Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Sugar Shack: Soundfront Home with Private Pool

Sleeps11
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Space 3,185 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

4 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, Sleeps 11

Spend a week in the sweetest sound front home when you vacation at “Sugar Shack.” This bright and open 4-bedroom home offers outstanding views of the Currituck Sound from all levels. You are sure to treat yourself to an unforgettable vacation when you spend a week at the “Sugar Shack!

TOP LEVEL:

Queen Bedroom with TV/ DVD/VHS shares the full hall bathroom with a bedroom with both a pyramid bunk bed and single bunk bed with a TV/ VHS and sound views.

ENTRY LEVEL:

As you step inside this home the water views captivate even from the foyer. Right off the entry is a game/breakfast table (seats 4) which flows into the vaulted ceiling living room with a comfortable sectional sofa and 32” flat screen TV/DVD/VHS, stereo system and gas fireplace. There is deck access from this room which then leads into the well-equipped kitchen and dining room (seats 6), bar seating (seats 3). Queen Master Bedroom with flat screen TV, deck access, gorgeous water views with an attached bathroom with dual sinks, a jetted tub and separate shower. Another Queen bedroom with flat screen TV/ DVD shares full hall bathroom and the laundry room with high efficiency front loading washer and dryer (guests do not have access to the garage).

EXTRAS:

The fun really starts outside where you can spend lazy days lounging by the private pool or soaking in the hot tub all while taking in the beautiful vista. There is an outdoor dining table to enjoy meals right off the gas grill and plenty of seating including a built-in bench on the deck.

In season, the Magnolia Bay section has full-size pool and kiddie pool for the little ones and tennis courts. As guests within The Currituck Club, a gated community, your family can enjoy its various amenities including free trolley service to the beach access, beach valet, Clubhouse with on-site dining, large community pool with kiddie pool, Fitness Center, Game Room and courts for tennis, basketball and volleyball! There are planned kids activities offered during the summer and paths for walking and bike riding. Golfers in the family can make reservations to play on the 18-hole course, landscaped throughout this resort, with sound and ocean views.

Private Pool is open from mid-May to mid-October.

More Details

Property Manager
Paramount Destinations
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within a day
Calendar last updated:
November 23, 2017

Guestbook comments from the manager

We had a wonderful vacation in this lovely home with an amazing sound-view!
Aug 2014
  • 1 of 8

Map

Wild Horse Tours, Climb the Currituck Lighthouse, Explore the Whalehead Club and Wildlife Center at the Currituck Heritage Park, Kiteboarding, Skateboarding, Boogie Boarding, Beach Driving, Visit the Wright Brother's Monument, Climb Jockey's Ridge

Amenities

Currituck Club House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Floor Area:
  • 3185 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 11
  • Min. age of primary renter: 0
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Internet
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 3
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 11
  • 3 Queen beds, 3 Twin beds, 1 Full bed
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • playground
Leisure Activities:
  • shopping
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • tennis
Notes:
Golf Membership

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(19 traveler reviews)

52% Complete
42% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Sugar Shack: Soundfront Home with Private Pool
average rating of 4.4736843 based on 27 reviews
4

Gorgeous back deck views of the peaceful sound and sunset on sound...Corolla is THE OB place to stay

  • 4 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and our extended family of 10 (grandpa, grandma, our 2 kids, their spouses, and our 4 little grandsons) had a blast on our first beach vacation as a group. The kitchen was well-stocked with pots, pans, and cooking utensils. We brought along all items on the long list emailed to us by Paramount. We saw the incoming shipping boxes for the back deck's dining table...that is much-needed and would have been nice to have. The one feature that will be a prerequisite for our return to the Sugar Shack next September is for the owner to replace the Queen beds in 2 of the 3 bedrooms with King beds. The other maintenance needs are to replace the toilet seat in the master bath (it's broken and pinches your leg) and to plane/sand the doors to the master bedroom and laundry room (they won't close). Attention to getting little maintenance fixes like that quickly addressed help make a vacation stay nicer.

  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking time to submit a review for Sugar Shack. We do appreciate you mentioning items you found to be unsatisfactory. The owners were made aware and with the exception of changing the queen beds to kings, the other items you mentioned have all been taken care of! We are pleased that nothing deterred you from enjoying yourselves and having a great vacation! We hope to see you again in 2018!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

It was a great place to stay!

  • 5 of 5

The view was excellent and we could watch the geese with their young and the egrets. Being on the end of a cul-de-sac, it was quiet. Everything was clean and well maintained and decorated. Everything we needed was provided except for hand/body soap. Next time we will need to remember to turn the temperature on the hot tub up when we first arrive to give it time to heat up. Our college age kids enjoyed it also, especially the pool.

  • Submitted: May 27, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to view your recent stay at the "Sugar Shack" home. The staff at Paramount Destinations takes great pride in providing a memorable vacation experience. We do hope your future vacation plans bring you back to the area and we see you again! In the meantime, enjoy the remainder of your summer and safe travels.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Pittsburgh
4

Nice upgrades, but obvious owners are selling

  • 4 of 5

We stay here because the trolley and bike rentals and walking paths allow a mixed age family of six to need only one car. Some trolley to the beach, bike to the grocery or donut shop. We can walk the evening streets and deer watch or bike/trolley to the clubhouse for gym, playground or shuffleboard. It's totally all inclusive, quiet, safe and relaxing. The Soundfront area is best enjoyed by people who want quiet and serenity.

Onto the house....the owners replaced first floor carpet with dark wood laminate. Made cleaning faster. They moved the upstairs Queen room to the front of the house so that gorgeous sunset view was given up to the Bunkbed or Kids Room. You can tell they're selling because they seem to have just pushed reset each year, and no real updates. Still not enough dishes, pans, cooking supplies and serving bowls. Not a single knife was sharp....at all. I understand this is a rental so I'm forgiving the knives but wished for serving bowls and plates for six people. An abundance of plastic serve ware and drinking glasses. Nice for the pool area but not great for actual meals. Obviously the goods outweigh the bads since we stay here yearly. Wonder if they could apply our yearly rental costs to a purchase discount credit??

  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2015
  • Stayed: June 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Mathews, VA
5

COROLLA VACATION

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

I was very happy with the location.

The vacation rental was clean.

The property manager was very helpful.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

FRONT PORCH WAS NASTY. HAD TO BUY SEVERAL LIGHT BULBS WHICH WERE BURNT OUT. DON'T REALLY WANT TO COMPLAIN THIS WAS TRIVAL STUFF THAT HAPPENS. OUR STAY WAS GREAT!!!!!

  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2013
  • Stayed: September 2013
  • Source: Paramount Destinations
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Mathews, VA
5

GREAT VACATION

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

I was very happy with the location.

The vacation rental was clean.

The property manager was very helpful.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Little upset when we first arrived because the front entrance & all the furniture was really dirty. Other than that we enjoyed the home and especially the sound views. House needs lots of light bulbs & batteries replaced. We had a awesome stay and would rent again in the area.

  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2013
  • Stayed: September 2013
  • Source: Paramount Destinations
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Canfield, Ohio
4

is it time to move on?

  • 4 of 5

Rating Details:

I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

I was happy with the location.

The vacation rental was very clean.

The property manager was very helpful.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

you cannot help the weather, but it was not very good for boogy boards or surfing the last two years. we have two more students were bringing next year and i will need a larger home. the lugging og stugg was getting old by the 4th day. we need to be closer to ocean and a house that sleeps 2 more guest. not sleep sofas.

  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2013
  • Stayed: August 2013
  • Source: Paramount Destinations
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Notes

  • Rates shown above do not include taxes and fees

You might like these similar properties