Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Cozy, Romantic, Fun, Unique Cabin Nestled in Woods.

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 630 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Cabin, 1 Bedroom + Small Sleeping Loft, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2 or 3)

Rent my beautiful little house nestled in the woods of Lake Arrowhead. It has cathedral ceilings and dormer windows of painted glass, two decks that jut out into the woods, a full kitchen, a wood burning fireplace,a terraced garden and a peaceful romantic quality hard to describe. From the back deck you can hear the stream that runs at the bottom of the hill. Fully furnished, with one bedroom with its queen sized bed, a small loft sleeping area with a twin sized bed, suitable for children but small for a grown up and a very comfortable queen sized air mattress that can be easily blown up and placed anywhere you want.

Rekindle your romance, play in the snow with your sunshine drenched LA children, go antiquing with your friends, retreat with your co workers, go for a girls go wild weekend or just relax by yourself.

Lake Arrowhead is a perfect get-away. It's a place to go to be alone and finish that novel you've been working on or to be together to rekindle your romance. Kid friendly, it's an hour and a half out of LA and minutes away from cross country and downhill skiing, sledding, snowman building and ice skating in the winter and swimming, boating in nearby Lake Gregory, picnicking, hiking, exploring etc. in the summer. Alas, Lake Arrowhead is a private lake so unless you take a cruise on the sightseeing boat or take a waterskiing lesson there is no boating on Lake Arrowhead. The fall finds the leaves are a stunning riot of color. You can shop for antiques and mosey around any time of the year. In the village there are a wide variety of restaurants, rustic gift and home shops, upscale outlet stores, a little kiddie-land type area with rides for the little ones, a children's museum, a video game palace, a pilates studio and the Lake Arrowhead Resort and Spa.

Keywords: Cabin, home, house.

More Details

Owner
Ray Richmond or Jill Holden
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
February 25, 2018

About Ray Richmond or Jill Holden

I'm a proud public school theatre teacher and actress in Los Angeles. After many false starts I finally found the man of my dreams and was married on 10/10/10. Crazy. We have four kids between us and they are each unique and kooky in their own ways. I do theatre and write and politically organize whenever I can. It's a darn good life.

Ray Richmond or Jill Holden purchased this cabin in 2005

Why Ray Richmond or Jill Holden chose Arrowhead Villas

Having spent my life in the biggest of cities, LA, Chi Town and New York, I yearned for the rural. And I missed winter! After spending a few weekends here on theatre company retreats I was hooked. So I began to go to Lake Arrowhead for weekends and slowly fell in love with its romantic charm. This is the only house I own and I adore it. The mountains are beautiful. I can stand on my back deck, a glass of wine in hand, the fire roaring, and see thousands of stars as I hear the stream gurgle below me. Fantastic. And I don't think my new marriage would have happened with this particular getaway. You'll see. Romance always brews. Then there's the skiing and the spa and the mountain hikes. And the views from 6000 aren't so shabby either. The people are friendly but not intrusive. All in all, it a perfect place.

What makes this cabin unique

The village of Lake Arrowhead, with its restaurants and shops, live music, boat rides and waterskiing, spa and movies houses is only five minutes away. Yet you feel, when at the cabin, that you are miles away from civilization. My dog adores the place. He can run free and seems to think that is the coolest thing ever. Santa's Village at Sky Park is a couple of miles away. http://skyparksantasvillage.com. The kids and the kid in you will love it. If you are bringing kids to play in the snow, there will be plenty right at my house or you can go tubing or sledding (I've got sleds) at a place of business about ten minutes away.

Amenities

Arrowhead Villas Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 630 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 12:00 PM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Max. adults: 2
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • It's a full bathroom.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Sleeping Loft - 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • Queen size Beds (1) in the bedroom, There is a twin bed in the sleeping loft. Sleeping loft it suitable for children but small for an adult.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Music Library
  • Toys ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • alternative lifestyle
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • horseback riding
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • water skiing
Notes:
Cooking utensils, dishes, vases, books, and condiments and anything else you might need for a stunning rustic getaway.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(47 traveler reviews)

59% Complete
27% Complete
8% Complete
2% Complete
2% Complete
Cozy, Romantic, Fun, Unique Cabin Nestled in Woods.
average rating of 4.4042554 based on 47 reviews
5

Cozy getaway

  • 5 of 5

Perfect little spot to have a cozy get away! The small porch overlooking the woods was really nice to have breakfast and a hot cup of coffee in the morning. The house was very cute and warm. The security system also made us feel very comfortable that we were safe out there.

  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: What a lovely review. Thank you Andrew. Come again. Anytime.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Perfect Location, Clean and Cozy

  • 5 of 5

What a great cabin, exactly what we hoped for. The owner was very accommodating and the cabin is clean with a great heater and amenities. Close to everything but tucked away so you are removed. We would definitely stay again. Thank you.

  • Submitted: Dec 15, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

cute but cramped.

  • 2 of 5

The cabin is cute, has good kitchen supplies,but, old. and needs some upgrades. The sofa bed in the living room area is awful to sleep on. When you open it up, there is a thin mattress with coils very evident to lie down on. Our daughter had to cut her visit short because she couldn't sleep on that. The loft is mainly for a small child, so that was not an option for her.

We burned one log in the fireplace and stopped doing that because it really didn't have proper screening to prevent sparks from escaping.

  • Submitted: Dec 6, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: “Thank you for your review, which has genuine merit. However…The sofa bed is not listed as an actual sleeping choice and in fact I have used your suggestion to get rid of the admittedly useless mattress, so it’s no longer even a last-ditch option. A small child could sleep on the sofa part but once you open it - you're right, it is not comfy at all. Instead, there is a very comfy and easy-to-use blow-up Insta-Bed Air queen mattress available to sleep an extra person. (I’ve now altered my listing to note it sleeps 2-3 people rather than as many as 4.) Secondly, the loft space – while admittedly small – can fit a medium-sized adult as well as a small child (particularly if the adult is adventurous and practices shallow breathing). I have slept there myself, and it affords a beautiful view of the starry, moonlit night sky. Thirdly, beg to differ, but the fireplace does have proper screening which was made specifically for the opening where it’s positioned. It’s inspected every year and must show proper screening and ash disposal. No sparks can escape. The screen was on top of the fireplace. It has a slot into which you can slide the hook at the top of the screen so that it fits very snugly. Perhaps you didn't see it. Thanks also for the thumbs-up on the cuteness of the cabin and the fact it’s well-stocked. I like to think, and have been told many times, that she’s the most intimate and romantic little space on the mountain. She ain’t perfect, but for the price she’s a gem. I hope that doesn’t sound at all defensive, as I take very seriously any critical feedback I receive.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

OUR STAY

  • 4 of 5

The cabin is cute and cozy but weather stripping around doors would be great and the shower head needs to be replaced.

The bathroom is on the first level and it's 12 steps down to the second level where the bedroom is so if you have to go often during the night better take a porta -potty.

There doesn't seem to be any TV reception but there are CD players and lots of movies of all sorts to watch. There are lots of books and games too. Linens and blankets , dishes, pots and pans are also provided.

There are lots of stairs outside and inside so if climbing is a challenge ....

  • Submitted: Nov 22, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your honest response. The cabin is cute and cosy isn’t it? The issue with the weather stripping is a tough one. The house is on a hill and though I love my beautiful front door, the ground it is on isn’t exactly level so even though we do have weather stripping it has been impossible for me to get it even and flush to the floor. Ach its been a struggle. I will try again. But the shower head is a new issue. I will be up there for a week next week and I will get one. Oh also there is no TV reception. I don’t have cable or TV service so it isn’t the reception that’s bad. I am clear about having no service when i describe the place. Lots of dvds as my husband is a reviewer. I am so glad you had fun. Come again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great getaway! Quiet and comfortable!

  • 4 of 5

This is a great getaway! The cabin is just as described; cozy. We stayed for a week and were sorry to leave. It was comfortable, quiet and had everything we needed. We took walks in the neighborhood and enjoyed the town of Lake Arrowhead. It was wonderful sitting on the balcony off the kitchen, enjoying the early mornings and afternoons. This quaint cabin did not disappoint! We will definitely return!

  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I hope you return soon Catherine.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Old fashion sweet cabin

  • 3 of 5

It was nice, clean and cozy. Like it.

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Motorway
0.3 Miles
18 Rim of the World
Nearest Ski
5 Miles
Snow Valley
Car: necessary

There is a major ski resort about 15 minutes away called Snow Valley in Running Springs. Within 30 minutes of my house, up the mountain is Big Bear and in Big Bear there is fishing, swimming and boats for rent. Also about 15 minutes away is Lake Gregory at which there is boating of all sorts and fishing. Lake Arrowhead itself is a private lake with no boat rentals. In Lake Arrowhead which is about 5 minutes away there is a major spa and five star restaurant.

Photos

Availability

Available
Unavailable

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $85
Refundable damage deposit $100
Tax Rate 7.0%

If you stay for the weekend you can have the third night free unless it is rented. If you bring a pet you will need to give me an additional $100 cleaning deposit which will be returned to you after my cleaning service has been to the cabin and tells me the mess isn't excessive like dog feces around the house, enormous amounts of hair on the furniture, and scratches on the furniture.

If you rent for more than a week, you must pay for more cleanings. You will have to pay for and receive three cleanings a month. You will be in direct contact with the cleaning service and pay the cleaning service directly so that the schedule works for you but you must have the place cleaned three times a month.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.