Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Orlando Area Pool Home In Maitland Altamonte Springs, Winter Park

Bedrooms 2
Space 1,500 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

Large living area, stocked kitchen, laundry, large driveway for parking

Please be aware we have a 2 WEEK MAXIMUM RENTAL. Away from the crowds but only 30-40 minutes to attractions, beaches Daytona. Fully equipped kitchen, outdoor BBQ, large pool. Close to many restaurants, shopping , downtown Orlando. Quiet secluded back yard and relaxing porch. Minutes off major highway I-4. Laundry available. Bedroom 1 has king bed with en suite bath. Bedroom 2 is double Murphy bed, with it's own bathroom. The house sleeps 4 comfortably, but can accommodate 1 extra on a sofa if needed. Cots for small children & pac-n-play for babies, plus lots of toys for different ages. Plus there is an outdoor shower! WIFI Play volley ball in the pool or just relax on the back porch. Pool has solar heat. Hot tub available from Nov. to March. Pet friendly with a pet fee. Please be aware 2 cats live at this house. Although they will not be on the premises, some of their dander might be, even after a good mopping & vacuuming. MAXIMUM RENTAL 2 WEEKS. CHECK IN TIME 10:00A.M. - 2:00P.M. There is a minimum $50 cleaning fee. Guests staying for more then a week may be required to perform small tasks for the pool. There is a neighbor that is available to pet sit. Cell phone reception is spotty in the house since we are on the edge of the towers. No problem outside & texting works everywhere. House was built in the 50's but has been 90% up-graded.

Jan Young
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
June 16, 2018

About Jan Young

Have lived in this neighborhood for over 40 years. Have constantly upgraded and improved the premises.

Jan Young purchased this house in 1973

Why Jan Young chose Maitland

Very comfortable and relaxing. Close to stores and restaurants. Private yard with large pool.

What makes this house unique

Spend an afternoon on the back porch & you'll still see something else the next day. Shower under the stars in the private outdoor shower. Extra TV in the 2nd bedroom in case you don't want to watch football! Close to grocery stores & many restaurants.

Guestbook comments from the owner

I give a 5 star rating for this couple. Left the house in great condition. No problems. We welcome them back any time.
May 2017
  • 1 of 2


Maitland House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 11:00 AM / Check-out: Flexible
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered
  • children welcome ...
  • smoking allowed ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Double Muphy bed. Bath right next door.
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
  • King bed with en suite bath. Double Murphy bed bedroom 2
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Video Library
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear
  • limited accessibility
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Private Pool ...
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • paddle boating
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • golf
  • swimming
  • tennis
Check in between 10 a.m. to 2 p.m.


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(20 traveler reviews)

85% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
5% Complete
5% Complete
Orlando Area Pool Home In Maitland Altamonte Springs, Winter Park
average rating of 4.55 based on 22 reviews
Brockport, NY

Wonderful pool, extremely private

  • 5 of 5

We absolutely loved our stay at this home! Extremely private and quiet location. The pool area is amazing! You literally feel like you have no neighbors even though they are right next door. The home was very clean and well stocked with provisions. The welcome basket was a nice touch as well. Owners were very easy to deal with and responded quite promptly to any questions we had. Overall great experience! We would highly recommend.

  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2018
  • Stayed: April 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Tanga, You are welcome to come back anytime. Glad you enjoyed the pool. Thanks for leaving the house so nice.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Not great accommodations for our needs.

  • 3 of 5

Although this was listed as a "sleeps 4", of the two beds, one was only a full size. With 4 women, that situation made one in our party have to use the couch. Pool was a nice feature but poorly lit for evening entertaining. Towels were well supplied, though. Master bedroom shower head was like using a camp shower and the bathroom door was irritatingly squeaky making going to the bathroom at night definitely not a secret. Kitchen was nice and well stocked with basic needs. Also, a nice basket of snacks was left on the counter to enjoy. For the nature of our visit, I would probably not rent this again. A family with only 2-3 smaller children may enjoy this home better. We brought a four year old, knowing he would use a spare cot. The owners were kind enough to provide the cot and even had some toys ready for him to use as soon as we got there. Since we traveled by plane, this was extremely helpful.

  • Submitted: May 16, 2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We thank you for your feed back on the irritatingly squeaky bathroom door. No one ever mentioned it. You can be sure it squeaks no more. Happy you enjoyed the pool, snacks, cot & toys. We would like to address your comments on the bedroom accommodations. The listing is very clear on the size of the beds. We have had many guests double up on the double bed knowing that was what they booked. There is 3 lights on the porch & several landscape lights around the pool along with the pool light, that was left on. The kitchen is well stocked with more then your basic items. We were disappointed with the dirty dishes left in the sink & none of the trash taken out. Guests are asked to leave the house in the condition they receive it aside from the baths and linens, as they are covered by the cleaning fee. Hopefully the next home you book will be live to your standards.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Shelton, Connecticut

Great Place very private

  • 5 of 5

We booked place from Wed., March 21 to March 28. Got there at 2 am on Thursday morning, my daughter was in a wedding so it was very close to the event. Ran around all day Thursday and Friday and Saturday finally able to relax on Sunday til Wednesday morning. Jan has plenty of books to read, started reading The Ice Trap, great book and Jan told me I could have it because I didn't finish reading it. THANKYOU . Place was great, plenty of room and really appreciated the coffee that Jan left us for Thursday morning. It was quite chilly but on Monday the 26th was able to go in the pool and jaccuzzi. Packed up Tuesday evening so we can get a head start out in the morning and go to Melbourne were I know the area better. The house had everything that we needed. The Altamonte Mall was fantastic. A great place to stay especially if you have children and just want to hang around. I didn't like driving on Altamonte Drive or anywhere because I kept getting lost. lol But it was a good choice to stay there. THANKYOU

  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you were able to get a flight out for your stay. Thank you for leaving the house in great condition. You and your friends & family are welcome to come and stay anytime. Thanks Jan
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Winston Salem, NC

Beautiful pool, clean home, great location

  • 5 of 5

This home provided exactly what we were looking for. A beautiful, large pool and separate hot tub in a nicely landscaped, private back yard for 2 quiet days with a day trip to Universal in between. Loved the laid back, eclectic style of the outdoor sitting area and BBQ. The owner was very responsive to messages prior to our arrival and everything was in such great order there was no need to reach out to them upon arrival. We would definitely recommend this home for anyone looking for more privacy than a standard resort can provide in this area.

  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Absolutely loved it !!!

  • 5 of 5

At first we were overwhelmed ... so many things all over (pictures, posters, flags, etc), but after settling in, we sat outside to relax, and with the wonderful music and a good bottle of wine which was kindly provided by the owners, we started to relax and to enjoy looking at all their souvenirs.

We spent 2 weeks there, and actually hated to have to leave. There is a terrific outdoor shower which we used every single day. The pool is great, and even though the water was a ''refreshing'' 80 degrees, we went in almost every day.

Everything you need is provided, from pool towels to kitchen spices. As usual, we brought down a lot of clothes with us, so we had to squeeze a bit in the master closet, but that's our fault. We come from Quebec, and not knowing what weather to expect, we tend to bring clothes for cold and hot weather. This was our 12th consecutive year of coming to Florida, and we had the best weather yet this year !

So we thank you, Jan and Paul, for letting us live in your wonderful house the those 2 weeks. We had a simply TERRIFIC vacation!

  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are always so happy to hear our guests enjoyed their time at our home. And happy for them when the weather is so great. You got real lucky. Hope it wasn't too hot. Thank you for the great review. You're welcome to come back anytime. Thank you for choosing our home. Jan & Paul
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Highly disappointing

  • 1 of 5

The house had narrow areas that were further crowded by a large amount of bric-a-brac, making moving around difficult especially in the middle of the night. Also, the house smelled like the owners used scented candles and air fresheners to cover up the old smell that was also present. Since my wife and I are allergic to scented air freshener this caused us much distress throughout our visit. The final straw was finding a rat inside the house.

  • Submitted: Feb 4, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We understand our house if not for everyone. If you had let us know about your allergies we certainly would not have used any air spray. The hall to the bedrooms is tight & dark. That's why I have the motion lights. The last time I had a rat in the house, it was a present from my cat. I'm sure you are aware rats are everywhere. Did you know you could have called us and cancelled at any time to get a refund for days not used? We try to make our guests stay as comfortable as we can and most guests are very happy as you can see from the reviews. It appears the air freshener & dark hall were very upsetting to you. And of course the rat. Was there anything you did like? Thankfully over 90% of our guests have had a great stay. Sorry you didn't.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0


Charles Hosmer Morse Museum of American Art
Always a nice afternoon strolling Park Ave. and a visit to the museum. Great places for lun...
Bonefish Grill
4 Rivers Smokehouse
Park Avenue Shopping Area
Bahama Breeze
Close by. Casual
Sweet Tomatoes
Seasons 52
Tibby's New Orleans Kitchen
Altamonte Mall
Close by. Great stores
The Greek Corner
My favorite Greek restaurant! Get the sampler platter!
Kobe Japanese Steakhouse
Always fun & 5 minutes away.
Car: necessary

5 minutes to shopping & many restaurants. 20-30 minutes to attractions, 45-60 minutes to beaches.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $50
Pet Fee $100
Damage Deposit $250

Cancelations. 5 days prior to bookking date $50.00 cleaning fee. $100.00 pet deposit,

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties