Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

OCEANFRONT and MARSHFRONT stunner! Steps to beach, perfect family home!

Sleeps9
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms4
Space 2,800 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

IGHT ON THE BEACH! 5 Bedrooms, 2 dens, 4 Baths, (Sleeps 9-10)

I have been coming to Holden Beach North Carolina since I was 5 years old. My parents rented a little cottage at the West End of the island for two weeks in the summer every year until I was about 13. The home they rented came on the market and they decided to purchase their first beach property. To this day, they still enjoy every moment at that beach home that has collected so many family memories over the years. In 2004, Chesapeake (this cottage) came on the market and it had always been one of my fathers favorite homes. A weathered wooden gray beach house with tons of character yet tons of space for family and friends. When he went inside and saw the knotty pine ceilings that had weathered over the years and the views from the great room, he knew it was a perfect match for a second beach home on the island we all love so much. I being the eldest daughter (and the one with kids!) have spent the most time in the cottage with my husband and two boys. I have also had many girls weekends in the cottage.

The house is built on stilts so the first livable floor is really the second floor! The underneath of the house is perfect for covered for parking your cars. There is also an enclosed outside shower.

The first livable floor has two bedrooms with private bathrooms Each bedroom has a twin and a double bed in them. There is also a laundry room on this floor. The kitchen/dining/den combo is on this floor as well. Full view of the ocean from this room!

The upstairs consists of two master bedrooms. The first with a private bathroom with a shower (no bathtub) and a King size bed. Access to the covered upstairs porch. The second master has a King size bed and access to the covered porch, but shares a bathroom with another bedroom.

There is another bedroom upstairs with a queen size bed and access to the covered porch.

There is a wonderful second den upstairs with a television/dvd/vcr player and a futon. This room overlooks the marsh on the front side of the house.

Feel free to contact me with any additional questions regarding bedding, sleeping arrangements etc....

Keywords: Oceanfront and Marshfront Beautiful Beach Cottage/Easy access to beach/ Family friendly/

More Details

Owner
Elizabeth Fernandez
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 14, 2017

About Elizabeth Fernandez

I live in Charlotte, North Carolina with my two young boys and amazing husband. All four of us love our little place at Holden Beach just about more than anywhere else we have been. It is relaxing, safe, low key and beautiful. We have so many family memories there. My boys have learned how to truly play in a world where video games, movies and television have taken away so many of the simple pleasures of just being a kid. This is one place they can just be kids. My husband and I have been coming here even before we were married-17 years! So we have a lot of history at this beach. We love it.

Elizabeth Fernandez purchased this cottage in 2004

Why Elizabeth Fernandez chose Southern Coast

If you are looking for a 'true secret' beach experience, this is your place!!! Holden Beach does not allow high rises, loud billboards, mobile homes, and other things that make so many beaches overcrowded, loud, dirty, dangerous and downright miserable. Come to Chesapeake to renew, relax, enjoy your family, read, collect shells, and just be. One of the most special things about Chesapeake Cottage is it is one of the last cottages that is a oceanfront cottage and is also fully marsh-front as well. There are NO homes in front of Chesapeake. So even in the high season, there are very few people on your private beach and when you look out front you see the cranes and the tides moving in and out of the grasses. How good can it get???

What makes this cottage unique

The house has an immediate feeling of warmth and relaxation as you sit in the gray rocking chairs on the porch with your coffee in the morning and watch the waves as if you are on your own private island. Or watch the sunsets at the end of the day on the end of the deck with an ' end of the day drink of choice' while the breeze washes away any stresses from home that you might have brought with you on your trip. Head to Captain Pete's, the local Seafood market, and get some fresh seafood to cook in the well stocked kitchen. I love to cook and can promise you that anything you need to prepare a gourmet meal for 15 is there for you to use! Or head up to the second floor covered porch during a storm and watch it come over the ocean. Magnificent! Views from every room on both the front and back of the house. The front looks out over the pristine marsh.

Another huge benefit is the proximity to the ocean from the house. Easy to take your chairs and snacks to beach. But, one can also go back to house easily if they need to go inside for a rest. Great if you have small children.

Amenities

Holden Beach Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 9
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Heating
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 15 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • First Floor Bedroom 1 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 2 First Floor - 1 double , 1 twin/ single
    Upstairs Master - 1 king
    Middle Bedroom Upstairs - 1 double
    Master #2 Upstairs - 1 king
    Upstairs Den/TV room - Sofa
  • King size beds (2), Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (2) There is a futon in the upstairs den. One person could sleep on it. However, not ideal.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • shelling
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Home includes two televisions. One in main family room and one in tv/den upstairs. Internet included, and smart tv in family room for movies etc.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(20 traveler reviews)

OCEANFRONT and MARSHFRONT stunner! Steps to beach, perfect family home!
average rating of 4.6 based on 20 reviews
5

Wonderful home with tons of space right on the beach!

  • 5 of 5

Our family had an amazing week in this home. We used the upstairs den as a 6th bedroom for kiddos and the outside enclosed shower was perfect for keeping sand out of the house. The kitchen is big enough for a few people to cook together while others hang out on barstools at the island and keep the chefs company. The beach was wife open and we had tons of space for bocce ball, corn hole, the tents and all the kids sand toys. No battling for a spot on the sand like at other beaches. Elizabeth, the owner, was kind and attentive to work with too. Very accommodating, down to the lists of instructions of how to use the TVs to the spiral bound planning book she sent us in the mail prior to the trip to help us be organized and prepared. My family would absolutely love to stay here again!

  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Good week

  • 4 of 5

We loved the size and layout of the house and the location is wonderful. The beach area is large and not crowded. Outdoor shower was a hit, and the shower hose on the pier was really nice for sandy feet. Nice to have the marsh across the street to look at, and some of our boys took a hike through it. The kitchen is very well equipped for any kind of meal, we ate at the house every day and night. We had 4 children, ages 4 - 11 and there was plenty of room for all. The downstairs floor is made of non skid material which is great for an ocean front house. Loved that the 3 upstairs bedrooms faced the ocean and had a balcony. All rooms were clean.

The only negative comments I have: we had a little trouble keeping the house cool. One day it reached 84 degrees inside. I realize that the constant opening of the door to the porch affects AC efficiency, we did our best to keep it closed, but it was difficult to bring the temp down a couple of days.

The carpets in the downstairs rooms seemed a little musty from dampness, also difficult to control in a beach house.

I would recommend the house, we had a great time.

  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Nice house, pleasant experience

  • 5 of 5

We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived. The house is very nice and beautifully and comfortably decorated. The kitchen is more than adequately stocked with everything needed. Rooms are spacious and clean. Located really close to the Ocean. There was no need for us to look for other entertainment but we did enjoy a trip to North Myrtle Beach to the Nakato's Japanese Steak House and the show ONE at the Alabama theater. Our small grandchildren never wanted to leave the beach. We loved our stay there and hope to be able to rent again next year!! Elizabeth (Owner) is so great to work with.

  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Disappointed

  • 2 of 5

I read the fluff by the owner and I must say that as someone who has spent almost all my childhood summers staying for the week with family at Holden Beach, this was one of the worst homes we've stayed in. Definitely overpriced.

1. The upstairs air-conditioner is breaking. It went out on us (leaving us with 36 hours of 90 degrees inside) and was "fixed" to get us through the week but barely cooled to 80. The repairman said he'd been there before so it will probably go out on you too as the unit is very old.

2. Dirty. I doubt the owners have stayed there for years. Pillows, covers and shams are all very stained. Carpet is stained. Wall decorations are dusty. They must not have a very good cleaner either as I found trash in two of the rooms on the floor. The kitchen cupboards were dirty and filled with questionable dishes (we re-washed everything).

Not sure what else to say. We had to kill our fair share of bugs. The furniture has seen better days but I wouldn't expect it to be perfect. The beds are extra firm and don't think about using the futon as a bed - super bumpy! The fridge had a hard time keeping our food cold. The photos here and on coastal vacation resorts are outdated. I really doubt the owners have stayed there in a long time.

We've had two homes that were worse, one smaller and tackier and one that had seagulls in the attic that stunk the place up. This home did the job - it was on the beach, good location, and had the beds and baths needed for our crew. I'd like to see the owner take a little more pride in their property or sell to someone who will.

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Oh I am just so sorry that you did not have a pleasurable experience. I really am. I have been renting our home for the last 5 years and had nothing but amazing reviews, phone calls, repeats etc.. I am going to personally check on the cleaning situation myself. I certainly wish you had called me the minute you walked in and it was not clean. I would have gotten a cleaning person over there asap. I am so sorry. Unfortunately, we do have renters from time to time who are very rough on our home. I will say that this home is not advertised as a "new" home. It was built in the 80's and part of what we love about it is the old beach charm. No white furniture, no "beachy" themed stuff everywhere, etc.. I believe I even listed this on my listing. IT IS NOT FOR SOMEONE who wants new construction or pristine house. In addition, having multiple beach properties and having gone my entire life, I can tell you that beach dust is almost like mountain bugs. It is inevitable. I have dusted before and came home in afternoon and dusty again. It is just beach air. In addition, unfortunately, beach air corrodes things in a hurry. We replace our AC units on a regular basis (every 4-5 years) due to the toll the salt air takes on them. I am so sorry that you had a problem with our unit. Once again, I sure wish I had known about it. I pride myself on personal service with people who stay in our home, and unfortunately things do happen. I am so sorry.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
5

Chesapeake Review

  • 5 of 5

Comfortable, had everything that we needed. We are a large family and came to visit our oldest son and his family. We had plenty of room for all of us. It was nice to have a dinner table that actually fit all of us at one time. We enjoyed playing on the beach and watching the waves. We would recommend this house to others.

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so glad that you had a wonderful stay. Please contact me any time to stay in our home again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Columbus, Ohio
5

Chesapeake Review

  • 5 of 5

Solid house! Great for your future family vacation. Enough space and room for comfortable living and really close to the ocean!

  • Submitted: May 20, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Point of Interest
Holden Beach Pier
Nearest Point of Interest

Cottage is located very close to the Holden Beach pier for those that enjoy fishing. It is a short drive or walk to the pier. In addition, Holden Beach is a short drive (45 minutes) to Myrtle Beach and various other areas for world class golf. Holden Beach is an hour drive to Wilmington North Carolina where you can see the Battleship North Carolina and other wonderful shopping experiences etc.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Holden Beach Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Spring Off Season
Feb 19 2017 - May 19 2017
3 night minimum stay
$400
$2,800
 
 
High Season
May 27 2017 - Aug 19 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$3,500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest
 
Summer Mid Season
Aug 20 2017 - Sep 9 2017
7 night minimum stay
$3,000
 
 
Low Season Fall
Sep 10 2017 - Dec 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$400
$2,800
 
 
Low Season Winter 2018
Feb 1 2018 - Mar 31 2018
7 night minimum stay
$2,800
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$400
$2,800
$8,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $250
Refundable damage deposit $200

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties