Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Creek Frontage Unique Property Very Close to Mt Rushmore

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms5
Space 3,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

Beautiful 5 Bedroom 5 Bathroom Home on Private Acrerage Next to Year Round Creek

The Lazy D is a true sanctuary of the splendid Black Hills landscape. Guests of this unique property will enjoy exploring the private acreage which includes 3 running creeks, walking bridges, beautiful lush lawns, forest service trails out the back door, Mickelson Trail access from the property and much more. The spacious 3 level home features 5 bedrooms and 5 bathrooms. There is a full gourmet kitchen with lots of room, inside and outside dining, TV, laundry facilities, an electric fireplace in the living room, wrap around decks and more.

Upstairs bedroom #1 has a queen bed and attached 3/4 bathroom

Upstairs bedroom #2 has a king bed and attached 3/4 bathroom

Upstairs bedroom #3 has a queen bed and attached full bathroom

Main level bedroom has a queen bed and an attached full bathroom

The main level by the laundry room and kitchen has a full bathroom

Downstairs has a separate open area with two twin beds and a tv/living area with a full sleeper futon

Additional Information:

Check in is at 4PM

Check out is at 10AM

Half of the total is taken at the time of reservation

The second half is due 14 days prior to reservation

Rushmore Vacation Rentals provides guests with the following:

Toilet paper

Paper towels

Trash can liners

Linens and 1 towel for each person the home sleeps

Kitchen stocked with plates, silverware, cups, baking dishes, etc. (enough for the amount the home sleeps)

Basic seasonings (salt & pepper)

Propane for BBQ grill

Dish soap

Hand soap

Dishwasher soap

Laundry detergent

(Washers and dryers are free for guests use)

Keywords: Cabin, Vacation Home, Vacation Rental, Vacation Lodging, Cottage

More Details

Property Manager
Rushmore Vacation Rentals
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 9, 2017

What makes this house unique

Sleeps: 12

Number of bedrooms: 5 w/ basement

Hot tub: No

A/C: 1 unit upstairs, 1 main level

WiFi: Yes, satellite

TV service: Satellite

Cell phone service: Spotty

BBQ: Propane

Fire pit: No

Fireplace: Electric

Coffee maker: Coffee pot

City: Hill City

Laundry: On site washer/dryer

Garage: Yes double garage on request

Additional amenities: Electric fireplace in the living room which is easily controlled with a remote, 3 streams on the property

Parking: 5 cars or 3 & 1 trailer

Gravel: 3/10mi

RV Parking available: No, unless special approval

Beds: 1K, 3Q, 2T, 1 D futon

Miles to Mt. Rushmore: 11.6 miles

Miles to Crazy Horse: 4.1 miles

Miles to Custer State Park: 8 miles

ATVing/Snowmobiling nearby: Medicine Mt. Road 5.1 miles

Hiking nearby: Mickelson Trail goes through yard

Guestbook comments from the manager

We really had a great family time together and it was nice to find such a wonderful place to stay. You have a great home in just the right spot for so many things to do.
Jul 2012
  • 1 of 2

Amenities

Custer House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , In Bedroom 2
    Bathroom 5 - toilet , combination tub/shower , On Main Level Off of Kitchen
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , In Main Level Bedroom
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , In Bedroom 3
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , combination tub/shower , In Bedroom 4
  • Bathrooms: 5 Bathrooms Bathroom 1: Tub/Shower Combination (Bedroom 1) Bathroom 2: Tub/Shower Combination (Bedroom 2) Bathroom 3: Walk-In Shower (Bedroom 3) Bathroom 4: Tub/Shower Combination (Bedroom 4) Bathroom 5: Tub/Shower Combination (Main Level)
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Main Level
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king , Upper Level
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , Upper Level
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Upper Level
    Bedroom 5 - 2 twin/ single , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Lower Level
  • Bedrooms: 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10-12 Bedroom 1: 1 Queen (Main Level) Bedroom 2: 1 King (Upper Level) Bedroom 3: 1 Queen (Upper Level) Bedroom 4: 1 Queen (Upper Level) Bedroom 5: 2 Twin (Lower Level) Additional Sleeping:1 Double Futon in Bedroom 5
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • health/beauty spa
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • spelunking
  • water skiing

Reviews

Very Good! 4/5 -
(6 traveler reviews)

Creek Frontage Unique Property Very Close to Mt Rushmore
average rating of 4.0 based on 8 reviews
1

Very unsatisfied

  • 1 of 5

I have rented many VRBO properties and, simply put, this property should not be rented out in the condition that it is in. First of all, it was not clean. When we arrived, there were dead flies (and other bugs) all over the house. Not only on the floors and in the bay windows, but on the counters, the beds, and IN the cupboards. One upstairs bedroom had obviously not been vacuumed in quite some time and had dead bugs all over the floor. Secondly, the house was advertised as having a gas fireplace but when we arrived there was a sign on it saying that it was out of order and couldn't be used. Considering it was mid-October, we had looked forward to sitting around the fire. Also, while we were there, the ice machine quit working (to say nothing of the fact that the filter was "in the red" and the water had a bad taste). I contacted the property manager at Rushmore Vacation Rentals and left a message (my only options as no one answers the phone). I expressed my dissatisfaction over the condition of the rental and have never received a return phone call. Overall, it was a very disappointing experience and I would not recommend this property or Rushmore Vacation Rentals to anyone.

  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: On behalf of Rushmore Vacation Rentals, we are so sorry to hear this was your experience. We work tirelessly to ensure our cleaning staff are well trained and the homes are well cared for. Unfortunately, we never received a voicemail message from you or a missed call. Did you try to call more than once? Did you call our number, and press 2 for current guests? We didn’t receive an email message from anyone in your group either. We really wish we would have had the chance to correct any issues your party had so you could have enjoyed your time at the Lazy D. With that being said, the Black Hills have major issues with flies during the fall and the spring. It isn’t uncommon for homes to have hundreds of flies show up each day. There is also more information about this in the binder at the home. We do our best to combat this by having exterminators spray the inside and outside of the homes. The Lazy D was scheduled for it’s fall spraying this past Monday and was completed, but it was the day your party checked out. Going forward, we will make sure to check the homes for flies the day a guests arrives, though we do think the fly spraying that took place Monday will make all the difference. There is regular heating in the home. Do you happen to remember where you saw a fireplace noted in the listings? We can’t seem to find anywhere this is listed to correct this issue. Any help you can offer with this would be appreciated. -UPDATE: Electric fireplace insert was installed in the living room on 11/16/16 which can easily be controlled with a remote. Thank you, Rushmore Vacation Rentals
Did you find this review helpful?
2 2
Monroe, Wisconsin
4

Ideal location for a Black Hills trip

  • 4 of 5

The location of the Lazy D is ideal. The home is situated centrally to all the Black Hills parks and activities that we wanted to see: Mount Rushmore, Custer State Park, Jewel Cave, Wind Cave, Mammoth Site, various hikes, Crazy Horse Memorial. It also sits about 2 hours from Devil's Tower, which made for a day trip that easily combined with a drive through Lead, Deadwood, and Spearfish Canyon. We were especially happy with the easy drive to the Sylvan Lake area as we had planned to do multiple hikes there. The home was roomy enough for our group of eight (three adults, three teens, two youth) and a comfortable place to return to at the end of a long day. The teens and youth especially loved wandering the property and playing various types of tag on the grounds and multiple levels of deck.

The property managers really do go above and beyond for service, though. Prior to our stay, we inquired as to whether or not the home had a crock pot, and we were told that it did not. However, upon check-in, we were pleasantly surprised to discover a brand new crockpot on the counter, obviously purchased because of our inquiry. The home was well furnished overall, but do note that a couple of the mattresses need replacement in the near future. The check-in and check-out procedures were very smooth, with the only surprise being the requirement to wash and put away the dishes prior to leaving instead of the normal "start the dishwasher" instructions.

I would certainly book this home again if we head to the Black Hills again in the future. I would recommend it to friends and family.

  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Cedar Falls, Iowa
5

Location! Location! Location!

  • 5 of 5

Perfect fit for our family of 9 (6 adults, 3 children). Loved the 5 bedrooms & 5 bathrooms! House was clean and passed my inspection:) Parts are a little worn around the edges & decorating is from the 90's, but it was a comfortable home for us to sprawl throughout. Worse part was the lack of Internet. It was so spotty & unreliable. There is no hairdryer which is unusual for VRBO's. The appliances all worked great! No central air, but 2 floor units (one on the main level & one in an upstairs bedroom). The lower level one worked OK cooling that area, but the unit in the bedroom only cooled the one room. We had a few 90+ degree days, so the other 2 upstairs bedrooms were warm. Thankful for ceiling fans & that it eventually cools down at night. The Mickelson Trail is adjacent (across the creek) to the property. The gravel lane is rough for road bikes, but the trail is equally rough. We sure wish the wonderful trail would be maintained better or even better yet paved! We had an awesome family vacation in the Black Hills and would stay here again.

  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Minnesota
5

Excellent house for a family reunion

  • 5 of 5

This house was perfect for our families (total of 10 people) vacationing together in Mt. Rushmore area. The sights we wanted to visit (Mt. Rushmore, Custer State Park and Mammoth Site) were all within very easy driving distance.

The house is beautiful as are the surroundings. There is a lovely creek that runs through the property. The kids enjoyed exploring the house and the grounds outside. It is very quiet---there are no visible houses.

The agent who manages this property was very responsive and easy to work with.

We've rented many times from VRBO and this ranks close to, if not at the top of, our list.

  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Northern Alabama
5

Wonderful place, great location!

  • 5 of 5

Our family of four spent a week at one of the Storm Mountain cottages. It was comfortable and well-furnished, with large windows that looked out over a running stream with great blue heron and whitetail deer. Still, we were maybe a mile and a half from the grocery store in Hill City. We enjoyed exploring the Black Hills, the Badlands, Jewel Cave, Devils Tower, a scenic drive through Spearfish Canyon, and last-minute skiing at Terry Peak. We also enjoyed the hot tub at the end of the day! Cooking was easy with the well-stocked kitchen and convenient gas grill. I would definitely recommend this cottage and would stay here again.

  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 1
Manitoba
4

Great

  • 4 of 5

Was just right what we needed good price close drive to amenities. Room for two small families. Air conditioning was to small to keep cool even in september. But geourgeous and comfortable. Beats hotels or camping, with young kids.

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This review is about a previous home we used for this listing. VRBO will not allow us to delete it. Sorry for any confusion this may cause! The Lazy D has several air conditioners which allow the house to stay cool.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Custer House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Spring Rate
Apr 1 2017 - May 25 2017
2 night minimum stay
$250
 
 
Holiday Rate
May 26 2017 - May 29 2017
3 night minimum stay
$375
 
 
Spring Rate
May 30 2017 - May 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$250
 
 
Summer Rate
Jun 1 2017 - Jul 2 2017
3 night minimum stay
$355
 
 
Holiday Rate
Jul 3 2017 - Jul 5 2017
3 night minimum stay
$375
 
 
Summer Rate
Jul 6 2017 - Aug 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
$355
 
 
Rally Rate
Aug 5 2017 - Aug 13 2017
5 night minimum stay
$475
 
 
Summer Rate
Aug 14 2017 - Aug 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$355
 
 
Holiday Rate
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
$375
 
 
Fall Rate
Sep 5 2017 - Sep 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
$265
 
 
Winter Rate
Oct 1 2017 - Nov 21 2017
2 night minimum stay
$195
 
 
Winter Holiday
Nov 22 2017 - Nov 24 2017
3 night minimum stay
$225
 
 
Winter Rate
Nov 25 2017 - Dec 23 2017
2 night minimum stay
$195
 
 
Winter Holiday
Dec 24 2017 - Dec 26 2017
3 night minimum stay
$225
 
 
Winter Rate
Dec 27 2017 - Dec 29 2017
2 night minimum stay
$195
 
 
Winter Holiday
Dec 30 2017 - Jan 1 2018
3 night minimum stay
$225
 
 
Winter Rate
Jan 2 2018 - Mar 31 2018
2 night minimum stay
$195
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $125.4
Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 6.0%

To reserve this home, please visit www.rushmorevacationrentals.com. From the home page there is a search box in the upper left hand corner. Go to the drop box on the bottom that says, view rental, and click on the Lazy D.

Cancellations that are made more than sixty (60) days prior to the arrival date are subject to a 5% cancellation fee or $50, whichever is greater. Cancellations or changes that are made within sixty (60) days of the arrival date, forfeit any payments made, unless the home can be re-rented; the cancellation fee still applies. If property is not re-rented:

• We will keep the total deposit (50% made at the time of reservation)
• Cancellation on or after 14 days prior to arrival will result in the forfeiture of the entire rental amount.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties