Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Secluded, Cozy Cottage, Short Walk to Lake Mich., Grand Mere

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 1,200 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Cabin, 2 Bedrooms + queen futon, 1 Bath, Sleeps 4-6

Visit our cottage in Stevensville, Michigan - just a short drive to Warren Dunes State Park to the south and to St. Joseph to the north.

The cottage is located on a secluded 3-acre lot with a pond, woods, campfire pit and plenty of space to roam. The cottage is well-equipped, clean, and cozy. Wifi and plenty of board games, puzzles, books and kid videos for down time together.

Take a short walk to two public Lake Michigan beaches; or a 2 mile walk or drive to Grand Mere State Park, where you will find great hiking, cross-country skiing, and huge, clean, beautiful beaches. Or enjoy the local wineries and antique shops.

The cottage offers year-round accommodations for up to six guests. Great for families. Dogs are welcome at no additional charge.

Keywords: Grand Mere, St. Joseph, cabin, beach

More Details

Owner
Jenifer Cartland
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 13, 2017

Why Jenifer Cartland chose Stevensville

In Kindergarten, we were asked to draw a picture of our favorite places in the world. I drew the swing set at my grandparents' cottage in northern Michigan. I still have that picture. Whenever we are at our little cottage in Stevensville, I am transported right back there to my grandparents' cottage . . . and only 90 miles from home.

What makes this cottage unique

We love hiking at Grand Mere all year round. In the winter, the sledding is fantastic. In the summer, the beaches are so clean and beautiful (and never crowded).

Map

Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Tosi's; Grand Mere Inn
Nearest Train
6 Miles
St Joseph
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Red Star Highway 63/US 94
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Tosi's; Grand Mere Inn
Nearest Beach
0.3 Miles
Chicago Ave
Car: necessary

Winery tours/tasting; antique shops; hikes; beaches

Amenities

Stevensville Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Clothes washer and dryer in the bathroom
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • (2) bedrooms, each with a queen sized bed, (1) One queen-sized futon in the living room; (2) hotel-style cots
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
3 wooded acres, pond, swingset

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(62 traveler reviews)

54% Complete
33% Complete
6% Complete
3% Complete
1% Complete
Secluded, Cozy Cottage, Short Walk to Lake Mich., Grand Mere
average rating of 4.370968 based on 62 reviews
4

October Birthday

  • 4 of 5

What a great little getaway! Although the weather was a bit wet, Lake Michigan is just as beautiful as ever.

The cottage was warm and so very comfortable. The yard is a trip! My furry best friend had a wonderful time smelling around and chasing squirrels!

We will be back!

  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

What you see is what you get!

  • 5 of 5

We loved it. It rained for the most part of the trip so we stayed in a few days and utilized the fireplace, tv and kitchen. The tv gets limited channels but the smart features made it easy to log in to Hulu and Netflix. I advise you have one of those accounts as to enjoy the television. We also did not like the well water. They do have a filter but we cooked and drank with bottled water. There is alot of property and we enjoyed walking the trails with the puppy. We saw some huge deer and also were able to get to the top of the dunes for a great view of the lake. ( Turn right out of driveway and follow to Chicago Ave , few blocks and you are there. Beds we're not very comfortable and the couches were the same. Would definitely recommend for a romantic getaway or vacation fun with family. Coaches bar and grill was a good place. Lake house restaurant was sub par. Meijer is the basic point of sale so familiarize yourself with that maze of a store as to prevent multiple trips. We will most likely return again thank you to Jennifer for being so responsive when we needed her. Good place, good owners ,fun times. Property could use some upkeep but all in all very happy with stay.

  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Pyrfect

  • 4 of 5

Our stay at Hidden Pond Cottage was very enjoyable, not only for us, but for our Great Pyrenees dog, also. The cottage was close to St. Joe and a variety of other attractions that all of us enjoyed such at Grand Mere State Park and Warren Dunes. The cottage was well equipped and comfortable for our needs. We will be going back again! TJ

  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Large backyard Lovely Property

  • 3 of 5

Lovely piece of property, great for families. Enjoyed the kitchen area with large table, well equipped. Linens in Bedrooms and Bath could use some updating, along with living areas.

  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Stevensville Cottage

  • 5 of 5

What a nice and convenient place to stay! We were in town for a wedding and found this cute cottage to stay in. It is conveniently located and priced right. The owner (Jenifer) was great to work with. Highly recommend!

  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Served the purpose of a place to say near a lot of good outings

  • 2 of 5

Pros - in a great location for seeing the beaches, St. Joseph, Pier, orchards, antique malls. Kitchen is modern and has everything we could need in it. Nice washer & dryer, good shower. So grateful we could bring our small dog too.

Cons - VERY Dated and in bad need of an overhaul both inside and out. Outside the house/gutters in bad shape, overgrown vegetation, uneven walkways, broken lights, shabby deck without railings and with open sides, dirty furniture, crumbling front porch without railings, path too overgrown to hike on, trash by bonfire pit, gazebo by stream a mess. Inside, the kitchen is very nice but the rest is straight out of the 70's...dark and damp with a hodge podge of furniture (and too much of it so it's cluttered), uncomfortable creaky beds and only a window A/C that doesn't reach bedrooms though one has a nice fan. Bathroom light fixture broken, wet rugs from previous tenants on floor, laundry left in dryer and basket (were we to fold and put away?). Owner lives out-of-state and manager was away so no help with non-functional TV situation and made no effort to call Comcast for us, I had to spend hours fixing problem and called Comcast myself to get it going, and owner just said "well, we're not there...". For my elderly mom that we brought as a nice get-away for her, it was completely unsafe and not healthy....no railings, dampness, dark rooms, slippery throw rugs, drop/step in floor height between rooms (we had to cover this for her so she wouldn't trip). She was very scared when going up and down stairs and walking on the path to the driveway despite our helping her. For that reason alone, we can't come back. If owners would just spend some money and muscle on this place it would be a dream due to location.

  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your comments. We like hearing from our guests and try to make our home as agreeable as possible to a wide range of tastes. We're not the Four Seasons and we don't claim to be. We are in the process of addressing some of your concerns but I would like to respond to others that may give a false impression. As we make clear, the cottage is surrounded by forest. Although we like the rustic feel of that, we do have a bi-weekly lawn service mow the backyard and fire-pit area. We do not try to control the vegetation growing in the forest. The gutters on the house were completely replaced 2 years ago with a no-leaf system that keeps them clear. We, and no other guests that we have heard from, have noticed dampness in the cabin. There are 10 - 15 light fixtures and windows all around so I'm not sure why darkness was an issue. To say the cottage is 'completely unsafe and not healthy' is a serious charge. We meet all Michigan safety standards and receive regular on-site inspections. We understand that elderly guests have particular needs but we don't believe our home has any more obstacles than any other.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.