Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Lake Michigan Beachfront Home, also only 1 block from Portage Lake

Sleeps16
Bedrooms 7
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Lake Michigan Beach Home, up to 7 bdrm., 3.5 bath

Location! Location! Location! Situated at the end of Portage Point this 6 bedroom, 3 bath home offers panoramic views of Lake Michigan from nearly every window and vantage point. Behind you lies Portage Lake with its’ glistening waters dotted with sailboats where you can also observe a SUNRISE!!

Have your meals, read, lie in the sun or take in magnificent Lake Michigan sunsets as you relax on our huge deck with large table and many deck chairs.

Just steps to the spectacular low bluff beach…NO STAIRS…perfect for sunning, swimming, beach walking, sand castle building, kayaking or enjoying a nightly bon fire.

Walk out to the pier that runs along the North Channel from Portage Lake and enjoy the boats coming and going as you take in the exquisite view from this location.

Where Portage Lake channels into Lake Michigan and adjacent to the “turn around”, this area was voted one of Michigan’s best beaches in “Traverse” magazine.

The large open floor plan of this home features a great room with floor to ceiling windows overlooking the big lake. There is a stone fireplace, flat screen TV, cable, WiFi and a CD player with many CD’s. The den offers books for all ages, board games, puzzles and a loaded toy box for the little ones. The dining area boasts a farm table that comfortably seats 8 – 10.

Also on this main level is a fully equipped kitchen with electric stove, microwave, dishwasher, granite island with bar stools and every utensil you would possible need. Two bedrooms on this level each have a queen bed, closet, dresser and night stand.

The master suite on the upper level offers a queen bed, a large bath with Jacuzzi tub and separate shower. The loft off the master suite provides a cozy place to read, relax or just enjoy another view of Lake Michigan.

Three additional bedrooms, each accommodating 2 people, are on the walk-out lower level. Also on this level is a full bath, living area with TV, DVD and an air hockey game.

The surrounding area offers great fishing, including charters, a variety of distinctive dining locations, golf courses, casino, wineries, shopping, hiking and exploring. Located half-way between Manistee and Frankfort, there are many places to explore. See the welcome book at our home.

In addition to the 6 bedrooms, 3 baths in the Main House (maximum capacity 12), there is a Bunkhouse (maximum 4 people) located above the garage that includes a queen bed, two twins and a half bath. A deck facing Portage Lake is connected to the rear entrance. An additional charge for this facility is available ($500/wk plus tax & $50 cleaning fee). Groups of more than 12 people will be required to rent the bunkhouse. Properties total allowed occupancy with bunkhouse is 16 people. If you do not need or want the bunkhouse, it will be vacant during your visit.

No air conditioning but ceiling fan and several portable fans are available should you need them. We provide all bed linens but NO TOWELS. No smoking and no pets.

Maximum capacity in main house is 12 with an additional capacity of 4 in the bunkhouse.

Keywords: Located between Manistee and Frankfort at the end of Portage Point Drive

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
November 19, 2017

Why The Owner chose Onekama

Best beach in Michigan for Sports and Relaxation

Map

Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Manistee Blacker
Nearest Barpub
4 Miles
Shirleys
Nearest Ferry
50 Miles
Ludington Carferry
Nearest Golf
6 Miles
The Heathlands
Nearest Restaurant
4 Miles
The Glenwood
Nearest Ski
20 Miles
Crystal Mountain
Nearest Beach
50 Metres
Lake Michigan

Other things that you might want to take advantage of while staying with us in Manistee are Leelenau Penisula wine tours, SS Milwaukee Historical Museum, Riverwalk along Manistee River, charter fishing, live theatre at Ramsdell Theater, canoeing, kayaking, Lake Bluff Audubon Society, or take advantage of the local public boat launches. Little River Casino is within a 10 minute drive and is an attraction for many. Interlochen Arts Academy is within driving distance and offers many wonderful concerts throughout the year.

Amenities

Onekama House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 5:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 16
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Lakefront
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Mid level
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Lower level
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , jetted tub , private bath to master bedroom on upper level (3rd floor)
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , in bunkhouse
Bedrooms:
  • 7 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , Main level
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen , Main level
    Bedroom 1 - 1 twin/ single , 1 bunk bed , Lower level
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Lower level
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , Lower Level
    Bedroom 6 - 1 queen , Upper (3rd) level
    Bedroom 7, bunkhouse above garage - 1 double , 2 twin/ single , Bdrm., 1/2 bath. Capacity 4: required above 12 in main house
Entertainment:
  • Air Hockey
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Bunkhouse is over the Garage and sleeps 4 with a half bath, deck and private entrance

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

75% Complete
25% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Lake Michigan Beachfront Home, also only 1 block from Portage Lake
average rating of 4.75 based on 8 reviews
4

Amazing location but maybe not worth what you pay

  • 4 of 5

PROs: Location, location, location. You cannot beat it. Very short walk to Lake Michigan; great dune right out front (you can even see the kids from the deck if they are on the dune); easy, nice walk to Portage Lake (including kayak/paddle board rentals) and the quaint Portage Point Inn (including the ice cream window!); property manager (Jeff) was absolutely wonderful to work with- responsive, accessible, and very friendly/helpful; ample room for 12; air hockey table downstairs was a hit with the kids. CONs: The house was not very clean upon check in (food on the kitchen floor and chairs; sand in several beds so we wondered whether the sheets had been washed, etc.); when we arrived we found out that we would have to purchase propane for the grill if the tank was empty, which would have been nice to know up front upon booking; there was a sign on the washer that said they were not responsible for rust stains on clothes that were washed, so essentially anything white/light is at risk of rust stains- this would have been nice to know up front upon booking; the grill was not clean and is in bad shape- we made it work, but it was not ideal; no hot water in the bunk house (separate room for rent above the garage); the box fans (fans in every room, which was wonderful) were very dirty. All in all, because the location is so amazing, everything else was tolerable and I would consider renting this house again- it is a beach house, so of course we had appropriate expectations, though it did feel like a lot of money for a place that wasn't very clean upon check in.

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: A new grill and a spare propane tank will be available for the2018 season. Also, there will be a new housekeeping crew for the 2018 season. There is an electric hot water heater for the Bunk House but perhaps it was not turned up/on. Thanks for the comments because without them we cannot make these improvements for all of our guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Wildlife Haven

  • 5 of 5

We loved your home on the dunes! There was plenty to see and do. We had many wildlife sightings including fox, mink, raccoon, deer, shore birds and an eagle. The deck and fire pit were used daily/nightly. We cooked many meals at the house. The kitchen was sufficient for meal preparation and it was nice to have the extra refrigerator downstairs. At times it was a little tight with multiple cooks. Our extended family group was comprised of 4 couples and two teenagers. It was so nice to have a separate bedroom for each couple. We went to the Lake Michigan beach everyday. Just 200 steps from the end of the driveway! We rented kayaks for 3 days (they gave us a great multi-day discount) from Papa J's in town and paddled around Portage Lake. Five of our group hired Sandpiper III for a half day fishing charter and came back with Lake Trout and King Salmon, 15 total! We grilled a delicious meal that night. Wonderful memories of our stay! Thank you for sharing your home!

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Westland Michigan
4

Yearly Vacation

  • 4 of 5

The house was lovely and the views were spectacular. It was a wonderful week despite the weather.

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2013
  • Stayed: July 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 2
Grand Rapids, MI
5

Pinochle women

  • 5 of 5

This was our second year in this great home. It was a VERY hot week- 90 to 95 degree days and very humid. A few newer fans would be welcomed but for the most part it was tolerable with the breeze coming off the lake. This is a wonderful house, comfortable beds, nicely equipped kitchen (beautiful serving pieces!) and comfy sofas. Our only complaint is the grill... for such a nice home a more upscale and clean grill is expected. Truly a great place to stay!

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2013
  • Stayed: July 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for returning this year. A new Home Depot grill is on the way.
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0
Petoskey, MI
5

Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5

This was a wonderful location and was certainly enjoyed by my three children, their spouses and the 5 grandchildren. The accommodations were as advertised, as well as the evening sunsets and sitting around the nightly fire.

  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2012
  • Stayed: August 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Grand Rapids, MI
5

Perfect vacation house

  • 5 of 5

A group of professional women from several states get together to play pinochle, make great meals, talk about books and movies, and mostly enjoy time together in beautiful Michigan. The house was perfect for us. Comfortable, clean, well stocked kitchen and great deck for sunsets- we look forward to next year!

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2012
  • Stayed: July 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Housekeeping $175
Tax Rate 6.0%

The additional bedroom (queen plus 2 twins) and half bath, above garage (referred to as bunkhouse) is additional $475 for week plus 6% tax and a $40 cleaning fee. If not rented with main house, room stays vacant.
Maximum capacity in main house is 12 people (including children) and bunkhouse is additional 4 people.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund