Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Peaceful And Quiet, Family Friendly And Close To Everything Fun!

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 2,500 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Excellent Wi-Fi , 4 Bedroom, 2 Bathroom, 20 Sleeps

This secluded home will give you the peace and quiet you need on your vacation. It is kept very clean.

New blankets, sheets and pillows are supplied every summer. There are three bedrooms with one of the bedrooms off the master... there is no door between. There is a large living space. There are three tvs with DVD players, radio/CD player and Karaoke. Large kitchen - fully stocked with cookware, utensils and spices. Coffee, filters, sugar and cream are provided. The fridge has an icemaker and cold water. There is a large deck to BBQ on (but it can get windy in the late afternoons. We have 25 acres to walk around. The property is outside the city of San Juan Bautista, a quaint historic town on the Mission Trail…home to Mission de San Juan… host to 'Living History Day', two saloons and a large display of historic buildings that bring the old west alive... Jardines de San Juan is not to be missed if you enjoy Mexican food ... they have a lovely garden.

We are 30 to 60 to 90 min of major attractions such as the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk, Marriott's Great America, Monterey Bay Aquarium, Carmel-by-the-Sea, Big Sur, Pebble Beach, and Gilroy's Premium Outlets for blocks and blocks of shopping - 25 min away… San Juan Oaks Golf corse is near and so is dirt bike riding at Hollister Hills...a little further north is the city of San Francisco … the Golden Gate Bridge, museums, symphony and opera (also in Carmel)…

Catch a flight to LA or San Diego from our local airport in Monterey.

More Details

Owner
owner, Lara de Guzman
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 19, 2017

About owner, Lara de Guzman

I've been working to make learning less difficult for children with learning and emotional disabilities since 1990. I have left my home temporarily to provide an exciting academic experience for my own children.

owner, Lara de Guzman purchased this house in 2005

Why owner, Lara de Guzman chose Central Coast

It's beautiful. A great stay-cation destination, couple's, family or business destination. Many bridal parties have dressed and taken pictures at my home.

What makes this house unique

A get away, but close to everything.

Map

Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk
"Very famous location... next to wharf, Maverick's and The Dream Inn"
Point Lobos State Natural Reserve
"Pickniced and ticked there... so beautiful."
Natural Bridges State Beach
"Was just there... many people park to view the sunset... don't even have to get out of the c..."
Cannery Row
"So many seafood restraunts!!! Bubba Humps! Plus fancy hotels. Also right there is the Mon..."
Santa Cruz Municipal Wharf
Bixby Creek Bridge
Big Basin Redwoods State Park
Pacific Coast Hwy
Henry Cowell Redwoods State Park
Lighthouse Point Park
Cowell Beach
Lovers Point Park
Elkhorn Slough Safari Nature
"Took the kids several times on a boat ride up the slough.. spoon fun. Eat at Phil's Fish Ma..."
Seacliff State Beach
Asilomar State Beach
Monterey Harbor
"So close and pur go to place for clam chowder or sushi... try Old Fisherman's Grotto and Sap..."
Gilroy Gardens
"Right next door... all day fun for the family... has water fun and parade of lights in winte..."
Carmel Mission
Gilroy Premium Outlets
"Might be the best part of my location... shop shop shop the three blocks of outlets... you w..."
Año Nuevo State Park
Gizdich Ranch
"Right around the corner... pick apples and eat the world's best pies and ice cream...... dow..."
Carmel Beach City Park
Dennis the Menace Park
Mission San Juan Bautista
"Well... most of my guests stay to attend or have their wedding here... just 7 min away... he..."
Monarch Butterfly Trail
Neptune's Kingdom
Lovers Point Beach
Moss Landing Harbor
Gilroy Garlic Festival
"Guests have stayed just to attend this huge festival... you will be so happy my place is 20 ..."
Elkhorn Slough National Estuarine Research Reserve
Capitola Beach
"Awesome... and there is a skate park nearby! "
Henry W. Coe State Park
"The pictures in my bathroom were taken there and Oahu."
National Steinbeck Center
Sea Harvest Fish Market & Restaurant
Santa Cruz Whale Watching
Downtown Santa Cruz
Marine Mammal Center
Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Monterey and San Jose
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
San Juan Bautista
Nearest Ferry
90 Miles
San Francisco
Nearest Golf
12 Miles
Hollister
Nearest Train
20 Miles
Gilroy
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
101
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
San Juan Bautista
Nearest Ski
250 Miles
Dodge Ridge
Nearest Beach
15 Miles
Pajaro Dunes
Car: necessary

All of the local attractions and activities are within a 45 min drive NW, SW, E

It really is a central location for visitors from afar to make a home base and take day trips...

There is so much to see and do in Santa Cruz, Gilroy, Carmel, Pacific Grove and Monterey. Pajaro dunes is a lovely beach right in Watsonville! And don't miss out on the best apple pies at Gizdich Ranch!

Amenities

San Juan Bautista House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 11:00 AM / Check-out: 1:00 PM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower , two sinks and a private toilet
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , pretty small, attached to laundry room (there is a door)
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 2 twin/ single , My master bedroom has an adjoining room, my kids slept there
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Has a desk and a tv
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
  • There is a brand new full size futon and an older futon in the dining room also
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Music Library
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Attractions:
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • library
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • sailing
  • tennis
Notes:
Just keep in mind that this is our home...we are going to be coming and going throughout the year and we want to come home to everything just as we left it.

Reviews

Very Good! 4/5 -
(6 traveler reviews)

50% Complete
33% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
16% Complete
Peaceful And Quiet, Family Friendly And Close To Everything Fun!
average rating of 4.0 based on 6 reviews
arden, nc
5

If you want peace and quiet and like to GOLF - the foursome

  • 5 of 5

If you like peace and quiet and like to GOLF, then this is the place for you. The home is very modern with great views of the valley down below and with surrounding trees. We had all the annuities that you would need and the home was a pleasure to come home to after a good or bad day at the golf course. Each day we drove down a peacefull road and at the bend we were meet by 4 horses who looked forward to seeing us. There are great golf courses, all within 20 to 40 minutes from the home.

  • Submitted: May 28, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
1

Worst Experience ever - Don't Ruin your vacation

  • 1 of 5

The property showed available, I booked it online and the problems began. Owner can't manage this a rental (she is in a different state) and relies on flaky cleaning people and her mother. After multiple unnecessary discussions, I was asked to check in 8pm Monday and check out 9am Thursday (really!). I still agreed and we show up at the property at 10 pm (mind you this is in the middle of nowhere) to find after all this coordination, the house was not cleaned from when the last renter's left (from soiled toilets, broken shower head, beds not made and so on). I sent a dozen pictures of this disgusting condition of the property to the owner. At 10pm, with small kids, we had to go find a hotel. The owner has many excuses but to her credit she refunded some of my money. I am still waiting on the refund for the reservation fee that she claimed she could not refund ("stating these are HomeAway fee"). I sent her an email from HomeAway stating the owner didn't do the refund right and should be able to refund the reservation fees. Two weeks past and the owner has not replied or refunded the money. This speaks to her integrity and honesty.

This property is a mess from so many perspectives that it should be kicked off VRBO as it doesn't meet the lowest standards. I have rented from VRBO for many years and in many locations across the country and this was the worst experience ever.

Look, my experience is over and the only reason I'm writing this review is to help others and to warn others to either look for something that enhances your stay. If you decide to stay at this property, then do your homework and try to mitigate the issues. Good Luck!

  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: God bless this guest. My home is beautiful and cleaned to perfection after and before each guest. There are new pillows, blankets and towels. My housekeeper and mother are very hard working people who do their best to help me make everyone's stay enjoyable. However, this guest has written a totally unfair review that is defamatory, libelous and misleading. It's an act of imputation, really. He is using this forum to air his indignation. This is not a "rental" I manage... Just a single mom sharing my home for a while. I don't want to respond to Ron's rantings, but I must. Our conversations were indeed necessary because I told him although the calendar showed "available" that there was not enough time in-between bookings to clean the house. He called only days ahead of his requested dates. He wanted to check-in the same day a guest was checking out - and stay until another guest was arriving. I suggested alternate dates. He insisted. I told him I would do him this favor by making special arrangements with my housekeeper - if possible - to come sooner than previously scheduled. I quickly spent a couple of hours over the weekend making calls. But the fact remained that there was very little turn around time...the current guests checked out at noon and the housekeeper couldn't arrive until 4pm, the very best I could do was an 8pm check in and an early check-out and that I would give him a discount for the first day - of course. I asked him at least twice if that was ok. He could have stayed elsewhere! He just kept pushing. I really tried to do him a favor. But, for the first time in years, there was a misunderstanding with the housekeeper and she did not clean on his arrival day. Ron and his family arrived two hours later than scheduled - at 10pm, not 8pm. I understand his disappointment. But he stayed 15 minutes and left. He scared me to death by messaging me that my house was a "complete mess" that "everything was a mess." I thought my house had been ransacked! Turns out, from the pictures I was sent, there were towels left in the bathroom and 3 out of the 5 beds weren't made, that's all. If he had called me while there, I would have apologized profusely, refunded at least two day's rent and had the house cleaned the next day. I felt so bad, but he didn't give me the chance to make it up to him. I refunded all that was sent to me - immediately. If this was his worst experience ever he should consider himself blessed.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Saskatoon
5

Great property for a peaceful retreat.

  • 5 of 5

Very nice property. Clean. Great views. No complaints.

Note: Road to property may be difficult with a trailer or RV.

  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

As described. Great spot.

  • 4 of 5

Very nice.

  • Submitted: Apr 29, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Bonita, CA
4

Beautiful, Spacious House for Family

  • 4 of 5

Our family enjoyed Thanksgiving here, which took a leap of faith to prepare and cook this traditional "turkey with all the fixings" meal in a kitchen that was new to us. But the kitchen and the house was very well equipped, with plenty of everything we needed. Because we weren't sure what was stocked in the kitchen, we brought our own spices and then discovered a cabinet full of spices, olive oil, etc. The dining room table seats six and there are 4 bar stools in the kitchen. There is a nice patio table with chairs outside, but if you want more indoor seating plan to bring a folding table and chairs. The home itself offers quiet, stunning views of the country near San Juan Bautista, where wild turkeys welcomed us each morning. The house was clean and ready for us on arrival, however there were no house instructions. It would be helpful to have a "how to use" the TV and remote control for the ceiling light/fan in the family room. Overall, it was very relaxing and pleasant stay.

  • Submitted: Dec 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Lafayette, Indiana
5

Beautiful home and surroundings

  • 5 of 5

Had a wonderful time. Family vacation with 6 adults and we all felt relaxed and refreshed when we left. Comfortable and clean! San Juan Bautista was a great little town with wonderful restaurants and we were only about 45 minutes from Monterey. Enjoyed aquarium, whale watching and 17-mile drive.

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $95
Additional Guest Fee $45 per person per night
Pet Fee $200
Damage Deposit $250

1) This is my home. It was part-contractor built and part home-owner built. There are stairs all over outside, uneven ground and gravel.
2) Please treat it like your friend's house, not a hotel. This is the country - watch for wildlife!
3) Drive slow. Secure garbage in outside cans, don't leave it inside! Take your recycling with you if you can. (My mom is the garbage man/recycle hauler)
4) I really don't allow pets at all... but the fee is there for exceptions, like service animals.
5) I'm willing to talk about events, places to go, rates...
6) If you make a mess - clean it up! There is a carpet cleaner in the laundry room, wash blankets immediately if something happens - the housekeeper may not be there right away if there is not another immediate booking.
7) You are responsible for cleaning the kitchen, and putting used towels and blankets in the laundry room. The housekeeper will do the rest.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties