Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

LAKEFRONT CABIN AT WILSON LAKE, ALABAMA

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,400 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

3 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, sleeps 8

This 1400 square foot cabin is located in a resort on Wilson Lake. The main floor has a great room with a wood burning fireplace and a fully equipped kitchen with granite counter tops and stainless steel appliances. The master bedroom has a queen size bed with a full size bath. For your convenience, there is an apartment size washer and dryer. The second floor has two bedrooms and a full bath. One bedroom has a queen size bed and the other has two twin beds. Enjoy the rocking chairs on the screened in water front porch. This cabin is located next to the boat launch and has its own private pier, picnic table and charcoal grill.

Located in a resort with many amenities: The resort has a swimming pool, baby pool, playgrounds, white sand beach, volleyball, basketball and tennis courts, 2.5 mile nature trail and a general store. Also available for rent are pontoon boats, canoes, kayaks and paddle boats. Clay shooting is also available for a fee. If you're an avid fisherman, there's a fish cleaning station available for your convenience.

Located 20-30 minutes from area shopping, movie theaters, restaurants, museums, Helen Keller's birthplace, Robert Trent Jones golf course and many other places to visit. This cabin is the ideal place to enjoy your next family vacation at affordable rates.

More Details

Owner
M Moore
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 21, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

5 of 5 STARS



This lovely log cottage on the backwaters of the great Tennessee River--Wilson Lake--is a quiet Mecca in the Spring although it began to spring to life with guests and a wedding during the last 2 of our 13 days' stay. Our personal guests included bustling squirrels, regal herons, birds of all types, ducks, turtles, and a copperhead who simply lay at the water's side sunning himself from his winter chill. FISH is now a "four-letter" word for Jeff, for in spite of casting his line every day, he never saw one on his hook. His experience is foreign to others who find this corner of Alabama a fishing haven. Mitzi, Southern-born and bred, has concluded those fish simply didn't like the smell of a Yankee, for within 24 hours of return to Indiana, Jeff cast and pulled a large bass from the retention pond in our backyard.



Rest assured his luck was better enjoying several of the golf courses within a stone's throw of our Sweet Temporary Home in Alabama. Golf is a four-letter word he used a lot with kindness during our stay.



Much of our first week was rainy and a bit chilly, but a blazing fire that died only while we slept was the greatest. The joy of snuggling by the fire, sipping coffee, or spirits, reading, chatting with our Alabama family and friends who dropped by, playing games, and cooking late breakfast could not have been eclipsed.



Shopping and dining within a 20-mile radius from Tuscumbia to Sheffield to Muscle Shoals to Florence would keep any big City visitor engaged from O'guirres Meat Market to Alabama Channin to the Village Shop to the French Basket to the hidden Florence gem Goodman's (a place that recognizes toddler boys need clothes) to Lola's Florist & Gifts and so many more you find good stuff and super Southern hospitality. Dining, oh my! From gourmet Odette fare to the 50+ year rock-solid fine dining at George's Steak Pit to Brooks BarBQ to Trowbridges ice cream shop to Lash's seafood gumbo and Key Lime pie, and so many more, you will never want to go home--even to the fine foods we enjoy in the Indianapolis area.



Minnie's cottage gets an A+ for cleanliness from these clean freaks. It gets the same score for decor, comfortable furniture and beds, and a finely-stocked kitchen. Minnie herself is an A+ proprietor in all regards--especially prompt communication.
Apr 2016
  • 1 of 3

Map

Car: necessary

This1,400 square foot cottage features a large great room with a wood-burning fireplace, satellite TV, a well equipped kitchen with stainless steel appliances and granite countertops, washer and dryer, three bedrooms, two baths and a screened in water front porch. Free wifi is also available. It has its own private pier, hammock, picnic table and charcoal grill.

The cabin is located in a resort which offers many amenities: swimming pool, baby pool, playgrounds, white sand beach, volleyball, basketball and tennis courts, 2.5 mile nature trail and a general store.

Located 20-30 minutes from area shopping, movie theaters, restaurants, museums, Helen Keller's birthplace, Robert Trent Jones golf course and many other places to visit. This cabin is the ideal place to enjoy your next family vacation at affordable rates.

Amenities

The Cove at Doublehead Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront ...
  • Resort
  • Waterfront
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Area
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking On Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Sofa Bed
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • There are two full baths. One on the main floor and one located upstairs.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
  • There is a queen size sofa in the den. All linens are provided.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Boat Dock
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Fish Cleaning Table
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Sand Box
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Tennis Court
Suitability:
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • outlet shopping
  • shopping
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(59 traveler reviews)

88% Complete
10% Complete
1% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
LAKEFRONT CABIN AT WILSON LAKE, ALABAMA
average rating of 4.8644066 based on 62 reviews
3

October vacation

  • 3 of 5

Ants in the kitchen had to find traps. Lake quality not desirable. Internet and tv issues. Not able to have camp fire without paying for a site. Cutting grass when we were outside.

  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Very clean and peaceful

  • 5 of 5

We take vacations 2 times a year. This is one of the best times we have ever had. The cabin had everything in the kitchen that we needed. The fishing was great, right out the back door . Thank you, Minnie for sharing you beautiful, clean and comfortable cabin. We are already looking forward to coming in the spring. Joe and Gail

  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very pleased

  • 5 of 5

So much to do we didn't get around to all of it. Cabin very clean. Likely to return.

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Courtland, Alabama
4

Love Doublhead Resort

  • 4 of 5

Fun weekend with family. Few issues with cabin such as light in kitchen didn't work, tv didn't work and fridge kept cutting off and on but overall we had a great weekend. I would suggest ceiling fans on back porch.

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm sorry to hear that there were several issues with the cabin. I will certainly follow up on this and resolve the issues quickly. Ceiling fans on the back porch would be a great addition! Thank you for your suggestion. And thank you for choosing to stay at our cabin. We hope you return again in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Nashville, TN
5

Very relaxing

  • 5 of 5

The cabin was perfect. We went with two other families and had a blast. The pool was awesome too. Great kiddie splash pool for my toddlers too. The staff was really helpful.

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great visit and accommodations

  • 5 of 5

Cabin 105 was perfect . Clean, spacious , well appointed in a beautiful location !! We loved it and will go back for sure! Ms Moore was very gracious and the "front desk personnel " were very friendly and helpful . Especially Thisha. Helped us with every question we had and with a fun personality.

  • Submitted: May 7, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $60
Tax Rate 8.0%

$140.00 - $250.00 per night
Rates above - maximum 8 people. Permission required for more than 8 people occupying cabin.

All rates are per night and does NOT include the 8% lodging tax.
$60.00 cleaning fee not included in the rates listed.
Owner accepts Mastercard, VISA, Discover (3.5% credit card fee) or cashier's checks.

Check in: 4 pm
Check out: 12 noon

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties