Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Sandpiper Beach 401 -

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Condo, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Fantastic two bedroom, two bath beach front corner condo. Property has direct gulf view and access. The master bedroom has a king bed with updated bath, and windows facing the gulf. The second bedroom has one double bed and two twins, easily accommodating six people. The kitchen and living room have been updated with modern lighting, bright finishes, ceramic floors, and marble tops.

Enjoy the best of both worlds. Enjoy nearby fishing, biking, kayaking, and dining, or retreat to this secluded complex for rest and relaxation. The building is located on 13 beautifully landscaped acres, which gives the property a spacious feel in a private setting.

Sandpiper 401 is a true home away from home, perfect for your next memorable vacation.

Keywords: beach front, gulf view, beach access,quiet, secluded,

More Details

Property Manager
Lisa Mattingly
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 21, 2018

Why Lisa Mattingly chose Sanibel

We had our honeymoon on sanibel over twenty five years ago. We have travelled beaches through out the south, and have never found an area to equal it. We eventually will spend our winters here.

What makes this condo unique

I personally enjoy the fishing, both surf and bay. My wife loves the pool and beach. And we both love the quiet atmosphere for reading and relaxing

Guestbook comments from the manager

The condo was great, was stocked with everything we needed and the decor was very comfortable. The pool was beautiful, clean and so refreshing. We sat at the beach most days and enjoyed the incredible view along with the massive amount of shells. We biked to the farmers market and around town with the bikes provided by the owners. We will stay here again the next time we come to Sanibel and have recommended this condo to our friends.
Apr 2018
  • 1 of 2

Amenities

Sanibel Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Ocean View
  • Water View
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • King size beds (1), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1), Bunk Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Private Pool
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseshoes
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(15 traveler reviews)

86% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
13% Complete
Sandpiper Beach 401 -
average rating of 4.4666667 based on 17 reviews
Bloomington, Indiana
5

WOW - the perfect vacation location and complex

  • 5 of 5

We frequently visit Sanibel Island, but this was our first stay on the island and we had high expectations and staying here exceeding everything we could have imagined! The condo was clean, plenty of room, well stocked and had an amazing view of the grounds, green space and gulf. We wanted a quiet place to relax and loved that many days we were the only people around us on the beach. The kids loved tennis, pickle ball and shuffle board right on the complex. We rented bikes and used a few bikes that the owners have and biked all over Sanibel and this is the perfect location to easily bike to shops, groceries, restaurants and other beaches. The owners had a storage closet in the garage full of things that renters can use such as bikes, beach chairs and sand toys and this was a great option for us! The only issue was slow WIFI which affected my work projects, but it was fine for the kids games which really is what mattered to them. We would definately stay here again!

  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for the great review! We love our little spot of paradise and are happy you enjoyed it too!!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Wonderful vacation, wonderful condo!

  • 5 of 5

We had a fantastic vacation on Sanibel! ❤️ The condo was beautiful, comfortable, and well stocked with fun beach gear and bikes! Lisa was generous and exceedingly helpful from booking until we returned home. The condo was exactly as listed and expected with all appliances in top shape. The beach and island were both amazing! We will definitely be back!

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sara: I am so happy that you and your family had a great vacation in our condo! I'm glad that you were able to use the bikes we provide to ride around the many paths on Sanibel. I hope you come back and stay with us again! Lisa
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great vacation and what a great rental

  • 5 of 5

The condo was lovely and furnished beautifully. On our first full day, the owner even called to see if everything met with our satisfaction. It's in a beautiful setting with a central view of the pool and the gulf.

  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Disapointing Stay

  • 1 of 5

Let me preface this review by saying we have rented condos and homes on Sanibel for thirty years. Upon check in we noticed cough drop wrappers and an empty tube of lotion on the floor next to the bed as well as hair around the bathroom sink as well as used Q tips under the dresser. When the management company came by the next day they advised that the condo had been cleaned but the owner had returned to the unit and may have left these items behind.

We were under the impression that this unit had secure internet access as a user id and password was provided by the management company. That was not the case. This unit shares a very slow and unreliable public wireless signal with the condo association. After having the management company out and speaking with the owner by phone it was determined we would have to accept this situation even though every other unit seemed to have their own secure high speed internet access. I had hoped to work during this vacation but that didn't happen due to the internet situation. Also the unit advertised beach chairs and an umbrella. What was provided were two broken umbrellas, a damaged beach chair and two children's folding chairs. Other units seemed to have very nice beach chairs etc. Our beach equipment became an ongoing joke with other renters during our vacation. As a property owners ourselves I understand that items sometimes do get damaged by renters but with the owner being the last person to use this condo there is no excuse for the condition of the beach equipment.

During our stay the management company came in to replace the damaged microwave oven and a hand rail on the shower door. They left a mess on the counter and floor in the kitchen, left everything they took out of the cabinets on the counter and for some reason three cookie trays in our sink. The shower doors were no longer on their tracks after he was done working on them also. While I cleaned up after the workers had left and fixed the shower doors this should not be expected of a renter.

We very much liked the condo complex but would not stay in this unit or stay in any unit managed by Royal Shell again.

  • Submitted: May 13, 2018
  • Stayed: April 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Steven: We have addressed housekeeping concerns with Royal Shell and have been assured that they have been taken care of for future renters. You could have had them return and clean/throw away items at any time. I am happy to report that as of last week our unit now has a dedicated, secure high speed internet! I just texted our current renter and she said it works great! I was at the condo before you and three of us sat on beach chairs and I even bought a new one. In addition there are several places on Sanibel where you can rent chairs for $15 a week or umbrellas for $30 a week. Not a bad idea since they get damaged quickly in the salty air. I apologized personally for the mess the maintenance people left you. I hope you enjoyed the new microwave though and wish you had asked someone from our onsite manager for assistance. I always strive to make renters happy! Lisa
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Very dirty and poorly maintained

  • 1 of 5

I stayed at Sandpiper Beach from March 17-31. I arrived 3 hours after check-in to standing water on the floors in the main area--so wet that I had to dry them before it was safe to walk on them. Obviously, the cleaning service has just left and they had done an exceptionally poor job.

The master bathroom still had hair on the shower floor and yellow stains on the toilet seat. Trash was left in wastebaskets. The kitchen counters had crusted food on them and the floors had crumbs and foodstains. I called the Royal Shell after hours number and they did send someone to reclean the bathrooms and kitchen the next day. I then discovered that none of the drawers in the bathrooms, kitchen or bedroom chests had been wiped out. Some were literally covered with hair and debris. The top of the kitchen refrigerator was filthy. Once again, I called Royal Shell and they sent someone out to reclean these areas. To their credit, the cleaning people did ask if I wanted anything else done.

At that point, I had not yet discovered the dirty pans in the bottom of the stove, seen how dirty the floors were underneath the beds or noticed the black edges on the ceiling fans. This place did not meet even minimum standards of cleanliness.

Additionally, basic maintenance was very poor. A shelf barrier on the kitchen door had broken and a new "shelf" was fashioned with white duct tape. The microwave door was broken in two places and the seal around the glass was failing. I was told this presented no danger to me. I never did use the microwave. Incidentally, it sits so low over the cooktop that you have to bend down to use the controls--I doubt this installation even passes code as it presents a burn danger. My daughter scraped her lip on a broken glass (of which there were not enough sizes and assortment to accommodate six people.) When I changed the sheets in the master, I discovered why the top sheet had been put on upside down--there were several holes and tears.

Janet, from Royal Shell, did try to make things right and sent me a check for $200--$75 each from Royal Shell and the owner and $50 from the cleaning service. Frankly, that does not begin to cover how disappointing this place was. It is clear that there are no minimum standards for this accommodation and I would not recommend it under any circumstances. I do have photographic evidence of all these issues. I have stayed many years on the Gulf Coast and have never encountered anything as disgusting as this unit.

  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sue: I have thought long and hard about how to respond to your review because you are the first person in seven years to give our condo less than a five star review! I wish that you had contacted me personally during the course of your two week stay. I would like to apologize for our cleaning company clearly not living up to our high standards. You checked in the day that a very satisfied guest left after a 2 1/2 month stay and clearly a more in depth clean was in order. However, as you said, they did come back and re-clean and specifically asked you if there was anything else you wanted them to clean before they left. In addition, we did give you a $200 refund. As evidence of your exaggerations, you say there was "standing water" in the kitchen which implies inches when it was merely a damp floor from a mop cleaning. After you left we did replace the microwave with a brand new one and a new shelf for the refrigerator was ordered. Had you called me I would have had Royal Shell put a new microwave in while you were there along with other necessary supplies like drinking glasses. I am personally going to the condo this Saturday to inspect everything and make sure that a deep clean is done and supplies are refurnished. It's a shame that you let issues that could have been easily corrected ruin your vacation. Many people have been overjoyed with their accommodations over the years. Lisa
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect Beach Retreat

  • 5 of 5

After three October stays in Sandpiper Beach 401, my wife and I can wholeheartedly recommend the location as a great Gulf Coast retreat. The interior decor is very attractive and recently updated by the owner. Steps from the wonderful pool and miles Long Beach, the intimate condo complex is just what we love. And with so many great restaurants on the island, every day offers plenty of tasty options to round out a perfect laid back vacation.

  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much Philip! We value return guests so much and are pleased that you enjoyed the new sleeper sofa and chairs! We will welcome you back next October!!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
27 Miles
Southwest Florida international Airport (RSW)
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Beaches Bar and Grill; The Fish House; Jacaranda
Nearest Golf
1.4 Miles
Sanibel Island Golf Club
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Jerry's Foods; Doc Fords; Cips; over Easy Cafe
Nearest Beach
Sanibel Island

Sanibel is extremely bike friendly! Our unit includes the use of three adult and two child sized bikes. We also have 2 child and one adult helmet.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Off season rates and length of stay may be negotiable. Rentals are generally Saturday to Saturday.
11% lodging tax; damage waiver fee of 3.5% and $45 reservation fee NOT included in above rates.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties