Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Catskill Mountain Get-A-Way

Bedrooms 4
Space 2,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights


About the property

Rest And Relaxation In Private Mountain Setting

A 4 bedroom home with fireplace, mountain view decks,

Working gas stove, two full baths, two living rooms, kitchen, include house rental, The maximum number of guests is ten. Any additional guests would be $25 per guest per night. On private ranch setting with horses available for hire,, and massage/acupuncture available by appointment. The house is available for winter rental, ski season, Hunter Mt. is only 3 and a half miles away, from Nov.15th through April 15th.

Abigail Podrecca
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english, french
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 17, 2018

About Abigail Podrecca

I am from the Boston area, studied for a time at Berkley School of Music, studied Acupuncture at the New England School of Acupuncture. I came to N.Y.C. to study acupuncture with a Chinese teacher. and spent nearly twenty-five years practicing Acupuncture . The Ranch was created for peace and relaxation and to be close to nature as possible. We have a swimming pond and a lovely stream near the many riding trails in the woods. The horses are big pets and have free access to most of the property. The Feng shui of this land is so healing that the horses and I are walking around in a meditation state most of the time! And in the winter the Skiing is close by and great!. For fifteen years I taught to Hunter Mountain and bought my house in 2005, convinced that I needed to be as close to the mountains as possible, after living here for the past ten years I am sure that I made the right choice.

Abigail Podrecca purchased this house in 2005

Why Abigail Podrecca chose Jewett

Uniquely private with mountain views surrounding the home on a park like setting with horses and mountains just about everywhere you look! The contemporary home a large deck surounding it with chairs for just watching the clouds go by, or go skiing to nearby Hunter Mountain or Windham Mountain. There are two lakes nearby, North and South lake for swimming or kayacking and trails for hiking. Breathe in fresh mountain air, as the trees outnumber the people here.

What makes this house unique

Health treatments available of massage, acupuncture, horse back riding available, minutes to Hunter Mountain Village, or Windham, where there are cinemas, shops, restaurants available. Swimming lake and fishing streams within minutes of our ranch. The uniqueness of our ranch is its privacy and mountain vistas. We are off the beaten path yet close to everything necessary for a great mountain vacation, and in the winter season the house is available from Dec 15th or Dec 30th till April 15th or 30th for the ski season. As soon as I sat in the living room and looked out at the notch in the mountains facing the front door, I was convinced this was the healthiest, most healing spot in the Catskills, yet within minutes of civilization! New York city is only two and a half hours away, so pack your skis and bags and come to stay at our ranch. Say hi to my white stallion, Sundance, uncle Scottie, the quarter horse, and Sundance's son Simon Says. They are available for trail rides on the property.


Jewett House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Golf Course Front ...
  • Monument View ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Resort ...
  • Rural ...
  • Ski-In ...
  • Ski-Out ...
  • Village ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Upstairs Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub
    Downstairs Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Washer and dryer in downstairs bathroom. This is a full bathroom downstairs. And full bathroom upstairs.
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Downstairs Bedroom 1 - 1 double
    Downstairs Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Upstairs Bedrooms 2 - 2 double
    Upstairs Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 3 double , 2 twin/ single , 1 sleep sofa /futon , 2 bdrms up and 2 down, 2full baths, 2 livingrooms.
  • There is a pull out double couch in the downstairs living room area. .
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Sauna ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Unique ranch for outdoors experiences and adventure, skiing,and snowboarding, hiking, kayacking and theaters at Hunter and Windham make this area a great area to come to have have many choices of vacation time. Great as a winter rental for two families of couples to share, as there are seperate living spaces upstairs and downstairs and share the kitchen.


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(20 traveler reviews)

70% Complete
10% Complete
5% Complete
5% Complete
10% Complete
Catskill Mountain Get-A-Way
average rating of 4.25 based on 20 reviews

Fantastic place to explore the Catskills

  • 5 of 5

Really spacious, well equipped and helpful owner made this stay a special time for me and my family. Close to a wondrous swimming lake, we climbed rocks, rode horses and visited Woodstock. We were all happy here. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2015
  • Stayed: August 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
New York, USA

Owner cannot be reached.

  • 1 of 5

Please take the time to read with an open mind. If you are thinking of booking this place, please message the owner to send you a copy of her house rules prior to making your decision.

We were a group of 6 adults and 1 child. We stayed from Friday night to Sunday morning.

It was difficult to find the home and when we finally did the property had its chain up and there was a horse that was frolicking on the property so we did not open the chain. Had it not been for the person feeding the horses we would not have been able to get in. Tried reaching Aby with the provided number, but she could not be reached. Up, I have not heard from Aby. House rules were not posted on the VRBO site, but is expected.

As for the cleaning, we paid for a cleaning fee, why are we expected to load the garbage in our car and look for the recycling place in a place that was unfamiliar to us? We were expected to strip the beds of sheets and pillow cases, yet there is a cleaning person assigned to take care of that. Advertised Wi-Fi and cable did not work, and the nights became very long because there isn't much to do after 4PM and after the slopes. Again, we tried calling, left voicemail, and emailed via VRBO but up to now no response. We are paying customers and the customer service in this particular home was lacking. All in all our stay at Aby's place did not feel very welcoming. And it seems from her responses to other customers, she is very defensive. Nontheless, thank you for our stay at your property.

The only great takeaways from this home and weekend getaway are the beautiful scenery, the amazingly patient and understanding neighbor, and Hunter Mountain ski day.

It's not Sunday night, and we're already home, and still no word, via phone call or message from Aby.

Would we book this place again? Probably not.

  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: HI, So in response to this review, the people did not use the correct address of EAST Jewett, in their map quest and got lost. The horses were secured in their designated pasture that runs along the long private drive way and my neighbor who lives next door acts as the caretaker and horse care giver. He usually opens the chain for people coming in unless they are early. I was left to understand that their child enjoyed feeding the horses carrots and apples under his supervision, the next morning. As for nothing to do, in a ski town there are many things to so, plus a large library 3 miles away that has story time for children on Saturdays. The house is listed in Home Away as very private, a Catskill get away, and with horses, friendly ones I might add, there are pictures of the horses and the property and you can tell from these pictures that it is remote, yet 3 miles to a movie theater, wellness center, antique centers and many resturants in this ski town. The wifi is a dish and subject to weather, it was working when I got back and is currently working. As for the cleaning, it is a four bedroom two full bath two livingrooms and kitchen. That is a lot of area to clean plus making beds. Many other B&Bs kindly ask their guests to at least leave dirty towels and sheets in the laundry room, I see no reason why this simple jesture is such a problem as it saves time for the cleaners. In fact many B&B's dont supply linen. As I am a ski instructor in Stowe Vt. and on the snow for 6 and a half hours each day that I am there, I dont carry my cell on me during that time. People coming from cities to this country areas have to understand how things run here and hence perhaps more house rules. There is no rural garbage pick up, so I ask guests to dispose of their own garbage so it is not be left in barrels for the bears and other animals to be coming to the house looking for food. These are the facts of country living, if you dont like it stay in the city! I dont feel like I am being defensive just explaining each and giving a reason for each problem that was encountered. In the house description most people get the picture of what kind of adventure they will encounter. Besides if you come here to ski who wants to sit in the house watching the tube or on a computer, That is the whole point of coming to the country to get a taste of nature and exercise. Stay well and be at peace!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful property, very homey.

  • 5 of 5

Great retreat

  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank-you so much I am very glad you enjoyed it! Best wishes, Abigail & the horses!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Country Life!

  • 5 of 5

We loved Abigail's property. The deck is so large - it wraps around 2 sides of the house.We spent so much time on it with the kids. It has a spectacular view of the mountains. The kids loved playing in her yard - it's also so spacious. Just taking a walk down the driveway was a delight ; full of country sounds and fauna. The kids were entertained by watching her horse. They even fed it apples and carrots! It was a wholesome vacation...Wish we could stay...

  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your great review. It was a pleasure to host your family! Especially glad you had a chance to spend time at my country home. Best wishes, Abigail
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Not ready to rent

  • 2 of 5

Abby a very nice person return phone calls very quickly followed up with our questions on a timely fashion. But the place was not totally as written up no cable to watch tv, no face cloth, when asked why she said people take the face cloth and she hadn't got around to reconnect the cable. Poor internet connection. Down stairs bed room had to use a dehumidifier. Could not use garage. We vacuumed all floors and found dirty dishes in dish washer so we wash the dishes before using. She does acupuncture and we found 2 needles one on the floor and one by the microwave. We did arrive earlier then I told her we should be there we arrived at 4:30. The view was great deer around the house and she has 2 gorgeous horses.

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: First of all just moved back fromm living two years in Vt. There is high speed internet via satelight no cable due to the fact we are in a remote area 800 ft. from the rd. Most people use internet for wstching movies and tv. The dehumidifier was on due to the fact it was very hot and better than fans. The gsrage was off limits due to just moving back from Vt. and had a couch temporsrily stored there. As to the dishes...I personally cleaned before them got here. Ehy would I leave dirty dishes? The house likewise was vacumed.. You cant please sll the people all the time...I try!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Country weekend 2 year here

  • 5 of 5

Abagail is by far awesome ! This is the 2nd year we stay here and we love it ! This fine we got lucky and we're able to see the horses. We are so happy wiyh the comfort and location of this house that we have officially made it or come back to home for country weekend

  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Albany,New York
Nearest Barpub
4 Miles
Trailways Bus
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
Nearest Train
15 Miles
Hudson, New York
Nearest Motorway
15 Miles
New York Thruway
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Nearest Ski
3 Miles
Hunter Moutain
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Colgate Lake

We are in a very secluded area surrounded by mountains. Horse pasture around the house with my three horses just look out the windows! the We have a small pond and woods, with a swimming pond up the street a mile away. The horses back riding center is a mile away and skiing three miles away. Blue skies and fresh air with hiking trails everywhere! Massage and acupuncture available on the propertyby appointment.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $100
Damage Insurance $59

Check-In at 4pm

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties