Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Can't get much closer than this beach front house

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4)

Our calendars on line are current and if you send an inquiry we will automatically respond and send you to a page where you can book on line. A'ala Hale is a licensed Vacation Rental on Molokai A'ala in Hawaiian means fragrance. The entrance to this lovely beach front home is surrounded with the fragrant plumeria blossom. It is located right on Kawela Beach only 4 miles from town on Molokai's peaceful south shore. There is a 3 island view of Maui, Lani and Kohoolawe. The back of the house faces the ocean with a large lanai with BBQ. There are two bedrooms, and two bathrooms. The master has a new king size bed with it's own full bath with step down showers. This bedroom faces the ocean and you can hear the waves break on the longest reef in Hawaii.

The second bedroom has a queen size bed plus a sofa sleeper in living room. Large Great room with ocean views and open kitchen for entertaining. Living room has Flat Screen TV, DVD and Stereo. Washer/Dryer are available in this SOLAR powered home. High Speed internet with Wifi from the lanai as you see the colors of beautiful Sunrise and Sunset views while whale watching in winter months. There are also two single kayaks available for guests to use. Molokai Has 28 miles or barrier reef, so snorkeling out in front of the house is a must. Recommend mornings before the afternoon trades blow.

Please review the house rules before renting this property:

http://molokai-vacation-rental.com/graphics/house-rules.pdf

Aala Hale Short term Rental Permit Number STMO 2013/0006

Hawaii State Tax ID# TA-108-086-8864-01

More Details

Property Manager
Dayna Harris
Member since: 2003
Speaks: english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
May 29, 2017

Guestbook comments from the manager

To be able to open your eyes in the morning and see the ocean and hear the sounds of the waves. Heaven on Earth!
Mar 2014
  • 1 of 11

Amenities

Kaunakakai House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Stove
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1) Double bed is a sleeper sofa, Baby Cribs (1) We rent cribs for $5 a day, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
Notes:
Two single kayaks are available to use on the property. 28 miles of barrier reef located about 1/4 mile out.

Reviews

3.3/5 -
(3 traveler reviews)

Can't get much closer than this beach front house
average rating of 3.3333333 based on 14 reviews
3

Good

  • 3 of 5

The property was the perfect location. Very quiet and peaceful. All amenities were in good condition and very useful. The house was clean and ready for us. There were signs of termite droppings on arrival.

One issue that was quite disturbing were the termites at nite and their leftovers in the morning. They were quite prolific as they dropped in our evening meal and on our bodies. we had to shake out our clothes in the morning. As Hawaii residents, we are quite familiar w/pests. However, this was a bit much!

  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for making us aware about the termites. I have called a fumigation company to go inspect the house. It's that time of year where they do swarm on the island. Aloha
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Balcarres, Saskatchewan Canada
5

Great holiday retreat!!

  • 5 of 5

The house was just as described in the pictures. Got to Molokai in the dark, but the locals knew where the place was and drove us over there. I was paradise, right on the ocean. The water was not deep enough to swim in front of the cottage, but we found lots of other beaches on Molokai to explore. The property was very clean with lots of bedding and towels. The kitchen had all the staples needed and was big and open. The owner dropped by to see how we were doing and pointed out the kayaks on the property. I would definitely recommend this property to anyone wanting a laid back and relaxing vacation. We enjoyed the food, the sun, the Halawa Valley, the sun, the long beaches, the sunsets and the sun. The only thing bad about this vacation was the pesky gnats that were very abundant at night. The early mornings didn't really bother us because of the time difference. Their 7 AM is our 11AM.

  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
2

A'ala Hale

  • 2 of 5

If you don’t mind traffic noise and like to sea kayak, then this place is fine. But if you are sensitive to noise and like to swim from shore, then this is not a good choice for you.

PROS:

1. Good location, close to town and with central access to the west, east and north shores.

2. Free use of sea kayaks. (The early morning paddling in the calm seas out to the reef is lovely.)

CONS:

1. Right beside the highway, so traffic noise is very loud and constant, even in the back bedroom and lanai.

2. The empty lot on the west side is being used for beach access and parking by dog walkers and a few paddlers and surfers. One guy arrived in his truck each morning @ 5:30 a.m. and parked his truck basically right outside the bedroom window. Don’t expect to sleep in.

3. The water and sea bottom are muddy close to shore. Not good for shore swimming. You have to go further east before you hit sandy bottoms and clear water at the shore.

4. Watch your step when walking over the dunes to the shore. The early morning dog walker let his dog poop there and then just kicked sand over the turds.

There were a number of annoying maintenance issues when we arrived: Broken outside light switch, burned out light bulbs, broken garburator, malfunctioning washing machine. Some of them were fixed after we notified the property manager.

We couldn’t take the traffic and parking noise and ended up leaving after three days. The property manager was gracious enough to give us a refund for the unused days.

Be aware that there is an extra $45 charge for insurance, covering damage or theft of contents. It doesn’t appear on the website rate info, but is charged to your credit card and shows up on your receipt. Apparently it is not negotiable. We have rented places through vrbo and airbnb worldwide and have never been charged this before.

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Molokai is a small island and we only have one road going east, thus, you will hear the road noise and we can’t control that. It’s a single lane and the speed limit is 35 mph. People run, walk, bicycle and children play all along our so-called busy road. We have no stoplights on Molokai and pride ourselves on this. With the population of 8000, the traffic is fairly light and tends to be 5 to 6 cars in a row, a rare sight when compared to the other Hawaiian Islands. For some this can be annoying, but then the views of the ocean, whales and sunsets makes up for it. The beaches are public and at times people do come and access the beach to walk or kayak. Because Molokai is dry we tend to get run off from the hills above so the water in front of the home is a little murky at first but once you do get farther out, it is awesome. Molokai has the longest fringing reef along the South Shore and we have kayaks for you to explore. Were an off site management company and do address the issues as we hear about them. If light bulbs need replacing because there aren’t any, then we make sure to get them. We do ask our cleaners to check for things. Things may be working but unfortunately things also have the habit to stop working at the most inconvenient times. We apologize for those times but we do the best we can to address the problem immediately. We were having issues with the washing machine and now have one on order. We don’t have Lowe’s or Home Depot on Molokai and what we do have is very costly, therefore we try to get the most out of things before they go to our small landfill. The Damage fee is in place of a security deposit. If something gets lost or damaged they are covered. Recently in this home the guest opened the sliders and the wind cause the lamp to fall and break the glass tabletop. Fortunately the insurance covered the damage and the shipping to replace it. We realize Molokai is not for everyone because the island is very laid back and things getting accomplished on Hawaii Time. If you can appreciate Molokai for being Molokai then you will realize that our island and its vacations homes are really the hidden gems. We do not have many homes on island that are legal vacation rentals and most of the properties that are rented out are in the $150-300 plus range, which is still cheaper than many hotel rooms on the outer islands. This property is priced accordingly and makes this a wonderful bargain for someone that wants to be on the ocean.
Did you find this review helpful?
8 0

Map

We work directly with Alamo and get great rates for car rental while on Molokai or anywhere in Hawaii. We also work with Go!Mokulele Airlines and get discounted rates on interisland air travel.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties