check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Large Ocean View Home with Pool. Special rates available! Contact owner below

Sleeps18
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms4
Half Baths1
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Overview


Details
Property
villa
Sleeps
18
Bedrooms
6
Bathrooms
4
Half Baths
1
Minimum Stay
2 - 5 nights

About the property

House, 6 Bedrooms , 4.5 Baths,(Sleeps 10-18)

COME RELAX IN LA JOLLA!. La Jolla means 'THE JEWEL.' This classic, tranquil, serene, very private, traditional Tudor home built by renown architect Edgar Ulrich is set high above the plush Muirlands neighborhood overlooking the Pacific Ocean. Privacy is a key description for this large, family, cozy home. Great for entertaining with its fabulous alfresco cooking station, lovely terraced patio, the smell of mature wonderful foliage, and large black bottomed pool/ Jacuzzi. Perfect for large families, weddings, or corporate retreats. The interior is designed so that each guest has their own private area to relax and have quiet time. The yard is lush, large, fenced and very kid friendly with its adorable, cute playhouse. The pool is fenced also, for that piece of mind if there are little ones. Charming inside - with wood floors, arched entries, french doors, family room right off the kitchen and a European styling. This house has provided many great experiences for lots of families. Nestled in the desirable Muirlands , which is known for beautiful homes and mature landscaping. The location is ideal..just a short drive or 15 minute stroll to the most gorgeous beaches in Southern California. Surfing is close by at the famed Wind and Sea Beach. La Jolla boasts some of the best dinning, shopping, site seeing, and golf in all of California. Call today and let's start planning your vacation or event!

Keywords: Large La Jolla vacation home, ocean view, pool, beaches, family retreat, wedding site, corporate events, Wind and Sea Beach, La Jolla Shores, La Jolla Village, La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club, La Valencia, Mount Soledad, San Diego, Southern California, Sea World, San Diego Zoo, Surfing, Spas, Pool

More Details

Owner
Philippe Feune de Colombi
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english, french, spanish
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 18, 2017

About Philippe Feune de Colombi

We are a family with 5 wonderful children that have grown up in this tender warm home. Our house was set up for that European life style with lots of outdoor eating and relaxation by the pool. The yard allows for a lot of privacy so we could entertain in peace.

Philippe Feune de Colombi purchased this villa in 1991

Why Philippe Feune de Colombi chose San Diego County

We chose to live in La Jolla because it is a world class beach community. People come from all over the world to enjoy the delights of La Jolla and it's beaches.

What makes this villa unique

Serenity, peace and tranquility. Also, beautiful sunshine and sunsets.Ocean proximity and breeze.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(15 traveler reviews)

Large Ocean View Home with Pool. Special rates available! Contact owner below
average rating of 4.8 based on 15 reviews
Saint Joseph, Michigan USA
5

Amazing European style property!

  • 5 of 5

We highly recommend this fabulous home! It housed our extended family perfectly. The floor plan is ideal for several families sharing one house. We invited our three children, their spouses and our six grand children and had the best vacation of our lives. The grandchildren had a blast in the the large multi leveled yard, pool and jacuzzi. There are plenty of toys, games and video game consuls. The yard is lovely with a huge patio and pool deck. The house is beautiful and very clean with everything we needed. The neighborhood is also beautiful, quiet and close to the beach and town. We could see the ocean from every room. The owner was very hospitable and accommodating and available to help with any questions we had about the house or the area.

  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1
3

Family Reunion

  • 3 of 5

The place is beautiful but it is full of antiques. My recommendation is that you take advantage of the owner meeting you there to hand you the keys and do a walk through to insure that all stains, broken items, non-working appliances, etc. are noted by the owner and protect you from being charged for something that you did not do. He has a company that does is suppose to review the property between renters but I would strongly suggest you do the walk through to make sure nothing was overlooked (there were several overlooked on our trip). Please note that there are extra charges for propane and bottled water. The Master bedroom was our favorite room especially the window seat. We loved grilling on the fire/gas grill. It was enjoyable to also just have a fire in the evening and relax. The TV in the family room didn't work and neither did the outside heaters. They were unable to be repaired while we were there. The owner was quick to fix the window shade when it broke so we did appreciate that. There was plenty of room for the 16 of us (4 families) and the adult cousins enjoyed having a room over the garage to themselves. Plenty of beds for everyone! Location was great for getting to the beach, San Diego, La Jolla, kayaking, etc.

  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay in our home, and that my property was able to accommodate your family. Typically, I don't do walk troughs, as it is inconvenient for renters to have to do a walk through after spending the day traveling to get here. I use a company to review everything so that you don't have to worry about it when you arrive, however I am always happy to make an appointment to meet with incoming tenants if they desire. I am so sorry that 1 of the 5 televisions was not working during your stay. We rarely have any issues with broken appliances, and as the TV was not reported broken until a few days into your stay, there was not time to repair it. I am also sorry that you didn't accept my offer to rent a large TV if you would pay the for security deposit .Being that there were several young children and the existing TV had broken I didn't want to take the chance. The outdoor heaters are provided as an extra and not included in the contract, but I am happy to offer them for added comfort. They do work, however they can be difficult to start, and I am sorry that you weren't able to use them during your visit. We do our best to provide as much information as we can so that you are never surprised by any charges. The fees for these extra services are clearly stated in the rental agreement, and the extra services we offer for your convenience are always completely optional. Again, I am glad that my property was able to accommodate your many guests, and hope that amazing memories were made here.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
Las Vegas, NV
4

Great Property for Multi-Family Vacation

  • 4 of 5

This property is excellent for several families to vacation together and still have their own privacy. It was perfect for us, our children & spouces and our 9 grandchildren. The house is equipped with everything you might need. There are plenty of games and activities for the kids, including trampoline and playhouse. The yards and pool area are beautiful. The owner lives close by and was quick to fix anything that needed attention. The property is within a mile of the beach. However, it has a lot of fragile furniture and other items that can be easily broken. If you have small children, they will have to be watched very carefully or another property might be more suitable. Also, it is an older property and some things did not work properly. The pool heater did not work, although the owner tried very hard to fix it and did get the spa working so we could use it. The home heating system also did not work very well - some rooms were too hot and some were too cold. However, overall, it worked out well for our family vacation and created great memories.

  • Submitted: Jan 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I wouldn't call the furniture fragile but elegant. There are many antiques in the more formal rooms which have been left for the enjoyment of our renters. . The furniture matches the decor and style of the house. I often thought of changing it, but feel that that would be a disservice to our customers. The renter knew very well that the updated Raypak pool heater had been fried by the prior guests. However, I managed to maintain the agreed upon Jacuzzi temperature for the duration of his stay at the property . I have since installed locks so that heater settings can't be meddled with. Furthermore the tenant had not originally purchased pool heating otherwise I would have replaced the unit before his arrival. The house has a very effective forced air heating system with vents in each room. These vents can be easily manipulated to send more or less heat to each room as desired. I enjoyed very much meeting Bruce and wish him well.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Salt Lake City, UT
5

Stunning Home and Setting

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our week at this wonderful property! We used the home for a family getaway with 15 members of our family (4 children and 11 adults). The setting was perfect for us and the proximity to many of San Diego's best attractions was an added benefit. We really enjoyed the Argentine barbecue was a wonderful way to end the day with children roasting marshmallows and enjoying the fire in a safe environment. The owner of the property is wonderful and very helpful and responsive. We look forward to using this property again in the future.

  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Miami Beach
5

Most charming and comfortable house we ever stayed at!

  • 5 of 5

Impecable house and super comfortable. We strongly recommend it!

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Old world Charm

  • 5 of 5

Our extended family had the pleasure of staying in this beautiful house in the Muirlands.

Plenty of comfy rooms with ocean views.

The house was equipped with everything we needed. The owners were very helpful and available for immediate questions.

We all enjoyed the heated pool and outside play areas. There is even a fabulous grill and eating areas that hosted our many shared meals.

This house is up the hill from the famed Wind n Sea beach. It's also close to all the fun shops, museums,restaurants and Sunday farmers market in La Jolla.

We highly recommend this vacation rental.

  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0

Map

Nearest Airport
13.8 Miles
San Diego
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
La Jolla Country Club
Nearest Train
10 Miles
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
5
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Su Casa
Nearest Ski
100 Miles
Big Bear
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Wind and Sea
Car: recommended

San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Torrey Pines Golf Course, Mexico, Lego Park, Seaworld, Avenue of Las Americas Outlets, Del Mar, Mission Bay Park, Downtown San Diego, Julian, Prospect Street, Wind and See Beach, La Jolla Shores.

Photos

Rates & Availability

La Jolla Villa Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Spring Break
Apr 8 2017 - Apr 21 2017
5 night minimum stay
$1,500
$9,000
$29,000
 
 
Summer
Jun 1 2017 - Aug 31 2017
5 night minimum stay
$1,500
$9,000
$29,000
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$1,100
$6,000
$21,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $350
Cleaning Fee $350
Pool Fee ($65 per day) $455
Property Damage Protection $79
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 11.05%

10% discount apply if paid in full at time of reservation.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 0% refund if canceled at least 0 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

La Jolla Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 4500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
  • Village ...
Theme:
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 11 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , tub , shower , bidet
    Bathroom 5 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 18
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 5 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 6 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 murphy bed , Murphy=trundle
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , 2 murphy bed , 2 Twin beds can make a Queen bed. Murphy=trundle.
  • Queen size Beds (3),King Size Beds (1) Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (3), Trundle beds(3)and 1 inflatable queen bed.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Games ...
  • Music Library
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Porch / Veranda
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Private Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Car Available
  • Private Chef
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • spelunking
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Gardens, mature trees and foliage, kids play house, trampoline, outdoor BBQ Station with refrigerator, large drive way, full time maid available, basketball hoop, kids toys and much more.

Partner Offers