Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Awesome!! Absolute Oceanfront Private Home w/ Pool & Spa

Bedrooms 5
Space 2,600 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights


About the property

5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms. Sleeps 16. (With 2 Q Sofabeds + 1 K Trundle Bed.)

Incredible Oceanfront Living. Fantastic Ocean Views from Living Room, Dining Room and Kitchen! Beautiful Tri-Level Custom Designed Oceanfront House with separate units, located on the water at beautiful Lyman's Bay just two miles south of Kailua Kona town. Penthouse Suite is 2BR / 2BA unit with fully equipped kitchen. Orchid Suite is also 2BR / 2BA unit with fully equipped kitchen (both sleep six). Studio Suite has full bedroom, dining area and kitchenette.

The Three Separate units allow for Togetherness when you want it and Privacy when you need it. Our previous guests always comment on this aspect of the house

Direct ocean access plus private solar heated pool and spa tub just steps from ocean. Conveniently located between Kailua town (shopping, dining, nightlife) and Magic Sands Beach (swimming, bodysurfing) and Kahaluu Beach Park (Best snorkeling plus surfing).

*** NEW! Broadband Internet access with Wireless Access Point.

More Details

Trisha Hansen and Sterling Dorje
Member since: 2004
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 17, 2018

About Trisha Hansen and Sterling Dorje

Moved to Hawaii in 2003. Worked for United Airlines for 27 yrs. as a Flight Attendant. Our mission is to provide our guests with Memories of a Lifetime. We have traveled the world to find the perfect spot for vacation travelers.. and Kona has it all !

We love to snorkel with fish and turtles, manta rays and dolphins.. even whales.

We own a home with a farm.. grow coffee , love 4 cats and one dog.

We will attend to your needs, have an On-call Concierge to book activities or find the best restaurant... get you great discounts on entertainment, luaus, heli-tours. Call Kass toll free at 855-833-4465. Come and live Your Dream !

Trisha Hansen and Sterling Dorje purchased this house in 2004

Why Trisha Hansen and Sterling Dorje chose Kailua-Kona

Kona on the ocean is the Best place to have a is relaxing or invigorating, stimulating and exciting. Life is what you make it.. Come and watch the turtles below the windows of the house pick up their little heads and breathe in air.. flap around in the surf. Go fish outside the house.. or go dive and get lobster... you can do it all.. here at Kona Shangrila !

Guestbook comments from the owner

Good morning trish and sterling -

We have had such an amazing week in your beautiful house! We want to stay another month - can you call our bosses and let them know?? Thank you for everything. The house was wonderful, comfortable and we'll stocked. We will be checking out by 11 this morning.

I wanted to let you know the clip that holds up the shower head in the 2nd floor bathroom broke last night. It just snapped in half when someone tried to rehang the shower head. We saved the broken piece because it could maybe be super glued. It's in the shower.

Thank you again for everything!


Sent from my iPad
Feb 2014
  • 1 of 53


Kailua-Kona House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 2600 sq. ft.
  • 3 stories
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 16
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Smoking allowed ...
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Waterfront
  • Family
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Computer Available
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Elevator ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Mosquito Magnet
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Safe
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Blender
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Kitchenette
  • Microwave ...
  • Mini Refrigerator
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 14 people
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • Penthouse Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , 3rd Floor Master Bedroom
    Penthouse Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , 3rd Floor Shared Bathroom
    Orchid Bathroom 3 - toilet , jetted tub , 2nd Floor Master Bedroom
    Orchid Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower , 2nd Floor Shared Bathroom
    Studio Bathroom 5 - 1st Floor Ocean Suite
  • Recently Remodeled Bathrooms with Granite Counter Tops and Luxury Fixtures.
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Top Floor
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Top Floor
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king , Middle Floor
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , Middle Floor
    Living Room 1 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , 3rd Floor Living Room
    Liviing Room 2 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , 2nd Floor Living Room
    Bedroom 5 - 1 king , 1 sleep sofa /futon , 1st Floor Studio
  • With 3 separate floors, each with its own entry, this house offers TOGETHERNESS when you want it and PRIVACY when you NEED it ! Many of our guests comment on this unique feature. Master Bedrooms have Private Baths. There is also a guest bath for the Queen Bedroom and Sofa Bed occupants.
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
  • Balcony ...
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Binoculars
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Small Cooler
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • 12 garden chairs
  • 3 beach chairs
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Indoor Hot Tub
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool ...
  • jetted tub ...
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • rain forests
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • volcano
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Spectacular Ocean Views.. Private Lanai, pool and spa tub.. Private outside shower....Outside dining next to ocean waves.... light the Tiki Torches and pool light.. you have your own Private Mini Resort...


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(59 traveler reviews)

86% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
1% Complete
0% Complete
Awesome!! Absolute Oceanfront Private Home w/ Pool & Spa
average rating of 4.8305087 based on 112 reviews

Amazing place for our group of 12

  • 5 of 5

This house ended up being the perfect set up for our three families of four! Each family had a floor to settle into and we thoroughly enjoyed cooking the majority of our meals there. The kids loved the pool and we all loved the outdoor living space! The proximity to the water was a fantastic way to fall asleep each night. We have already recommended this house to friends who want to visit the big island next year.

  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

50th Anniversary family trip

  • 5 of 5

Very nice. This was our 4th trip to the Big Island and really enjoyed it, having the family all together. Our host owners very good to deal with and we much appreciated their concerns and information regarding various instructions on the location , as well as they made sure we had some food items which we requested due to our late arrival from Prince George, B.C. Canada. The view of the ocean was spectacular. We mainly used as a home base and ate and slept there. I advised our hosts of some minor maintenance which should be done and they where very appreciative. Thanks again to our hosts Sterling and Trisha. Gilbert Rahier and Family

  • Submitted: Feb 28, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Fantastic location with great view. Cold pool.

  • 4 of 5

The only reason we are not giving this rental 5 stars is because of the swimming pool. It is listed as heated pool & it is a solar heated pool therefore the pool was never warm enough to swim in though it was nice weather.This was very disappointing. Who doesn't want to pop open a cold one & go for a dip when getting back from a long day exploring? We suggest a solar cover may help. Other MINOR problems were noisy street & tv in master didn't work. We thoroughly enjoyed EVERYTHING else about this property. Easy contact with owner.

  • Submitted: Feb 6, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Patti, Thank you for your review. We are sorry the weather Gods did not cooperate during your visit. Due to less intense sunshine the pool doesn't warm up as well during the winter months. A solar cover is difficult due to the irregular shape of the pool. Also guests tend not to use it due to the inconvenience. As we discussed, heating the pool with electricity or gas would be cost prohibitive. Hawaii has the highest utility rates in the country. Our monthly electric bill can get over $1000 easily. We were not aware of the TV in the master not working (it helps if you had let us know immediately). Glad overall you had an enjoyable stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Amherst, MA

Watching the sun set

  • 5 of 5

Eight family members, ages 13-75, enjoyed watching the sunset and eating dinner on the lanai together every night. The pool, though rather cool, was a big hit, as was the hot tub. The property is well maintained and supplied. Though it is right next to the street, noise from the traffic wasn’t a big problem. We knew to stay off the grassy area next to the house and chatted several times with that property’s owner, a Native Hawaiian. One of his relatives sometimes blew on a conch to mark the sunrise, adding to our Hawaiian experience. Next to the grass is a public access to the water and excellent snorkeling spots, where turtles and many species of fish and coral were seen. Go out on the lanai well before dawn for some amazing star-gazing! The property’s separate units (and two refrigerators!) worked well in the perfect weather we experienced, since the lanai was a natural gathering spot for everybody. If it had rained, though, there wasn’t really a big enough indoor space in any of the three units for 8 people to hang out. Lots to do and see on the Big Island!

  • Submitted: Dec 31, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Three level Home perfect for a multi family group to stay.

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our stay at Kona Shangrila. Each level is its own individual “condo” making it perfect for our multi-family vacation. Each family had its own level with bathrooms, bedrooms and kitchen. We used the middle as our group meal and hang out level. House is kept up very nicely. We loved the child proofing that was already applied to the house. The doors had high locks so our toddler couldn’t escape. We were also surprised with the amount of kid stuff as the house. We saw a stroller, pack n play, toys and even a little kid potty! Lots of sand and ocean toys too. The beds were very comfortable. Well stocked in almost everything you need. We loved the giant whole wall windows that opened, perfect for that ocean breeze to blow through. This house sits right on the ocean edge so you can hear the waves all day long, very relaxing. We didn’t pay for a/c but was fine without it. There was just one night that it was a little hot in our room but there are a bunch of fans to help with that. The outdoor space is very nice. It had a bbq which we used a couple nights. Plus tables and chairs to enjoy the weather. We were a bit disappointed with the pool. It was extremely cold so we couldn’t use it. We talked to the pool guy who says it’s suppose to be at 80 degrees but it was never that. Maybe in the summer when it’s warmer? The hot tub was low in water and needed chemical added when we got there but the pool guy took care of that. There is room to park 3 cars comfortably in the parking area but it’s hard to get out as the streets quite busy and it’s hard to see. Overall we had a great time and would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Submitted: Dec 24, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Aptly Named Shangri La

  • 5 of 5

Wonderful spacious well maintained property. All three floors offer beautiful accomodations and are well appointed. Great views of the ocean. The owners are very helpful and easy to reach. Instructions for entry were detailed and timely.

  • Submitted: Dec 12, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
11 Miles
Kailua Kona International Airport (KOA)
Nearest Barpub
3 Miles
Kona Town
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Kona Country Club
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
HWY 11
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Kona Town
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Magic Sands Beach
Car: recommended

Watch turtles in the surf below the windows, Swim, Snorkel, Scuba Dive, Boogie Board or Surf next to the Condo (experienced ocean swimmers only). Stroll to Kailua Town (3miles) for Great Dining, Shopping, Luaus. Swim and Learn to Snorkel with Turtles and Hundreds of Colorful Tropical Fish Kayak, Submarine, Glass Bottom Boats, Horseback Riding, Rainforests, Black and Green Sand Beaches, Watch Red Hot Lava Pour down the Volcano and create Land before your eyes, take a Steam Bath in a Natural Lava Cave, Hike or Bike the Volcano, Star Gaze fron the top of the Volcano, Go Whale Watching, Swim with Giant Manta Rays and Turtles, Sunset Cruises, Catamaran Rides, Best Sport Fishing in all of Hawaii- catch Ahi Tuna, Ono, Marlin - keep your catch - ask us how ! Incredible Nature untouched by Man, Botanical Gardens, Awesome Rainforests. Experience a more natural environment than on other islands... live with nature and learn about Hawaiian Culture.. Live the Dream !


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Departure Cleaning Fee $600 + Tax
Property Damage Protection $99
Admin. Fee $150 + Tax
Tax Rate 14.42%

AIR CONDITIONING IS AVAILABLE BUT NOT INCLUDED IN RATE. Optional Air Conditioning Usage Charge: $50/Night + Tax.

Hawaii Tax ID W30374196-01

Plus one time departure Cleaning Fee, $100 Damage Waiver Insurance & 13.416% Hawaii State Excise / Accom. Tax.

Minimum 5 nights. Full payment due 90 days before arrival.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund