Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Generous Neat Home with Pool and Garden in Worlds Best Climate, discounts !

Sleeps9
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Space 2,200 sq. ft.
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 5 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 6-9)

This is a very generous 3 BR family home in one of the worlds best climates 27 deg.C (70-80 deg F) yearround with cooler nights).

It is fully furnished for comfortable living and well equipped to bring nothing along.

A very spacious salon with cable-TV, DVD player, music set and games invites family life helped by a modern kitchen.

It is perfect for outdoor living with a 64 sqm (650 sqfeet) covered Mediterranean-style terace, a cozy private swimming pool and a nice tropical garden with palms, fruit trees, rare plants, birds and Iguanas.

It is located in a gated and guarded community for security, fenced-in with automated gate and own alarm system, but in walking distance into town with well sorted shopping facilities, banks, local amenities, farmer's markets, health support of any kind (incld.gym., Red Cross, clinics) and restaurants.

You won't need a car to.do your daily chores.

There is direct access to the motorway system and you won't be far, no matter which part of CR you wish to explore: highend shopping in San Jose/Escazu, the Pacific beaches, volcanoes, National Parks, cloud forest, lakes or waterfalls, animal sanctuarie's, coffee-farms........

There is WiFi throughout, on-demand warm water, a fully equipped kitchen and an extra laundry-room.

Airport-, housekeeping and pool-services can be organized.

We are pet-friendly.

Keywords: very generous 3 BR flat bungalow, large covered teraces, nice tropical garden with ecolodge,cozy pool, fully furnished, comfortable living, walking distance to shopping

More Details

Property Manager
Property Manager
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english, french, german, spanish, turkish
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
June 25, 2017

About The Owner

I am a marine biologist and have lived in many tropical countries.

I have finally settled in Costa Rica for a very favourable cost:benefit ratio and for lovely, warm and welcoming people

The Owner purchased this villa in 2010

Why The Owner chose Alajuela

Costa Rica is the nicest and safest of all Latinamerican countries and the Central Valley is best suited for temperate-climate people.

Costa Rica has responded well to expatriate demands.There is world-class health care, American-style shopping and amusement, wild tropical life and lush beaches - all within arm´s reach.

What makes this villa unique

A large expat community while close to local life,markets, tropical nature, closeness to the sea.

The local community has well adapted to expat demands.

No car required for shopping, banks and restaurants etc.

Amenities

Atenas Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 2200 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 9
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • smoking allowed
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Rural ...
  • Village ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 5 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 3 - toilet
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • master bathroom with double sink, toilet, shower, bathtub, warmwater guest bathroom with sink, toilet and shower, warmwater
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Convertible bed(s) - 3 sleep sofa /futon , air-matrasses and camping beds available
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • Double Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (2), camping and airbeds
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
tropical garden, ecolodge, 2x large covered teraces, separate furnished laundry, separate store

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(15 traveler reviews)

Generous Neat Home with Pool and Garden in Worlds Best Climate, discounts !
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 15 reviews
5

Excellente location

  • 5 of 5

Nous venons de passer 3 semaines dans cette maison. Son seul inconvénient est qu'il n'est pas facile de la quitter......spacieuse,chaleureuse,cuisine bien équipée ET une suite parentale ! Sans parler des 2 patios (1 sur piscine, jardin, palmiers, l'autre sur petite forêt tropicale).

m

Mandarines'es "maison", colibris, geckos à la drôle de voix et même visite d'un petit iguane......

La résidence est sécurisée, avantage indéniable ! Et les maisons sont espacées, autre avantage car même si le voisinage est agréable, la tranquillité et le calme sont importants pour nous.

Les managers sont compétents et disponibles !!! La voiture n'est pas indispensable, le centre ville et ses commerces sont à peine à 10 mn à pied.

En bref,JE RECOMMANDE !!!

Et j'en redemande....une maison pour le prix d'un appart. ......le Costa Rica tout autour......et un jardinier qui s'appelle Ulysse !

  • Submitted: Apr 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Excellente location

  • 5 of 5

Nous venons de passer 3 semaines dans cette maison. Son seul inconvénient,est qu'il n'est pas facile de la quitter ! Spacieuse,chaleureuse, cuisine très bien équipée ET suite parentale ! Sans parler des 2 patios (1 sur piscine, jardin, palmiers et le 2d sur petite forêt tropicale).

Petits déjeuners avec les mandarines "maison" du matin,

Colibris, geckos à la drôle de voix et même visite d'un petit iguane !

La résidence est sécurisée, avantage indéniable ! Et les maisons sont espacées, autre avantage, car même si le voisinage est agréable, la tranquillité et le calme sont importants pour nous.

On peut se passer de voiture, le centre ville avec tous ses commerces est à peine à 10 mn de marche.

Les managers sont compétents et disponibles !!!

En bref, JE RECOMMANDE !!!!

Et j'en redemande.....une maison pour le prix d'un appart.......le Costa Rica tout autour....et un jardinier qui s'appelle Ulysse !

  • Submitted: Apr 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Forchheim, Germany
5

simply great !

  • 5 of 5

A very comfortable and charming house with lovely pool and garden - birds, fruits snf butterflies á la carte!

Great location - an easy walk into Atenas and an easy drive to most of Costa Rica spectacles.

Excellent climate - no AC required !

The manager was helpful, considerate and responsive - no nonsense.

We have been very happy with this house, it even exceeded our expectations! I highly recommend this house to even our best friends.

  • Submitted: Feb 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
1

Our stay in Atenas home

  • 1 of 5

The house was in a good location , but it need a lot of maintenance. For 4 days since our arrival we have the refrigerator not working, they need to other a part and replace it, during that time we buy ice and leave in a cooler for our groceries. The electrical gate didn' t open correctly, we need to open manually specially when was raining a lot, the toilets are leaking water, and finally the pump water that use the comunity was shutdown during mostly all day, we need to bring water from the pool to fill the toilets and buy water for our bath, we can't use the kitchen to cook because of the water and the refrigerator. The owner of the house lives in France but we meet Piet and his wife, that administrate some houses in the comunity. Piet was very concern of the situation in the house, and bring some ice for our cooler. I ask for a refund for all those problems that you not expect when rent a place to stay during your vacations, but the last day we stay, they give me a tip of $20.00 that the owner think was enough to cover the issues on our stay. I never stay again in this place, and never recomend to anybody, its my first time in the 5 th visit to Costa Rica that something like that happens. It's ashame that people that owns properties to rent didn't take care of it and rent the property with issues nowing that the tourist pay a lot to stay in. I hope that my family experience in this place help you to choose other place to stay.

  • Submitted: Dec 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: The stay fell into a time, in which a category 2 hurricane crossed Costa Rica which caused: - a total of 23 deaths (at least 10 of which in Costa Rica) -the deplacement of 6 800 people in CR -"chaotic and unprecedented" conditions with widespread outages of power and water and U$ 34 Mio of damages - a governmental state of emergency in CR -and 3 days of national mourning. Hurricanes are a defined case of "Force Majeur" or "Act of God" in which - according to Common Law interpretation- parties are a) relieved/ exempted of their contractual obligations b) compensation cannot be asked for and c) consequences are to be carried by oneself. While I regret those events -clearly beyond my control-, and while I realize mention of some of the generous relieve measures carried out by my staff in order to minimize consequences, I miss the necessary sensitivity for the situation at hand and their due acknowledgement as they are not reflected in the conclusions drawn.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

A Great House in a Great Location

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I recently spent two weeks in this lovely house, which is only a 10 minute walk from the center of Atenas. It is spacious on the inside with a large and quite beautiful patio on the outside. Having a pool was the icing on the cake. The gated community of Roca Verde is very secure and is perfectly located as a jumping-off point for further travels around the country side. Also, the couple who manage the property were quite helpful and attentive. For the budget traveler (like us), the property was quite a bargain. Not only do I recommend staying here, I also hope to return in the very near future.

  • Submitted: Dec 14, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Edmonton Canada
5

relaxing in Paradise

  • 5 of 5

We just spent 2 weeks in this very nice house with a beautiful yard . I would highly recommend to anyone who is looking for a nice quiet place to relax and enjoy Costa Rica . We walked to town every day , the people you meet on the road and in Arenas are very friendly . The house manager picked us us up and dropped us back off at the airport that made a worry free experience .

  • Submitted: Apr 28, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
14 Miles
San Jose International
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Nearest Ferry
30 Miles
Punta Arenas
Nearest Train
2 Miles
Bus Station
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Nearest Beach
30 Miles
Punta Arenas

local markets, rodeo, local ferias

cloud forest canopy tours, jungle hikes, orchid gardens and coffee plantations, humming bird and butterfly observatories, 1hr to Pacific beaches

Photos

Rates & Availability

Atenas Villa Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
High Season
Dec 15 2017 - Mar 31 2018
5 night minimum stay
$97
$535
$2,163
 
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
$86
$490
$1,999
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $7 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $250
mandatory final cleaning $35
utilities per week $60

Rates are subject to change until booking is confirmed.

weekly net rent is reduced over time: the longer, the cheaper:
1st week : USD 602,- 2nd.wk: 540,- 3rd.wk : 480,- 4th.wk: 410,-

Weekly rents carry additional USD 50,- for utilities per week
Pls. use pool and equipment with prudence and at own risk. No lifeguard on duty !

We are surrounded by nature and share this paradise with wildlife.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Contact Manager
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties