Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Panoramic Views, Romantic, 10 Acres, Private Ocean Front, Pvt Decks & Hot Tubs

Bedrooms 2
Half Baths1
Space 1,800 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

2 BR/2 BA House and/or 1 BR/1 BA Cottage: ID 3602870, Ocean Views, Deck,Hot Tub

The MoonStar House ID 3596096 and/or Cottage ID 3602870 feature a romantic setting on a bluff overlooking the Pacific Ocean. The cottage and house are next door to each other, but not exactly side by side. The cottage is more forward and separated by plants, bushes and a rustic grape stake fence, which gives the feeling of privacy or isolation, and not a sense having "next-door-neighbors." We have yet to have any complaints on this score. Both the house and cottage have their own completely private decks and hot tubs. They are located on ten wooded acres of private property bordering the ocean, perfect for hiking, picnicking and communing with nature. There are numerous breathtaking ocean views, as well as, a charming brook, footbridge and waterfall. PLEASE NOTE: The House and Cottage can be rented together or separately to accommodate up to 6 people. Both the House and Cottage have their own property listings (HOUSE ID #359 6096 and COTTAGE ID #360 2870) and CALENDARS or you can call (800) 331-3836 or 707-884-3836 for booking availability (base nightly rate: House $265 and Cottage $245 less 30% beginning 4th night).

1) THE HOUSE has two bedrooms, two bathrooms, a large living/dining room area and a fully equipped kitchen with dishwasher. All areas feature large picture windows, beautiful aged redwood interior, large skylights, and stained glass. It is tastefully furnished, very cozy and romantic. It has a gas fireplace with views of the ocean, sunset and stars that are incredible. Also included is complimentary high-speed wireless Internet, free local and long distance phone service, free Netflix streaming and Pandora Radio. 2) THE COTTAGE has 1 bedroom, 1 bathroom, a large living/dining room area and a small fully equipped kitchen area. All areas feature large picture windows with ocean views, large star gazing skylights, and stained glass. It is tastefully furnished, very cozy and romantic. It has a gas fireplace with views of the ocean, sunset and stars that are incredible. Also included is complimentary high-speed wireless Internet, free local and long distance phone service, and free Netflix streaming and Pandora Radio.

Explore the wonderful local art galleries and studios or just relax on the deck with your laptop or a good book.

NOTE: The MoonStar HOUSE and MoonStar COTTAGE may be rented INDIVIDUALLY or TOGETHER to accommodate up to 6 people. Please Note: The Calendar shows the booked reservations for the MoonStar House only. to view the Cottage calendar, see VRBO/HomeAway PROPERTY ID: 36100

More Details

Property Manager
Property Manager
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 17, 2018

What makes this house unique

Breathtaking Ocean Views from inside the house as well as outside on the private deck. Beautiful 10 Acres for walking/hiking, Romantic, Serene Setting.


Gualala House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Min. age of primary renter: 18 ...
  • Not suitable for children ...
  • Parties/events allowed ...
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Downtown ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront
  • Rural ...
  • Village ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 5 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Shower/tub, sink, skylight. Toilet is in seperate room
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , Seperate toilet room is side-by-side to half-bath room
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , Custom tiled with large skylight
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Stunning ocean view via side-by-side sliding door and window
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Large skylight over the bed for star gazing
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • forests
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • surfing
PLEASE NOTE: The description above is for the MoonStar House only. However, the Amenities and Description for the Moon Star Cottage is essentially the same, except the Cottage had one bedroom and one bathroom. Both the House and Cottage can be rented separately or together. The base nightly rate for the House is $265.00 and the Cottage is $245.00. For specific information regarding the Cottage, the listing number for the Cottage is: 3602870


Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(13 traveler reviews)

69% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
15% Complete
7% Complete
Panoramic Views, Romantic, 10 Acres, Private Ocean Front, Pvt Decks & Hot Tubs
average rating of 4.1538463 based on 13 reviews


  • 5 of 5

I have had the pleasure of staying at the Moonstar House and Cottage on a number of occasions over the last several years. It has a rustic charm with incredible views of the Pacific Ocean. I love listening to the crashing waves day in and day out during our stays. Relaxing in the hot tub, right on the bluffs edge.

We love it so much that we got married right there on the deck. It was intimate and beautiful. Just what we wanted.

The home is well maintained with plenty of dish ware and flatware, pots and pans, coffee maker, toaster, blender, etc. Comfortable, clean beds and furniture.

The grounds are spectacular. With walking trails, some railroad tie stairs and the occasional sitting area to take in the views. There is even a waterfall on the grounds.

The drive to Anchor Bay is less than 10 minutes and there is a great Thai Restaurant, coffee shop, hardware store, laundry, grocery, etc. and the town of Guallala is just a few more minutes down the road. It has a few more boutique type shops, art galleries and a book store, as well as, The Surf Market. Just about 20 minutes north of the property is Point Arena, it's got a movie theatre and restaurants too.

The city of Mendocino is about a 45 minute drive and the giant redwoods aren't too far for an afternoon outing. I'm looking forward to that on our next trip up to stay at the beautiful, cozy and comfortable Moonstar. It's our retreat, where we forget about our cares, relax and unwind at least twice a year.

  • Submitted: Feb 4, 2014
  • Stayed: October 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0

Stunning views!

  • 5 of 5

I highly recommend the Moonstar property! The house was bigger than we thought and the kitchen was fully stocked. We enjoyed breakfast and coffee on the outside deck overlooking the gorgeous view of the ocean. The sound of the waves was so relaxing! I recommend arriving before dark if you are unfamiliar with the area. My only regret is that we didn't stay long enough to venture out into the town.

  • Submitted: Dec 5, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Pleasanton, California

Circumstances beyond their control made this a nightmare.

  • 2 of 5

In all fairness, the house, location & amenities were all as advertised & fabulous.

However there was a definite disconnect within the property management company with one person attempting to take this (& other) properties & start his own company, no office or phone until the day we arrived and the aforementioned "employee" of the property management company that reportedly locked the gate to the house to keep us from entering.

That drama by itself was more annoying than anything else but what killed this vacation for us was the simple lack of communications infrastructure in the part of the North Coast. For one, AT&T has ZERO cell coverage in this part of California so our phones were useless. Then all of the phone/internet & cable service in town went down Tuesday morning leaving us completely isolated from the outside world and the power went out 2-3 times as well. Now if this was a "real" vacation it probably wouldn't be a problem but this was a real work week for both my wife and me and we had meetings/conference calls and projects and reports due so having NO communications was a deal breaker.

We quickly found that the Sea Ranch Resort that was 11 miles to the south had AT&T cell service, high speed internet, electricity and would take our two small Dogs we did the unthinkable, turned in the keys a day early, wasted a full night and checked into Sea Ranch.

It probably cost us an additional $300+ but the entire communications/power grid issues were completely unacceptable. The local property manager was also completely unsympathetic with our plight and offered no recourse, reimbursement or refund.

Caveat Emptor.

  • Submitted: Nov 10, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Caveat Emptor, Yes it is true that you and we, the owners, were caught up in not so smooth vacation management transition, but you were checked in on time and able to occupy the property. The California north coast is usually so charming but, occasionally, the weather does act up and this is totally out of our control, as per your own admission, i.e., see below: " Circumstances beyond their control made this a nightmare." and "In all fairness, the house, location & amenities were all as advertised & fabulous." I am very sorry that your "working vacation" went so badly, but under the circumstances, it seems to me that your poor review of our property is most unfair and certainly does not deserve the low rating you gave, i.e., (a 2 on a scale of 5). If you would like to try staying again when the weather forecast is more favorable, as a courtesy, we will be happy to add a complimentary night to your stay. Respectfully, A. Compton, owner
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

Not worth the price

  • 2 of 5

We were disappointed by this property, from the poorly equipped kitchen (both quantity and quality), to difficulty heating the house and trouble getting hot water consistently, to the stains on the mattress cover discovered when stripping the bed in one of the bedrooms. The property needs updating; maintaining the grounds outside also didn't seem to be a priority for the owners.

That said, the property has a view to die for which we thoroughly enjoyed.

  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Sonoma, Ca.

Moon Star-Breathe taking, Beautiful , Peaceful

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I with our German Shepard celebrated our 15 yr Anniversary at this beautiful beach house. It was our first time renting someones home it was everything and more we did not want to leave after 3 days . We cant wait to go back

  • Submitted: May 9, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful View

  • 5 of 5

This is a wonderful house on Hwy 1 in Gualala. There is a gate that separates the property from the road. There is another house on the property, but we didn't notice anyone there during our stay. The house sits right on a bluff which overlooks the ocean. There are skylights and windows around the home that allow a lot of natural light into the house. The weekend we went, there was a storm. The views were still gorgeous. We sat on the back porch with our blankets and drank our morning coffee, and later had our nightcaps out there. There are two bedrooms, both with comfortable beds. I stayed in what I would call the master bedroom. There's nothing like laying in bed and staring out the window at an obstructed ocean view. Amazing. The kitchen had everything we needed to make all meals during our stay. Once we arrived, we didn't leave until it was time to checkout. The house was comfortable, private, and gave us the relaxing weekend we'd been waiting for. We didn't use the hot tub or the bbq grill due to the weather, but I imagine some nice evenings on the back patio when the weather permits. I will be back and am looking forward to my next visit.

  • Submitted: Mar 7, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
120 Miles
Major San Francisco, also Mendocino & Santa Rosa
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Anchor Bay
Nearest Ferry
120 Miles
San Francisco
Nearest Golf
10 Miles
Sea Ranch
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Anchor Bay
Nearest Beach
2 Miles
Anchor Bay
Car: necessary

PLEASE NOTE: The Calendar shows only the booked reservations for the MOONSTAR HOUSE. The MOONSTAR COTTAGE calendar reservations are listed on its own property site #3602870, or you may call 707-230-6043 for availability and booking.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 11.0%

1.Rental Rates include 2 people: for each additional person add 10% per night

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.