Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Summer is coming - $1555/week + $300 refundable security deposit

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Space 2,100 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

4 sleeping areas- 3 Master Suites, Bunk Room for kids, 3 Full Baths (Sleeps 10)

COASTAL LIVING WATERFRONT HOME WATER VIEWS FROM EVERY ROOM

Bayside Retreat is located just a few miles from the Chesapeake Bay Bridge Tunnel and delightfully situated on the peaceful banks of Lake Allure where fish abound and where you can sit and enjoy your morning coffee from either the large screened porch or one of the two upstairs decks.

Three bedrooms have queen-size beds, private baths and either a deck or porch with waterviews. The fourth sleeping area is ''The Eagles Nest.' Two bunk beds accessed by a catwalk sleeps 4 children.

The home's amenities also include: central a/c, local telephone, Dish Network tv, a fully furnished kitchen complete w. dishes and pots and pans and a laundry room w. full sized washer and dryer huge screened porch with two sofas, a pub table w. four chairs and a bench.

Watch the ducks and geese fly in. Birding on the Eastern Shore is nothing short of fantastic. The region is an important resting and breeding stop along the Atlantic Flyway for countless birds, with more bird sightings recorded here than anywhere else in the Va.

There is fun for the whole family at nearby Kiptopeke State Park with a swimming beach on the Chesapeake Bay, changing rooms, picnicking and barbecue facilities and bike paths. There is more swimming at the public beach in Cape Charles.

Ten minutes north visit Cape Charles where every street heading west will take you to the public beach and the Chesapeake Bay. Harbor facilities are available at the Town Harbor . For after hrs arrival call in advance and pay in the morning. Enjoy the numerous quaint shops and restaurants that Cape Charles has to offer plus the world class Jack Nicklaus and Arnold Palmer Signature Golf Courses. For golf info.call 757-331-8620.

Travelling further north, in approximately 75 mins you can be on famous Chincoteague Island or cross over the bridge to Assateauge Island and visit the Wildlife Refuge and the beaches on the Atlantic Ocean. Travel southward and in 45 mins. including the ride over the Chesapeake Bay Bridge Tunnel, you will have easy access to Virginia Beach, historic Williamsburg, Jamestown and Yorktown and the numerous attractions Norfolk has to offer.

Activities: Superb fishing, swimming, hiking, biking, golf, tennis. Row boats or electric boats only on the lake.

Please note: for more information contact Jen at Chesapeake Properties.

''Bayside Retreat' is a custom built home right on the banks of Lake Allure a 30 acre freshwater lake where fish abound and your privacy is assured. Enjoy water views from every room . It has 4 sleeping areas, 3 full Baths, and Sleeps 10 (the 4 bunk beds are suitable for children only). Non-Smoking - Pet Friendly. Close to the Chesapeake Bay.

More Details

Property Manager
Chesapeake Properties (Kim Starr, Broker)
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 8, 2017

Map

Car: necessary

Amenities

Cape Charles House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2100 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Max. adults: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
Location Type:
  • Lakefront ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Garage
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Queen size Beds (3), Bunk Beds (4) Please note these bunk beds are suitable for children only.
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

4/5 -
(3 traveler reviews)

33% Complete
33% Complete
33% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Summer is coming - $1555/week + $300 refundable security deposit
average rating of 4.0 based on 3 reviews
4

Relaxing but buggy

  • 4 of 5

We had an amazing trip, house is beautiful and private but the spiders freaked us out

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Very nice property but a little misleading as being "on the lake"

  • 3 of 5

The house itself is very nice, clean, comfortable, and everything functioned. But we were under the impression we would have access to the lake in the back and the beach (with a short drive). The access to the beach is just a short drive and is excellent whether you choose the Kiptopeke State Park or town of Cape Charles; however access to the lake for fishing or anything else is virtually impossible due to lack of a dock or ramp. You can't even get close enough to cast past the brush and trees from the yard. Disappointing. It was also nearly the end of our week before the area around the house was mowed and the ticks were rampant. Grass should be kept short and grass treated. At the house next door, the kids played daily in their yard where as our dogs couldn't leave the gravel drive. At the cost per week and with the low cost of electronics in general; a DVD player should be available in the house, WI-FI available, and since they are already wired-some inexpensive TVs for the bedrooms hung.

  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: You were correct that you could access the lake, other guests have done so with their kayaks however, there is no dock and none was implied. Possibly in the future televisions/dvrs in the upstairs guest rooms will be provided, again it was stated clearly there was one television. Grass cutting is out of our hands as the rental agency has arranged mowing on a bi-monthly basis. A quick call to them I'm sure would have resolved the issue.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect vacation

  • 5 of 5

This was my third year in a row staying at this fantastic rental home.The first year we stayed I knew I would continue to come back and spend my vacation there.The home is kept very clean with plenty of space for everyone to enjoy.Where the home is located it's very scenic,quiet and very relaxing.Can't wait to go back and stay there again.The owner was reliable and very easy to work with.If you're looking for the perfect vacation rental home you have found it!

  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
10 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Cleaning $150
Pet Fee $75
Booking/Processing $85
Tax Rate 10.3%

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed. Fees listed do not include VRBO's sliding scale service fee for online payments. Cancellations 30 days prior to check-in receive refunds less the booking and processing fees. Refunds for cancellations less than 30 days is subject to our ability to re-book those dates.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties