Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

HOLDEN BEACH OCEANFRONT HOME 7 Bedrooms 2 Kitchens 2 Living Rooms Multi Family

Sleeps14
Bedrooms 7
Bathrooms4
Space 2,300 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 7 Bedrooms, 4 Baths, (Sleeps 14) at 215 Ocean Boulevard West

Relax and watch the oceanfront sunset in this 7 bedroom, 4 bath oceanfront cottage in Holden Beach. Accommodates 14. The first floor has 3 bedrooms and 2 baths and a kitchen/wetbar. The first bedroom downstairs has a king bed, the second a queen bed and the third has 2 single beds. The second floor has a newly remodeled kitchen with stainless steel appliances, 4 bedrooms and 2 baths. The first bedroom on the second floor has a king bed, the second has a queen bed, the third has a queen bed and the fourth bedroom has 2 single beds. 'It's 5 O'clock Somewhere' has central heat & air, 2 dishwashers, 2 microwaves, one washer/dryer, 8 TV'S (two with over 300 channels and 6 Color Cable TV's), 6 VCR's, 2 DVD players, high speed wireless internet access, library of movies and telephone. Other amenities include 4 covered porches, outside shower with hot & cold water and private walkway to the beach. This is a NON-SMOKING home.

Keywords: Beach house, oceanfront, It's Five O'clock Somewhere, 7 bedrooms, multi family, 2 kitchens, basketball,

More Details

Owner
Jill Rufus
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
August 20, 2017

About Jill Rufus

We purchased this home in 2003 and completely remodeled it- removing and selling all the furnishings and lovingly spent 3 months living in the home to complete the work. My husband is a contractor/commercial real estate broker and organized the entire process. An interior designer came in from Alabama and custom made all the window treatments, bedding and slip covers. We enjoy spending time at this home with our four boys, now 11, 9, 8 and 7.

Jill Rufus purchased this house in 2003

Why Jill Rufus chose Southern Coast

A former boss had a vacation home in Holden Beach that we rented for a month. After this stay, we fell in love with the idea of vacationing here often.

What makes this house unique

The home is right on the beach, but close enough where we can sit on either back deck and watch the kids play in the ocean. There is no public beach access on either side of the house, or for a few blocks each way, so the sand in front of the house is usually ours to enjoy. We can spread out in the two living rooms and prepare food in each of the kitchens. Usually our bikes litter the driveway and the boys just had us purchase a basketball goal which is used daily. We can walk to some of the restaurants (or bike) and usually enjoy a beach walk each day to the pier for ice cream.

Guestbook comments from the owner

There were four moms and 10 kids- we all came for Spring Break. We had babies through 8 year olds. The house made it easy for us to spread out. The multiple kitchens were great for storage and food prep. The beach was so easy to get to just walking off the back porch down a few steps and we were on sand.
Apr 2011
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Holden Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2300 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 14
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Oceanfront ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Computer Available
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
  • Bathrooms are Jack and Jill. Every two sets of bedrooms are connected by a full bath. The exception is one of the bedrooms on the downstairs level takes up a much larger space and is connected to a bath and this bath opens to a living room area and is right off the beach entrance.
Bedrooms:
  • 7 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • King size beds (2), Queen size Beds (3), Twin or Single Beds (4), Baby Cribs (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • limited accessibility
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Dual zone air conditioning units, lots of closet space, each floor has a kitchen, living room and front/rear deck for easy use by two families. A lower floor bathroom is handicapped accessible. We comfortably sleep 14 in this house. It is very close to the bridge and a walk to Castaways restaurant or bike ride to the pier for ice cream. The island is 7 miles long so staying close to the bridge allows you to get to the grocery store in a matter of a few minutes as well as to other nearby restaurants.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(15 traveler reviews)

66% Complete
20% Complete
6% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
HOLDEN BEACH OCEANFRONT HOME 7 Bedrooms 2 Kitchens 2 Living Rooms Multi Family
average rating of 4.4666667 based on 16 reviews
Lynchburg, VA
5

Perfect Location!

  • 5 of 5

My family and I have stayed at this property many years, both in season and off. We have found that the location of Five O'Clock Somewhere, makes this particular beach house stand out among the others. The fact than you step off of the back porch and your feet are literally in the sand was a great feature to us, especially when our children were younger. It is so easy to pop into the house when needed or let the kids run free back and forth from the beach to the house. As our children got older, we noticed that the WiFi provided at this home was a great asset! If you travel with other families, this house is perfect for you to spread out! There are two separate kitchens and living rooms, plenty of bedrooms and bathrooms so you don't feel cramped. This house is also within walking distance to a few great dining spots, convenience stores, bike, and kayak rentals. When the weather wouldn't cooperate, Myrtle Beach Wilmington, and South Port are just a few miles away. Five O'Clock Somewhere in Holden provides prime location for those seeking ocean front and convenience to other surrounding tourist attractions.

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you! We love our repeat guests!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful Home. Amazing Location. Can't wait to go back next year!

  • 5 of 5

I was here for a family reunion--and we couldn't have picked a better home! House had plenty of room for all of us, and I felt like we had the best location on the entire beach. I literally walked right from the porch onto the beach and into the ocean. The house was great with the big kitchen, comfy beds, all the good TV stations, margarita machines and upstairs and downstairs kitchens. Loved the outdoor shower so we could rinse off after a long day at the beach. Nice touch.

We met the maid as we were arriving and she couldn't have been nicer. She was so accommodating and gave us great tips for grocery shopping and good local seafood. (Sugar Shack in Ocean Isle!!!) We also spent a day in visiting Southport. Be sure to go!

I slept with my windows open at night and I can't tell you how much I miss hearing the ocean waves. I can't wait to go back to this house next year. Best location, hands down!

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for staying at It's Five O'clock Somewhere. We are glad you enjoyed it and we agree, the location is amazing!!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Minnesota
2

The location is great, the home has lots of bedrooms but is in need of attention.

  • 2 of 5

The house is directly on the beach and is actually closer to the beach than most. The location is amazing. It has 7 bedrooms, and having a 2nd kitchen is nice for another fridge for drinks. The kitchen is fairly well stocked, but we felt the need to wash everything before we used it, after finding the blender full of rotting margaritas. The house itself is in bad shape. The house is not clean, the furniture is gross, and there are many repairs needed. The vents, ceilings, and fans are CAKED with dust, the curtains and bedspreads are visibly soiled. The ceiling leaks, some of the electrical outlets don't work, there are several things that pose safety concerns (railing posts far enough apart for a toddler to fall through, rotten outdoor shower deck floor) the doors don't close properly (huge open gaps when shut), and the lower level smells musty and has definitely been flooded in the past (it is one of the few ocean front homes not on stilts). The walls have unpatched holes, the drywall and ceilings have visible moisture damage. We had a great time in spite of this house because of the unbeatable location, but will not stay here again unless a major renovation is completed.

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Overall a decently nice house for the price. Messy upon arrival and a lot of sand in the house.

  • 3 of 5

June 2017, 12 people

We stayed for a week here and overall the house was okay for the price. When we arrived there was some trash around the house (trash under beds and party cups left around in some of the bedrooms). We ran to the store to buy febreeze because a few of the bedrooms smelled funky, and the febreeze took care of it fine. Also everything was covered in a fine layer of sand. Dining room chairs, tables, living room furniture, all the floors, etc, all covered in sand. Probably partly due to the fact that there were no functioning hoses with which to rinse feet after coming in from the beach. There is a shower and a bucket of water to dip feet into, but that really didn't do the job. There were a few hoses discarded on the side of the house/driveway, but they were duct taped shut and/or broken. Only one of the two outdoor showers worked. On the first day the rusted nozzle of the second shower broke off in my hand when I tried to turn it on.

A few of the details on the site were also out of date. There is in fact a public beach access literally right next to the house, the basketball hoop out front was completely rusted and collapsed over at the base, and while there were technically 4 porches, the two nicest and biggest are facing the driveway. The top deck ocean-facing porch could just barely fit 4 people, and the lower deck ocean-facing porch (same size) is halfway overtaken by a huge pile of mostly broken beach toys. Really the house just needed to be cleaned and decluttered, and then I think the peak-season price we paid would be fair.

The house was however very affordable compared to others we looked at, and the beach was beautiful. Except for one or two days, the beach never got too crowded despite the public access. The AC worked great, it was wonderful having a big dining table, and the design of the house left no wasted space, which was great for our large and frugal family. We rented kayaks from a local place who delivered them for free to the house and had a blast. If the owners hired a new cleaning crew and installed a hose, we would consider staying here again!

  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
4

Five O'Clock Somewherewe only had

  • 4 of 5

We had a wonderful family vacation week. The weather was truly beautiful we only had rain one morning.

Thank you.

  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Something for Everyone

  • 4 of 5

Awesome location, Great Beach, well stocked kitchen for preparing meals, plenty of entertainment if you have to be inside and Holden Beach is nice. Provisions Restaurant on the Waterway for seafood and THE Purple Onion in Shallotte for breakfast and bakery. Very nice owner. Would definitely stay there again. 14 adults and a 3 year old, Plenty of room.

  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $165
Damage Insurance $59

Linens (towels and sheets) are not included in the rental. You may bring your own or rent them from several companies in town, we recommend "Boomers Rentals"- they deliver. We rent bicycles from them too!

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties