check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Experience True Island Living with 4 Bedrooms and Amenities Galore!

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 5 - 6 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
townhome
Sleeps
8
Bedrooms
4
Bathrooms
3
Half Baths
1
Minimum Stay
5 - 6 nights

About the property

Townhome, 4 Bedrooms, 3.5 Baths, (Sleeps 10)

Looking for a vacation rental on the Big Island? This high-end Townhome has it all: four bedrooms (including two master suites), three covered lanais, and access to a beautiful 2-acre Recreation Center.

Our duplex Townhome exudes Hawaiian charm from the moment you walk in. Every room is outfitted with Polynesian-inspired furniture and local artwork and red accents pop against the otherwise neutral decor. The atmosphere is at once sophisticated and inviting.

The house boast two master bedrooms, on separate floors, both have en-suite bathrooms. The third room has two queen-size beds, and the fourth bedroom has two twin beds. In all, the house sleeps ten people comfortably.

You enter a great room with a flat-screen TV, as well as a dining area and a fully equipped kitchen with granite counter tops and stainless appliances. WiFi is included.

The upper lanai features a barbecue and is connected to the great room by glass pocket doors that disappear into the wall when open. The lanai feels like an extension of the great room and offers expansive views of Mauna Kea, Kohala Mountains, as well as glimpses of the Mauna Lani golf course, and distant ocean views.

One of the biggest perks is the nearby Recreation Center. It spans nearly 2+ acres, including a lap pool, children's pool and large free style pool with separate hot tub. The center also includes a work out building (not room) with free weights and the latest weight machines. This building has men's and women's locker rooms with granite sinks and showers. There is a covered pavilion with kitchen, BBQ, refrigerator and sink. Access is free to our guests - the perfect place to host parties or just hang out.

When you are ready to hit the sand, grab your beach towels (furnished) and head to the gated private beach club. It has private parking, which we supply a gate pass card for your entry. You park next to the restaurant, which is adjacent to the sandy beach. It is less crowded than the public beaches, less noisy and cleaner. The beach has a calm cove excellent for snorkeling, life guards, rental equipment and lounge chairs.

Other area attractions include the Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and the Fairmont Orchid Hotel, both 5 stars, within walking distance and offer access to our guests.

There is a shopping mall within walking distance with a small gourmet market (Foodland), with deli, freshly made sushi and bakery. There are a number of fine restaurants, including Ruth's Chris, Tommy Bahamas, Monstera, Just Tacos, Kimo Bean Coffee and Juice 66. There is weekly free entertainment, art galleries, boutiques, and gift shops.

This luxury Townhome is quite the find. Contact us today before your dates book up. See the availability calendar.

This home is managed by Kai Akea Ohuchi R(S) 74999 under Real Estate Source, LLC

Hawaii GE Tax ID # W66707722-01

More Details

Owner
Kai Ohuchi
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english, Japanese
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 15, 2017

About Kai Ohuchi

The home is owned by John McGrew and Emilia Rusu of Anchorage Alaska.

Kai Ohuchi purchased this townhome in 2011

Why Kai Ohuchi chose Kohala Coast

We live in Alaska and have been coming to Hawaii for years. Of all the places we have visited in Hawaii, we like the Mauna Lani Resort and the Big Island the best. The airport in Kona is very casual and easy to

arrive and depart from. The scenic drive to the Mauna Lani area is about 20 minutes. The Mauna Lani Resort area is a world class destination with all the amenities and beautiful beaches.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(33 traveler reviews)

Experience True Island Living with 4 Bedrooms and Amenities Galore!
average rating of 4.787879 based on 33 reviews
5

Amazing home in perfect location!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here in early October 2016. Both the home and the associate property are in an ideal location for exploring the Big Island. We had two families stay here including 5 children ages 1-7. The home is perfect for a multi family stay, with the layout of the home allowing for privacy when needed as well as open space for meals and gathering together. The pool and amenities were awesome, as was the private beach access. We will gladly stay here again for any future visits! Kai and his associate were available for any questions, and all communication was friendly and helpful.

  • Submitted: Nov 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Port Moody
5

Awesome property with all the Amenities you could need

  • 5 of 5

We rented the townhouse for a get together of friends that met 20 years ago in Europe! The property was in a great location on the Island, only 30 minutes from Kona. The owner Kai was very responsive and helpful with all my questions prior to our arrival and provided great customer service.

When we arrived, we were blown away by the beauty of the property! The house was the perfect size for the 10 of us and just the right configuration of bedrooms to accommodate our party. The gated community is amazing. It has 2 beautiful pools, a hot tub, a fitness facility and an outdoor barbeque area. The community was quiet and peaceful and there were shops and a grocery store close by for the last minute things that we needed.

In the townhouse, the kitchen was fully equipped with everything that was needed. We had a bit of a problem with the barbeque not working as well as it could. When we contacted the property manager Burt, he had it replaced the next day! We were very impressed with his customer service! They even accommodated us with a late check-out, which was truly appreciated.

The access to the private beach was also a bonus. It was one of the nicest beaches that we visited while on the Island. There was also bikes, snorkeling gear and coolers that we could use. It truly had everything that we needed and more. I think my favourite place was on the Lanai off the living room. What a spectacular view and a great way to start the day!

I would definitely stay at this property again and will recommend it to my friends and family. It was beautiful, clean and well maintained. Both Kai and Burt were so helpful and attentive to us! Thank you again for everything!

  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very nice stay at Kamilo 204. Very clean and well cared for luxury accomodations.

  • 5 of 5

First class, gated community. Very quiet and relaxing home with 2 large pools right around the corner. Nice sliders that lead to a spacious patio with a grill, couches and table for eating outside. Hardly needed the AC since the weather was so nice. Definetly plan to stay here again.

  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mahalo Rick! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at our Hawaiian home, and look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future! With warm aloha, John M
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Spacious, Clean & Comfortable!

  • 5 of 5

This is a very spacious, clean, well equipped home away from home! We comfortably fit 10 adults in the house, (ages 18-57), and it never felt crowded. We cooked 4 nights and there was room for all of us to sit at the table together. The kitchen was well stocked with pots, pans, blender, utensils etc. Linens and towels were clean and of a nice quality. There were more than enough beach towels! No body complained about the beds so I guess they were all comfy. (I know the King bed on the main floor was!) We were able to fit 3 rental cars in the driveway!

The location to the pool and fitness center was perfect. The private beach, a short drive away was wonderful. The small food store and coffee shop was less than a mile down the road, easily walkable. The owners provided plenty of beach chairs, umbrellas, boogie boards, and noodles. My only recommendation for the beach would be to bring your own snorkle equipment. (They only had 2 adult sets and 2 sets for very small kids) Our only problem with the property, was that only one side of the grill was working. The vacation property managers were wonderful. They answered all my emails quickly and returned phone calls in a timely manner. Overall a great vacation! I highly recommend.

  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

First Class Accomodations

  • 4 of 5

Checking into the house and the house itself was all that was advertised and we had a wonderful time. Other than some of the telephone handset batteries apparently not charged, we had absolutely no compaints regarding our stay.

We were careful to make sure that the property was left in the same condition as when we checked in and were completely blndsided by a damage charge of $15 regarding a broken bed wheel. At no time during our stay was this noticed nor did the behavior of anyone in our party cause this to occur. It seemed a bit odd that after paying nearly $3,000 for the house that this fee would be assessed as it seems to us that the broken wheel was due likely to stress fatigue and not a result of anything we did. Just thought you should know.

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Jerry, Thanks very much for your candid review of our unit, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and had a good time with your family. I wanted to respond to your comment about the charge for the bed wheel, and clarify that we didn't charge you for the replacement of the wheel, it was something that was charged against your property damage protection policy that you purchased when you booked your stay. Of course I cannot comment on whether you caused the damage, but our cleaners reported it after your stay, so that was the only info we had to go on. I do apologize if you were not the cause of it, but again, I want to reiterate that we did not need to try and charge you directly for anything, because you were covered under the property damage protection. I truly hope you enjoyed your time at our island home, and look forward to the time when you can come back for your next visit! Mahalo, John M.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

What an AWFUL smell!!

  • 1 of 5

We love the big island and KaMilo is one of our favorite places to stay. We are also huge VRBO supporters and always look here for our holiday choices. However our stay this time was not the same and left a pungent fowl smell in our nostrils. Though the home is beautiful and has many amenities, we were greatly disappointed and it did not meet our expectations at all.

The house boasts a beautiful view and one of our favorite things to do is open up the big sliding glass doors to the deck and sit outside for meals. In this house however the glass sliding doors were so difficult to open that it sometimes took two adults just to get the them to move at all. Having to put so much effort into opening the doors was not only a huge hassle, but a risk for back injury. Though this was difficult, we managed just fine.

Then, one day after coming in from the beach, we noticed a very fowl pungent smell coming from the upstairs powder room. Having stayed in cabins close to our home, we recognized the smell right away and knew there was a dead rodent somewhere in the bathroom. We looked all over and couldn't find anything (ick!!) So we contacted the agent but was told that due to in being over the weekend they couldn't send anyone out until Monday. The smell kept getting stronger and started to seep into the upstairs master bedroom and master bath and even into the kitchen. Family we had upstairs were starting to feel ill do to the odor. When a serviceman did come out, they couldn't find anything and established that it had either died in the roof or one of the walls and they wouldn't be able to get rid of the smell until they could cut into the wall. Needless to say, we had to live with a dead decomposing rodent smell for the rest of our island holiday.

Sadly, we didn't find the agent very helpful or empathetic at the slightest. If it were my home and it had happened to my guests, I would have done all I could to offer some compensation for the issue and overall discomfort that it caused. However, that is not the case. We tried to notify the owner of the home, but were not able to get in contact. I hope that they have a chance to read this so they know how their beautiful home and guests are being treated.

Unfortunately, this is one home that we would not recommend nor will we be returning to.

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Noreen, First of all, I’d like to thank you for taking the time to leave your honest feedback, even after so many months. I appreciate your kind words about the beauty of the home, and the available amenities. We have done all we can to make it an amazing getaway for travelers from all over the world! I’d also like to address the issues you had, and offer my sincere apologies for the ordeal you went through. I want to also assure you that I was in close communication with my property managers from the moment the issue arose, and through to its resolution. As it was the weekend when the odor was first brought to their attention, it’s true that we weren’t able to get a professional in there to do anything, however one of our property managers Burt did his best to crawl up in the attic space and look for anything that could have been the cause of the smell. He was unable to locate the source of the smell until after the serviceman had come and gone a day later, at which point he isolated the smell to the rubbish can in the bathroom, where he found that fecal matter on tissues had been disposed of in the can, and the smell was emanating from there. As soon as the rubbish was taken out, the smell was gone. We are truly sorry that the source of the smell wasn’t isolated until later, but do want to point out that it was actually caused by trash disposed of by someone in your party. Regarding the door, it did appear that the large sliding door had gone off one of its tracks, causing issues with opening it. We immediately had the issue fixed, and there haven’t been any issues since. It actually opens very easily now. I think you will see from the subsequent reviews of our property over this summer that the guests who have come after you have not had any issues, and all enjoyed their stays. I want to reassure you too that I stay in close contact with my property managers, and when there is an issue, they inform me immediately, and I give them full authorization to maintain my unit to the highest standard. It’s unfortunate that you feel you didn’t have the best experience staying at our home, and for that I am truly sorry. Kind regards, John
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Stand Up Paddle Boarding (SUPing), great place for triathlete training and/or racing. Great for wedding parties. private beach club. special rates for golf.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Waimea Townhome Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
2017 Peak
Jan 1 2017 - Feb 28 2017
6 night minimum stay
$499
 
 
Spring Break 2017
Mar 1 2017 - Mar 31 2017
5 night minimum stay
$499
 
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
$449
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $350
Property Damage Protection $59
Hawaii Tax on Cleaning $15
$1500 Damage Insurance $59
Tax Rate 17.17%

Rates are subject to change until rental is confirmed by payment of the booking deposit.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 90 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Waimea Townhome Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • townhome
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Golf Course View
  • Monument View
  • Mountain View
  • Ocean View
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fitness Room / Equipment
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king , 1 twin/ single , Extra long twin for taller guests
  • King size beds (3) main floor master bedroom - 1 king bed; upstairs second master bedroom - 1 king bed; downstairs third bedroom - 1 king bed and 1 extra long twin bed;, Twin or Single Beds (1) downstairs fourth bedroom/den - 1 queen, 1 twin size bed.
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Tennis
  • Water Sports Gear
  • 1 bicycles
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub
  • Shared Hot Tub ...
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
This 4 bedroom home is 2500 sf with additional 900 sf of Lanai space. The slab monkey pod dining table has seating for 10 . The floor plan is open with a large designer Kitchen. The home has an extensive art collection with over 20 oil paintings and sculptures. The property also has a hardwood paddle collection. The pool area for KaMilo is one of the largest in the Mauna Lani Resort with a large workout room and separate lap pool. The home is within walking distance of the Fairmont Orchid Hotel, the Mauna Lani Hotel ,an upscale grocery store, and shopping. Renters will be able to use the Mauna Lani Beach Club and access private parking. The beach area provides gentle sandy beaches for young children, clear water and uncrowded surfing. The community is great for running, biking, tennis and golf . The KaMilo community is a secured gated community.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers