Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927


Bedrooms 3
Space 1,250 sq ft
Property type chateau / country house
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

Chateau / Country House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 7)

Original Homestead of the Cragin Family in 1906. This Historic 3-4 bedroom home has been completely remodeled with 2 full bathrooms.

Private 32' fishing pier, Full kitchen, washer dryer, A/C, electric grill, outdoor fire pit, all towels & linens provided!

We now have WiFi for our guests!

Our 2 story home rests on a bluff 30' above the Southern shores of the new 2500 Acre Buffalo Lake! Our new $12M dollar dam is now complete!

Bring your fishing poles and boat to our new launch ramps and dock at your own private pier in front of our house!

With 2 huge cedar decks overlooking the property's 270' of private shoreline you are sure to relax in peace. Large campfire area off yard side deck.

Bald Eagle, Great Blue Heron comb the shoreline. Beautiful sunsets and stars like you have never seen each night.Wood burning stove with ample campfire wood provided for those star filled evenings.

Short 30 min drive to Wisconsin Dells/Baraboo attractions. Why stay in a crowded room/resort when you can have a whole private house to yourself for the same price!

Yet just 4 miles to downtown Montello. Grocery, gas, bars, restaurants, movie theater, antiques, crafts, bait shop, boat rentals.

Fully equipped kitchen with all appliances including pots pans silverware and plates. Pack light and come on over and relax!

Master Bedroom fully carpeted, with spectacular view of lake & has new Verlo Queen size mattress. Huge 5' walk in shower with 2 smaller bedrooms on 2nd floor. Fully carpeted with all linens provided. All you need to bring is you!

Bedroom 2 fully carpeted, has double Verlo firm mattress bed, dresser with TV/DVD in room with view of lake.

Bed 3 has twin bed with extra twin mattress for extra guest along with TV/DVR combo and view of lake.

Murphy bed room is fully carpeted with queen size Verlo firm mattress & dresser for clothes, just off 2nd floor bathroom with huge 5' walk in shower.

Watch for bald eagle,geese & duck. Electric grill on deck ready for that quick burger or dog, no charcoal or propane to light. Less then 30 minutes away from the Wisconsin Dells Attractions without the crowds!

Property on a bluff of the southern shores with many pine trees.

Easy off road parking for 4 vehicles off street and room for trailer.

Main floor has sofa next to bathroom along with 2 super comfortable chairs & couch. Game table and 32' Flat screen TV with DVD Player

Large decks to gaze those star filled nights, Beautiful sunsets off lake side deck to end your day.

Why stay in an expensive, small, noisy hotel resort when you can have a whole quiet 2 story house to yourself!

Keywords: Lake house with 270 feet private shoreline on the Southern shores of Buffalo Lake. Why stay in a crowded hotel resort when you can have your own quiet home!

More Details

Steve & Judy
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 26, 2018

About Steve & Judy

We have been enjoying our summer home since it has been completed with our children, family and friends. There is Drews Tavern at the Dam (great pizza & rib-eye sandwiches-

Buffalo Lake Lodge on C has best BBQ ribs and buffalo burgers

Granite Falls Supper Club in Downtown Montello near the waterfalls has all you can eat fish, chicken & ribs with all the fix-ens every Friday night.

JT's Causeway in Packwaukee within 10 minute drive for drinks and great local music

Steve & Judy purchased this chateau / country house in 2005

Why Steve & Judy chose Montello

Only 3 hours from our home in Glenview, Illinois. Town of Montello is only a 5 minute drive and has full super market, gas, movie theater and several great restaurants. Yet only a short drive to the Dells attractions but away from the tourism. Several restaurants in town with way better prices than the Dells

What makes this chateau / country house unique

Early morning walks along the properties 270' of shore and the fantastic sunsets each night are sure to decompress your busy lifestyle


Montello Chateau / Country House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chateau / country house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1250 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • not suitable for children ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Away From It All
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Stove ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • 1st floor full bath with tub/shower new sink with granite counter and marble floors 2nd floor bath has 5' walk in shower with glass doors, marble tile and wood ceiling
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
  • Queen size Beds (1) Verlo mattress in master bedroom, (1) double bed in west bedroom with window fan and tv/vcr combo, single trundle bed in east bedroom with window fan and tv/vcr combo with extra twin mattress if needed, Murphy Beds (1) Queen size Murphy bed can be pulled from the wall at 2nd floor if needed. Includes sheets, pillows and blanket. Not private but great for kids and next to huge bathroom
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • limited accessibility ...
  • cinemas
  • library
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
This 2 story home has been completely remodeled and has over 270' of private riverfront on the southern shores of Buffalo Lake near Montello, Wisconsin in Marquette County Wisconsin. Huge 25'X 10' cedar deck overlooks the lake and private 40' pier. If privacy is what you are looking for this is the place.


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(22 traveler reviews)

77% Complete
4% Complete
4% Complete
4% Complete
9% Complete
average rating of 4.3636365 based on 22 reviews

Quiet Lakeside getaway

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time staying at this property. The house had enough space for 6 of us. It had everything we needed and then some extras. We played horseshoes and lawn darts everyday. We kayaked off of the dock, it was a little tricky getting down there but we just took our time and were very careful. The lake had a significant amount of algae, nothing that can be controlled by the owner, which made fishing a little tricky. However, we thoroughly enjoyed sitting on the deck everyday taking in the view and peacefulness of being right on the lake. The home and overall property are very well taken care of, there was plenty of firewood and great trees that we were able to hang hammocks in. Steve and Judy suggested a few places to visit in Montello and they were wonderful! This property is not very far from the Dells, we drove there one morning and were back by mid afternoon. We also visited Devil's Lake, which was amazing! We would definitely stay here again and we can not thank Steve and Judy enough for opening up their home. It was a much needed getaway.

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad you enjoyed the peacefulness of the lakeside deck. The view alone can decompress you very quickly from everyday stress. We look forward to you visiting again next year.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Time good place for Fishing

  • 5 of 5

Everything went smoothly

Good lake front house great for kayaking fishing etc

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 1 of 5

When we rented this property the owner asked me if I wanted to go through them and save $100. I agreed to go through owner directly and not VRBO. BIG MISTAKE!

First problem All communications was through emails no verbal communication.

when I did try to reach out to owner, I had to contact the house greeter who had a number that could reach him. He never contacted my directly.

Second....One of my emails was about the lake, was there anything to know about the lake. I have kids in middle school and wanted to know all the details about the lake. The only response was "it gets quite weedy late summer"...... As we found out, Buffalo Lake has A LOT of algae covering the shore and out in the lake. No one was in the water on the water or fishing! The neighbor confirmed that it is always like this in the summer! That is an important fact to know! You should also know that farmland with crops are near by, which means that there is chemical run off into this lake.

Third fact was that they don't tell you that you don't walk out the sliding glass door to pier. The basement is locked because it is full of "owners stuff", So you have to walk around the house down a rock/foliage pathway. Again this should be disclosed as some people may have issues with walking down this.

Fourth fact, the bugs around this house is incredible, bring A LOT of bug spray, also the refrigerator had some funk on the bottom of it.

We chose NOT to stay here and texted the owner, called and left a voice mail that we were not staying here.

He only texted back that "it could rain or wind could blow the algae away. He has no control over that"

He does have control however, over telling you that the lake is unusable in the summer due to the lake being covered in algae!

It was a HUGE financial loss for us as we rented for a week and never spent a night there.

I think all the reviews here are family and friends that are sure to write more to bury this review.

*It did take me some time to write this review as I was so angry about this. I wanted to convey facts and not my anger.

This was a horrible experience renting from this owner, he is only in this to make a quick buck for himself.

  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Unfortunately all lakes in the area have surrounding farmland which empty into the Fox watershed. Long hot summers cause algae bloom and fish habitat to increase. Wind direction dictates where it blows not us. Our family boats/tubes/swims in the lake every weekend we possibly can. Yes there are bugs outside, I mean this is a wooded area in Wisconsin on a lake right? You have the right not to stay at any property, but if you elect to take a loss because of mother nature that is your choice as well. We can only control the condition of the house inside & out which was immaculate as always. We have a beautiful home and every review is from an actual VRBO guest which is the only way you can post a review. May we suggest a water park in the Dells next time. No bugs, chlorinated water. The 2 bedroom suites start at $641 per night. Good Luck!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


  • 3 of 5

The family had a great time.

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beware of Bats Inside

  • 1 of 5

The good is that the view off the back deck is incredible, great privacy, the lake water is very clear and good fishing off dock. The beds are not comfortable at all, I had to sleep on the couch. Our stay ended badly when my wife woke up at 4 am to go to the bathroom and there were bats swarming in the upstairs bedroom area. We hurried our kids out of the bedrooms and into the car parked in front of the house. We could see bats entering the house near the roof. The owner later claimed they had the house inspected for bats and found it clear. I would be weary as owners deny there is a bat problem inside the house, but bats were in the upstairs bedroom area during our stay.

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Yes the view off the lakeside deck is awesome. Our beds are new Verlo Firm mattresses which most love, unfortunately if you like a soft one it may not be comfortable for you. There is a foam mattress topper pad in the closet if needed. I remember 11 years ago a bat got in the house once upstairs before we had new windows and screens installed. We checked all the windows and the screens are fine. We sometimes see them through the skylight in the bathroom above the house in the sky as well, they keep the insects to a minimum.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

The property was GREAT! Very private, clean and gorgeous!

  • 5 of 5

The home had everything we needed. From pots and pans to garbage bags. The upstairs shower is absolutely gorgeous. I always worry about water pressure when staying away from home and there were no worries here. The lake is very clear. At night we heard a lot of bullfrogs, we saw blue Herron, seagulls, squirrels and bats. All the bedrooms upstairs were really nice and the beds were very comfortable. The kitchen appliances left nothing to be desired. We loved all of the privacy this home had to offer. It was only about 10 minutes from the town of Montello and a short trip to Portage to get to a WalMart. I would recommend bringing a streaming device for television as it does state in the description that there is no cable. There were plenty of towels and linens. There is a very nice granite table on the deck overlooking the lake which accommodated our part of 7 nicely. Thank you so much for having us!

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad you had a great time. The abundance of wildlife around the house is amazing to watch. Although we do have WiFi and a DVD player for movies. We do not have TV as we come here to get away from reality. We look forward to you staying with us again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Original Wisconsin Ducks
House on the Rock
Everyone should see this amazing place at least once in their life. 1 hour drive through bea...
Circus World Museum
If you love the circus. This is the place only 40 minutes from the house. Plan to spend the ...
Devil's Lake State Park
Great swimming along with a beautiful 40 minute drive through Sauk County from our home. Sma...
observation point, marquette county, wi
Just a 15 minute drive from our home to the highest point in Marquette County. Spectacular v...
Granite Falls Supper Club
Friday Night All you can eat fish , chicken & ribs $10.95 is the best! Tell Mike & Brenda we...
Rendezvous Paddle & Sports
Food, canoe, kayak, raft rental
Sparks Grill
Best and fastest breakfast in Wisconsin.
Yahooz Sports Bar & Grill
Fun in town bar with pool table and games. Drink specials, lots of TV's and good bar food an...
Jeff's Rivers Edge
Great local fare in town on the river. Huge Gyros, burgers save room for ice cream shop next...
Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Nearest Barpub
3 Miles
Drews-Yahoos-Granite Falls
Nearest Ferry
29 Miles
salk county
Nearest Golf
6 Miles
Tahl Acres
Nearest Train
30 Miles
portage amtrack
Nearest Motorway
4 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
4 Miles
Granite Falls-Buffalo Lake Lodge
Nearest Ski
29 Miles
Cascade-Christmas Mountain
Nearest Beach
front of house
Nearest Point of Interest
4638 County Road K
Car: necessary

Short 30 minute drive to Wisconsin Dells Area attractions Tommy Bartlet Water & Air Show, Noah's Ark Water Park, Lost Canyon, Devils Lake State Park, Circus World Museum, Ho Chuck Casino, Crusin' Chubby's, Wisconsin Duck Rides. Amish Village, Tahl Acres Golf Course.

Just 3.5 miles away is the 1800's town of Montello where you can find Spark's Breakfast Restaurant, Granite Falls Supper Club, a full grocery store with a bakery and liquor store, antique shops, gas, tackle and live bait, movie theater & ice cream parlor.

Downtown also has a beautiful waterfall, Friday Nights Granite Falls Supper Club has all you can eat fish, chicken & ribs for $11.95 you can't beat it.

Best ribs in county at Buffalo Lake Lodge on County Road C, and fantastic pizza & Burgers at The Chateau on 23 &51. There is a movie cinema in town. Tahl Acres Golf Course/bowling is about 20 minutes north in Westfield.

Kayak and canoe rental available in town


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $50
Damage Deposit $400

Nightly rate for up to 7 persons Taxes and cleaning fee of $50.00 on all reservations. A refundable $400 security is required with all reservations

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties