Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Private 1 Acre Hillside Hacienda

Bedrooms 3
Half Baths1
Space 3,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights


About the property

Single Story House, 3 Bedrooms

Come feel the ambiance of Old Mexico in this spacious hacienda-style home with large, arched windows capturing 180 degree views of Mt. Sopris & the Frying Pan & Roaring Fork River Valley. Marble, granite, tile, limestone & large, log vigas enhance the interior design. Enjoy the amenities of the dramatic Great Room with the spacious high ceilings, fully equipped kitchen, dining room & inviting, sunken living room with the Natural Boulder fireplace & Indoor Atrium. Relax in the large, comfortable family room that host a TV, DVD & Stereo system with surround sound installed in both living areas as well as the outside veranda. Three, large bedrooms with queen beds await you at days end. The master bed & bath hosts a marble jacuzzi tub, skylight & access to the back veranda & gardens.

Breathe the clean, fresh mountain air as you meander among multi-tiered gardens with elaborate stone walkways & viewing platforms totally surrounded by open space. Dine on one of three enchanting patios to the serenade of a tranquil stream & waterfall. Glimpse the occasional wildlife as they traverse through this park like setting.

While surrounded by all this nature, the town of Basalt rests within walking distance & offers unique boutiques, art galleries & a sumptuous variety of exceptional restaurants. Aspen & it's sister resort, Snowmass Village, with their world renowned ski slopes & shops are 20 miles south while Glenwood Springs & it's Olympic size natural, hot springs pool & vapor caves lies 22 miles north of Basalt.

Whether you enjoy the activities of winter or summer, this home will welcome you at the end of the day & you will return home from your vacation refreshed & rejuvenated. Come, experience the magic of Basalt's HILLSIDE HACIENDA.

Please contact me at 970-379-1105 if you need additional information or are interested in reserving the hacienda. Thank you. Sandra Lorton


More Details

Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
December 20, 2017

About The Owner

John & I have lived here for 35 years. We had a stone company specializing in marble, granite, tile & masonry. John designed & remodeled the home in 1998. We retired a year ago & now spend most of our time visiting our children & grandchildren who are scattered from Washington state to New Mexico. We also enjoy volunteering with Habitat for Humanity & traveling.

The Owner purchased this house in 1976

Why The Owner chose Basalt

As a child, I grew up in the San Francisco Bay Area & fell in love with the mountains when visiting family in Lake Tahoe. When the opportunity arose to move to Colorado, I jumped at it. Going from the fast pace of the city to the snail pace of the country took quite an adjustment. The population of Basalt was about 500 people; the perfect place to raise a family.

What makes this house unique

Even though the population has increased, Basalt still remains a small, peaceful, mountain town. I love waking up in the morning & looking out at the majestic, snowcapped mountain across the valley. You can't help but breathe a deep sigh of relief at the peace & quiet that surrounds you. As you walk outside, you may be greeted by two or three deer grazing on the grass or the gobble of a flock of wild turkeys sharing the hillside with you. Mother Nature never fails to amaze me. I love it here & I'd love to share what this property has to offer with others.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Wow! What a restful retreat in a little slice of heaven. You have truly created a magical space. The incredible mountain views and your fantastic decorating gave us a much needed rest. Even got surprised with a beautiful day of snow! Thank you.
Oct 2017
  • 1 of 24


Basalt House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 3 - toilet , Vanity
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Walk in shower & Vanity
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , jetted tub , Master bath with jacuzzi tub and European shower
  • 2.5
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing


Very Good! 4/5 -
(7 traveler reviews)

57% Complete
14% Complete
14% Complete
0% Complete
14% Complete
Private 1 Acre Hillside Hacienda
average rating of 4.0 based on 31 reviews

a great place for a family holiday

  • 4 of 5

The home was beautiful. Everything that you needed was provided!!!! We cooked all of our meals in this beautiful home and spent every night sitting in front of the fireplace listening to the 60's music on the surround sound system. It was an amazing trip. The only draw back was only one bathroom with a shower and 6 adults. the master bedroom had a jacuzzi tub but no shower. There was no snow or bad road conditions, which was a good thing because we never would have made it up to the house. Watching the New Years Eve fireworks from the great room was spectacular. An absolutely amazing vacation home. Thank you.

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Roberta, for your review and for choosing the Hillside Hacienda for your New Year's holiday trip to the Roaring Fork Valley. I'm happy you and your party had a great time in spite of the no snow conditions. While there is only one stand up shower, there is an European shower in the jacuzzi tub in the master bedroom. Again, thank you for your review. It was a pleasure hosting you and your family. Sincerely, Sandra Lorton HILLSIDE HACIENDA
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Dallas TX

Fabulous vacation rental

  • 5 of 5

To begin, I would like to point out that our experience renting this beautiful home was the complete opposite of the previous review. In our opinion the home was neither "run-down or dilapidated", in fact it was beautifully and lovingly taken care of and decorated. We were a party of 7 (family of 5 with our 2 young adult children accompanied by friends) who arrived late and tired. Linda (who does reside in the apartment above the garage) met us on arrival, explained some of the house amenities, where additional fire wood was, etc., then left us to settle in. The house has plenty of space to spread out and easily sleeps 8 people. In addition to the beautiful family or great room, which has a stunning view of the town and valley below, there is an additional large living room/study with large windows providing a pleasant work/study area for those in our party who needed to do so. There are 3 large bedrooms with comfortable beds/bedding and an additional smaller library that accommodated 2 twin beds. The master bedroom has a jetted tub. There is an additional large bathroom with a large walk-in shower plus another 1/2 bath adjoining the study at the other end of the house. Even with 7 people (5 being young adults/teenagers) we never had any issues re: waiting for the shower or running out of hot water. The kitchen is fully stocked with any and all cooking utensils (we were able to make Cornish Game hens for New Year's Eve dinner) and more than enough dishes. In addition, there is also a washer and dryer. Because of the season, we didn't take advantage of either of the outdoor patio areas, but enjoyed watching the wild turkeys wander around the house each morning. Linda was pleasant to work with. I would not hesitate to recommend this home and would definitely consider it again should we return to the area.

This rental would be good for families, adult friends, people with mobility issues, maybe not so much people with toddlers or younger children - sharp drop off of one patio area and the furnishings are unique.

  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Renter Beware

  • 1 of 5

The good:

-Location was nice. Close to town. Amazing views.

The Bad:

-Owners are moving, house is a bit dilapidated and run down. Building materials are scattered throughout the property.

-Owners hover above the garage as other renters mentioned. They never leave. No real privacy.

The Ugly:

-Owners refused to refund security deposit. During our stay, the steptic tank stopped working. We prodded the owners to send somewhat out to fix it, which they did immediately. About two weeks after our stay, I emailed them to check on the status of the deposit. At that point, the owner replied that due to the septic tank repair, they would not be refunding the deposit. They also insinuated that this was our fault, and perhaps our guest with a baby had flushed a diaper down the toilet. The response was ridiculous and outrageous. And I found it revealing that they didn't mention they would be withholding the deposit in person at the time of the incident. I asked for a copy of the receipt and proof of her claim. They sent the receipt which revealed the septic needed a standard repair / snaking. I have been using vrbo for years, and have never had an issue like this before and/or not received my security deposit back. Put a damper on what was otherwise a wonderful vacation with family on the slopes.

  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2016
  • Stayed: March 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: First let me respond with what the guests wrote in our guest book: John & Sandra, Your house is truly fantastic. We enjoyed dinners in and the Town of Basalt is great. We had fantastic weather for cross-country skiing, hiking up Snowmass, and great downhill skiing with fresh powder. We hope to be back next year at this same time. Dave & Denise/Alberto & Jessica Vineland, NJ/Kansas City, MO The four guests arrived on Saturday and then invited 3 of their family or friends from Denver to join them, with permission from the owners. The new guests arrived on Monday or Tuesday with a baby. The sewer backed up on Wednesday which required an after hours call to the local plumbing company. My husband was with the plumber when he snaked out the pipe leading to the septic tank. What came back out of the sewer pipe was, what the plumber called, the remains of a diaper. My husband described it as a plastic/cloth like material. The guests from Denver left the next (Thursday) morning, thanking me for their wonderful stay and taking care of the plumbing issue so quickly. I did not see Jessica and the rest of the original party leave on the next Saturday morning but when I went to clean the house, I found the corner, circular cabinet in the kitchen totally broken and off it's center. When I mentioned this to her, via email, she claimed it had been broken when they arrived. The welcome booklet left on the kitchen counter specifically says that upon arrival, please inspect the house, kitchen cabinets, etc. and let us know immediately if anything needs attention. This she did not do because I know the cabinet was not broken when they arrived. My husband and I do live on the property, totally separate from the main house. We are the caretakers, maintenance personnel. If anything goes wrong, we want to be there to take care of it. This is a disgruntled guest who because she didn't get her deposit back is writing this negative review. What she needs to do is collect her security deposit from the guests she invited from Denver who caused the back-up. By the way, this is the first security deposit we have withheld in the five years we've been renting through VRBO. We are delighted with 99% of guests that we host and love seeing them come back year after year. They are kind, considerate and respectful of the property they are renting. Unfortunately, there is a 1%. Sandra Lorton
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0
Kansas City

Awesome house; awesome owners

  • 5 of 5

We recently stayed at Hillside Hacienda while in the Aspen area for our daughter's wedding. Aspen/Basalt is a beautiful area, but the highlight of our trip (other than a beautiful wedding) was staying at the Hillside Hacienda. It is a "jaw dropper" wife and family couldn't believe what a beautiful house we stumbled upon. The house itself is fantastic...beautiful furnishings, beautiful artwork and adornments, great living and resting spaces and a great location just above Basalt. We were visited by "Sweetie," a wild turkey who stopped by for a bit of corn, and enjoyed the fantastic mountain views from each of the patios.

John and Sandra are wonderful, gracious hosts and we all enjoyed meetng them. They are full of great ideas and tips for the area and are really nice people.

If you have an opportunity to stay here....DO IT!. You will love it.

  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2015
  • Stayed: June 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
New Orleans

Scenic and beautiful

  • 5 of 5

Just returned from a wonderful summer at the Hacienda. Couldn't stay at a more perfect home. Waterfall stream in backyard, gorgeous view of Sopris in the front. Interior adorned with exceptional Indian and cowboy paintings and sculptures.

Have stayed in Basalt for many summers and this was definitely our favorite! Can't wait to return.

Thank you Sandy and John.

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2014
  • Stayed: June 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great location

  • 3 of 5

Nice place but I would only recommend this place for retired couples without kids. The woman who rents this place out lives above the garage and thats way to close! She was

always home and peering out the window. She actually snapped at the end of our stay

and swore at my wife. BUZZ KILL!

  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2014
  • Stayed: April 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Too bad renters can't respect the rules. The house has a maximum occupancy of 8 and a departure of 10 am. This party had additional guests in excess of 8 and didn't leave until after 2 pm. Only bad experience!! It's a matter of respect.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1


Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Aspen Airport
Nearest Train
25 Miles
Glenwood Springs
Nearest Ski
25 Miles
Aspen Mtn./Snowmass
Car: necessary


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $250
Damage Deposit $500

A security/damage deposit and cleaning fee is required, amount dependent on length of stay. Guests will pay a booking fee that converts to the security/damage deposit upon arrival to secure the dates with 50% of the balance due 60 days from arrival and the remaining balance due 30 days from arrival.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties