Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Beautiful Thornton Park Bungalow, Downtown Orlando, Historic

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 1,100 sq. ft.
Property type bungalow
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Bungalow, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 1-5)

Beautifully restored bungalow, walk to dining, shopping, outdoor cafes, & Starbucks and Sunday Farmer's Market, Lake Eola Park. And less than a mile to the courthouse, Publix, FreshMarket, and downtown Orlando. Walk or Bike everywhere!

This beautifully restored bungalow has large kitchen, great front porch, romantic dining room and bedrooms. Wood floors throughout, fresh 1000TC white linens.

The property shares and enclosed back courtyard with the rear studio (vrbo 3506144)and the guest house (vrbo 490078). Both of which are available to rent unless owner occupied.

Keywords: bungalow, house, walk to dining & shopping, historical district, tree lined streets.

More Details

Owner
Margaret
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
April 24, 2017

About Margaret

I am an Interior designer/ architect and I love to travel. I have lived in many great cities (NYC, Aspen, Miami, and LA) and I always come back here. I use VRBO wherever I go. It's the greatest way to really get to know how the locals live, find the best restaurants, and enjoy walking communities.

Margaret purchased this bungalow in 2004

Why Margaret chose Orlando

Orlando is a great city. I grew up here. Whenever I leave Orlando, I am reminded of the great weather, interesting people, and ease of living here. You can walk/bike/ uber everywhere and there is always something interesting going on.

What makes this bungalow unique

Great local neighborhood vibe! Walk to dining, shopping, boutiques, Sunday farmer's market, and events around Lake Eola. With close proximity (5-minute Uber or rickshaw/ 10-minute walk) to Downtown Orlando, Performing Arts Center, Amway Arena, and movie theaters. 30-45 minutes to the Beach, Disney Area & Theme Parks & Convention Center.

Amenities

Northeast Orlando Bungalow Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • bungalow
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1100 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
Theme:
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Filtered Water
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Area
  • Living Room
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Shampoo
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Tub & shower, towel warmer, crisp white towels, stone floors.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Tempurpedic mattress, 1000tc Egyptian cotton bedding.
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1000tc Egyptian cotton sheets.
  • Wood floors, 800tc Egyptian cotton sheets, down alternative pillows and comforter.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Towels
  • Courtyard
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Fully Fenced Property
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda
  • 4 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Onsite Services:
  • Daily Maid Service
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
Notes:
Walking distance to dining, Starbucks, Publix grocery store, parks and Downtown Orlando. Historical tree-lined pedestrain sidewalks and brick streets.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(29 traveler reviews)

Beautiful Thornton Park Bungalow, Downtown Orlando, Historic
average rating of 4.827586 based on 29 reviews
Linden, MI
5

Fantastic!

  • 5 of 5

Margaret was a wonderful host, her home is beautiful just like the pictures. The location was PERFECT for us. The beds and pillows were amazing. We will definitely stay here again.

Paul and Renee

  • Submitted: Dec 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Simpsonville SC
5

We loved staying at this beautiful house!

  • 5 of 5

The location is perfect! We walked to restaurants and to stores in the area. Also a short walk to Lake Eola and the Farmers Market. A lot of people were out walking their dogs and the atmosphere is just so charming. Our dogs made friends with the dogs next door and they all played in their back yard. It was so much fun! Staying in such a cool old house was a bonus! We will definitely be back!

  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much, you are always welcome!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Great Location! Beautiful House! But needs better communication

  • 3 of 5

I went back and forth trying to decide whether to give this place 3 or 4 stars and ultimately decided on 3 stars because my entire party felt as though there should have been more communication from the property owner regarding our stay.

First the positives - the house is gorgeous and in an amazing location! The house was stocked with everything we needed except an iron but once requested, Margaret brought one over. The furnishings and décor are thoughtful and beautiful. The location is unbeatable. And that bathroom...amazing...with a towel warmer (very nice touch).

The negatives - we read that we would share a courtyard with a studio and guest house. It was not communicated that the studio was connected to the house via a door. Though the door was locked, we all felt that renters should know that it's not as private as one might assume. It's also not as quiet as one would assume. I didn't think this was a big deal but others in my party were concerned about it and urged me to include it so other renters would know. Additionally, I wasn't home for this but others in my party complained to me about the noise from the connected back studio on our second day.

This was the BIG issue for me...there was construction going on at 7:00AM on the guest house and it was loud! I'm an early riser but we had all attended a wedding the night before and we would have appreciated knowing that there was going to be loud construction and construction workers yelling right outside our bedroom window that early. I am a property owner too and when I have scheduled workers coming, I don't rent my property during that time. This was not a small job either, they were gutting the entire guest house (I took pictures from bed and sent them to Margaret that morning). She received my texts and asked them to be quiet (I know because I heard the entire conversation) but they weren't quiet...nor could they have been because they were trying to work. We ended up packing and leaving early (at 8:00am) because it was loud and not comfortable.

All in all, it's a gorgeous house in a great location and I believe it was the circumstances that made our stay less than comfortable. I do think if there wouldn't have been the construction, the other small negative would have been easy for us (or at least for me) to overlook.

  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Beware all ye with allergies

  • 3 of 5

Our family had a get-together here before Christmas. We arrived late to an unlit house on a dimly lit (romantic) street. It was so dark that even the cab driver had a hard time to find the bungalow. Still, the house looked attractive. We opened the door to a musty smell, and later discovered that the sheets were soaking wet. The owner apologized the next day when I was able to e-mail her from a nearby restaurant (we couldn’t access the home Web site as we had not brought a printout of basic info, like password, from the HomeAway Web site). The house was attractive and in a great location, but it was in need of better humidity control (not the best choice for anyone with allergies), plus a few repairs. There was some activity in a locked room at the back of the bungalow - not a problem, but the first night we thought someone had broken into the house, better for renters to be informed in advance. Despite these glitches, we had a lovely time in Orlando, and would return, though not to this house.

  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This is the ONLY negative response we have ever received and are very concerned. In 2016 We installed new HV A/C, roof, and refinished wood floors... and enjoyed the process. We love our house and maintaining it is an honor. I, Margaret, am a hospitalty (hotel) designer, details are my personal passion. Especially when it comes to sheets and beds. Are you sure you have the right house? This is a restored bungalow in a wonderful historical district. We always try to brief people that it is not Disney World. It's real. This may be a reason not to use the INSTANT BOOK and may find that we need to remove this feature. We pride ourselves on the many happy guests and being transparent as far as expectations, very sad and will do everything feasible to address your comments.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
washington, mi
5

Charm and Location

  • 5 of 5

So much downtown charm in this cute bungalow. The location is perfect to walk to restaurants and coffee or taking a nice stroll around Lake Eola or downtown plus an easy commute to main roads and highways. Nice, friendly neighborhood and very quiet at night. Margaret was great and very helpful if I needed anything. Will definitely consider another stay on my next visit.

  • Submitted: Nov 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great Place

  • 5 of 5

We loved this place when we were in town to attend a wedding. Beautifully appointed in a quaint historical neighborhood, yet walking distance to restaurants, park, Lake Eola, and downtown Orlando. With family in Orlando, this place is my first choice to stay when we come to visit.

  • Submitted: Nov 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
2 Miles
Orlando Executive Airport, Orlando Int'l MCO 10m
Nearest Barpub
0.24 Miles
Dexter's, Wildside BBQ, Iza Tapas Bar
Nearest Golf
2.5 Miles
Country Club of Orlando
Nearest Train
2 Miles
AmTrak Station
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
408/ I-4
Nearest Restaurant
0.24 Miles
Dexter's, Wildside BBQ, Iza Tapas Bar, Benjamin's
Nearest Ski
7.4 Miles
Orlando Watersports Complex
Nearest Beach
43 Miles
New Smyrna Beach, Cocoa Beach
Car: not necessary

2 blocks from restaurants, shopping, Starbucks, Lake Eola, outdoor cafes.

1 mile to Downtown Orlando, Performing Arts Center

1.8 miles to Amway Arena

Near I-4/ and the 408 expressway. Easy driving to all the attractions, but I recommend staying in Thornton Park.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Northeast Orlando Bungalow Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$180
$1,150
$4,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning fee $80
Refundable damage deposit $400
Pet Fee $100

Pet fee depends on breed and age of pet

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Available
Unavailable