Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Pat's Place - Secluded 3 Bedroom w/Marsh/Lake View & Pool Access * Dock Space

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Story, 3 Bedroom, 3 bath, with Private Lake/Marsh, Playground & Pool Access

Attractively decorated and comfortable, this house is perfect for a relaxing Ocracoke Vacation. Enjoy the serenity of the marsh by kayaking, taking in the wildlife (great bird watching). Relax on the screened in porch taking in the spectacular sunset. First offered as a rental in 2011, this cottage is conveniently located in Ocracoke Village, walking distance from Variety Store and Howards Pub, beach access (half a mile each way), walking distance to grocery store, good restaurants and shopping.

Downstairs: Living Area (1) King Bed and Full Bath with tub/shower, (1) Queen Size Futon / Game Room with (1) Full Bath with tub and shower across the hall.

Upstairs: (1) Queen in one bedroom; (1) Full and (1) Twin in third bedroom; (1) Full Bath with tub/shower in hallway.

Amenities include central air/heat, ceiling fans, wireless internet access, Direct TV, DVD player, stereo w/CD player and tape player, microwave, dishwasher, telephone, and washer/dryer. After a day at the beach, the kids can play on the private playground. The exterior offers large screened porch with chairs and table and deck with views of salt marsh and lake. There are spectacular views of the sunrise and sunset.

Linens provided. Renters have access to Blackbeard's Lodge outdoor pool and game room with pool table/air hockey and fooseball table. Maximum 8 people, including children. Limit of 3 vehicles. Inquire about boat slip rental.

Keywords: Secluded, Sleeps 8, Panoramic Views of Marsh & Lake, Playground. Screened in Porch, Access to Blackbeard's Lodge pool and only Game Room on Ocracoke

More Details

Owner
Helena Stevens
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
June 18, 2017

About Helena Stevens

We have had this lovely cottage since 2003. We also have a second home in Virginia Beach, VA. We love the ocean and bird watching and the nature in this area is breathtaking.

Helena Stevens purchased this house in 2003

Why Helena Stevens chose Northern Coast & Outer Banks

This remote area is perfect for relaxation and meditation. The cottage itself is very centrally located, but far enough off the beaten path to get away from it all when you want.

What makes this house unique

The cottage is 5 minutes from the beaches, walking distance to Variety Store, Howard's Pub. Private Playground and unobstructed 360 view of marsh and pond.

Amenities

Ocracoke House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Near The Ocean
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Area
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Shampoo
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Qeen Sleeper Sofa in living room
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Wood Deck
  • 1 bicycles
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • health/beauty spa
  • pond
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Playground with slide and swing set; Le Bleu filtered water system;

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(30 traveler reviews)

Pat's Place - Secluded 3 Bedroom w/Marsh/Lake View & Pool Access * Dock Space
average rating of 4.3 based on 30 reviews
5

Will be back!

  • 5 of 5

Clean and spacious, very comfortable beds and linens, secluded yet convenient. Will definitely be back!

  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great family home with comfy beds

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our stay immensely at Pat's Place. It is in an easy location and convenient to walking to the Ocracoke Coffee Company and other venues at that end of town. The beds were very comfortable and the kitchen had everything we needed. The screened porch was a wonderful spot to enjoy in the early morning or late afternoon evening, although there were a few holes that needed repair to keep all the bugs out. The only thing we didn't enjoy was the well water that had a sulfur smell. Bottled water was provided for drinking and cooking, but showers were a tad aromatic. There is no outside shower, so it was challenging to get all the sand off before showering inside. However, these were minor issues. The internet was fast and easy to access. A/C was great, ceiling fans were all in working order, and it looks like there were good TVs and a stereo. (We didn't watch them, though.) Washer and dryer were new. We would have preferred a few more bath towels to use, though.

  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Needs work.

  • 2 of 5

The carpets were filthy.

The water was most foul, couldn't even use it for dishwashing or laundry. Had to drink filtered water (On-site)

No outside water to wash beach sand off.

Very slow to non-working internet.

No sheets for fourth bedroom (futon).

Worn, dated furniture.

Rusty kitchen sink.

Broken dishwasher.

Clogged shower heads.

Would I go back? NO.

Especially since we left it cleaner than it was when we arrived yet they seem to be stiffing us for our deposit.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We apologize for any discomfort you experienced during your stay. If given the opportunity, we would have gladly tried to accommodate any request you had to fix things, but you never contacted us during your stay. Please let this be clear: any money owed would be refunded. Again, so sorry for your negative experience.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Family reunion

  • 5 of 5

We had a week long family reunion on the island. Six of us were lucky enough to be able to stay at Pat's Place . Our group ranged in age from 5.5 yrs to 87 yrs old.Convenient to any thing we wanted to do. We utilized the pool as well as going to the beach. Everyone had a greally time. Would rent Pat's Place again. Thank you, BRENDA

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Nice stay

  • 4 of 5

The property is in a great location. Secluded yet Short distance from everything including the variety store which is right down the street. House is large with three bedrooms and three full baths making it nice for groups. The house is OK nothing fancy but it was clean and that's important. Water is light brownish but assume that's an issue with island living and you deal with it. Water cooler provided for drinking which was nice. We love to eat (out and in)! But weren't really impressed with any of the places we went to. Next time we come, we'll load up on groceries on mainland and cook in. Suggestion to add some wine glasses to the kitchen :-). Will definitely rent again when looking to chill out and beach it for the week. Can't beat these beaches - they are outstanding!

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
1

A big (bug) disappointment

  • 1 of 5

The layout of Pat's Place was great. It was also a private location. But unfortunately those are about the only positives I can report from our week log stay.

The water throughout the house was rust colored and undrinkable. There was a water cooler but it ran out on day two and refills we're not included.

The carpets were gross and kitchen floor had a brown residue upon arrival. Owner sent house cleaner who recleaned.

The upstairs had a bug infestation in one bedroom - bugs all over the bed, wall and ceiling. The owner's answer was to bring us a can of bug spray.

I would not recommend this house without significant improvements to water , cleanliness and pest control.

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that your stay at Pat's Place did not meet your expectations. In your letter, you state that the place was not clean. We tried to meet your expectations and sent a house cleaner over again. She said you stood over her while she recleaned the floors. We were in touch with you every day when you reported the bug issue on one of the rooms. Those are bugs that are found outdoors. This house is situated on a marsh and lake. The only time bugs are seen indoors, are if doors and or windows are left open. We apologize for this inconvenience. The water is completely safe. It is well water that goes through a purification system. As was pointed out to you, we provide a Le Blue 5 gallon bottle in addition to the stand alone filtered water system in the spicket on the kitchen sink for drinking water. Water discoloration can happen when the water system is overwhelmed and needs time to cycle. We tried to compensate you for your inconvenience. You were not charged for the 2 dogs you brought without informing us or for the bikes you rented without paying for them. Please accept our sincerest apologies.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Howard's Pub
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Ocraocke
Car: necessary

Kayaking on the lake, bird watching, bike riding

Photos

Rates & Availability

Ocracoke House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$279
$1,800
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $25 + Tax
Property Damage Protection $59
Administrative Fee $75 + Tax
Tax Rate 9.75%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties