Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Family Friendly Home. Clean, comfy, easy parking.

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

Fine restaurants, outdoor activities like swimming, biking, rafting, small unique shops, art galleries- Jim Thorpe has it all. This is a family friendly town with lots to do in the area. Only hours from Philadelphia and New York it is not difficult to get to.

Close to lots of fun things to do in town.

This house is located right in Jim Thorpe on the main street, but with off-street parking so you don't have to worry about finding a spot for your car. Minutes from the varied restaurants of Jim Thorpe, you have a choice to cook your self in our full equipped kitchen or go out for a delicious dinner cooked by someone else. It is a 15 minute walk to the downtown shops and museums of Jim Thorpe.

Or get into the great outdoors.

Just 3 miles by car is Mauch Chunk Lake with swimming and a lovely beach, boating and fishing on the lake, and hiking around the lake. This lake is enjoyable in all seasons. Or jump on your bicycle and join up with the Switchback Trail just minutes from the property. Rafting is available down on the Lehigh River which runs right through the heart of Jim Thorpe. Or take a hike to Glen Enoko, a short drive from town and the property where you will stay. In winter we are just a short drive from 3 ski areas- Blue Mountain, Jack Frost, or Big Boulder. And if you want to see the lovely leaves in the fall they are all around in whatever direction you might turn.

Keywords: house

More Details

Owner
Jennifer Dages
Member since: 2011
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 15, 2018

About Jennifer Dages

We are a entrepreneurial family who are involved in real estate and have several other side businesses. We have 4 children and live next door to the property.

Jennifer Dages purchased this house in 2003

Why Jennifer Dages chose Jim Thorpe

Our house is comfortable and spacious and just right for your weekend get-away with friends or family. It is located just enough to town that you can easily walk to downtown attractions, but there is mountain behind and in front of the house so you don't have that in town crowded feeling.

What makes this house unique

We offer a healthy living weekend which includes food prepared according to special dietary accomodations, nutritional seminars, hiking, massage, and a nutritional consult.

Guestbook comments from the owner

The owners, Jennifer and Bob, were very welcoming. They live right next door and were available for any questions or troubles. House was in good condition and there was lots to do around town. Driveway could easily fit 2-3 cars which was great and every room had A/C. Overall the experience was excellent and I would definitely rent from them again.
Aug 2015
  • 1 of 8

Amenities

Jim Thorpe House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake ...
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View ...
  • River ...
  • Village ...
Theme:
  • Budget
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , 2nd floor.
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , 1st floor bathroom. Also a laundry room.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Master Bedroom, front of house.
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Middle of house.
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , Back of house.
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 queen , Pull out couch in Living room,
  • Queen size Beds (3) Queen bed in front bedroom, middle bedroom, and pull out couch in living room is a queen bed., Twin or Single Beds (1) Back bedroom is 2 twin beds., Baby Cribs (1) Portable crib available upon request.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Ask about our Healthy Living Weekends. For an additional fee on selected weekends you can have all meals provided with healthy real food, several educational seminars, and a private health coaching session from Jennifer Dages, RN, BSN, health coach. http://www.purposefulnutrition.com/?page_id=123 for more info.

Reviews

Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(40 traveler reviews)

60% Complete
22% Complete
5% Complete
5% Complete
7% Complete
Family Friendly Home. Clean, comfy, easy parking.
average rating of 4.225 based on 48 reviews
1

Never Again

  • 1 of 5

The house was filthy. There were dead bugs lying around and mouse droppings on the counter. The shower did not drain so we were standing in water over our ankles while showering. The toilet downstairs was clogged. We were there in the winter and the heat was not adequate. It was an overall terrible experience.

  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: These guests were some of the most disagreeable people we have ever met. They complained about the house and then stayed 3 of the 6 days they had booked. As soon as they left we rebooked the house to new guests for the holiday weekend who were really happy with the house. They did come in the coldest week of the entire winter and the house was cool when they arrived, because we didn't turn the heat on the night before. (We didn't realize how long it would take to warm up the house because of how cold it was outside). All plumbing works fine and the heat as well. And they took 9 months to submit a reiview, which is kind of strange as well. And did not leave their name. That tells you something as well. Our house is not fancy and is really a no frills stay, but obviously not everyone is happy with that. The house is clean and well cared for. And as anyone reading reviews can see, we have had a number of 5 star reviews since these folks stayed at the house. Unless you are looking for a luxury stay at budget prices you should be very happy with renting our house for a vacation.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Good experience

  • 4 of 5

large home and convenient to the town

  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2018
  • Stayed: August 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great place for a no frills stay

  • 5 of 5

Friendly hosts, comfortable beds , true home away from home. Great centrally located house had everything we needed for a great stay!

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2018
  • Stayed: August 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks. Hope to see you again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Comfortable Home in an Historic Town filled with Charm and Hospitality

  • 5 of 5

We have been planning a vacation in Jim Thorpe for several years. We had read and researched all the fun possibilities, and thought we were so prepared for all we wanted to do there. That first afternoon we drove in to the town, all of the research and reading just fell away. There is no way to capture all of the quaintness; the home-town feel that vibrates throughout the town. We were in town for 5 days, and there was no way to do all that we had planned.

The house is just so comfortable. There is a nice size kitchen, and living space. Plenty for the whole family! The kitchen is well equipped and we had no problem preparing several meals there.

There is a Huge laundry room, and being able to do our laundry half way through our week meant that we could pack so much lighter.

All three of the bedrooms are upstairs, and all three have comfortable beds and plenty of space to spread out.

Jennifer was able to answer our questions and responds with lightening speed.

I can think of nothing negative to say about the house or the experience. Can't go wrong here!

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for all your kind words. It was great to have you folks as guests and I hope to see you again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Phila. Pa.
5

Simple decor, clean spacious environment.

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our two day stay. The homes floor plan is spacious, and the bathroom with a shower on the first level was a real plus for my elderly mother. Jen was a lovely informative hostess, readily available for any needs. We loved the town and shops, which we were able to walk to if desired. The house is near the lake, train rides and bike rentals. Plenty of places to take my dog Jake for walks.

We certainly plan on coming back, as my mother has requested it for her birthday! Thank you for your hospitality.

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2018
  • Stayed: August 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much. Enjoyed meeting you folks and will look forward to seeing you again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Accomodations in Picturesque Town

  • 5 of 5

Very clean and spacious home. Very affordable. Plenty of room for the 5 of us. Lots to do in town - all within walking distance. We didn't realize how fortunate we were to have private parking for 2 vehicles. Perfect for our Girl"s Weekend!

  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Allentown Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Molly McGuires Pub
Nearest Train
0.5 Miles
Lehigh Gorge Scenic Railway
Nearest Motorway
6 Miles
PA Turnpike and Route 209
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Broadway Grill, Encore, The Wheel, Bear Appetit.
Nearest Beach
2 Miles
Mauch Chunk Lake Park
Car: necessary

Jim Thorpe is a lovely town set in the Pocono Mountains. It has been known as 'Little Switzerland' because of its narrow streets and lovely mountain setting. There is something for everyone here- fine restaurants, cute shops, mountain biking, swimming, white water rafting, hiking, and more.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $25
Cleaning Fee $75
Refundable damage deposit $200

Ask about rates for our Healthy Living Weekends.
Holiday weekends will be slightly higher prices for the weekend. Ask for quote.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.