Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Beach House, Heated Indoor Swimming Pool & Hot Tub, Private Beach, Dock

Bedrooms 4
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

Beach House, Heated Indoor Pool, Hot Tub, and Private Beach,

Features of the luxury beach house at Yacht Haven

First, some Fishing News!

Book a fabulous vacation with us and we can hook you up with our premier fishing guide who has a brand-new boat that can accommodate large groups. He tells us that King Salmon will be running in record-breaking numbers now through April, and Pink Salmon will be running in abundance September through October. This looks like an unusually prolific year in the islands for crab and oysters.

Downstairs, three bedrooms, each with a queen-size bed and bath. Brand-new kitchen with state-of-the-art appliances and a stunning view of the beach. Off the kitchen is the Great Room with high vaulted ceilings and a long table made of heavy Russian Oak that will seat 14 guests. This room has a panoramic view of the water that will take your breath away! At Night, the lighting in the kitchen and the Great Room look like a scene from a romantic movie.

Upstairs, a master bedroom with television, a king-size bed and bath with a spacious glass-enclosed shower and just for fun, we have an old-fashioned bath tub that you see in western movies. There is a large-screen home theater and game room with four comfortable built-in bunk beds. Young people go crazy for the bunk beds.

Heated floors throughout our beach house that is so well insulated, you will not hear a sound coming from any room. Mike Cherney, a master carpenter, commented about our new beach house: "I have worked on the construction of many celebrities homes, but his house is perfect in every detail." Thanks, Mike.

At Yacht Haven you are invited to a large building next to the house where you can enjoy swimming anytime of the year in our heated swimming pool, diving board and hot tub all surrounded by heated floors. As you swim, observe through our vaulted glass ceiling, soaring eagles who nest in the huge trees on the property. In between swims we have a non-alcoholic frozen drink machine with flavors that change every week.

The swimming pool and hot tub are private for your use only and no one will bother you while you are swimming, but staff will be around to do the necessary maintenance on the pool, the hot tub, the water system and the grounds.

Other features of Yacht Haven

Private Beach, rich in crab, clams and oysters, fishing just around the corner and whale watching just moments away. British Camp is diagonally across the water within rowing distance. A dinghy with oars is available for your private use to explore the pristine shoreline.

Our dock at Yacht Haven is 45' and has 30 amp shore-power service and water.

The brand-new luxury beach house replaces a 70 year old cabin. The beach house will accommodate 14 guests. Upon request, we will give you a free quote. (Note: Reviews of a 'cabin' are obsolete because the cabin is gone.)

The new beach house along with the heated swimming pool, hot tub, private beach and dock are all located on five secluded acres surrounded by a security fence and gate. We are only 20 minutes from downtown Friday Harbor and two miles from the world-famous Roche Harbor Resort.

Our property must be in a desirable area if you can look across the water and see the estate of an Oscar-winning actress.

Our property is smoke-free and pets are not allowed. (Many of our guests are allergic.)

Most of our wonderful guests are like the family from Indiana who cannot wait to come back again.

Guests who booked for only 3 nights wish they booked for a week or more.

The waters are an aquatic location prized by University of Washington's marine biologists for research of underwater sea life. Cook clams, crab, and oysters in lemon and butter on the outdoor propane barbecue. Also, within a short distance, you can now buy oysters at nominal cost from the oyster farm that ships to restaurants all over the world.

Something else to look forward to---Westcott Bay Oyster Farm

Bill and Doree Webb founded Westcott Bay Oyster Farm on San Juan Island. There they developed a wonderful oyster which is a cross between a Kumamoto and a Pacific Gigas.

The Kumamoto has a very deep bottom shell and an extremely intense flavor but takes two years to grow to the size of a small thumbnail. The Gigas are the prevalent Pacific oyster and grow very fast, reaching four to five inches in only two years. The hybrid of these two varieties is their Westcott Bay Oyster. This is a marvelous attraction and is located a short ten minute drive from our new Yacht Haven beach house.

Yacht Haven is located across the bay diagonally from British Camp,- only one of two National Historic Parks in America allowed to fly the Union Jack. To find out why, be sure to view one of the regularly scheduled slide-shows at British Camp, narrated by park rangers. Enjoy interpretive talks.

Jeff Asher, our hard-working property manager, served as a park ranger at Mt. Rainier National Park and the British Camp National Historic Park located just across the water from us . When you come to Yacht Haven, ask him about the mystery of the barracks for British marines. There were rumors for years that a sack of gold was hidden inside the empty building that has been restored to its original condition.. Searchers found nothing. Then a few years ago, the gold was finally discovered 'hiding in plain sight.'

Other Attractions

Victoria Day Cruise (Operating daily from May 1st through October 31st.) In one day, you can visit the charming city of Victoria in Canada and also the world-famous Butchart Gardens. Leave in the morning and return in the evening to San Juan Island. Reservations & Information: (800) 668 7758 ext. 140. Don't forget your passport.

Moments away from the elegant Roche Harbor Resort and Marina with its world-class restaurant. (Boat rentals are available). Also, tennis courts and a pool.

Ten minute drive to another five-star restaurant, Duck Soup Inn.

Moments away from best fishing grounds in the Pacific Northwest. Rent a boat and all fishing equipment from Snug Harbor or Roche Harbor resorts (or bring your own boat) and park it at our deep-water forty-five foot dock.

For the high-flying folks, you can park your float plane at the dock. Have you ever golfed on an island? For an unusual experience, try the San Juan Golf Course.

Moments away from the most exciting whale watching and sea kayaking in the Pacific Northwest with San Juan Safaris and Bon Accord Charters.

Only 20 minutes to Friday Harbor where you can board a ferry or fly a short distance to Canada for sight-seeing at the world-famous 130-acre Butchart Gardens. Enjoy the grandeur of the Empress Hotel in Victoria Harbor, and other attractions in charming downtown Victoria.

Here is another exciting option

for groups of 7 guests or less.

Our brand-new remodeled waterfront home on San Juan Channel with exquisite views from every window of boat and ferry traffic to Canada.. Wild salmon travel through the waters in front of the house. Enjoy the scene from our luxurious hot tub and sunbathe with privacy on our glass-enclosed deck with views of Turtleback Mountain on Orcas Island and snow-covered Mount Baker.

For a nominal fee, swimming is available at the chic Roche Harbor Resort , which is only a ten minute drive from the house. On the way, stop in at the oyster farm and get a bag of delicious oysters that are only available on San Juan Island. Check it all out at VRBO 633279.

Keywords: Garrison Bay, Yacht Haven, Roche Harbor, San Juan Island, Westcott Bay, Friday Harbor, waterfront, pool, hot tub, family reunion, new beach house,

More Details

Property Manager
Jeff Asher and Cheyenne are co-property Managers
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
February 15, 2018

About Jeff Asher and Cheyenne are co-property Managers

My name is Jeff Asher. I am the property manager for my parents.

I have lived on San Juan Island for about 30 years and spent the summers here since a young child. I have served the people of San Juan County as emergency dispatcher, deputy sheriff, deputy coroner, detective, and lead detective. I am the founder and coordinator of the county's 20 member underwater recovery unit for San Juan County

I am also the skipper of the Sheriff's Patrol Boat. Recently, my partner and I were honored with an award from the State of Washington for saving four people from drowning when their boat crushed on the rocks in darkness and rough waters.

I have also worked as a park ranger at Mount Rainier National Park, British Camp National Historical Park, and Pinnacles National Monument in California.

For relaxation, I enjoy fine woodworking and restoring antique cars. My current project is the restoration of a park train circa 1930 that moved people around Coney Island in New York. We acquired the train from a farm in Sand Point, Pennsylvania, where Flight 93 passed over on the way down to Shanksville.

My special joy is scuba diving with my sons, Russell and Sam. Our future plan: Explore some of the thousands of shipwrecks still underwater around the world.

Jeff Asher and Cheyenne are co-property Managers purchased this house in 1954

Why Jeff Asher and Cheyenne are co-property Managers chose Friday Harbor

This five acre estate was handed down in the family. It was owned by my grandfather,V.L. Gardner, who worked with Bill Boeing in the early days when Bill was just starting his multi-billion dollar business. My grandfather started in Bill Boeing's furniture company and later went to aircrafts. My grandfather learned to fly when airplanes were started by hand-cranking the propeller. During WW II, my grandfather was a naval officer on Admiral Nimitz personal staff in Guam. 'Grandpa Vern' was responsible for the repair and maintenance of all military aircraft in the Pacific. Later, he became the northwest regional director of the FAA.

As a bit of trivia: The San Juan Islands were a favorite vacation for Bill Boeing. Hollywood celebrities (actors, directors and producers) have discovered this hidden jewel, the San Juan Islands.

What makes this house unique

Most everyone who visits comments that

Yacht Haven is one of the most exquisite and peaceful marine location in the world. Guests arrive at the estate and end up not leaving the gates. Its all about relaxation.... Our staff is eager to make your stay as comfortable as possible. It usually takes guests one or two days to unwind from the day-to-day presures of mainland living.


Friday Harbor House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 14
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront
  • Water View
  • Waterfront ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 14 people
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , view of dock and entrance to westcott bay
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Fireplace, view of the entrance to bay thru the forrest
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , view of pool heated floors bedroom and bathroom
    Master bathroom - toilet , tub , shower , view of entrance to bay and dock ,fireplace
    pool bathroom - toilet , located off the deep end. heated floor/ changing room
    main lower floor great room bathroom - toilet , shower
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , private bathroom tub/shower combination (heated floors)
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , with bathroom Shower
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , with fireplace and private bathroom. heated floors
    upstairs great room. - 4 twin/ single , 1 baby crib , Upstairs main bunk room / theater room
    Bedroom 4 - 1 king , Master bedroom w/ fireplace slipper tub, shower .
  • Also available, a rollaway bed upstairs.
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • 4 garden chairs
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Indoor Pool
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
2 story beach house on Yacht Haven with heated indoor swimming pool in a dedicated building on 5 secluded acres with a private beach and a private 45 foot dock. Crab cooking station and gas/briquette BBQ grill on a huge patio on the north side of pool building. Westcott Bay Oyster farm nearby. Salmon fishing 5 minutes away. Wild life everywhere. National park nearby. 5 minutes from Roche Harbor Resort, Whale watching a short distance away. 20 minute boat ride to Sydney British Columbia, Canada.


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(45 traveler reviews)

86% Complete
6% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
Beach House, Heated Indoor Swimming Pool & Hot Tub, Private Beach, Dock
average rating of 4.7555556 based on 45 reviews

Perfect vacation spot for a family

  • 5 of 5

We were a multi-generational group with people from age 70-5. The accommodations were perfect for our group. We explored the island, caught crab, dug for clams (not for eating, only because it's super fun to chase them), kayaked, hiked the island, watched whales, saw seals play, found a camel (yes - a camel), visited the alpacas, harvested lavender, fed goats, played in the pool, relaxed in the hot-tub, had drinks on the patio, went to the flag ceremony in Roche Harbor, saw more whales (lime kiln), watched the sun set and then did it all again the next day. The hosts of this property are exceptional. The property itself is clean, modern, comfortable and well equipped. You will not be disappointed.

  • Submitted: Feb 3, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0


  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed the beautiful waterfront view. We were lucky enough to come during a time where many beautiful mushrooms were sprouting up. It was cold exploring outside but the hot tub was a great thing to return home to(and the heated floors). Thanks for letting us stay in this amazing house. We will be back!

  • Submitted: Nov 23, 2016
  • Stayed: October 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Tim, Come back soon. Its always nice to have a chef with your reputation at our place. Thanks for the wonderful dinner. Regards Jeff
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Stunning location, exceptional accomodiations.

  • 5 of 5

Wow! The house on San Juan Island was simply the nicest place we have ever seen. After taking our group on a series of hikes around the island, we were able to come back, take a relaxing hot tub while the kids played in the pool. Pool is indoors and huge. We aren't boaters, but the dock was nice to walk on and enjoy the morning.

The house seemed new or totally renovated and had everything you could need, plenty of room for our group. (There were 5 adults and 7 kids).

Can't say enough good things about Jeff & Cheyenne making sure we had everything we needed, giving us tips on where to eat, and letting the kids feed the goats!

Definitely coming back next year, might try to see what spring in the Islands is like, but Fall is amazing.

  • Submitted: Nov 3, 2016
  • Stayed: October 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Relaxing Escape

  • 5 of 5

Dear Jeff and Chey,

This was our first trip to your lovely island in the San Juans. When we first arrived at your property we were blown away by the property. Chey met us upon our arrival and showed us around the property and how to use the facilities. The pool house is wonderful and we spent a lot of time in the hot tub and enjoying the pool. The house was absolutely the best place to stay. The craftsmanship that was put into the house was well thought out. The fridge was large enough to accommodate everything our party brought with us and the beverage cooler was perfect to chill our wines. The best part of the house was the great room with the vaulted ceilings. The younger part of our party enjoyed the large screen tv upstairs, the room up there is perfect for young ones and grown ups alike to take care of business with internet connection and all. The dock and beach were amazing also. It did rain a bit while we were there but staying inside with the fireplace going was absolutely amazing.

We are glad we chose your place to stay and we are happy to have made new life long friends with you both. Your hospitality was impressive and something we will never forget. If you are ever down Texas way, stop into Houston, we would love to show you around!

Thanks again,

Jim Boyle and crew

  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2016
  • Stayed: October 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Oakland, CA

Paradise on the water

  • 3 of 5

I love this property on the water, it is secluded and quiet. The house has recently been remodeled/expanded with nice valted ceilings and big windows. With the beach area and dock it is a perfect place for water lovers. I stayed here for a four day weekend to attend my wife's best friends wedding. Our group was 13 people, which this house accommodated nicely.

I give this place a three star review, because some of the construction is not complete, many things don't work, and the staff lack customer service.

First, and most importantly the refrigerator apparently frosted over and wouldn't get cold. The staff is aware of this and said it is an ongoing problem, yet said they failed to defrost it prior to our arrival because they did not have time to. The patio heater didn't work. One of the showers was out of commission, which made it difficult for a group of 13. The bathroom we used the water came out rusty for the first few seconds. There is exposed electrical (Romex) in the living room. Numerous external lights are not working making the parking lot pitch dark. Finally our room wasn't fully cleaned when we arrived, we had a newspaper and water bottle under our bed and a used pillow stuffed between the headboard and mattress.

We contacted the staff because the refrigerator was warmer than the outside air. They came in with a snarky attitude and made excuses for the numerous issues. It is apparent these hosts are new to customer service and have some developing to do.

Finally, we expected there to be a cot in the house but when we asked for it they said they removed it from the house and they would charge us $200 for an extra guest. We tried to explain that we had two mother/ daughter couples and they would like to have their own beds. Seemed pretty petty after we went the entire weekend without a working fridge or one of the showers.

I expect the owners of this property will continue to improve it and hopefully focus on customer satisfaction. I don't expect to stay there again, because there are some many other options for great places.

  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2016
  • Stayed: September 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: These people are shameful. They breached their contract by sneaking in a huge wedding reception, >> which turned into a drunken orgy. They screamed so many obscenities, our staff feared for their safety. >> Hundreds of guests have enjoyed Yacht Haven before this group and the reviews are excellent.
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0

A wonderful spot.

  • 4 of 5

We stayed at Yacht haven with 4 other couples for 5 days to explore the island and do some bicycling. It's a fabulous house. The great room can't be beat. We had planned to eat out some but the location was so lovely and the house so inviting, we just cooked in which was easy with that great kitchen. We loved the big dining table for eating, playing cards and chatting. My poor husband was down with a cold but the big reclining sofa with the quiet views of the water made for a great place for him to recoup. Jeff even brought down some medication for him. Jeff and Cheyenne were right there if we needed them but gave us plenty of space. One thing to be aware of is that the master bedroom sneaks past the corner of the bunk room to get downstairs and there's no door to that room. We made it work but if you had light little sleepers or noisy TV watchers it could be a problem. I loved that there was no TV downstairs because we enjoyed music, danced and visited rather than being glued to a TV. The house is quite remote, which makes it incredibly quiet and the 180 degree views of the water are amazing. I'd have easily given it 5 stars but one shower was out of commission and we could have used drawers for clothing in the bedrooms. I think they are working on both of those issues. I'd recommend it and I'd come back.

  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2016
  • Stayed: September 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
4 Miles
Roche Harbor Harbor Airport
Nearest Barpub
4 Miles
Roche Harbor Resort
Nearest Ferry
14 Miles
In Friday Harbor
Nearest Golf
14 Miles
San Juan Golf and Country Club
Nearest Restaurant
4 Miles
Roche Harbor Resort
Car: necessary

Yacht Haven vacation rental is one of the San Juan Islands premiere vacation destinations. This unique property situated at the entrances to Westcott and Garrison Bays provides ample opportunity for kayaking, fishing, crabbing, SCUBA diving and hiking in the area.

Our property features a private 45’ dock, with power and water, a private beach as well as a separate private indoor swimming pool and hot tub with a heated pool deck and restroom. The pool is located just steps away from the house and has its own foyer. The pool has its own stone patio with views of the bay.


The waterfront residence is new as of 2015 and has vaulted ceilings in the great room, 10' ceilings in the main house, heated floors, Bathrooms for every bedroom, Large kitchen and dining room which overlooks its own private pebble beach. Large picture windows provide unmatched waterfront views of Westcott and Garrison Bays.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $295 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $600
Tax Rate 10.57%

$695.00 nightly Rate is based on 2 guests; add $65.00 per night, per additional guest. Three nights minimum stay. Visitors are welcome in boats, but there is a $45 per person per night fee if they stay on the boat overnight and a docking fee per boat of $1.75 per foot per night. There is a $600 fully refundable damage deposit.
Important Note: Our property is smoke-free and pets are not allowed. Many of our guests are allergic.

When you make payment to HomeAway, I will e-mail the rental agreement. To complete your booking, please full it out and return it to me by e-mail or fax it to me at 1 (408) 395 8440. Later, I will also send you some recent photos of the property and a colorful map.

If you plan a day trip to nearby to Victoria, Canada to see the world famous Butchart Gardens, don’t forget your passports.

Cancellation policy: Full refund up to 30 days before arrival(does not include Home Aways Service Fee), then
½ refund(does not include HomeAways Service Fee) up to 2 weeks before arrival.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties