Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Fire Island Beach Bungalow with 4 Bedrooms 2 Bathrooms

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Space 2,000 sq. ft.
Property type bungalow
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Bungalow, 4 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8-10)

The Bungalow is very open & airy in main entertaining area. It has a a galley style kitchen with views into living room & mahogany eating bar that sits 4 comfortably. The house is called the Boat House because it was designed by a famous architect named Andrew Geller who did beach design homes that made people feel like their surroundings. The house is 1 minute walking from the Ocean & 1 minute from the Bay as well. The house is an all-cedar interior that was built in the early 1960's. The charm of the house will make you feel like you're truly on a beach escape. This is truly a one of a kind home that visitors will enjoy.

Keywords: Bungalow, Cottage, Classic, Comfortable,Unique, Original,Charming, Adorable,Vintage,Ocean,Island,Sunny,Unusual, Modern,Contemporary, Beach

More Details

Owner
Joseph Vaughan
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
40%
Calendar last updated:
March 3, 2017

About Joseph Vaughan

I am a native Fire Islander who has traveled in the Islands & loves the peaceful and relaxing feeling of being at the beach.

Joseph Vaughan purchased this bungalow in 1997

Why Joseph Vaughan chose Fire Island

Fire Island is in my blood & this house has the charm that makes me feel fortunate that I was able to purchase this one of a kind home.

What makes this bungalow unique

I enjoy walking the beach late at night with a drink in my hand and the stars looking so bright because you are far away from the lights of the City or the Island. I enjoy watching sunsets that are so brilliant with colors that it makes you feel that it is surreal.

Map

Car: not necessary

Amenities

Ocean Bay Park Bungalow Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • bungalow
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Beach View
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Master Bedroom - 1 queen , With access to a private terrace, on 2nd floor
    2nd Fl Bedroom - 2 twin/ single , The twin beds can either be pushed together or pulled apart.
    Captain's Bunk Bedroom - 1 twin/ single , 1 bunk bed , The beds are perpendicular to each other.
    The Cabin - 1 double , This is a private bedroom in the back of the house.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys ...
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 4 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • nude beach
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • shelling
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
Notes:
Beach Chairs, Beach Umbrellas, Beach Games, Fishing Pole, Deck Furniture, Games, Boogie Board, Tennis Rackets

Reviews

3.5/5 -
(2 traveler reviews)

50% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
50% Complete
0% Complete
Fire Island Beach Bungalow with 4 Bedrooms 2 Bathrooms
average rating of 3.5 based on 2 reviews
2

disappointed... and more.

  • 2 of 5

This house was airless and cramped. Everything was musty. When we arrived, the fridge and freezer were filled with old food that prior tenants had left. The bathrooms are old and so small that you can't sit on the loo without your knees hitting the doors. The deck sliding door lock didn't work. Try as we may, we couldn't get it to lock - so the house was unlocked all the time. Worst of all, weeks after we left the house very neat and clean (in fact cleaner than we found it - the house had been cleaned only superficially when we arrived) the owner accused us of burning and ruining his kitchen counter tops. We did no such thing. He only returned part of our security deposit. Be smart. Look elsewhere.

  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This review is due to the tenant had damaged a brand new Mahogany butcher block and they did not want to take responsibility. We had to have it repaired & kept the cost to a minimum by charging $200 of $600 deposit to have handyman strip counter to new condition so that the next renter had the counter in pristine condition. As for the cleanliness of house it is cleaned by an outside cleaning service on Fire Island that has been business for over 10 years and used in many rental houses by Landlords. The fridge is left stocked with condiments only such as ketchup, mustard, dressings, etc. & at your request the cleaning service will remove. Bathrooms are small but adequate and the main living area is perfect for late night entertaining but the main reason you are on Fire Island is to be outside. We have a lot of deck space and equip it with outdoor furniture that accommodates the desires of tenants. Our house is always rented & we have been doing this for over 14 years with tons of repeat customers. So when taking into account this tenants review please think about whether it is right for someone to damage another persons house and not expect to pay for the repair???
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
New York
5

Perfect Beach House

  • 5 of 5

Spent 6 glorious days with Hubs , our daughter, her husband and our 3 grandchildren (and our dog ) at this fab beach house. Was perfect for us. My grandaughter and I got to sleep late in the separate bedroom away from the morning buzz, our 2 grandsons took turns on the top bunk and there are 2 other large bedrooms. The kitchen was well equipped even had some condiments and spices we forgot. Everything you need for fire island is there, more towels than you can imagine, beach chairs, umbrellas, bikes even flashlights! A quick zip down the boardwalk and you are on one of the most fabulous and uncrowded beaches you have ever seen. Next time you are looking to get away try this place, the ferry ride costs a lot less than airfare but it takes you a world away.

  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional
This calendar has not been updated in over 2 months and the availability shown may not be accurate.

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $150
Pet Fee $50

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties