Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Exclusive Luxury apartment in a prime location,in the center of town

Sleeps4
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Space 990 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

My exclusive spacious home for you to enjoy

My apartment is in a house with two other apartments, with a private garden.

The interior and the exclusive furniture’s are of the highest standard. Collection of artwork, for you to enjoy. See photos

The apartment is approximately 92 sq meters (990 sq feet) large living room, master bedroom with a balcony; second room my office with a sofa bed.

Bathroom with a separate shower (power) section heated floor and a cupboard with a new washing & dryer machine.

?Facilities and utensils include: Bath, hairdryer, refrigerator dishwasher, gas stove, grinder/mini blender, toaster, wireless internet, towels and down duvet, special blinds in view of our midnight sun. Free parking space at all times.

In short I am sharing with you everything I require for myself, being a bit spoiled!

The street Melhagi is one of the most sought after location in Reykjavik.

A prime location.

Two minutes walk to the popular geochemical swimming pool Vesturbæjarlaugin, with steam room and sauna. Next to a great supermarket, café and a pharmacy.

Three minutes walk to Radisson SAS, where the fly bus stops.

20 minutes walk to the center of Reykjavík

More Details

Owner
Gísli
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english, swedish, norwegian
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 24, 2017

About Gísli

My name is Gísli Örn Lárusson. I am Icelandic.

For past twelve years I have been spending most of time time abroad in London where I have a base, but do travel a lot.

Still my heart is were my home is in my apartment at Melhagi Reykjavík, where most of my personal things are - apart from my books, which I have not managed to unpack.

You will no doubt note that in my apartment Buddha is dominating, for the reason that his wisdom has influenced greatly my own life.

I do sincerely hope that you will feel comfortable in my tranquil home

Gísli purchased this apartment in 2007

Why Gísli chose Reykjavik

This property is different from most apartments offered in Reykjavík, designed to host guests mainly during the summer season.

My apartment is my home, where I am offering to share with you, as mentioned above.

What makes this apartment unique

My sister Erna Svala, who is moving back to Iceland first week in July after having lived in various places for past 14 years.

She will be managing my apartment, living only 5 minutes away

Her profile includes for example - She will be delighted to advice, arrange and recoman where to go for dinner etc.

Residence Manager

British Embassy in Denmark

April 2008 – August 2010 (2 years 5 months)

I organised all events, dinner parties and other gatherings done by the British Embassy plus other companies working in co-operation with the Embassy. I was also in charge of running the Residence of the British Embassy and the staff working there

Map

Vesturbæjarlaug, a wonderful swimming pool, with hot tubs, sauna and steam rooml
Nearest Airport
34 Kilometres
Keflavík Airport is 55 km away
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Radison SAS, Hotel Saga 5 minutes walk
Nearest Golf
2.3 Miles
Seltjarnarnes - 4 km
Nearest Beach
0.3 Kilometres
The swimming pool Vesturbaejarlaug, 2 minuts walk
Car: not necessary

Radison SASm Hotel Saga, has a spa, treatment centre and a hairdresser.

Melabúdin, a great supermarket is 3 minutes walk.

5 minutes walk to the seaside, where a walking, running, biking track is around Reykjavik

Amenities

Old West Side Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 990 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • New bathroom, very exclusive tiled with a separate shower room. Exclusive towels. As well is there a build in washing &drying machine
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 4
  • The main bedroom has a solid good bed, with special down duvets. The blinds are especially made for 24 hour daylight, to keep the light out. The second bedroom has a brand new sofa bed. All duvet and pillow covers of high standard
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Lawn / Garden
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Senior Adults Only Community
  • wheelchair accessible
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • swimming
Notes:
The apartment included all what I require - Being a cosmopolitan, world traveller, used to exclusive lifestyle. The tranquil environment in Reykjavik and especially my apartment ,fills me with energy and peace of mind. Get totally re-energized when in my apartment. Go every day to the swimming pool, which for me is a Gem For example living in busy London and traveling, I like to be without TV in Iceland. I use my computer if I need to know what is taking place in the world.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(38 traveler reviews)

73% Complete
23% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Exclusive Luxury apartment in a prime location,in the center of town
average rating of 4.7105265 based on 38 reviews
5

A lovely apartment in a convenient family neighborhood.

  • 5 of 5

We (retired couple) stayed here for four nights after a cruise; it was good to have room to spread out in this apartment with wonderful art and comfortable furniture. The location was good for us: away from touristy bustle, but with downtown a walk-able distance. There is also a bus stop only a block away, a nearby market for breakfast food, and a bistro where we had a delicious dinner one night. Kitchen is well-equipped, bathroom modern (but shower floor slippery--beware), and all rooms sunny and attractive. Gisli was available by email to answer all our questions and was a most welcoming host.

  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Have be very fortunate having fantastic guests staying at my Home in Reykjavík this summer. Thanks !! Gísli
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Toronto, Canada
4

Great apartment in safe area of Reyjkavik

  • 4 of 5

Enjoyed staying in this very spacious apartment located in a family oriented neighbourhood, brief walk to supermarket, cafe, delicious ice cream shop, thermal bathing pool and within 20 minutes walking through lovely neighborhoods to old harbour or downtown Reyjkavik. Free street parking available most times. Well equipped kitchen; easy arrangements and access/departure. Only disappointment was internet access not working. Highly recommend for long or short stays.

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: To have Gloria and her partner was pleasure. Would strongly recommend anyone to boast them. Thanks Gísli
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great location.

  • 4 of 5

I would recommend this house because the location is great. It's within walking distance to downtown, there is a coffee shop and small grocery two blocks away. There is supposed to be a designated parking space, but there was no indication of where it was so we were asked to move our car once. I have notified the owner so hopefully he will provide that information to the next residents.

It is perfectly comfortable and I would stay here again if I get the opportunity to come back to Iceland.

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful Apartment close to Downtown Reykjavik

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I stayed in this lovely apartment while visiting Reykjavik for the marathon and culture night. It was the perfect spot- out of the hustle and bustle of downtown but close enough to walk. We had everything we needed to cook a few meals, slept well in the comfy bed, and enjoyed being in a quiet neighbourhood. Gisli was easy to communicate with and gave us clear instructions for check in. WE would stay here again.

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Tallahassee, Fl
4

Nice location for Reykjavik base

  • 4 of 5

This property is in good location, with easy parking, almost walking distance to downtown, and we would stay again. A few items need attention, minor upkeep mostly, like a loose door handle. Wifi internet was not working, but we got a neighbor to share their signal.

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great place and great location.

  • 5 of 5

We loved our week's stay at this apartment. The location is lovely, with a supermarket and cafe close by. It's just a short walk to the sea and the city centre is about 15 minutes away on foot.

The apartment itself is spacious and comfortable. Gisli and his daughter were very friendly and helpful if we had any problems. There is plenty of cupboard space and the main bed is a king size and comfortable. The walk-in shower is very nice.

There is no TV but we honestly didn't miss it. We would recommend this property to anyone.

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was a pleasure having Maurice and family as my guests. Would highly recommend them to anyone 👍
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties