Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Award Winning Historic Victorian/2 Blocks from Downtown, Ocean

Bedrooms 2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

House, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4)

This beautiful Victorian received the 2004-2005 Award for best Pacific Grove historic home remodel from the Historical Society.

The perfectly restored home features two bedrooms (spaced for ultimate privacy with each

having access to their own bathrooms), a spacious and open living room/dining room combination as well as a custom designed kitchen, comfortable den, quaint backyard deck and a laundry room.

Stroll east a few blocks and find yourself among the downtown boutiques and stores and as well as many of the nearly 60 restaurants located in Pacific Grove. Travel west the same distance and you will be standing on the shore of majestic Monterey Bay.

Recreational opportunities (golf, biking, kayaking), shopping and dining experiences and sightseeing excursions (17 Mile Drive, Monterey Aquarium, Big Sur) are all within easy reach of Pacific Grove and the famous Monterey Peninsula.

(City of PG License # 0101)


More Details

Gary Johnson
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 19, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

The description of the cottage matched our needs, and the location was perfect. We've never shared a rental with another couple before, and it worked very well for all of us. Having two bathrooms makes all the difference. It's a charming house in a quiet, but friendly neighborhood of similar homes. Everything inside is fresh, clean, and very well maintained.

We were busy every day and enjoyed evening strolls to the main part of town, just a few blocks away. Pacific Grove is our favorite location to stay anywhere on Monterey Bay. The Monterey Aquarium is spectacular, and the two guest passes are a welcome bonus, as you need to go more than once.

We will definitely recommend the cottage to our friends, and we hope to stay there again ourselves.
Sep 2011
  • 1 of 1


Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
Hwy 101
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Lover's Point

Monterey Aquarium , whale watching cruises, AT&T Professional Golf Tourney,


Pacific Grove House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Ocean View
  • Waterfront ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Queen size Beds (2)
  • CD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(73 traveler reviews)

87% Complete
9% Complete
1% Complete
0% Complete
1% Complete
Award Winning Historic Victorian/2 Blocks from Downtown, Ocean
average rating of 4.821918 based on 74 reviews
Mt Prospect

Quite Lovely

  • 4 of 5

We came to the area for a girls wine trip. This was our first leg of the journey. The house is as it is described. The owner responded quickly to questions or when finding a small amount of ants. Everything is updated, clean and organized.

I'd recommend this property if you're staying in the area. It is close to Cannery Row and the aquarium, a grocery store too.

Enjoyed our girl time immensely.

  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Oct 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Nice property, good location, responsive host, enjoyed aquarium passes, would recommend to friends.

  • 4 of 5

Just a few problems we encountered:

TV in master bedroom stuck on E channel.

Ants in guest bathroom (toward rear).

Gate to back area broken -- wouldn't close.

Used different codes to access Wi-Fi than those in directions.

  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Oct 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: According to the 'experts' the unseasonably hot summer has somewhat disrupted the habits of the ant world and are seeking moisture and may continue until it rains. We are, however, endeavoring to do our best to control their activity. Actually the first time I heard of the master bedroom TV and the fence gate. I'm curious, however, how access to wifi was achieved using codes OTHER than those in the instructions (??). UPDATE: Have talked to two subsequent renters and there have been no problems with either the internet or either TV.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Colorado Springs

Cute but somewhat impractical Victorian house

  • 4 of 5

The property was good and located where we wanted, but it's getting along in years and suffered for it. The floors are terribly creaky, as are the beds making it hard to let the children sleep when the parents are up. There's no A/C, which wouldn't normally be a problem in Monterey, but it certainly was hot and stuffy during our stay in early October. We also had to deal with a bit of an invasion by small black ants while we were there.

  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Road Trip with Mom & Dad

  • 5 of 5

Great location, the house was comfortable and cozy and had everything we needed to spend a few days with our 95 year old parents.

The Aquarium tickets were a nice added bonus. We would stay there again.

  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

As stated on VRBO, only cuter in person!

  • 5 of 5

My 3 sister's and I found this home on VRBO when we were searching for a Victorian home to stay in a few days while visiting Monterey, California area. We arrived about 4:30 pm and as we began taking our luggage inside, a whale spout was seen, so we could see the bay from the sidewalk. We stopped to watch the whales spouting and playing in the bay. Once we each buddied up with a sister in choosing a room, we unpacked and then went down to the aqarium area to eat and watch whales. We ate at Louie's Linguini, the clam chowder bread bowl and salad. It was yummy, and we sat by the window and could watch the action on the bay. Next day we did the 17 mile drive as we went towards Carmel. Whales were everywhere. When we arrived in Carmel we chose Friar Tuck's to eat lunch at, cooked by husband & wife team. We enjoyed the food and company. Last day was aquarium and shopping. Do not let you free pass Gary gives you go to waste, do plan at least 4 hours inside to enjoy. We left the following morning, memories in hand. We will be back again!

  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Terrific location, comfortable little house

  • 5 of 5

We had a every enjoyable two nights here. The two bedrooms and two bathrooms--and, indeed, the entire house--were quite spacious given the location (Pacific Grove, home of many very small houses) and was plenty of room for three of us. The kitchen is well equipped and attractive, with red accents. We enjoyed the separate den/TV room, which was more inviting for relaxing that the Victorian decorated main room. Please note there are some glitches with the WiFi; it sometimes stopped working for an hour or two at a time, but then would cycle back on and was reasonably good throughout the house when it was working. The house is close to restaurants and many other local amenities and attractions, and I look forward to a longer stay here next time I am in Monterey/Pacific Grove.

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $150
Refundable damage deposit $300
Tax Rate 10.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties