Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Recently renovated deep water lake front cabin, sleeps 6. Stunning view!

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,200 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 8 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedrooms/2 Baths on lakefront. Sleeps 6 adults comfortably.

Lake front home on deep water of Lake Lure. Great views of lake and Chimney Rock. Beautiful sunsets. Large dock with four decks, with one 24x32 deck over double boathouse. Diving area off top of boathouse. Bring boat or rent from marina. Upstairs completely renovated Spring of 2017. Flat-screen satellite TV w/ DVD, loft bedroom w/ queen, large master with king and flat-screen satellite TV, bedroom with twins. Master also has trundle bed in sitting area. Stereo. Stocked with movies for your enjoyment. Fully furnished kitchen. Washer/dryer. 2 heat pumps plus A/C in loft. 3-car parking. Canoe with trolling motor, and 2 kayaks available for guests. Floats and life vests provided. Gas grill available. Wi-Fi and DSL Internet service provided.

Sightseeing

Visit historic Hendersonville and Asheville. Flat Rock Playhouse, Biltmore Estate, and the Carl Sandburg home are minutes away.

Fishing

Great fishing off the dock! Night time fishing for Crappie! The lake is abundant with Trout, Bass, Bream, Catfish, and Crappie. Local guide service available. Boats available for rent from Marina.

Hiking & Kayaking

Numerous hiking trails are available close by, from easy to the most difficult. Kayaking and Canoeing opportunities are plentiful.

Keywords: house

More Details

Owner
Jeff Schwartz
Member since: 2004
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 16, 2017

About Jeff Schwartz

Hands-on owners who live only 45 miles away, so any problems are taken care of promptly.

Jeff Schwartz purchased this house in 2004

Why Jeff Schwartz chose Blue Ridge Mountains

Views! Views! Views! And more Views! Also very peaceful. Coffee in the morning on the deck.

What makes this house unique

We prepared and furnished the house and provided the amenities just like we would want if we stayed at a rental. Main level recently renovated, new flooring, new kitchen appliances, granite countertops, new cabinets.

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Asheville
Nearest Barpub
3 Miles
several
Nearest Golf
10 Miles
Lake Lure Municipal, Bald Mountain, Apple Valley
Nearest Motorway
20 Miles
Interstate 26
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
several
Nearest Ski
100 Miles
wolf laurel
Nearest Beach
3 Miles
Lake Lure Beach
Car: necessary

Amenities

Lake Lure House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • Max. adults: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • In the event of cancellation of rental, refund of rental deposit will be made only if a tenant can be found to occupy rental during time reserved
Location Type:
  • Lakefront ...
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Master - toilet , shower
    Main Floor - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Washer Dryer in Master Bath. Sinks with vanity. Towels provided.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Master - 1 king , 1 sleep sofa /futon
    main floor - 2 twin/ single
    Loft - 1 queen
  • King size beds (1) Large King Size in Master Bedroom on bottom floor, Queen size Beds (1) Comfortable Queen Bed in Loft, Twin or Single Beds (2) Two twin beds on main floor bedroom, Baby Cribs (1) Fold out crib available, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Trundle bed in Master sitting area
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 9 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Upstairs main level totally renovated spring of 2017, all new flooring, new kitchen appliances, counters, and granite countertops.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(10 traveler reviews)

80% Complete
10% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Recently renovated deep water lake front cabin, sleeps 6. Stunning view!
average rating of 4.7 based on 10 reviews
Saint Charles, Missouri
5

Beautiful Lakefront Home with Attractions Nearby

  • 5 of 5

If you are looking for a beautiful lakefront vacation home to relax and get away from it all, yet close enough to great attractions like Chimney Rock and Biltmore Estate, then this is the vacation home for you. This home is extremely clean and well-maintained, and equipped with everything you need for a home-away-from-home. Beautiful Lake Lure is just four decks away with views of Chimney Rock. We are a family of six adults, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we highly recommend this home for your next North Carolina vacation.

  • Submitted: Dec 21, 2007
  • Stayed: Jul 2007
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
21 0
5

Quiet spot on the lake

  • 5 of 5

The house is situated in a nice quiet spot on the lake which we enjoyed mostly from the upper deck. The vistas were lovely. The house is very comfortable--there were two of us using it for the weekend. It is difficult to find someone willing to rent for just a weekend, so we truly appreciated the house. The appliances were all modern and clean. The deck furniture was comfy and we could enjoy all of our meals on the upper deck. There were plenty of nice dishes, glassware, and silverware along with cooking pans. The furniture was lovely and comfy to relax on in the evening to read our books. It was a wonderful autumn weekend get away. Thanks so much for allowing us to use your home.

  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Molly, Thank you for the nice review, and being such a gracious guest. You are most welcomed back anytime. Jeff
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Greenville
3

Mostly good, with a few nitpicks

  • 3 of 5

First, let me say that we really did enjoy our stay at this lake house. The views are beautiful and the lake is right there. The house is spacious and accommodated my husband and me and for a while my sister, brother and sister-in-law comfortably. The kitchen is modern and very functional. The place was well stocked with paper towels, toilet paper, garbage bags and more. The owner responded quickly to a couple of minor repairs we requested at the beginning and was responsive during our stay. My nitpicks are... The land line only takes incoming calls -- you can't call out. Our cell service (Verizon) didn't work there, so if we'd had an emergency, we would have been in real trouble. Also, how to make dinner or golf reservations? I wish we'd been told that in the beginning. I also wish we'd been told before booking that a cleaning fee would be deducted from our deposit unless we opted to clean the place ourselves (including laundry of all linens and putting them back on beds etc., vacuuming, cleaning bathrooms). We were told this after we made our final payment and had never experienced that policy before when booking with HomeAway (which we've done often). Parking is difficult for more than two cars and impossible for more than three -- and if there are three, they'd better be small. The decks need work (peeling paint and splintery). Front porch is downright seedy and gave us doubts when we first arrived (fortunately the inside was much better). We gave up on using kayaks or the canoe because the water level is about three feet below the deck and getting in would not have been easy. (But then, we're not 20-somethings, so maybe younger folks would think it's fine.) That's it. More good than not-so-good.

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Susanna, Let me address you issues. The land line works for both incoming and outgoing calls, but for local calls only. The reason we don't allow long distance calls is obvious, as it could be costly. As far as the cleaning fee, it plainly states so on our lease agreement. Most places just charge for cleaning, either in a stated fee or include it in their rental fee. We feel like it is more fair to give people the option, in order to save money. We feel parking is adequate, sorry you don't. We are constantly replacing decking, and if you would have informed me during your stay we would have taken care of it promptly, as we did on your other minor repairs. And there is a set of stairs down to water level at the dock for ease of access for the boats, it's never been an issue in the 14 years we have rented the house. Plus the water level does rise and fall with the dam release, that's something we cannot control. In spite of these minor issues, I'm glad you had a good time. Jeff
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Johnson City, TN
5

Great time and memories

  • 5 of 5

As we explored the house upon arrival, we started regretting that we booked only three nights. This place has a lot to do and became very cozy. At the lake house we enjoyed fishing, kayaking and canoeing (daughters loved them) and inside we watched movies, play board games and nap. We played golf at Apple Valley golf course that was fun course. unfortunately we had rain one day but we could do, fishing inside the boat house, Getting coffee at Carolina Moon cafe, visit gift shops at chimney rock area, movie, game, nap and laundry. Also I have to add that owner was very helpful when we had some questions.

Most of all, we made a lot of family memories here. It was priceless.

  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Yumi, you are welcomed back anytime, and we give discounts to returning renters. Glad you had a good time. Jeff
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Fantastic location!

  • 4 of 5

Jumping off the boat house was our favorite "thing to do" . The tour boats would go by and chant "jump, jump, jump" a lot of cheers when we did!! At first it was a little intimidating, then just exhilarating.

Caught a turtle because he wouldn't let go of the bait. The area is beautiful and the views were outstanding! We stayed for a weekend and the vote is to stay for two weeks next time.

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the nice review Helen. You are welcomed back anytime!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Kings Mountain, NC
5

The perfect rental

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful home with an amazing views of chimney rock! The home was more than I'd imagined and stocked very well including movies, books and all cooking utensils. An added bonus were the canoe and kayaks. Our girls spent hours on the lake in them (every size life jacket available as well). The home was very clean, the only possible negatives are the basement stairs which are quite steep and a hole in the dock to be careful of. Overall a perfect vacation rental for our family!

  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the nice review. We are working on the problem with the dock. You're welcomed back anytime!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning fee (optional) $150
Refundable damage deposit $300

Call for special rates. You can choose the cleaning service at a cost of $150, or if you choose to clean the house yourselves there is no charge. Cleaning fee can be withheld from security deposit if requested.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund