Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Bear Meadows cabin on the Shenandoah River

Bedrooms 3
Space 1,568 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 1 - 3 nights


About the property

Cabin, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

Our cabin at Bear Meadows has everything you want to augment your relaxation in the peaceful harmony of the Shenandoah River.

Sit around the large stone firepit, listening to the calls of 100 different birds. Free canoes sit nearby for your immediate use. Make sure to grab the oars and life jackets from the shed before heading out!

A full acre of open yard, from the house to the river, gives you plenty of space to setup your soccer game or volleyball net.

A 7-foot hot tub, from one of the top manufacturers in the business, is great for evening relaxation or morning soak. And while you soak, look out across the river and mountains.

On the deck, a large gas grill is waiting for your hot dogs, hamburgers and steaks. Want a more authentic outdoor grill? In the mood for roasting marshmallows or a late-night chat? We have just the thing. In the middle of the lawn is a stone campfire pit, over 6 feet in diameter. Find all the wood you need next to the shed, and pick up the lawn chairs from inside the shed.

The cabin is also outfitted with the best technology has to offer. Satellite TV in every room with 200 channels of crystal-clear satellite service. FREE LONG DISTANCE phone calls. DVD and VCR player in every room. Free washer and dryer. Wireless HIGH SPEED INTERNET access, totally free.


- Satellite flatscreen HDTV, DVD & VCR in every bedroom and the living room

- Large, instant-on gas fireplace

- Large Hot Tub - no dinky little jacuzzi for you!

- Full deck, patio, picnic table, and large gas grill

- Private canoes (2)

- Private game room with foosball, pool, and ping-pong

- Fully equipped kitchen with all appliances, equipment & utensils - no puny kitchenette

- Spacious house, not a cramped kit-cabin

- Massive campfire pit (see pic), over 7 feet across

- Fully private, no neighbors in sight

- Direct, private access to river & private waterfront - no cutting through someone else's yard or crossing the street

Keywords: Cabin

More Details

Emily or Paul @ Shenandoah Rentals
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 21, 2018


Rileyville Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1568 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Rural
  • Waterfront
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Free Long Distance
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 1 baby crib
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1), Baby Cribs (1), Bunk Beds (1)
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • water tubing


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(23 traveler reviews)

60% Complete
21% Complete
17% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Bear Meadows cabin on the Shenandoah River
average rating of 4.4347825 based on 23 reviews

Great for unplugging with friends for a weekend

  • 5 of 5

My friends and I love these cabins. The pace of everything that comes with living and working in Washington, D.C. can be exhausting. We'd go insane if we didn't get out of the city every now and then and unplug. We've been going back to these cabins once or twice a year for the past few five years now and they've been a god send.

The kitchen has everything we need to make ourselves a big family style dinner every evening and the huge dvd collection gives us a chance to revisit a bunch of old favorites instead of our usual Netflix binges.

The hot tub and campfire outside are great for late evenings to sit around with each other and chat without the distractions of our cell phones distracting us.

The staff is always helpful. On our last trip we had a pilot light go out but they had someone over right away to fix and when another member of our group left some things behind they found them right away and shipped them back to us.

10/10 would recommend to everyone trying to get out of the city and unplug.

  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Robert, thanks for the kind words and telling others! We loved working with you too. You guys were great.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Weekend Getaway

  • 5 of 5

This was our second year staying at a Shenandoah Rental property in the fall and we will definitely be back. We took advantage of the canoes provided and the game room. The kitchen was well stocked and there is also a gas grill. The mattresses were recently replaced and super comfortable. It is the perfect weekend getaway for hiking, exploring, campfires and s'mores. Firewood is provided which is an added bonus. We are hoping to return in the summer for more time on the river.

  • Submitted: Nov 10, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Christy, thanks for telling others! We loved working with you guys! We'll see you again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful location

  • 5 of 5

The house had everything we needed and you couldn't ask for a more beautiful view than the one out the back toward the river. Definitely will return.

  • Submitted: Nov 3, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Amber, thank you very much for the kind words and telling others! Your group was a treat to work with too!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Philly, PA

Clean, comfortable, good beds, very large yard, hot tub, what else do you want

  • 5 of 5

Loved the hot tub and campfire time, Good rental here. We'll be back with friends!

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: John, thanks for the kind words. Best to you and your family! We will see you all next time around.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Madison, MS

Mens getaway

  • 5 of 5

Overal was a great time...the house/cabin was clean and had plenty of space. Kitchen had everything we needed to cook we pretty much made every meal there. The river was maybe 150-200yards away so not too bad. We made great use of the boats available and pool table in the rec room. Only two complaints including the grill not cooking very well only two areas really cooked and the rec room was ungodly hot the portable ac unit was not nearly efficient enough to cool the area so we just opened the garage door. That did not stop us from having a blast! Overall highly recommend and would stay here again!

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect country getaway

  • 5 of 5

Bear Meadows cabin was really nice, despite a few minor things (no ends on pool sticks, and some minor housekeeping mishaps) that the managers of the property took very seriously. The grass wasn't mowed, but this wasn't their fault since the mother nature insisted on it raining so much! Unfortunately, the weather didn't want to allow us to enjoy the outside much, but it was fine since we had PLENTY to do indoors! Emily and Paul were REALLY great. They went far and beyond to make sure we enjoyed our stay, and replied to all of my emails (there were many!). It was myself, my boyfriend, and our Labrador that stayed there. It was our first homeaway house rental, and I didn't realize that we had to take the linens off the beds, and take our own trash once we left--that was a little annoying; however, they do not charge much for cleaning and etc, so it paid off for us. There is so much to do at this place, whether you are a couple like us or a big family. We will be returning soon, this time possibly with our family! Thanks Emily and Paul!

  • Submitted: May 19, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Krystal, thanks for much for the kind words! You were a pleasure to work with. Again, I apologize about the high grass while you were there. We do try to keep everything as clean and neat as possible. We'll see you all next time!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Car: necessary


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Firewood at $10.00/day $20 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $500
Pet Fee $50 + Tax
Tax Rate 10.3%

2 night minimum stay, 3 night minimum during holidays

Unlimited/stacked firewood $10/night

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties