expand arrow-rightsvg-balloonsvg-carsvg-dogsvg-fireplacesvg-flat-screensvg-heatersvg-laundry-washing-machinesvg-snowflakesvg-hot-tubsvg-swimming-poolsvg-wheelchairsvg-wifiarrow-right

Creek Frontage Unique Property Very Close to Mt Rushmore

Custer, SD, USA
  • House3000 sqft
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps12
  • Bathrooms5
  • Half Baths0
  • Minimum Stay0 - 5 nights

Beautiful 5 Bedroom 5 Bathroom Home on Private Acrerage Next to Year Round Creek

The Lazy D is a true sanctuary of the splendid Black Hills landscape. Guests of this unique property will enjoy exploring the private acreage which includes 3 running creeks, walking bridges, beautiful lush lawns, forest service trails out the back door, Mickelson Trail access from the property and much more. The spacious 3 level home features 5 bedrooms and 5 bathrooms. There is a full gourmet kitchen with lots of room, inside and outside dining, TV, laundry facilities, an electric fireplace in the living room, wrap around decks and more.

Upstairs bedroom #1 has a queen bed and attached 3/4 bathroom

Upstairs bedroom #2 has a king bed and attached 3/4 bathroom

Upstairs bedroom #3 has a queen bed and attached full bathroom

Main level bedroom has a queen bed and an attached full bathroom

The main level by the laundry room and kitchen has a full bathroom

Downstairs has a separate open area with two twin beds and a tv/living area with a full sleeper futon

Additional Information:

Check in is at 4PM

Check out is at 10AM

Half of the total is taken at the time of reservation

The second half is due 14 days prior to reservation

Rushmore Vacation Rentals provides guests with the following:

Toilet paper

Paper towels

Trash can liners

Linens and 1 towel for each person the home sleeps

Kitchen stocked with plates, silverware, cups, baking dishes, etc. (enough for the amount the home sleeps)

Basic seasonings (salt & pepper)

Propane for BBQ grill

Dish soap

Hand soap

Dishwasher soap

Laundry detergent

(Washers and dryers are free for guests use)

Keywords: Cabin, Vacation Home, Vacation Rental, Vacation Lodging, Cottage

Property Manager

Rushmore Vacation Rentals

Member Since 2011
Response rate:
Response time:
within one day
Calendar last updated:
Apr 08, 2018
What makes this House unique

Sleeps: 12 Number of bedrooms: 5 w/ basement Hot tub: No A/C: 1 unit upstairs, 1 main level WiFi: Yes, satellite TV service: Satellite Cell phone service: Spotty BBQ: Propane Fire pit: No Fireplace: Electric Coffee maker: Coffee pot City: Hill City Laundry: On site washer/dryer Garage: Yes double garage on request Additional amenities: Electric fireplace in the living room which is easily controlled with a remote, 3 streams on the property Parking: 5 cars or 3 & 1 trailer Gravel: 3/10mi RV Parking available: No, unless special approval Beds: 1K, 3Q, 2T, 1 D futon Miles to Mt. Rushmore: 11.6 miles Miles to Crazy Horse: 4.1 miles Miles to Custer State Park: 8 miles ATVing/Snowmobiling nearby: Medicine Mt. Road 5.1 miles Hiking nearby: Mickelson Trail goes through yard


    • Internet
    • Air Conditioning
    • Heater
    • Fireplace
    • Satellite or Cable
    • Washer & Dryer
    • Parking
    • TV
    • No Smoking


      • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
      • Bedroom 1
        1 queen, Main Level
      • Bedroom 2
        1 queen, Upper Level
      • Bedroom 3
        1 king, Upper Level
      • Bedroom 4
        1 queen, Upper Level
      • Bedroom 5
        2 twin/ single, 1 sleep sofa /futon, Lower Level
      • Bedrooms
        5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10-12 Bedroom 1: 1 Queen (Main Level) Bedroom 2: 1 King (Upper Level) Bedroom 3: 1 Queen (Upper Level) Bedroom 4: 1 Queen (Upper Level) Bedroom 5: 2 Twin (Lower Level) Additional Sleeping:1 Double Futon in Bedroom 5


      • 5 Bathrooms
      • Bathroom 1
        toilet, combination tub/shower, In Main Level Bedroom
      • Bathroom 2
        toilet, combination tub/shower, In Bedroom 2
      • Bathroom 3
        toilet, shower, In Bedroom 3
      • Bathroom 4
        toilet, combination tub/shower, In Bedroom 4
      • Bathroom 5
        toilet, combination tub/shower, On Main Level Off of Kitchen
      • Bathrooms
        5 Bathrooms Bathroom 1: Tub/Shower Combination (Bedroom 1) Bathroom 2: Tub/Shower Combination (Bedroom 2) Bathroom 3: Walk-In Shower (Bedroom 3) Bathroom 4: Tub/Shower Combination (Bedroom 4) Bathroom 5: Tub/Shower Combination (Main Level)


        • Away From It All
        • Budget
        • Family
        • Romantic
        • Tourist Attractions


            • Guests provide their own meals


                • Air Conditioning
                  Air Conditioning units on the main level and the upstairs level (the basement stays cool)
                • Clothes Dryer
                • Fireplace
                  There is an electric fireplace which is easy to control with a remote in the living room. This update was done on 11/16/2016.
                • Heating
                • Internet
                  The only internet offered in this area is satellite and can be slow at times.
                • Linens Provided
                • Living Room
                • Parking
                • Towels Provided
                • Washing Machine


                    • Coffee Maker
                    • Cooking Utensils
                    • Dishes & Utensils
                    • Dishwasher
                    • Kitchen
                    • Microwave
                    • Oven
                    • Refrigerator
                    • Stove
                    • Toaster


                        • Dining
                        • Dining Area


                            • DVD Player
                            • Game Room
                              A large variety of board games are provided for guests use in this game room.
                            • Games
                              A large variety of board games are provided for guests use.
                            • Satellite / Cable
                            • Television


                                • Deck / Patio
                                • Lawn / Garden
                                • Outdoor Grill


                                    • not suitable for children
                                    • wheelchair inaccessible


                                        • health/beauty spa
                                        • museums
                                        • restaurants
                                        • zoo

                                          Leisure Activities

                                            • antiquing
                                            • boating
                                            • horseback riding
                                            • miniature golf
                                            • shopping
                                            • sight seeing
                                            • sledding
                                            • wildlife viewing

                                              Sports & Adventure Activities

                                                • mountain biking
                                                • cross country skiing
                                                • fishing
                                                • hiking
                                                • hot air ballooning
                                                • hunting
                                                • cycling
                                                • rock climbing
                                                • skiing
                                                • snowboarding
                                                • snowmobiling
                                                • spelunking
                                                • water skiing

                                                  House Rules

                                                  Check-in: 4:00 PM

                                                  Check-out: 10:00 AM

                                                  Cancellation Policy

                                                  100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date. You must contact the owner directly to request cancellation.

                                                  11 Reviews


                                                  Latest reviews


                                                  Angie B.Carlinville IL

                                                  This house has plenty of room for family to spend some quality time together and enough space to spred out and not get on each other nerves. The kitchen was well stocked. 5 full bathroom made getting 12 people ready so easy.

                                                  Mpls - Washington connection ...

                                                  Steven S.

                                                  We had a wonderful reunion in the Black Hills the last week and in no small part was not having any issues with the Lazy D. God bless you for allowing these groups that come to Rushmore and being able to enjoy your beautiful setting there. Thanks again, Best wishes always.

                                                  Beautiful, comfortable home and in a great location.

                                                  Sue S.

                                                  Our family of 12 really enjoyed this lovely home. Spacious enough that we weren't cramped and loved the scenery. Very quiet and secluded, yet close to all the sights we wanted to see. We all enjoyed our time here, it just ended way, way too soon.

                                                  Great location

                                                  Niki S.

                                                  Although out sat nav took us off course once we found the home, it was extremely well located. We had an excellent time connecting with family. There was plenty of room to be together or find your own corner. The downstairs bedroom was perfect for our parents who don't do stairs well, the basement for our older kids and the upstairs for the adults. The kitchen had adequate room for multiple cooks although some of the fry pans could stand to be replaced.

                                                  Great family vacation location

                                                  Mary B.

                                                  Wonderful, comfortable home. Great, central location. Grandsons enjoyed exploring and playing on the property. Would highly recommend for a large group

                                                  Very unsatisfied

                                                  Mary Lu D.

                                                  I have rented many VRBO properties and, simply put, this property should not be rented out in the condition that it is in. First of all, it was not clean. When we arrived, there were dead flies (and other bugs) all over the house. Not only on the floors and in the bay windows, but on the counters, the beds, and IN the cupboards. One upstairs bedroom had obviously not been vacuumed in quite some time and had dead bugs all over the floor. Secondly, the house was advertised as having a gas fireplace but when we arrived there was a sign on it saying that it was out of order and couldn't be used. Considering it was mid-October, we had looked forward to sitting around the fire. Also, while we were there, the ice machine quit working (to say nothing of the fact that the filter was "in the red" and the water had a bad taste). I contacted the property manager at Rushmore Vacation Rentals and left a message (my only options as no one answers the phone). I expressed my dissatisfaction over the condition of the rental and have never received a return phone call. Overall, it was a very disappointing experience and I would not recommend this property or Rushmore Vacation Rentals to anyone.

                                                  Owner's Response:

                                                  On behalf of Rushmore Vacation Rentals, we are so sorry to hear this was your experience. We work tirelessly to ensure our cleaning staff are well trained and the homes are well cared for. Unfortunately, we never received a voicemail message from you or a missed call. Did you try to call more than once? Did you call our number, and press 2 for current guests? We didn’t receive an email message from anyone in your group either. We really wish we would have had the chance to correct any issues your party had so you could have enjoyed your time at the Lazy D.

                                                  With that being said, the Black Hills have major issues with flies during the fall and the spring. It isn’t uncommon for homes to have hundreds of flies show up each day. There is also more information about this in the binder at the home. We do our best to combat this by having exterminators spray the inside and outside of the homes. The Lazy D was scheduled for it’s fall spraying this past Monday and was completed, but it was the day your party checked out. Going forward, we will make sure to check the homes for flies the day a guests arrives, though we do think the fly spraying that took place Monday will make all the difference.

                                                  There is regular heating in the home. Do you happen to remember where you saw a fireplace noted in the listings? We can’t seem to find anywhere this is listed to correct this issue. Any help you can offer with this would be appreciated.

                                                  -UPDATE: Electric fireplace insert was installed in the living room on 11/16/16 which can easily be controlled with a remote.

                                                  Thank you,

                                                  Rushmore Vacation Rentals


                                                  Custer, SD, USA

                                                  Rates & Availability

                                                  Additional information about rental rates

                                                  Cleaning Fee
                                                  Damage Insurance
                                                  Tax Rate

                                                  To reserve this home, please visit www.rushmorevacationrentals.com. From the home page there is a search box in the upper left hand corner. Go to the drop box on the bottom that says, view rental, and click on the Lazy D. Cancellations that are made more than sixty (60) days prior to the arrival date are subject to a 5% cancellation fee or $50, whichever is greater. Cancellations or changes that are made within sixty (60) days of the arrival date, forfeit any payments made, unless the home can be re-rented; the cancellation fee still applies. If property is not re-rented: • We will keep the total deposit (50% made at the time of reservation) • Cancellation on or after 14 days prior to arrival will result in the forfeiture of the entire rental amount.

                                                  11 Reviews
                                                  Excellent 4.5/5
                                                  Enter dates for accurate pricing
                                                  For booking assistance, call 888-640-7927

                                                  Property # 355905