Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

New Luxury Apartment at the Duomo

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Apartment, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Belvedere Duomo 2 is Florence's most beautiful location for your Italian holiday. Rentals began In September 2011. The entrance to this two level apartment is located literally on the side of Brunelleschi's Duomo (only 27 meters or 80 feet away), the third largest Church in the world. After an extensive two year renovation, this property is 'new' in the shell of a 12th century structure. The amenities of the apartment are as you would find in a luxury hotel suite, with a gourmand's kitchen, computer hookups and wi-fi, washer/dryer, and 2 elegant all tile baths.

The apartment is on the fourth level of the building, with 88 steps well worth the journey. Assistance is provided to help with luggage upon arrival.

Spend a once in a lifetime vacation at one of the most historic sites in all of Italy, with all of the comforts of a 5 star hotel. Belvedere Duomo 2 comfortably sleeps 6 in comfortable beds with ample storage and unique original artwork and sculptures throughout the apartment.

One step into this magnificent unit, and you will understand the historic importance and splendor of Italy.

If you need more bedrooms or have a larger group,please see my adjoining apartment at VRBO Property number 267152 / Homeaway #269103 .

Keywords: great location, new, elegant,split level, San Lorenzo views,Duomo, modern kitchen,luxury, 5 star

More Details

Owner
Ron Blitch
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
September 20, 2017

About Ron Blitch

I am an architect in New Orleans Louisiana USA - educated in Rome and Florence, and have always dreamed of the perfect getaway in Italy. 'Belvedere Duomo 2' - is just that place, with a very convenient, luxurious and quiet apartment with the appointments of Florence's finest hotels.

Ron Blitch purchased this apartment in 2011

Why Ron Blitch chose Florence

After purchasing my original apartment, 'Belvedere Duomo - vrbo listing 267152, 2 years ago, this adjacent apartemnt became available. a completely renovated 12th century apartment next to one of the greatest monuments in all of Italy - Brunelleschi's Cathedral, or the Duomo. The powerful presence of the Duomo is breathtaking and hard to put into words. The Duomo becomes 'part' of your Florence experience, as you enter and leave the apartment in Piazza Duomo

What makes this apartment unique

Located literally next to the Duomo, Belvedere Duomo 2 is only a few minutes from the Uffizi, the Train Station, the Central Market and San Lorenzo (Medici Chapel), and the Galleria Accademia (David). The apartment is a 'new' property, completed restored and rebuilt after 2 years of intensive work, including wonderful appointments and conveniences only found in a luxury suite in a fine hotel.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thank you for the opportunity to stay in this wonderful apartment - we slept great - and what an experience to walk out each day to the wonderful Duomo! Thanks to Paolo for his warm welcome and great tips on restaurants and area insights. This was for my birthday, what a way to spend it! This was our niece's first trip to Europe (so we wanted to spoli her - and we did!) Once again - grazie mille!
May 2014
  • 1 of 31

Amenities

Duomo Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Monument View ...
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Queen size Beds (2) Each Bedroom has a very comfortable pillow top bed with a queen size sofa bed in the living room, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Very comfortable queen size sofa bed
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Onsite Services:
  • Car Available
  • Chauffeur
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • health/beauty spa
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(33 traveler reviews)

87% Complete
9% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
New Luxury Apartment at the Duomo
average rating of 4.787879 based on 64 reviews
5

Wonderful !!

  • 5 of 5

Fantastic trip staying in this great apartment. Loved the cool artwork and so convenient having all the nice amenities (washer/dryer ect...) hope to be back soon!! KW Birmingham,AL

  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fabulous apartment

  • 5 of 5

Everything was clean and beautiful - Paolo was a great manager and can't wait to go back! Everything exceeded my expectations!!"

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1
Framingham, MA
5

Breathtakingly Wonderful!

  • 5 of 5

This apartment is unbelievable. The artwork, the beautiful furnishings, comfortable beds, gourmet kitchen, walk in shower and skylights are some of my favorite features. Its quiet, and the AC really works, which is a big plus in the summer. I used to stay at hotels when visiting Florence, but now that I have found this lovely apartment right next to the Duomo, this is my new home away from home. Paulo, the local manager, helped with my luggage, offered to be of assistance in any way, including tours, catering, and transportation. If you are planning a stay in Florence, this is the place for you!!

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 1
1

RENTERS BEWARE!

  • 1 of 5

The manager of the property, Paolo, was apparently too busy to meet us when we arrived at the apartment, so instead he sent a man that could barely speak english. So we were given very little guidance on the apartment rules. Then towards the end of our stay we were informed that they were charging us an additional 250 EUROS for electricity. The manager's e-mail to us simply stated that, “The electricity fee based on consumption) must be paid at check-out.” There is no mention that this could potentially tally 250 Euros. Maybe there was something hidden deep in the multiple lengthy documents sent at the time of booking, but the manager's e-mail and his substitute that could barely speak english that met us on arrival certainly made NO MENTION that this could be such a significant cost. I have never been asked to pay for electricity during a rental anywhere in the world, and getting hit with this significant cost after the fact makes me feel like I just dealt with a used car salesman. Combine this with the HUNDREDS of steps that you must walk EVERY TIME you need to go up to the apartment (especially in the summer heat) makes this one of the worst rental experiences we have had. DO NOT RENT!!!

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Unfortunately this is a vindictive review because this renter was rated as "1 star" in cleanliness because he left the apartment in terrible condition. My manager sent pictures of the mess and disarray of the apartment and questionable stains on bedding that had to be replaced. This renter also left 5 AC units for the entire stay and was advised that this could result in a huge electricity bill. These are clips from the renters emails to the owner (before he departed and left the apartment in terrible condition): "You have a beautiful apartment, and Paolo has been very accommodating. Thank you for allowing us to stay in your place." After warning him that the electricity bill was going to be 250 euros because he was leaving all AC's on constantly - he wrote: "It is completely on me for letting them run all day, but probably a good thing to have on the check-in list. Overall, we had a great experience and I would not change a thing - even with my AC foul up!" The check-in list DOES warn guests to manage the AC"s because of the high cost of electricity - which he acknowledged. So this review cannot be taken seriously - he is upset because of the cleanliness rating, which unfortunately was justified.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 4
5

Great location, service, and unt

  • 5 of 5

Place was as advertised, great location, clean, and service!

  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: thank you! hope you can return soon! Ron
Did you find this review helpful?
5 1
Cleveland, OH
5

Beautiful apartment in the heart of Florence

  • 5 of 5

Our family had a fabulous stay at Belvedere Duomo. The apartment is beautifully decorated, with a modern kitchen and bathrooms. Anything one could need for a comfortable stay in Florence is at hand. And the location....spectacolo! The view of the Duomo from the terrace is so close...unforgettable.

This is our second stay and we used the apartment not only to visit Florence but took day trips to Pisa, San Gimignano, Modena (Ferrari Museum!!) and Venice. We can't wait to go back!!

  • Submitted: Feb 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 1

Map

Nearest Airport
8 Miles
Florence Peretola
Nearest Train
700 Metres
Santa Maria de Novella Station
Nearest Restaurant
50 Metres
Decumanus
Nearest Point of Interest
Museo del Duomo
Nearest Point of Interest
Duomo
Nearest Point of Interest
Baptistery
Car: not necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $180
Damage Insurance $59
Damage Deposit $110

130 euro cleaning fee is collected at check-in. An electricity fee based on consumption is collected at check-out.
For children under 10 years old and additional damage protection fee of 100 euros per child / per stay is collected, and for infants requiring a crib, an additional cleaning fee of 100 euros is collected at check-in.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties