About the property
- House1600 sqft
- Half Baths0
- Minimum Stay3 nights
BBQ from the Spacious Deck Overlooking Ocean; 3 Beds, 2 Baths & Gourmet Kitchen
* THE VIEW & THE PROXIMITY: People go to Orcas Island for Eastsound, consistently voted one of the best small towns in America (Sunset Magazine). This newer Craftsman home is perched on a hillside within walking distance of Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA. You're in the center of it all, facing South for the best sunlight & views of the mountains & the East Sound.
* CLOSE TO EVERYTHING IN EASTSOUND, including: theater, shops, restaurants, bars, grocery store, church, kayaking, sailing, skatepark, Orkila YMCA camp, Orcas Island Winery wine tasting (YUM!), Island Hoppin' brewery, whale watching, Mt. Constitution & Moran State Park (7-minute drive to amazing waterfalls!), library, live music, Farmer's Market, Odd Fellows Hall, Chamber Music Festival (ampitheatre), AMAZING massages (see Chris at Orcas Island Healing Center), wedding venues, Funhouse Commons (interactive arts & science activities for your kids!), bike rentals (mountain bikes & road bikes), Ice Cream & gelato, coffee shops, bookstores, boutiques, parades, art galaries, poetry readings (do visit the Orcas Island Performing Arts Center for a show!), and much more!
* HUGE BALCONY DECK READY FOR YOUR OUTDOOR DINING & MORNING YOGA: enjoy your coffee and tea while watching the sun rise over Mt. Constitution and the bald eagles soar over the evergreen trees & ocean. (We've actually seen the eagles & ospreys come up with 12" fish!)
* DOGS ARE MORE THAN WELCOME!! Forget putting Rufus in the kennel or boarding house, he or she will find Orcas Island just as divine as you & your kids! (Limited to one well-behaved dog per stay, except with prior approval.)
* SORRY... the pellet stove is no longer functional. The house is fully heated in every room so there is no lack of warmth or comfort. Please let us know if you have any questions about this. Thanks for your understanding.
- Response rate:
- Response time:
- within a few hours
- Calendar last updated:
- May 23, 2018
About Nicki Guyton
OHANA is the Hawaiian term for "Family," and so it was only appropriate that I proposed to my wife there (at the top of Mt. Constitution). We hope that you and your "ohana" will make many more amazing memories as you find your adventure in this special place. Many blessings, Jason, Megan, Elena, Sophia, & Jazzy the 12-yo black lab Miller Owners of The Orcas Ohana
Nicki Guyton purchased this House in 2007
Why Nicki Guyton chose Eastsound
Orcas Island is a one-in-a-million experience. I felt it immediately upon my first visit, and within no time at all, I’d gone and purchased this gorgeous home overlooking the ocean with the intention of writing my next book there. I'll never forget my first night sleeping on Orcas Island, lying on the living room hardwood floor in a sleeping bag, looking up at the full moon rising over Mt. Constitution. They say that Orcas Island is the home of an energy vortex, centered over Indian Island (walkable from Eastsound village when the tide is out!). I can certainly attest that there is some kind of magic in the air up there. Nobody who has visited our home has been disappointed... just look at our 60+ 5-Star Reviews for confirmation of that! :)
What makes this House unique
Location, Location, Location! Walkability is key. Especially when you're traveling as a group, when everyone wants to go in different directions and explore different features of downtown Eastsound. Book a massage at the Healing Arts Center (with the most amazing bodyworker we've EVER experienced, Chris), uncork a great bottle of Northwest Pinot, and enjoy the beautiful sound of... yourself relaxing. (Just writing this really makes me want to hop in the car and drive up to Orcas Island!) Enjoy.
Pool / Spa
Local Services & Businesses
Sports & Adventure Activities
Check-in: 3:00 PM
Check-out: 10:00 AM
100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date. You must contact the owner directly to request cancellation.
Great location to everything. The house was great for our family stay. Everything thing was great
Very basic option for pet friendly rental that is close to Eastsound, but don't expect too much
We stayed over the Christmas holiday. The key code didn't come through form the manager correctly and my husband got there without proper information to get inside the home.
We found the home to be only minimally supplied in terms of kitchen housewares. It was lacking in baking ware and the tableware was quite unpleasant- cheap plastic cups, weird shot glasses, mismatched dishes and a lack of cooking utensils.The bedding was mostly synthetic stuff you would buy at Target.
We had wanted to use the pellet stove for ambience considering Santa and Christmas, and it was out of commission, which we were not told in advance. This was a big downer for us, although the manager claimed to have told us in advance.
We had thought we would be traveling with my mother in law's small dog, so chose this for that reason. There was a lot of pet fur on the rugs but we understand it is difficult to fully clean fur from a dog friendly space. If you have a dog you wouldn't mind this though, if you have allergies don't stay here.
I could see how this home would suit the needs of folks during the summer season when restaurants are open and you can eat out, but in the off season it felt like an overpriced lack luster experience.
There is quite a bit of noise form the local airport and the hot water tank is not large enough to heat the jacuzzi, so I wouldn't include that as a feature.
We travel a lot and have our own home listed on VRBO, so I understand the impact of leaving a not wonderful review and still felt this was necessary.
I did purchase the VRBO insurance and that was lucky as the owners filed a claim for both a comforter (which I believe ink was spilled on by one of our kids- our fault) as well as an already damaged blind that had nothing to do with our stay. I would be upset if I had to pay the $100 for this but considering I bought the insurance I didn't feel it was appropriate to argue.
The home is suburbia/ Target/ polyester with tacky decor, but for accessing the town of Eastsound in the summertime I think that this is a good option for folks with pets who don't need fancy.
Lastly I will note that the manager was friendly when we requested a "late" checkout (normal is 10am) for Noon on Dec 27th, but the housecleaner did not seem pleased about this and considering they had no bookings for weeks it felt like an additional lack of customer service to be rushed off .
Thank you for your feedback, Jeramie. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. We tried to accommodate you in all of your requests. Please remember there are two sides to every situation. We felt you were very disrespectful of our home, our property and our house cleaner.
We spent Thanksgiving week at this house. Everything was really nice. It had all the amenities including beautiful scenery.
Very comfortable for four people.
Thanks Shari! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We hope you come back and stay with us again :)
The house, the view we're all wonderful.
Deer and rabbits spotted, birds and
blackberries. Everything In place and
Isn't the wildlife great?! I'm so glad that you saw the deer and rabbits, it's so fun. We are very happy that you enjoyed your trip!
It was nice up on the hill. A view of the bay, small but nice. Deer walking around.
The house was nice. Cool in the shade. Kitchen well equipped. It was odd when a realtor stopped by wondering why we had not checked out. They wanted to show the place. We had just checked in for a 3 day stay. Odd but they went away
We are so sorry for any inconvenience, Jim. That was definitely not planned and no one should have stopped by during your stay. We hope you give us a try again, we would gladly offer a discount on your next stay. Thanks!
Gorgeous home with a killer kitchen and room for the whole gang
My husband and I had a wonderful stay at Ohana with my sister and her husband, 3 kids, and dog. The house is quite lovely - nicely decorated with plenty of seating space in the great room for all. It has a spacious, well-equipped kitchen (including a nice variety of spices in the cupboard), coffee maker with filters, and a toaster. (Note: Bring some sox or flip flops to wear inside as the owners ask that you leave your outdoor shoes at the front door). We enjoyed walking into town for ice cream or to visit the many shops along the way, and the grocery store there is well stocked with reasonable prices. We took several hikes, including up to Mount Constitution from Mountain Lake (taking the inland loop from the lake gets the steepest most challenging 1 1/2 mile part of the hike done first and finishes with a lovely walk along the lake - 7.3 m). The 360 view at the top is breathtaking so bring your camera. All in all a great trip - we're definitely planning to come again! The only negative was a bit of traffic noise from the main road just down the street, mostly noticeable when sitting out on the balcony.
Rates & Availability
Additional information about rental rates
Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed. Note about the cleaning and trash fee. Orcas Island has a very limited trash and recycling program and thus is an expensive process to home owners. We hope you understand that there are no landfills here on Orcas - the islands would be unlivable in a very short time. We include the trash and recycling removal fee in our reservations to cover the cost that we incur to haul and dump after each reservation. The house may be for sale at any given time and the owner has the right to cancel reservations or notify guests that the house will be transferring ownership. Of course, our guests are top priority and the owner would make any and all effort to not inconvenience guests if the house sells. Thank you!