Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Award Winning Historic Victorian/2 Blocks from Downtown, Ocean

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4)

This beautiful Victorian received the 2004-2005 Award for best Pacific Grove historic home remodel from the Historical Society.

The perfectly restored home features two bedrooms (spaced for ultimate privacy with each

having access to their own bathrooms), a spacious and open living room/dining room combination as well as a custom designed kitchen, comfortable den, quaint backyard deck and a laundry room.

Stroll east a few blocks and find yourself among the downtown boutiques and stores and as well as many of the nearly 60 restaurants located in Pacific Grove. Travel west the same distance and you will be standing on the shore of majestic Monterey Bay.

Recreational opportunities (golf, biking, kayaking), shopping and dining experiences and sightseeing excursions (17 Mile Drive, Monterey Aquarium, Big Sur) are all within easy reach of Pacific Grove and the famous Monterey Peninsula.

(City of PG License # 0101)

Keywords:

More Details

Owner
Gary Johnson
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 22, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

The description of the cottage matched our needs, and the location was perfect. We've never shared a rental with another couple before, and it worked very well for all of us. Having two bathrooms makes all the difference. It's a charming house in a quiet, but friendly neighborhood of similar homes. Everything inside is fresh, clean, and very well maintained.



We were busy every day and enjoyed evening strolls to the main part of town, just a few blocks away. Pacific Grove is our favorite location to stay anywhere on Monterey Bay. The Monterey Aquarium is spectacular, and the two guest passes are a welcome bonus, as you need to go more than once.



We will definitely recommend the cottage to our friends, and we hope to stay there again ourselves.
Sep 2011
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Pacific Grove House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Ocean View
  • Waterfront ...
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Queen size Beds (2)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(76 traveler reviews)

84% Complete
13% Complete
1% Complete
0% Complete
1% Complete
Award Winning Historic Victorian/2 Blocks from Downtown, Ocean
average rating of 4.7894735 based on 77 reviews
Concord, Calif
4

Cute and cozy

  • 4 of 5

Cute quiet and great for 4 people. The place is very clean which is the most important thing to me, we enjoyed it a lot. It would be nice to have had more toilet paper, 1 roll for each bathroom is being kinda stingy, other than that no complaints. We never used the TV or did any cooking so can't tell you anything about the kitchen supplies. But from what we saw everything you needed was there. Such cute decor. Although i would not want to stay here during the summer as there is really no private outside area. A small back yard. Seeing that we were gone most of the day it didn't bother us. I would rent it again for a 2-3 day stay.

  • Submitted: Nov 21, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Amazing location, nice house 4.5 stars!

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our stay in Pacific Grove/Monterey very much and this house's central location was a big part of that. We walked everywhere-to the amazing bakery and grocery store (5 min,) to the stunning bay walk (15 minutes with much gawking) and to the Aquarium (25 min with time spent admiring seals.) The house itself is very nicely restored and feels very comfortable and homelike. There are enough vases and antiques I'm not sure I'd recommend this place with toddlers. The only issue was with the master bed which creaked whenever anyone moved-it was very comfortable but a bit noisy.

  • Submitted: Nov 20, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Nice place

  • 4 of 5

Convenient location in a charming seaside community

  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Mt Prospect
4

Quite Lovely

  • 4 of 5

We came to the area for a girls wine trip. This was our first leg of the journey. The house is as it is described. The owner responded quickly to questions or when finding a small amount of ants. Everything is updated, clean and organized.

I'd recommend this property if you're staying in the area. It is close to Cannery Row and the aquarium, a grocery store too.

Enjoyed our girl time immensely.

  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Nice property, good location, responsive host, enjoyed aquarium passes, would recommend to friends.

  • 4 of 5

Just a few problems we encountered:

TV in master bedroom stuck on E channel.

Ants in guest bathroom (toward rear).

Gate to back area broken -- wouldn't close.

Used different codes to access Wi-Fi than those in directions.

  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: According to the 'experts' the unseasonably hot summer has somewhat disrupted the habits of the ant world and are seeking moisture and may continue until it rains. We are, however, endeavoring to do our best to control their activity. Actually the first time I heard of the master bedroom TV and the fence gate. I'm curious, however, how access to wifi was achieved using codes OTHER than those in the instructions (??). UPDATE: Have talked to two subsequent renters and there have been no problems with either the internet or either TV.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Colorado Springs
4

Cute but somewhat impractical Victorian house

  • 4 of 5

The property was good and located where we wanted, but it's getting along in years and suffered for it. The floors are terribly creaky, as are the beds making it hard to let the children sleep when the parents are up. There's no A/C, which wouldn't normally be a problem in Monterey, but it certainly was hot and stuffy during our stay in early October. We also had to deal with a bit of an invasion by small black ants while we were there.

  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Monterey
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
Hwy 101
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Lover's Point

Monterey Aquarium , whale watching cruises, AT&T Professional Golf Tourney,

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $150
Refundable damage deposit $300
Tax Rate 10.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties