expand arrow-rightsvg-balloonsvg-carsvg-dogsvg-fireplacesvg-flat-screensvg-heatersvg-laundry-washing-machinesvg-snowflakesvg-hot-tubsvg-swimming-poolsvg-wheelchairsvg-wifiarrow-right

Can't get much closer than this beach front house

Kaunakakai, HI, USA
  • House
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • Bathrooms2
  • Half Baths0
  • Mininum Stay1 - 3 nights

House, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4)

Our calendars on line are current and if you send an inquiry we will automatically respond and send you to a page where you can book on line. A'ala Hale is a licensed Vacation Rental on Molokai A'ala in Hawaiian means fragrance. The entrance to this lovely beach front home is surrounded with the fragrant plumeria blossom. It is located right on Kawela Beach only 4 miles from town on Molokai's peaceful south shore. There is a 3 island view of Maui, Lani and Kohoolawe. The back of the house faces the ocean with a large lanai with BBQ. There are two bedrooms, and two bathrooms. The master has a new king size bed with it's own full bath with step down showers. This bedroom faces the ocean and you can hear the waves break on the longest reef in Hawaii. The second bedroom has a queen size bed plus a sofa sleeper in living room. Large Great room with ocean views and open kitchen for entertaining. Living room has Flat Screen TV, DVD and Stereo. Washer/Dryer are available in this SOLAR powered home. High Speed internet with Wifi from the lanai as you see the colors of beautiful Sunrise and Sunset views while whale watching in winter months. There are also two single kayaks available for guests to use. Molokai Has 28 miles or barrier reef, so snorkeling out in front of the house is a must. Recommend mornings before the afternoon trades blow. Please review the house rules before renting this property: http://molokai-vacation-rental.com/graphics/house-rules.pdf Aala Hale Short term Rental Permit Number STMO 2013/0006 Hawaii State Tax ID# TA-108-086-8864-01


Dayna Harris

  • Member Since 2003
  • Response time: within one hour
  • Speaks: english


    • Internet
    • Washer & Dryer
    • TV


      • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
        • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1) Double bed is a sleeper sofa, Baby Cribs (1) We rent cribs for $5 a day, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)


        • 2 Bathrooms


              • Clothes Dryer
              • Internet
              • Washing Machine


                  • Stove


                      • Stereo
                      • Television


                          • Outdoor Grill


                              • Two single kayaks are available to use on the property. 28 miles of barrier reef located about 1/4 mile out.

                                6 Reviews

                                Very Good4/5

                                Latest reviews

                                Great beach house

                                We really loved this house. It is in a great location not far from town in a quiet area. The house was adorable and very clean. The deck was where we spent most our time, looking at the ocean. The bbq was great to cook on, and it’s just a few steps from your own little area of beach. We will definetly be booking this home next time we come to Molokai! The managers worked well with us and our late flight out on checkout day. I would Highly recommend!
                                Jan 12, 2018
                                Dec 2017
                                Owner's Response:Thank you for the great review.

                                Cozy Beach Cottage!

                                We stayed at this cozy 2 BR/2 BA beach cottage for 4 nights in July 2017. The cottage was designed well and very comfortable! Our favorite aspect of the house was the fabulous porch overlooking the ocean and the island of Lanai! The day bed on the porch is brilliant and we all enjoyed relaxing on it. We sat on the porch playing cards and later at night we sat in lounge chairs in the yard and had hours of star gazing sessions. The stars were brighter on Molokai than we've seen in years (including remote areas of Wyoming) and the milky way and constellations were spectacular. The beds in both bedrooms were comfortable and both bathrooms were well appointed. My husband loved the step down shower in the master bedroom. The house has extra windows that open at the bottom to let in fresh air, so not having air conditioning was fine as the trade winds helped keep the house cool. The beach in front of the house was beautiful and a nice box of seashells was collected in just 4 days (limpets, top shells, horse conch, cowrie, murex etc.). We were the only people on the beach each day. Photos of the beach and the mountains behind it belong in a travel magazine. The house is not far from town and is located in the middle of the island, so it is perfect for exploration and convenient if you forget something (about 5 miles from town). The only reason we gave this house 4 stars was because there is no toaster and no gas grill (charcoal only and the grill had to be cleaned). We will definitely stay here again next time we travel to Molokai! Do not miss Dave's ice cream and the Kanemitsu Bakery's hot bread at 7:30 pm (entrance behind the bakery about half way down the alley every day except Tues). Nearby Papohaku beach is stunning with golden soft sand and hardly anyone there! If you are adventuresome, go to the Kamakou Preserve and hike the Pepeopae Bog Trail. During our stay at this house, we found Molokai very relaxing and reminiscent of quieter times when we were younger! We were very happy with our stay at this cozy cottage!
                                Aug 06, 2017
                                Jul 2017
                                Owner's Response:The house does have a toaster and guest must of just overlooked it with all that it does have.

                                Molokai Beach Property

                                This was a great house. My only complaint was no air-conditioner. I understand the weather but the humidity was unbelievable. Would just make it a little more comfortable. Otherwise, it was perfect. We have family that live on Molokai and they liked it as well . Would consider staying here again.
                                May 15, 2017
                                Apr 2017
                                Owner's Response:Other than Hotel Molokai, there are no condo complexes with AC and none of our houses have AC. But we do have some nice trade winds and ceiling fans. It's just part of being in the islands.


                                The property was the perfect location. Very quiet and peaceful. All amenities were in good condition and very useful. The house was clean and ready for us. There were signs of termite droppings on arrival. One issue that was quite disturbing were the termites at nite and their leftovers in the morning. They were quite prolific as they dropped in our evening meal and on our bodies. we had to shake out our clothes in the morning. As Hawaii residents, we are quite familiar w/pests. However, this was a bit much!
                                Jun 01, 2016
                                May 2016
                                Owner's Response:Thank you so much for making us aware about the termites. I have called a fumigation company to go inspect the house. It's that time of year where they do swarm on the island. Aloha

                                A'ala Hale

                                If you don’t mind traffic noise and like to sea kayak, then this place is fine. But if you are sensitive to noise and like to swim from shore, then this is not a good choice for you. PROS: 1. Good location, close to town and with central access to the west, east and north shores. 2. Free use of sea kayaks. (The early morning paddling in the calm seas out to the reef is lovely.) CONS: 1. Right beside the highway, so traffic noise is very loud and constant, even in the back bedroom and lanai. 2. The empty lot on the west side is being used for beach access and parking by dog walkers and a few paddlers and surfers. One guy arrived in his truck each morning @ 5:30 a.m. and parked his truck basically right outside the bedroom window. Don’t expect to sleep in. 3. The water and sea bottom are muddy close to shore. Not good for shore swimming. You have to go further east before you hit sandy bottoms and clear water at the shore. 4. Watch your step when walking over the dunes to the shore. The early morning dog walker let his dog poop there and then just kicked sand over the turds. There were a number of annoying maintenance issues when we arrived: Broken outside light switch, burned out light bulbs, broken garburator, malfunctioning washing machine. Some of them were fixed after we notified the property manager. We couldn’t take the traffic and parking noise and ended up leaving after three days. The property manager was gracious enough to give us a refund for the unused days. Be aware that there is an extra $45 charge for insurance, covering damage or theft of contents. It doesn’t appear on the website rate info, but is charged to your credit card and shows up on your receipt. Apparently it is not negotiable. We have rented places through vrbo and airbnb worldwide and have never been charged this before.
                                Sep 09, 2014
                                Aug 2014
                                Owner's Response:Molokai is a small island and we only have one road going east, thus, you will hear the road noise and we can’t control that. It’s a single lane and the speed limit is 35 mph. People run, walk, bicycle and children play all along our so-called busy road. We have no stoplights on Molokai and pride ourselves on this. With the population of 8000, the traffic is fairly light and tends to be 5 to 6 cars in a row, a rare sight when compared to the other Hawaiian Islands. For some this can be annoying, but then the views of the ocean, whales and sunsets makes up for it. The beaches are public and at times people do come and access the beach to walk or kayak. Because Molokai is dry we tend to get run off from the hills above so the water in front of the home is a little murky at first but once you do get farther out, it is awesome. Molokai has the longest fringing reef along the South Shore and we have kayaks for you to explore. Were an off site management company and do address the issues as we hear about them. If light bulbs need replacing because there aren’t any, then we make sure to get them. We do ask our cleaners to check for things. Things may be working but unfortunately things also have the habit to stop working at the most inconvenient times. We apologize for those times but we do the best we can to address the problem immediately. We were having issues with the washing machine and now have one on order. We don’t have Lowe’s or Home Depot on Molokai and what we do have is very costly, therefore we try to get the most out of things before they go to our small landfill. The Damage fee is in place of a security deposit. If something gets lost or damaged they are covered. Recently in this home the guest opened the sliders and the wind cause the lamp to fall and break the glass tabletop. Fortunately the insurance covered the damage and the shipping to replace it. We realize Molokai is not for everyone because the island is very laid back and things getting accomplished on Hawaii Time. If you can appreciate Molokai for being Molokai then you will realize that our island and its vacations homes are really the hidden gems. We do not have many homes on island that are legal vacation rentals and most of the properties that are rented out are in the $150-300 plus range, which is still cheaper than many hotel rooms on the outer islands. This property is priced accordingly and makes this a wonderful bargain for someone that wants to be on the ocean.

                                Great holiday retreat!!

                                The house was just as described in the pictures. Got to Molokai in the dark, but the locals knew where the place was and drove us over there. I was paradise, right on the ocean. The water was not deep enough to swim in front of the cottage, but we found lots of other beaches on Molokai to explore. The property was very clean with lots of bedding and towels. The kitchen had all the staples needed and was big and open. The owner dropped by to see how we were doing and pointed out the kayaks on the property. I would definitely recommend this property to anyone wanting a laid back and relaxing vacation. We enjoyed the food, the sun, the Halawa Valley, the sun, the long beaches, the sunsets and the sun. The only thing bad about this vacation was the pesky gnats that were very abundant at night. The early mornings didn't really bother us because of the time difference. Their 7 AM is our 11AM.
                                Oct 15, 2014
                                Feb 2014


                                Kaunakakai, HI, USA

                                We work directly with Alamo and get great rates for car rental while on Molokai or anywhere in Hawaii. We also work with Go!Mokulele Airlines and get discounted rates on interisland air travel.

                                6 Reviews

                                Very Good 4/5

                                Enter dates for accurate pricing
                                Instant Confirmation
                                For booking assistance, call 888-640-7927

                                Property # 356753