About the property
- Half Baths0
- Minimum Stay0 - 5 nights
House, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4)
Kayaks await you at this lovely beach front house in Kawela. Barrier Reef in front.
- Response rate:
- Response time:
- within a few days
- Calendar last updated:
- May 25, 2018
Marvelous beach, sweet cottage, beautiful location
I fell in love with Molokai and this charming little house on the south beach. The house is not fancy, like most of this island, but it is clean and comfortable. The beach is about 25 steps from the big back lanai, and stretches a long walkable distance each direction. We saw tons of whales from the lanai, and turtles swimming around the reef. The water is shallow due to the extensive reef, but great for wading (don’t touch the reef) and for kayaking—3 are here for use at the house. It’s perfect for beachcombers as well. My daughter happily dug in the sand and collected shells for days. It’s nice not having to bring a ton of stuff to lay on a beach, and to be able to just walk back inside for a drink or a snack or to use the bathroom. And with so little ambient light at night, we had some of the best stargazing I’ve ever seen. There are downsides: there are ants and gnats and geckos, this is the tropics so that’s just part of life here. There is no AC but I doubt many places on Molokai have it; electricity is very expensive here, and the island breeze and ceiling fans kept us comfortable anyway. The house sits on the main highway so there is some noise from passing cars, but I got used to it pretty quickly. The kitchen is pretty lightly stocked; we did have enough pots and pans and made some killer dinners here with fresh caught fish etc. Molokai really has no “fancy” restaurants so if that’s your kind of travel you might want to go to Maui instead. But if you like the freshest poke, nearly deserted gorgeous beaches and the friendliest people, you will love it here. Don’t be surprised if strangers stop you to say hi. We are already planning our next trip back and will definitely stay here again.
We do hope to see you again on our Island. Now you know what makes Molokai so special. If one does come to Molokai with no expectations and accepting of the way of life, all with have the experience of a lifetime, despite our tropical criters
Great beach house
We really loved this house. It is in a great location not far from town in a quiet area. The house was adorable and very clean. The deck was where we spent most our time, looking at the ocean. The bbq was great to cook on, and it’s just a few steps from your own little area of beach. We will definetly be booking this home next time we come to Molokai! The managers worked well with us and our late flight out on checkout day. I would Highly recommend!
Thank you for the great review.
Cozy Beach Cottage!
We stayed at this cozy 2 BR/2 BA beach cottage for 4 nights in July 2017. The cottage was designed well and very comfortable! Our favorite aspect of the house was the fabulous porch overlooking the ocean and the island of Lanai! The day bed on the porch is brilliant and we all enjoyed relaxing on it. We sat on the porch playing cards and later at night we sat in lounge chairs in the yard and had hours of star gazing sessions. The stars were brighter on Molokai than we've seen in years (including remote areas of Wyoming) and the milky way and constellations were spectacular. The beds in both bedrooms were comfortable and both bathrooms were well appointed. My husband loved the step down shower in the master bedroom. The house has extra windows that open at the bottom to let in fresh air, so not having air conditioning was fine as the trade winds helped keep the house cool. The beach in front of the house was beautiful and a nice box of seashells was collected in just 4 days (limpets, top shells, horse conch, cowrie, murex etc.). We were the only people on the beach each day. Photos of the beach and the mountains behind it belong in a travel magazine. The house is not far from town and is located in the middle of the island, so it is perfect for exploration and convenient if you forget something (about 5 miles from town). The only reason we gave this house 4 stars was because there is no toaster and no gas grill (charcoal only and the grill had to be cleaned). We will definitely stay here again next time we travel to Molokai! Do not miss Dave's ice cream and the Kanemitsu Bakery's hot bread at 7:30 pm (entrance behind the bakery about half way down the alley every day except Tues). Nearby Papohaku beach is stunning with golden soft sand and hardly anyone there! If you are adventuresome, go to the Kamakou Preserve and hike the Pepeopae Bog Trail. During our stay at this house, we found Molokai very relaxing and reminiscent of quieter times when we were younger! We were very happy with our stay at this cozy cottage!
The house does have a toaster and guest must of just overlooked it with all that it does have.
Molokai Beach Property
This was a great house. My only complaint was no air-conditioner. I understand the weather but the humidity was unbelievable. Would just make it a little more comfortable. Otherwise, it was perfect. We have family that live on Molokai and they liked it as well . Would consider staying here again.
Other than Hotel Molokai, there are no condo complexes with AC and none of our houses have AC. But we do have some nice trade winds and ceiling fans. It's just part of being in the islands.
The property was the perfect location. Very quiet and peaceful. All amenities were in good condition and very useful. The house was clean and ready for us. There were signs of termite droppings on arrival.
One issue that was quite disturbing were the termites at nite and their leftovers in the morning. They were quite prolific as they dropped in our evening meal and on our bodies. we had to shake out our clothes in the morning. As Hawaii residents, we are quite familiar w/pests. However, this was a bit much!
Thank you so much for making us aware about the termites. I have called a fumigation company to go inspect the house. It's that time of year where they do swarm on the island. Aloha
If you don’t mind traffic noise and like to sea kayak, then this place is fine. But if you are sensitive to noise and like to swim from shore, then this is not a good choice for you.
1. Good location, close to town and with central access to the west, east and north shores.
2. Free use of sea kayaks. (The early morning paddling in the calm seas out to the reef is lovely.)
1. Right beside the highway, so traffic noise is very loud and constant, even in the back bedroom and lanai.
2. The empty lot on the west side is being used for beach access and parking by dog walkers and a few paddlers and surfers. One guy arrived in his truck each morning @ 5:30 a.m. and parked his truck basically right outside the bedroom window. Don’t expect to sleep in.
3. The water and sea bottom are muddy close to shore. Not good for shore swimming. You have to go further east before you hit sandy bottoms and clear water at the shore.
4. Watch your step when walking over the dunes to the shore. The early morning dog walker let his dog poop there and then just kicked sand over the turds.
There were a number of annoying maintenance issues when we arrived: Broken outside light switch, burned out light bulbs, broken garburator, malfunctioning washing machine. Some of them were fixed after we notified the property manager.
We couldn’t take the traffic and parking noise and ended up leaving after three days. The property manager was gracious enough to give us a refund for the unused days.
Be aware that there is an extra $45 charge for insurance, covering damage or theft of contents. It doesn’t appear on the website rate info, but is charged to your credit card and shows up on your receipt. Apparently it is not negotiable. We have rented places through vrbo and airbnb worldwide and have never been charged this before.
Molokai is a small island and we only have one road going east, thus, you will hear the road noise and we can’t control that. It’s a single lane and the speed limit is 35 mph. People run, walk, bicycle and children play all along our so-called busy road. We have no stoplights on Molokai and pride ourselves on this. With the population of 8000, the traffic is fairly light and tends to be 5 to 6 cars in a row, a rare sight when compared to the other Hawaiian Islands. For some this can be annoying, but then the views of the ocean, whales and sunsets makes up for it.
The beaches are public and at times people do come and access the beach to walk or kayak. Because Molokai is dry we tend to get run off from the hills above so the water in front of the home is a little murky at first but once you do get farther out, it is awesome. Molokai has the longest fringing reef along the South Shore and we have kayaks for you to explore.
Were an off site management company and do address the issues as we hear about them. If light bulbs need replacing because there aren’t any, then we make sure to get them. We do ask our cleaners to check for things. Things may be working but unfortunately things also have the habit to stop working at the most inconvenient times. We apologize for those times but we do the best we can to address the problem immediately. We were having issues with the washing machine and now have one on order. We don’t have Lowe’s or Home Depot on Molokai and what we do have is very costly, therefore we try to get the most out of things before they go to our small landfill.
The Damage fee is in place of a security deposit. If something gets lost or damaged they are covered. Recently in this home the guest opened the sliders and the wind cause the lamp to fall and break the glass tabletop. Fortunately the insurance covered the damage and the shipping to replace it.
We realize Molokai is not for everyone because the island is very laid back and things getting accomplished on Hawaii Time. If you can appreciate Molokai for being Molokai then you will realize that our island and its vacations homes are really the hidden gems. We do not have many homes on island that are legal vacation rentals and most of the properties that are rented out are in the $150-300 plus range, which is still cheaper than many hotel rooms on the outer islands. This property is priced accordingly and makes this a wonderful bargain for someone that wants to be on the ocean.
We work directly with Alamo and get great rates for car rental while on Molokai or anywhere in Hawaii. We also work with Go!Mokulele Airlines and get discounted rates on interisland air travel.