amenities for less, with a pool, Wi Fi, Flat Screen TVs, central air, and Cable. I did appreciate the wonderful breeze atop that mountain, along with a BBQ (which grill should be replaced by the way, 2, and they were both filthy!) The visitors after us should be a bit more comfortable after WE cleaned.

                                                                    Call maintenance for the broken toilet. My nieces are particular with cleanliness....they did not want to use their bathroom because of it being so dirty. We were on vacation, not on a cleaning spree! Beware of all the small lizards that run around inside the house at night. If you have children, and they are afraid of lizards, be prepared to stay up. I am not a disgruntled visitor...I am writing the truth. I "suggested" that I receive a refund, was ignored. That's okay. it was a lesson learned.

                                                                    Owner's Response:

                                                                    This guest sent us an email complaining about little things about the house but, stated she will come back to stay in the house next year. So, we are a surprised by the extend and content of her review. The care taker walked through the house with her when she first arrived and she did not mention anything to him. In Puerto Rico, it is very common during the summer months for houses to have little leaks m,. However, I was just in the house and did not notice evidence of any big leaks on the ceiling. i did not notice the candles on the house were used. We do not advertise the house as having WiFi. In the Homeaway website under the amenities list: 'satellite TV', it shows 3 dots (...) which means that if you click on it you will see more information; it is explained there that the guest has to buy a satellite card in Walmart in order to have access to satellite TV. Evidently, she did not check on it. We do not advertised the house has having central A/C. We do not expect the guests will leave the a/c running when they are not in the house, that is a waste of energy. She called us about the shower head and we sent the caretaker to fix it and she was oaky with it. The complaint about the price is not fair. She stayed there with a big group. In a hotel she would have to pay more than double was she paid. We gave her a discounted price that she was free to reject.

                                                                    She said on one of her emails she was not asking for a refund, we offered a free one-night stay since she said she was coming back next year. I wonder if Homeaway keep track of frequent complainers looking to get money back from owners. Lizards are very common in PR, they are harmless, most kids play with them. This is characteristics of the tropics. The house has screen on all windows and doors. We just received a very complementary review from another group that stay in the house. I ask the reader to read it so, it can have a more balance view of the property.

                                                                    Vacation stay in 2013

                                                                    Brent A.

                                                                    Just wanted to leave a note about the mountain top rental that we stayed in for approx. a month, summer of 2013.

                                                                    The house had just recently been painted and had plenty of dishes, sheets, towels ... even had laundry soap and lp gas for the gas grills.

                                                                    The views from the property where breath taking and spent many a night swinging in the hamac that was in the gazebo. The shopping was not that far from the house ... there was also a short cut down the mountain to get to the main road that made the stay even more convenient.

                                                                    I would highly recommend this place for the space, location and the pleasant time we had booking with the owner. We will definitely be returning to this house in the future. Thanks Hector, will see you in the future ...

                                                                    ps the tiki bar you informed us about was fantastic down by the marina. Happy costumer Brent

                                                                    Great stay

                                                                    Marcos S.

                                                                    I stayed in this house because I wanted a quiet place with a nice view and that is what I got. The house was clean. The caretaker walked through it with us and asked us to let him know of anything we noticed that needed to be taken care of. Two of the bathrooms were new and all of the 3 bathrooms were clean. The kitchen is not that new but it was in good conditions. The place is quiet and the sunset is spectacular. It is also very private and the gazebo is huge. Would appreciate more patio furniture for a gazebo that big. The house is spacious with plenty of bedrooms for everybody. We appreciated having a washer and dryer on site. We have a good time there; I would recommend this house to my friends and relatives.

                                                                    Renters beware!

                                                                    Gina C.

                                                                    My family and I stayed at the house for our vacation. When we got to the house we noticed that there was a car that was junked, with the hood open, in front of the house. The house had mold on the walls in the inside of the house. The grass was tall and uncut and it was hard to walk around the house because the grass was more than two feet house, the shower floor, and toilets were not clean. There were dishes to use in the house but the dishes were not clean. They were sticky with grease. I had to wash some dishes and utensils before we could use them. The road to the house has very steep hills and at some points there are no guard rails. The same day that we got there it was raining and we noticed that the house had two leaks. We contacted the owner to let him know and to receive credit for that and he denied us credit. He said that, that was normal for the houses in Puerto Rico to have leaks. The stores are not close at all. You have to get on the highway in order to drive to a supermarket to buy your necessities. The pictures that are shown are not up to date. The property needs a lot of maintenance. I really wouldn’t recommend this house to anybody until these things are taken care of. I don't think it was worth it for the price.

                                                                    Owner's Response:

                                                                    From the moment this guest made the reservation he was asking for more discounts that we have already given him. He even sent one of his relatives that lives in PR to check the house before he arrived. The relative said it was in good condition. We tried to work with the guest when he called us. We offered the guest a refund if he would leave. He chose to stay.The car on the side of the house is not junked, it has a plate on it. It is a old SUV that we keep there for carrying heavy stuff when we are there and it is parked away from the house. The property is located in 5 acres. We mow the area around the house and keep the rest of the land natural. The cleaning lady was there when they arrived. If they noticed anything they shoul have spoken to her. The house is advertised as a mountain house as such is it in the country. The main town is around 10 to 15 min away.That is explained in our description of the house that is posted in the website. The leaks are very commun in houses in PR, specially during the summer, These were small leaks that did cause damages to anything. We recently did maintenance on the house, it was painted and small things were fixed. Other guests that stayed at the house, just before this guest, called us with positive comments. This guest was looking for a lower price and is getting back to us because although we gave him a discounted price we did not lower it.


                                                                    Guayama, Guayama, Puerto Rico

                                                                    Our property is just 5 minutes from the ChiChi Rodriguez Gulf Resort 'El Legado'. Around 7 minutes from the Albergue Olimpico (Olympic Park) with beautiful gardens, sample of local floral, swimming pool, bike trails, etc. The sea food area of Salinas is about 15 minutes, with waterfront restaurants featuring Caribbean Lobsters and local cuisine. Boat ride available at Salinas. The town of Guayama is around 15 minutes with malls, shopping centers, museum, movie theaters and other amenities. The Punta Guilarte State park beach is around 17 minutes. The Pezuelas beach is around 15 minutes from the house. The exit to the Thruway is around 7 minutes. The Guavate area, famous for its roasted pork and native food is around 20 minutes from the Thruway exit. The City of Ponce is around 25 minutes and San Juan is around 50 minutes. For more information on places to visit call us and we will be happy to assist you. Other Activities: shopping, museum,

                                                                    Rates & Availability

                                                                    Additional information about rental rates

                                                                    Cleaning Fee
                                                                    Additional Guest Fee

                                                                    Cancellations: 85% refund of payment for cancellation made 30 days or more of arriving time. No refund of payment for cancellation made 30 days or less of arriving time. Contact owner for weekly and monthly discounts.

                                                                    Enter dates for accurate pricing
                                                                    For booking assistance, call 888-829-7076

                                                                    Property # 349480ha