Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Bear Meadows cabin on the Shenandoah River

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,568 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Cabin, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

Our cabin at Bear Meadows has everything you want to augment your relaxation in the peaceful harmony of the Shenandoah River.

Sit around the large stone firepit, listening to the calls of 100 different birds. Free canoes sit nearby for your immediate use. Make sure to grab the oars and life jackets from the shed before heading out!

A full acre of open yard, from the house to the river, gives you plenty of space to setup your soccer game or volleyball net.

A 7-foot hot tub, from one of the top manufacturers in the business, is great for evening relaxation or morning soak. And while you soak, look out across the river and mountains.

On the deck, a large gas grill is waiting for your hot dogs, hamburgers and steaks. Want a more authentic outdoor grill? In the mood for roasting marshmallows or a late-night chat? We have just the thing. In the middle of the lawn is a stone campfire pit, over 6 feet in diameter. Find all the wood you need next to the shed, and pick up the lawn chairs from inside the shed.

The cabin is also outfitted with the best technology has to offer. Satellite TV in every room with 200 channels of crystal-clear satellite service. FREE LONG DISTANCE phone calls. DVD and VCR player in every room. Free washer and dryer. Wireless HIGH SPEED INTERNET access, totally free.

WHY WE ARE BETTER THAN EVERYONE ELSE:

- Satellite flatscreen HDTV, DVD & VCR in every bedroom and the living room

- Large, instant-on gas fireplace

- Large Hot Tub - no dinky little jacuzzi for you!

- Full deck, patio, picnic table, and large gas grill

- Private canoes (2) and mountain bikes (4)

- Private game room with foosball, pool, and ping-pong

- Fully equipped kitchen with all appliances, equipment & utensils - no puny kitchenette

- Spacious house, not a cramped kit-cabin

- Massive campfire pit (see pic), over 7 feet across

- Fully private, no neighbors in sight

- Direct, private access to river & private waterfront - no cutting through someone else's yard or crossing the street

Keywords: Cabin

More Details

Owner
Emily or Paul @ Shenandoah Rentals
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
40%
Calendar last updated:
September 18, 2017

Map

Car: necessary

Amenities

Rileyville Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1568 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Rural
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Free Long Distance
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 1 baby crib
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1), Baby Cribs (1), Bunk Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • water tubing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(20 traveler reviews)

55% Complete
25% Complete
20% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Bear Meadows cabin on the Shenandoah River
average rating of 4.35 based on 20 reviews
Philly, PA
5

Clean, comfortable, good beds, very large yard, hot tub, what else do you want

  • 5 of 5

Loved the hot tub and campfire time, Good rental here. We'll be back with friends!

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: John, thanks for the kind words. Best to you and your family! We will see you all next time around.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Madison, MS
5

Mens getaway

  • 5 of 5

Overal was a great time...the house/cabin was clean and had plenty of space. Kitchen had everything we needed to cook we pretty much made every meal there. The river was maybe 150-200yards away so not too bad. We made great use of the boats available and pool table in the rec room. Only two complaints including the grill not cooking very well only two areas really cooked and the rec room was ungodly hot the portable ac unit was not nearly efficient enough to cool the area so we just opened the garage door. That did not stop us from having a blast! Overall highly recommend and would stay here again!

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect country getaway

  • 5 of 5

Bear Meadows cabin was really nice, despite a few minor things (no ends on pool sticks, and some minor housekeeping mishaps) that the managers of the property took very seriously. The grass wasn't mowed, but this wasn't their fault since the mother nature insisted on it raining so much! Unfortunately, the weather didn't want to allow us to enjoy the outside much, but it was fine since we had PLENTY to do indoors! Emily and Paul were REALLY great. They went far and beyond to make sure we enjoyed our stay, and replied to all of my emails (there were many!). It was myself, my boyfriend, and our Labrador that stayed there. It was our first homeaway house rental, and I didn't realize that we had to take the linens off the beds, and take our own trash once we left--that was a little annoying; however, they do not charge much for cleaning and etc, so it paid off for us. There is so much to do at this place, whether you are a couple like us or a big family. We will be returning soon, this time possibly with our family! Thanks Emily and Paul!

  • Submitted: May 19, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Krystal, thanks for much for the kind words! You were a pleasure to work with. Again, I apologize about the high grass while you were there. We do try to keep everything as clean and neat as possible. We'll see you all next time!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Nice Cabin

  • 4 of 5

My husband and I took our 2 dogs here for a little rest and relaxation and were joined by my teenage daughter later in our stay at Bear Meadows. The cabin was spacious and comfortable. Upon arrival the gas fireplace was not working so we called and a very nice woman(I think her name was Terry) who responded to the cabin within the hour and although she was not able to fix it she arranged to have the handy man out the next morning(at our request) to get it up and running. He did get it running but the remote on the wall didn't ever really work completely. We had to turn it on and off using the switch inside the fireplace. The river was quite a distance from the house so unfortunately you couldn't see it or hear it but we did enjoy walking the dogs down for exercise and playtime. Just be aware there are other dogs in the area that are allowed to wander off leash. The property was private and we made good use of the hot tub out on the deck, which was very clean and a good size. Loved the large fire pit and made good use of it. The cabin itself was also clean other than the blinds which could definitely use a dusting. It was nice that linens were included as many rentals do not offer that. A note regarding trash removal, the transfer station is closed on Sundays so you will have to leave $5.00 per bag of trash. Overall we had a nice peaceful vacation at the cabin and would recommend this rental to others.

  • Submitted: Nov 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

An amazing place to relax!

  • 5 of 5

Bear Meadows cabin is awesome! Beautiful house, amazing backyard that abuts the Shenandoah River, and a great deck and hot tub. Lots of privacy, yet less than a 20 minute drive to Walmart and other stores and restaurants. Close to Shenandoah National Park and Shenandoah River State Park. Beautiful sunsets over the mountains that can be enjoyed from the deck. Cannot wait to return!!

  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
warrenton, VA USA
5

Perfect Romantic Getaway

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I took our two dogs for a nice, quiet week of relaxation at Bear Meadows. It exceeded our expectations in almost every category. The property itself is great. A huge yard leading down to the River. We found the walk back and forth to the river to be relaxing and not at all too far for us. Lots of wildlife; deer, fox, rabbits, even a Bald Eagle! We spent most of our time outdoors and much of it at the river front or in the river swimming and playing with the dogs. There is a nice little beach area, a picnic table and decent fishing spots.

We also took full advantage of the Jacuzzi and the grill. The deck itself is a little small, especially at night when the bugs are attracted by the thousands to the lights. But all in all a very nice set up.

The cabin itself is well furnished, very well equipped and everything was in working order (one note, the back door is very hard to shut, so be careful with it).

There is absolutely no cell service, which we found enjoyable. But the internet worked great.

We did not take advantage of the game room in the garage as it was simply too hot during our stay. But there is a foosball table in the cabin.

All in all a wonderful stay and we are already planning our next trip.

  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Additional Guest Fee $30 per person per night
Pet Fee $50
Damage Deposit $500

2 night minimum stay, 3 night minimum during holidays

Unlimited/stacked firewood $10/night

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties