Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Lg cozy Cabin in a great location

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Space 1,933 sq. ft.
Property type cabin

Overview

About the property

Cabin, 2 Bedrooms + Loft, 1.5 Baths, (Sleeps 12)

Escape to Wolf Den Cabin; relax in this log home nestled in the heart of the Olympic Peninsula and Olympic National Parks; hike beach and scenic mountain trails; drive 5 mi to famous Rialto beach. On the property hike 1/2 mi. river trail through moss draped maples; enjoy local wildlife and birds; watch otters frolic; greet new residents; the beavers; glimpse a kingfisher diving for his morning repast, while woodpeckers hammer out a buffet. Delight in the whistling, soaring eagles; world class trout, salmon and steelhead fly fishing; picnicking, hiking at the river or the many beaches; 5 boat-launches located within 5 miles radius on 4 rivers, for fishing, kayaking, drift boats or canoeing, we also rent drift boats as well ask at booking. In the fall the area also offers great hunting; deer and elk. Ready...Set...Vacation I have the ultimate camping trip that is also listed on VRBO, the wolf den cabin is under new management and owners, we have different accommodations to suit many kinds of renters, if you are unhappy with your accommodations please let me know before your trip is over I live a mile down the road and I will be happy to resolve any issues you are having. We live on the Sol Duc river so if you would like to fish there you are more then welcome to come on down, also we have moorage where you can tie up to our boat in lapush if you are coming for some ocean fishing!

Ready...Set...Vacation!: When you come to Wolf Den Cabin, be ready to make memories! This luxurious log home nestled just three miles from the entrance to the Olympic National Park and is moments away from four internationally renowned Pacific beaches and hiking trails, world class fishing, hunting, the Twilight forest of Bella, Edward, Jacob and much more. We are just across the treaty line where the Wolf Den pack keeps vigilante guard, Snap your photo's of Jacob Black's home across the highway form our drive into the Wolf Den.. Cabin has 3 queen beds 3 full beds, and one twin beds, tons of sleeping bag space and cots on request (1,946 sq. ft.). Loft , wireless internet, and local phone.

Amenities: Fully supplied kitchen just bring your food. grill and outdoor fire pit; river on the rear of the property nature trails teeming with local wildlife; birding; with picnic, swimming and kayaking areas on property. Five boat launches within five mile radius away; charter fishing and whale watching moments away. rope swing.

Signature supplies: Fully supplied kitchen, so just bring your food. Bathroom has a large jetted Jacuzzi tub. Then relax and Cozy up to the fireplace (wood supplied). Newly added full on instant hot water heat system--no shower or other hot water shortages!

Golf: If you wish to to a scenic drive to Sequim about 70 miles away there are some very nice golf courses. This drive will also take you deeper into the heart of the Olympic National Forest to Lake Crescent with many hiking trails. Along this same route you can visit the world famous Sol Duc Hot Springs, Marymere Falls, the highland meadows of Hurricane Ridge. The Olympic National Park will give you all the information you need to plan some wonderful short day trips. If you decide to turn south for your day trip you can visit the magnificent Kalaloch Lodge on the beach, enjoy their finest in seafood dining and take the drive to the Famous Hoh Rain Forest. If you decide to travel just a few more miles you can experience the fine dining at the lovely Quinault Lodge. This information with maps is also listed on the weblink.

Keywords: Log home, River, beaches, fishing cabin, hunting, bird watching, wildlife, vacation, rustic, Forks, twighlight, big foot, vampires,

More Details

Owner
mechelle payne
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 20, 2017

About mechelle payne

Well what to say about us...my name is Brandie you will probably be talking to me at booking through email, but you will meet my mom Mechelle at check in! My family mom, me, and younger sister moved to Forks in 2003 from Alaska my step father at that time (my younger sisters dad) had cancer so we needed to move close to Seattle, and my moms parents and grandparents have lived in Forks forever! we needed family support at that time, not to mention my father passed away months before from a fishing accident as well. Time went by and a few months later my step father was not a servivior of cancer my sister lost her father at age 5 and my brother and I lost ours at age 15 and 18. It was hard but we faught through it, my moms good friend introduced her to our new step father Dan a local commerical fisherman out of Lapush Wa, hard headed and stubbern but a loving father to my youngest sister age 7. If you like twilight we are kinda close we came from Alaska Dan's a Quilute indian and Haily is our little quilute pup ;). For myself I am 24 years old married for 5 years now with a little man age almost 2 now, I was a business banker for four years before my mom purchased the cabin, I decided to stay home and raise my son, and help my mom from home. Its a blessing to be able to raise my son, things are tight but in the end its the relationships we create in this life that count! we have a long sad and happy story just like every other person but every stories different we have a good family and we are there for eachother every chance we can! :)

mechelle payne purchased this cabin in 2013

Why mechelle payne chose Olympic Peninsula & Pacific Coast

We chose to buy this house in this location as the property is beautiful and close to the beaches. We are just a short hike away from the river-a nice fishing hole and swimming in the summer. The mossy draped trees, thick ferns and wildlife is another reason we chose this area. We also have our home located near the sol duc river and if you would like to fish there you are more then welcome to! We hope you will enjoy this place as much as we have-we are happy to share it with you our guests. We also chose this location as Forks is a wonderfully friendly town; I love going shopping and having a social outing as I shop at the local grocery store. We feel we have the best of both worlds as the beach is less the five miles away and we love bon fires at the beach, beachcombing, even surf fishing, and whale watching.

What makes this cabin unique

Staying in a real log cabin is somehting many folks dream of and here you can achieve your dream. The cabin glows with mellow light from the warm natural wood salvaged from the local forests and the light from the five tiered chandeliers.. Watch the Elk from the large bay window seat in the dining room or from the large living room windows. In the moring I love to get my coffee and sit in the reading nook under the stairs behind the cozy wood stove. The kitchen is large and spacious so it is very convenient for prepare a large family meal or smaller gourmet meal. The balconies are lovely for a Elk watching with a nice glass of ice tea. I also love to fill the jetted tub clear up and soak with a good book:)

Amenities

Forks Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1933 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Rural
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Heating ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub
  • One decent size bathroom with a jetted tub and shower, one half bath in laundry room with a toilet, hot water on demand so you wont run out!
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 baby crib
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Loft - 1 double , 4 twin/ single , 1 bunk bed
  • There are two bedrooms down stairs decent size one room has a crib in with a queen size bed rustic décor to match the cabin theme. 2nd bedroom has bigger closet one large queen bed and electric fireplace. upstairs is a large loft that sleeps 8 upstairs.
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
This log home is large so there is still plenty of sleeping bag space too. There is a nice trail to the pond and river which is world class steelhead and salmon fishing, we live on the sol duc about a quarter of a mile down the road you are more then welcome to come fish at that property as well, we own a fishing vessel in la push you can have morrage for fishing to tie up to during ocean fishing months.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(41 traveler reviews)

65% Complete
17% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
9% Complete
Lg cozy Cabin in a great location
average rating of 4.292683 based on 41 reviews
4

Cozy cabin with room for families

  • 4 of 5

Our time in around Forks was amazing. Rialto Beach and La Push were some of the most beautiful I have ever seen. The Hoh Rainforest was magical. The cabin itself had plenty of comfortable beds for everyone and the kitchen had the needed items to cook a family meal. Many of the things in the house are quirky - but it suited our large family great !

  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Terrible.Let the photoshopped picture of this cabin be a warning to you.It is not what it seems.

  • 1 of 5

This entire property is in dire need of attention.

Upon arrival there was not a clean dish in the house. The dishwasher was overpacked with filthy, smelly dishes...had not been run.

Both the washer and dryer were overstuffed with wet clothes.

The floor was sticky. Every surface needed a wipe down. Open bags of garbage littered the front of the cabin. Window screens were strewn about the property. This property would not be safe for children.

This was a major disappointment and setback for us, after having planned this trip to the Olympic Peninsula. If you are not familiar with the La Push and Rialto Beach area, lodging options are limited...especially during peak season.

Photoshopped pictures of property should not be allowed...it is deceiving.The Olympic Peninsula is too glorious to spend time trying to fix a bad situation.

On a positive note...Michele was prompt in her response to us and refunded our money.

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Nicholas, Once again I am so sorry that you had this experance at our cabin. Unfortunately we where trying out a new house keeper at that time, and where unaware she was not completing the job. When you called to express your concerns we came over right away to address them. We stive for all our guests to have a relaxing enjoyable experance, these issues should not be a problem for our future guests. It was very disappointing to hear these issues when we spoke, where I felt without a question you deserved a full refund. The photo im assuming you are refuring to is an illustrated photo a cusomter had giving to us as a gift. I have removed the photo to prevent any confusion or disappointments to future guests. A dissatiaifed customer is never our intentions we look forward to our return customers and refferals every year and the isssues you had does not create that. Thank you for taking the time to let us know so we can keep moving forward in creating a best possable experance. (Every guest should know we will address any issue within our control asap during your stay please do not hessitate to call during prior or post your stay) we look forward to improving and creating long lasting customers/guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
4

Great location and layout

  • 4 of 5

We loved the location of this rental, and the layout worked well for our families (grandparents, and two families with young kids). We just did an overnight, not sure if our opinion would change if we stayed over a long period of time, but for what we did it worked great.

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
born Poulsbo, Washington/ live Idaho Falls, Idaho
5

Charming and plenty of space

  • 5 of 5

We didn't fill the place with our 3 adults and 5 children. We could have handled more friends and family staying with us. The upper loft was pretty warm at the end of the day. We took to opening the one set of doors that did open from the loft in the afternoon. Very few bugs bothered to come in. That was nice.

It was sunny and hot during our stay. I think during typical gray weather the loft would be just the right temperature.

We played and visited on the porches , side and front. Played and visited in the dining room and living room. The children enjoyed movies on the TV in the bedroom. We hung our wet sandy towels and clothing on the porch railings and they dry and easy to clean the sand out of pockets, cuffs and fabric before washing in the clothes washer. We cooked hot dogs and marshmallows over the campfire.

Loved the sheet fabric on my bed. I preferred a mattress upstairs to the one on my bed, so I moved to that in the early morning.

We took day trips to the coast and to the Rain forest. Town was convenient.

The house was charming inside and out.

  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Woodwork was great, beds were old, had multiple mice that was addressed by owner, not worth cost.

  • 1 of 5

Bed had firewood between box spring and mattress to elevate head of bed. Beds were old. Woodwork in house was great, but carpets and beds were bad. Had multiple mice first night and owner came in next day to address with steel wool and traps. Overall I would not have paid this price for the quality of this place. Just arrived at the H.A. place we'll spend the next four days and it's amazing for the same per night cost.

  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Duane I apologize you felt this way about our rental, we strive for every guest to enjoy there stay. We where unaware of the mice, once notifed we got over there and addressed the situation, in a country setting when the weather changes and we start mowing field mice will sometimes get spooked and run for hiding. It is now being controlled and monitored. I havnt heard any bad feedback on the beds or the carpets, I will look into this matter. I'm unsure on what or why there was firewood in between the mattress it may have been something the previous guest did and the cleaner may have thought i did it for some reason, it will be removed. The cabin is priced accordingly with the size and location. We appreciate the feedback and will address the negative as accordingly as possible and hope to provide future guest a more positive experience. We hope you enjoy your summer!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
3

Minus several hiccups, had a great time.

  • 3 of 5

The cabin is set in a beautiful location, just off the road. We arrived and found the garbage cans outside already completely full of garbage. When we turned the oven on to cook dinner, a fuse blew and the power went out. Turns out the oven was missing a lower heating element. I called Michelle and she brought over a toaster oven and said that someone would be by to fix the oven in the morning. She was very nice and super apologetic. By 11 the next morning, no one had yet come by to fix the oven. I called again, and she said they would be right over. We ended up eating leftover tacos, because we couldn't heat up our breakfast casserole. A gentleman came promptly after my phone call to fix the oven. He ended up having to replace the oven with a brand new one, in which we had to haul from his truck and install ourselves. We asked if we might be able to get some money back due to the fact that we had no oven to use for 21 hours of our stay. We had eight people to feed, so we were relying on the oven. No one ever got back to us, or offered any kind of a refund.

The jets in the jacuzzi tub were rusty, so nobody used it. However, there was a second bathroom with a utility shower.

Overall we had a great stay. It was nice to get out of the city and be somewhat secluded. The fire pit was a treat, and the property had an endless supply of firewood. It was conveniently close to the beach.

I feel that the cabin itself was neglected. We were left with one roll of toilet paper, knowing that eight guests were expected. Normally I wouldn't complain, but many details were overlooked, especially the oven. I was thankful that the oven was fixed, but it took time out of our day, and we paid very good money for this rental. I would stay here again if I knew the cabin was better kept.

  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello, I apoligize you felt that way during your stay, we had guests leave right before you showed up so the garbage service is typically once a week so we take them ourselves when they are full, oven did need to be replaced, and we fixed it as quickly as possible, and I truly apologize for the inconvenience. The utility room has extra toilet paper rolls in the cabinets if there where a need for extra. I was under the impression I would get an email regarding the partial refund request due to the inconvince. I appreciate the feedback and I will address these issues so future guests can enjoy a nicer stay. For future customers we are local and if you need or have any questions please don't hesitate to call and we will accommodate you ands quickly and as possible wanting every guest to enjoy there stay!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Point of Interest
fishing hole
Nearest Point of Interest
Leyendecker Park
Nearest Point of Interest
James Pond
Nearest Point of Interest
Rialto Beach
Nearest Point of Interest
Boat ramp into Dickie River
Nearest Point of Interest
La Push Reservation
Nearest Point of Interest
First Beach trail
Nearest Point of Interest
Second Beach trail
Nearest Point of Interest
Third Beach trail
Nearest Point of Interest
Boat Ramp
Nearest Point of Interest
Entering Forks
Car: recommended

the wolf den cabin is under new management and new owners, we have the ultimate camping trip, wolf den cabin, and a smaller vacation rental located on the same property as the cabin, so if you are looking for a place to stay we have many options if you are unsatisfied with your stay or accommodations I would like you to contact me I am live less then a mile down the road and I would be happy to resolve any issues you are having or have other accommodations that might suit you.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $90
Pet Fee $50

please let us know during your stay if there is anything we can do to make your stay more enjoyable our biggest compliment is return customers!

250 IS DUE WHEN BOOKING, REMAINDER IS DUE 30 DAYS PRIOR TO YOUR STAY! If you are booking short notice then full amount is due at booking.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties